User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 777 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 777

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VulcanRaven
    Mar 10, 2002
    10
    Metal Gear 2 is the best game ever !!! If you don't agree with me u must be crazy.
  2. BastardCerature
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Erm, this is a pretty neccesary part in the MGS story line? You like Solid Snake? Play this damn game, because, well, you can play as him for a while, and he is in most of it! And we all know you cannot find Solid Snake anywhere else...other than some kind of Metal Gear game, which, there ins't many of, so, yeah, play this game, dumbass.

    I mean, MGS is not a sitcom, its would be
    Erm, this is a pretty neccesary part in the MGS story line? You like Solid Snake? Play this damn game, because, well, you can play as him for a while, and he is in most of it! And we all know you cannot find Solid Snake anywhere else...other than some kind of Metal Gear game, which, there ins't many of, so, yeah, play this game, dumbass.

    I mean, MGS is not a sitcom, its would be like refusing to watch one episode of "Three's Company", thats okay, there is a billion of them, but saying you hate this game, and are not going to play it, is like saying "Well damn, I don't think I'll watch Empire Strikes Back "BECUZ IT OMGZZ GHEY!!!11", oh, hey, waht the hell happened here? Where is han solo? Why are the robots in a desert? WTF?"
    Expand
  3. Bruce
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    This was the best PS2 game that I have ever played, I don't care what other people say, it does NOT lack in story, and it is longer than the first, it took me 13 hours to beat.
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Everyone who has a negative review on here complains about the dumbest stuff. "O you have to play as Raidan " and that "the cut scenes are too long". Its just the same when people say that movies are too long. Everyone who says this games cut scenes are too long, are the people who didn't get the story of it. This is a amazing game with a great story and lots of different characters. IfEveryone who has a negative review on here complains about the dumbest stuff. "O you have to play as Raidan " and that "the cut scenes are too long". Its just the same when people say that movies are too long. Everyone who says this games cut scenes are too long, are the people who didn't get the story of it. This is a amazing game with a great story and lots of different characters. If you want all action and no brains just go back to your COD already. Expand
  5. JeffB.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    The graphics are cool but the game is a little to short.
  6. RaidenRules
    Mar 31, 2002
    10
    The loser who hates Raiden has serious probs, I think that having a new character adds a new dimention to the game, making it more intersting!!! AND most of all fun, I think it is an amazing game!!!
  7. SolidSnakeHayter
    Jul 2, 2002
    10
    This game rocks! Snake looks really cool and old in this game. all the graphics were really cool too. the characters were really realistic and the game was too
  8. RockmanSnake
    Aug 8, 2003
    10
    This game is COOL!!! I enjoy getting all the dog tags and unlocking secrets, etc. Also it's fun to sneak around and hold someone at gunpoint, and you say to yourself that you won't kill him if he does what you want him to do. He does, but you kill him anyway! MWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!
  9. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    This was a good game and provides yet another gripping instalment into the tactical espionage world of Metal Gear. The story goes even deeper as new characters are introduced as well as some old characters returning. The game play has been significantly improved from metal gear solid to allow more fun for players.
  10. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 2 continues the pedigree of trendsetting, pulse-pounding action from its PlayStation predecessor, updating the graphics and introducing more layers of intrigue, betrayal, politics, and technology to an already complex plot. The result is one of PS2's best games ever.
  11. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    I kind of feel like people missed the point on this game; it is, unlike most games, far more about what the game does to the player. Simply put, this was a benchmark for player manipulation and interaction for the purpose for telling a story and creating an experience. The story also gets a lot of unfounded criticism; it is a bit wonky at times, but more often than not, its simplyI kind of feel like people missed the point on this game; it is, unlike most games, far more about what the game does to the player. Simply put, this was a benchmark for player manipulation and interaction for the purpose for telling a story and creating an experience. The story also gets a lot of unfounded criticism; it is a bit wonky at times, but more often than not, its simply brilliantly complex. It's the mindscrew that "The Matrix" and "Fight Club" wish they were. Indeed, as maligned as the ending may be, it definitely elicits a stronger emotional reaction than all but a very, very small handful of other games (three of which are in this same series), and it does so in a way that no other game had ever done before, and arguably has since. It is a twist far more complex than "you are the villan" or "it was a dream" or all the tropes that we accept so easily as "twists". It's not perfect, but damnit, it doesn't need to be; it is an artistic achievement, and a brilliant work of post-modenism.

    Another Kojima Masterpiece.
