• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Mega Man X8 Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Starring Mega Man and allies Zero and Axl, the eighth "X" saga is an all new action-adventure packed with more features, depth and variety than the series has ever seen. Your quest begins with war-torn Earth, left in shambles after the fall-out of Sigma's war on the planet. Humankind,Starring Mega Man and allies Zero and Axl, the eighth "X" saga is an all new action-adventure packed with more features, depth and variety than the series has ever seen. Your quest begins with war-torn Earth, left in shambles after the fall-out of Sigma's war on the planet. Humankind, planning a mass exodus to the moon, has been mass-producing a new generation of robot reploids to start colonizing it. But Sigma has corrupted their DNA to make them turn on humans. This time, you and your team-mates must head to outer space and eventually the moon on an out-of-this world mission of epic proportions to save mankind! [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. This game is thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish, even when you are dying over and over. Like "Prince of Persia," it's that one time you actually make it all happen that has you forgetting how many times you hit retry.
  2. Game Informer
    83
    Old-school fans will rejoice, and maybe a new generation will now understand why Mega Man is awesome. [Jan 2005, p.124]
  3. The stages are challenging, the bosses are interesting, though a bit predictable, and the game is just about classic platforming fun.
  4. GMR Magazine
    70
    The best Mega Man X in recent memory and will provide an enjoyable challenge to gamers willing to give 2D another go. [Feb 2005, p.97]
  5. Better than most of the series' efforts, this is still a painfully stunted experience. The art team give things a nice visual nudge, but the focus still needs to fall on the core gameplay.
  6. Eliminates some of the annoyances of its predecessor. However, while that's all well and good, X8 can still often be an intensely frustrating game, and still isn't especially fun.
  7. 40
    Maybe our blue buddy needs to take a breather for a little while, replace his outdated circuitry, and make another run in a few years' time.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. JonL.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    The best Mega Man X game yet. No X game can compare to it's greatness.
  2. Dark5523Chaos
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    This game is more challenging than I thought.... It was quite fun to know that the game's bosses can give you a hard time if you fight This game is more challenging than I thought.... It was quite fun to know that the game's bosses can give you a hard time if you fight them without their weaknesses. But I still have to comment about the "spikey" areas and the racing-based stages in the game! Expand
  3. sdc
    Apr 5, 2015
    10
    Just wished the game had a better soundtrack. But the gameplay was smooth, the story is pretty epic, the graphics are lush, and they fixedJust wished the game had a better soundtrack. But the gameplay was smooth, the story is pretty epic, the graphics are lush, and they fixed everything wrong with Mega Man X. Only second to X5. Expand
  4. Msonic
    Apr 24, 2005
    9
    Wow. It seems Capcom finally learned their lesson. After of all of the huge disappointments of X5, X6 and X7. (Which X5 and X6 weren't Wow. It seems Capcom finally learned their lesson. After of all of the huge disappointments of X5, X6 and X7. (Which X5 and X6 weren't bad, unlike X7) X8 really did go well, infact I think it's close to be great as X4 and X2. (my favorite X games) Expand
  5. May 27, 2016
    8
    I love it . Very amazing game for 2D game 2004 on PlayStation 2 . Graphics is awesome for Playstation 2, storyline is amazing and manyI love it . Very amazing game for 2D game 2004 on PlayStation 2 . Graphics is awesome for Playstation 2, storyline is amazing and many characters - Megaman, Zero and other, but my favourites are Zero and Megaman (Special Zero) . Many cool attacks and move . Excellent Special move from Megaman and I think this game is best game about Megaman . There is Megaman Collection which the has got all Megaman X Games Megaman X3,X4,X5,X6,X7,X8 . I think Megaman franchise is very good . I love it . Expand
  6. KipR
    Nov 28, 2009
    8
    A real cool game. Probably my favorite since the very first. There are two bummer levels, but besides that, that game is exciting through A real cool game. Probably my favorite since the very first. There are two bummer levels, but besides that, that game is exciting through every second. Maybe not the top choice for those who dislike 2D side-scrollers, but a treasure trove for those who are fans. Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    Nonsensical, unnatural and laughable story accompanied with a gameplay that looks pretty but has lost all the previous essence. Mega Man isNonsensical, unnatural and laughable story accompanied with a gameplay that looks pretty but has lost all the previous essence. Mega Man is dead unless a total reboot. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

50
#50 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
25
#25 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004