• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 14, 2003
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 10 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2003
    1
    i wish black people would stop buying video games, so they would stop making gosh dern megaman games. seriously guys. i mean, guns? haven't we seen this all before. and megaman in blue obviously representing the crips, while zero in red obviously represents the bloods. holy negro crap.
  2. Msonic
    May 8, 2005
    4
    I was looking foward to X7. When I first played it, I like it for a while...but now it got stale and boring. The graphics and the soundtrack are great but the voicing and the levels are horrible however. In my opinion, the characters are sometimes slow. Sorry but I think X7 is the worst Mega Man game ever, infact it's the only Mega Man game I don't like. Atleast CAPCOM learned I was looking foward to X7. When I first played it, I like it for a while...but now it got stale and boring. The graphics and the soundtrack are great but the voicing and the levels are horrible however. In my opinion, the characters are sometimes slow. Sorry but I think X7 is the worst Mega Man game ever, infact it's the only Mega Man game I don't like. Atleast CAPCOM learned their lesson. (Which is why X8 became good) Collapse
  3. DragonKnight
    Apr 27, 2006
    1
    Quite bad. The story is dull, like it has always been in the X series. The sound is annoying. Same grating difficulty, which may be good or bad depending. The 2D segments are just the same as ever, which is bad, since it's the same thing we've been doing repeatedly since Mega Man debuted on the NES. Though the 3D areas are even worse, the camera work is shoddy, and it isn't Quite bad. The story is dull, like it has always been in the X series. The sound is annoying. Same grating difficulty, which may be good or bad depending. The 2D segments are just the same as ever, which is bad, since it's the same thing we've been doing repeatedly since Mega Man debuted on the NES. Though the 3D areas are even worse, the camera work is shoddy, and it isn't fun in any regard. The lack of decent gameplay kills this title. It's barely playable, but for old school Mega Man fans, you may get a little fun out of the 2D segments but only for so long. I certainly do not reccomend it. Expand
  4. The2ndRunner
    Oct 16, 2003
    8
    I saw all the bad reviews for this game from the critics. I can understand their viewpoint but this game is sort of an experimental stage too for Capcom. They had to bring the game into 3D, because if it would have stayed 2D, I bet they would have caught a lot of flak there too. As the game itself, I am loving it. That is probably because I am a X series vet. The difficulty went up big I saw all the bad reviews for this game from the critics. I can understand their viewpoint but this game is sort of an experimental stage too for Capcom. They had to bring the game into 3D, because if it would have stayed 2D, I bet they would have caught a lot of flak there too. As the game itself, I am loving it. That is probably because I am a X series vet. The difficulty went up big time, but that makes the game last longer and we all like that. It could be frustrating too, but you are a gamer and don't know tolerance, you have issues. I also understand that they could have done better, but I guess that is what X8 will be for. Just for an average fan, this is a great game. The Mega Man series was always the same formula, and that is what the fans like. If they had switched it up too much, then the game would have got hate as well from that angle. I will agree that a lof of the new elements that they did introduce here, needs to be worked on big time i.e the targeting system. Also, some of the enemies attacks are downright annoying and the camera angles need to be worked on more next time around. One thing I found annoying was the graphics, considering the power of the PS2. Like some of the labels used on the reploids to be saved look lame. The red labeling looked like something from the 80's. They could have made the game look a bit more sleek and furutistic for sure. Basically, level design could have been done better. Expand
  5. MegamanTrigger
    Sep 18, 2003
    10
    It's going to be the greatest Megaman X game ever made!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    Capcoms fun plat former and classic series do a fine job on giving fans what they wanted, while it isn't as good as some of the previous games it does it well. Updated with Cel shaded graphics, colorful and beautiful is marvelous. The gameplay is the same, simply the old gamma that we have seen in the bomber, in negative views, it's tiresome , i don't know what its the problem in hereCapcoms fun plat former and classic series do a fine job on giving fans what they wanted, while it isn't as good as some of the previous games it does it well. Updated with Cel shaded graphics, colorful and beautiful is marvelous. The gameplay is the same, simply the old gamma that we have seen in the bomber, in negative views, it's tiresome , i don't know what its the problem in here but it isn't the Mega Man that had the big charm when it came out in 90's . Still, is best setting off with a decent but fun Mega Man. Expand
  7. sdc
    Apr 5, 2015
    5
    A perfectly playable game. Unlike X6. The game has a terrible voice over, but the story is... passable. The graphics are alright, nothing special though. The gameplay was boring, but not unplayable. That's it.
  8. Jul 24, 2014
    7
    While Mega Man X7 is constantly slated for it's blandness, the game itself isn't that bad, if you haven't played any other mega man X game before this one, then your first few hours with it will be incredibly infuriating, however once you get used to it, it's not so bad, saving reploids and powering up abilities is a lot of fun, however the main character Mega Man X isn't playable untilWhile Mega Man X7 is constantly slated for it's blandness, the game itself isn't that bad, if you haven't played any other mega man X game before this one, then your first few hours with it will be incredibly infuriating, however once you get used to it, it's not so bad, saving reploids and powering up abilities is a lot of fun, however the main character Mega Man X isn't playable until half way through the game, which might possibly be because he's rubbish to play as in my opinion, Zero is better but the fact that he's a melee fighter with a short-range weapon makes Axl much safer and more fun to play, the final levels can be incredibly infuriating, especially the infamous boss fight with Red, which I was on for a day and a half, embarrassing I know, but it was difficult, the final boss isn't as difficult as the fight with Red is, but anyway that's Mega Man X7, better than X6 but worse than X5. Expand
  9. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    The game is not bad, but the problem is: Is so short, and not have unlocking items like the other megaman X Game's, and capcom can do the controls better than that
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. Other than the stylish cel-shaded visuals, there's hardly anything new here... Seriously, I haven't seen camera problems this bad since the early days of PS1. [Nov 2003, p.138]
  2. If the controls were tighter and the targeting system sharpened up, Mega Man X7 could have been a killer update. As-is, the game is a lethargic has-been.
  3. The 2D gameplay hits some bright spots but is hampered by the new, boring 3D sections. There isn't much to keep you playing other than to relive a shred of Mega Man gameplay in 3D.