    Expand
  12. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    The game's greatest strength is without a doubt its story. For the first 10+ hours its a contrived, impossible, confusing circus. Then, in the final 5+ hours it all comes together. Looking back, I can safely say that the plot was intelligent, and even moving at times. I don't want to give anything away, but there's one moment late in the game that really moved me, and even depressed meThe game's greatest strength is without a doubt its story. For the first 10+ hours its a contrived, impossible, confusing circus. Then, in the final 5+ hours it all comes together. Looking back, I can safely say that the plot was intelligent, and even moving at times. I don't want to give anything away, but there's one moment late in the game that really moved me, and even depressed me just a little. That's how immersed I was. The gameplay was also very solid (no pun intended), even if the dated controls and camera required a little bit of getting used to. I was initially disappointed with having to play as Raiden for most of the game, but his character grew on me. I also beat Resident Evil 4 a few days before, so it's been a pretty good gaming week for me. Get the Metal Gear Solid HD collection. Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    This really shows the true potential that the PS2 had during his release and is still intact. No other game had me so amazed during the time i had the console and is incredible the graphics were amazing in those years,the original gameplay,the funny parts ,the top nosh story . Lets put it simply this is a truly masterpiece in the Playstation library and it is already a classic. ThisThis really shows the true potential that the PS2 had during his release and is still intact. No other game had me so amazed during the time i had the console and is incredible the graphics were amazing in those years,the original gameplay,the funny parts ,the top nosh story . Lets put it simply this is a truly masterpiece in the Playstation library and it is already a classic. This cant be missed. Expand
  14. May 19, 2011
    10
    To this day, I think I have more playthroughs logged in MGS2 than any other game (at one point I had all the dog tags). Unbelievable graphics (at the time), awesome voice acting, great story, great cut scenes, intense action, well thought out levels and bosses, this has to be one of the best games ever made.
  15. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This is not just a game. This here is a work of art. Steeped in metaphor, this game seeks to involve you the "gamer" at a deeper level; breaking all known conventions. Put simply there has been nothing like it before or since. It's far too complex for me to go into within the character limit here, but you should check out the sites : metagearsolid.org/reports_mgs2.html andThis is not just a game. This here is a work of art. Steeped in metaphor, this game seeks to involve you the "gamer" at a deeper level; breaking all known conventions. Put simply there has been nothing like it before or since. It's far too complex for me to go into within the character limit here, but you should check out the sites : metagearsolid.org/reports_mgs2.html and deltaheadtranslation.com/MGS2/DOTM_TOC.htm for a greater analysis of the game. Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This is just another game, not! This is a game for the ages. The story is so well made and planned that it does not bore the audience and gamer at all. It is such a wonderful and addicting game. The boss levels are boss, just kidding, they are very interesting and fun to play through, at times irritating, but that does not pan in its overall rating. It can't even be considered a quirk inThis is just another game, not! This is a game for the ages. The story is so well made and planned that it does not bore the audience and gamer at all. It is such a wonderful and addicting game. The boss levels are boss, just kidding, they are very interesting and fun to play through, at times irritating, but that does not pan in its overall rating. It can't even be considered a quirk in this game. MGS2 is a must get, a classic if I would say. Expand
  17. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    great game. good graphics, pretty decent controls, crazy ass story line. one of a kind. memorable characters and great voice acting, if you like mgs 1 i dont see why you wouldnt enjoy this game. yes, the very ending is very strange, i dont understand it, but you gotta play this game, but you dont play as snake the whole game, i think thats why there are some bad reviews. non the less stillgreat game. good graphics, pretty decent controls, crazy ass story line. one of a kind. memorable characters and great voice acting, if you like mgs 1 i dont see why you wouldnt enjoy this game. yes, the very ending is very strange, i dont understand it, but you gotta play this game, but you dont play as snake the whole game, i think thats why there are some bad reviews. non the less still a classic in my opinion 10/10 Expand
  18. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I love this game. The story, characters, graphics and music were great. Even if Solid Snake isn't the main character i still like, despise some negativity of some fans. Besides, this my favourite mgs game of all time.
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Thought provoking, clever plot, and playful with the fourth wall. Not the greatest of the MGS series when it comes to gameplay, but is a definite jump in progress from the Shadow Moses incident. The plot twisting, turning, melting, and remolding will be confuse some, if not most, players - but all the confusion is worthwhile when the multiple climaxes surface themselves near the end. ToThought provoking, clever plot, and playful with the fourth wall. Not the greatest of the MGS series when it comes to gameplay, but is a definite jump in progress from the Shadow Moses incident. The plot twisting, turning, melting, and remolding will be confuse some, if not most, players - but all the confusion is worthwhile when the multiple climaxes surface themselves near the end. To top it off, the social and political commentary in Sons of Liberty is the greatest out of the entire series. Definitely a top PS2 game. Expand
  20. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This is by far my favorite game of all time! Tight controls, deep meaningful story, so many plot twists it's unbelievable; this is truly a game of the ages. Kojima is a mastermind for crafting such a delicate piece of art. Everything from the controls to the characters is perfect., and yes even though Raiden is annoying, it was very interesting and thought provoking to see Snake from anThis is by far my favorite game of all time! Tight controls, deep meaningful story, so many plot twists it's unbelievable; this is truly a game of the ages. Kojima is a mastermind for crafting such a delicate piece of art. Everything from the controls to the characters is perfect., and yes even though Raiden is annoying, it was very interesting and thought provoking to see Snake from an outside perspective as the mentor. I highly encourage anyone who hasn't played this game to go out and discover the joy that is this game! I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  21. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Square is to shoot? X is O? Overrated game? Frustrating shooting? convoluted plot? Raiden's a wimp? What are you talking about!? You sorry lads are probably the same unlucky bunch that didn't get Inception the first time. What kind of mongrels are you to not realize the absolute genius that is MGS2? Only a proper fool would have a negative thing to say about this game. If you have anySquare is to shoot? X is O? Overrated game? Frustrating shooting? convoluted plot? Raiden's a wimp? What are you talking about!? You sorry lads are probably the same unlucky bunch that didn't get Inception the first time. What kind of mongrels are you to not realize the absolute genius that is MGS2? Only a proper fool would have a negative thing to say about this game. If you have any sense you will pick this game up as the review finishes. Gameplay is a blend of shooting, sneaking and putting people in lockers. It's so artiscly crafted that it's kind of weird how smooth the gameplay is. You play as Snake in the first chapter which finishes in like 25 minutes. (when you get good at it though) first time it took me an hour and 30 mins. Russians have hijacked the tanker you are on in an attempt to capture Metal Gear Ray. As snake you can choose to sneak through the game using tranqs and boxes or Rambo style with melee moves and pistols. Music is also nice with great themes capitalizing on tense moments. Visuals are stupendous with real time cutscenes and the whole shebang. Raiden is no different. With an upgraded arsenal to house bombs, snipers, machine the works. It never feels wrong to play as raiden instead of snake. The basic plot in this part is dead cell, a group of terrorists, have hijacked the president and his people and you must go in solo to get him home. 10/10 best game ever made. Expand
  22. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    MGS2 is the most involved with themes, like conspiration, memes, and many others. The protagonist may not be Snake, but this factor put Raiden in other way: the way of the Cyber Ninja. The movement the bosses, the situations, partially all remembers MGS1. The Easter eggs are to funny to, and more exposed. A the moment the MGS with the best Story
  23. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    Whoever says this isn't a good game is a fool. The introduction to first-person shooting was just magnificent, especially since it was the first MGS game to do this. For anyone interested in a sneaking game with an extraordinary(yet sometimes far-fetched & convoluted in all honesty) plot, great music and graphics that would be welcomed for a game on the PS3 then MGS2 is definitely the gameWhoever says this isn't a good game is a fool. The introduction to first-person shooting was just magnificent, especially since it was the first MGS game to do this. For anyone interested in a sneaking game with an extraordinary(yet sometimes far-fetched & convoluted in all honesty) plot, great music and graphics that would be welcomed for a game on the PS3 then MGS2 is definitely the game for you. It is so fun to play and I still play it to this day and don't get bored. The pitter-patter of rain while Snake walks the George Washington bridge in the opening of the tanker chapter, the music while you sneak around the Big Shell, the change of pace according to different missions, the Colonel's crazy sequence towards the end, the nostalgia you get when you emerge on the roof of Strut A as Raiden, the delusional yet righteous villains including Vamp, Solidus, Fatman and Fortune, not to mention Ocelot having a key role as always(his speech while hijacking Metal Gear is fantastic).....all of these moments in the game, they all make this game a treat particularly for a hardcore MGS fan like myself. Expand
  24. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    This is one of the few games I played from start to finish non stop when I got home with it. I can't even imagine doing something like that now but that might be due to age hehe.
  25. Aug 26, 2012
    4
    This game was never good. This game still isn't good. The camera is your worst enemy. Guards constantly spot you when you can't even see them and this get's worse once you need to turn on your radar in the rest of the rooms in the game. The Story is just plain un-interesting. Hideo Kojima may be a master writer of stories, but this one doesn't deliver until the last hour or so of gameThis game was never good. This game still isn't good. The camera is your worst enemy. Guards constantly spot you when you can't even see them and this get's worse once you need to turn on your radar in the rest of the rooms in the game. The Story is just plain un-interesting. Hideo Kojima may be a master writer of stories, but this one doesn't deliver until the last hour or so of game play and cut scenes, and even at that point I find myself not caring about some of the things, while the parts while interesting feel more like they belong in a film or some documentary. This is not a good game and it's a boring movie. Expand
  26. Apr 3, 2011
    0
    No, I still dont get this, WHO CALLS A VIDEO GAME BAD BASED OFF PLOT? It makes no sense, are you really going to hate this game just because you play as Raiden? Are you high? Not only is his involvment in the game necessary to the plot, but its not that big of a deal, snake and raiden's controls are the same, how big of a baby are you to complain who you are playing as? Plot are youNo, I still dont get this, WHO CALLS A VIDEO GAME BAD BASED OFF PLOT? It makes no sense, are you really going to hate this game just because you play as Raiden? Are you high? Not only is his involvment in the game necessary to the plot, but its not that big of a deal, snake and raiden's controls are the same, how big of a baby are you to complain who you are playing as? Plot are you serious? "Screw the incredible graphic,s and gameplay, the plot was stupid" maybe you people forgot but this ISNT a movie, its a game, if you hate the cutscenes than just skip them, is it really that hard? How can functioning humans review like this, it is the epitome of illogical reviwing, thats like saying the food sucked because it wasnt on a good plate, who cares about the plate???? The food is the main focus. You cant just call food bad because of the plate it is served on. Expand
  27. Apr 9, 2012
    1
    Standards for video games must have been really low when this game first came out. I didn't play the original but I picked up MGS2 in the HD collection for the PS3. The problem with the game isn't the graphics (as some might say the graphics look dated on the PS3). No, the problem is the same as it was back when the game first came out - the gameplay. MGS2 has the worst gameplay of anyStandards for video games must have been really low when this game first came out. I didn't play the original but I picked up MGS2 in the HD collection for the PS3. The problem with the game isn't the graphics (as some might say the graphics look dated on the PS3). No, the problem is the same as it was back when the game first came out - the gameplay. MGS2 has the worst gameplay of any console game I have ever played. How could reviewers possibly give this game a perfect score? MGS and MGS4 are great games (still have to play MGS3) but MGS2 just doesn't compare. The camera is terrible, the shooting is terrible, your character handles terribly. But the Metal Gear series isn't known for gameplay as much as it is for story, right? You could totally skip this installment. I bought the HD collection to fill in the gap between MGS and MGS4 and what have I gained? Pretty much nothing. The problem isn't Raiden either - I actually like Raiden. Snake controls even worse than Raiden if that is even possible. Why did I give this game a 1 instead of a 0? The cutscenes were the best part of the game, even though they were mindless and nowhere near as good as in the other games. I couldn't wait to put down my controller from playing this horrible game just to watch a cutscene. The only reason I am putting this review here and not in the HD collection is because I don't want to judge the entire collection after only playing one game. I hope the other 2 games are better. Extremely disappointed with MGS2. Expand
  28. GaryJ.
    Jan 6, 2005
    3
    Plot is HORRIBLE. Totally ruins the franchise. Gameplay is good, but with a plot so awful, why bother?
  29. ChrisP.
    Apr 8, 2004
    6
    MGS2 is a fun game, but the cutscenes are way to long. Also you barely play as Snake. You have to play as the girlish Raiden. He doesn't punch he slaps the guys and he looks as if he has the features of a 12 year old.
  30. JalleyO.
    Jan 27, 2010
    5
    Having absolutely loved the original "Metal Gear Solid", I was really anticipating this one. Unfortunately, this game is a monumental bust. The plot, widely and rightfully ridiculed, is absurd and impenetrable. Yes, I didn't necessarily play this game to be blown away by it's storyline, but I most certainly didn't expect to encounter something as mind-numbingly ludicrous as Having absolutely loved the original "Metal Gear Solid", I was really anticipating this one. Unfortunately, this game is a monumental bust. The plot, widely and rightfully ridiculed, is absurd and impenetrable. Yes, I didn't necessarily play this game to be blown away by it's storyline, but I most certainly didn't expect to encounter something as mind-numbingly ludicrous as this. The numerous, endless cut scenes scattered throughout this game also tax one's patience. Your final completion time will undoubtedly consist of roughly 50% cut-scene nonsense. That's just inexcusable. The sequencing here was also quite flawed. After completing the "Tanker" storyline with Snake at the beginning, you're then inexplicably thrown into the role of Raiden and treated to beginner's lessons, this despite the fact that you already were thrown to the wolves for a few hours as you made your way through the tanker! Absolutely bizarre. I did actually enjoy the "Tanker" round. And the game does gather some momentum when you finally reach the President and Emma Emmerich. But that's not nearly enough warrant a recommendation. You'd be much better off slamming though another round of the PSX original than to suffer through this underwhelming sequel. Expand
  31. ZiggyS.
    Mar 31, 2003
    5
    I didn't think it was very fun. nearly 50% of the 'gameplay' was watching your character talk. all the talk establishes a ridiculously story. it's a tale you might expect to have come from an insane asylum - complete with random events, and pointless characters.
  32. JPDupras
    Sep 25, 2003
    5
    Yeah, it's like a movie. A very polished, action-packed movie too, and for a while you'll think it's the greatest game ever made. That is until you get towards the end and it all falls apart, and what was once a cool action movie/game, becomes the most horrible, pretentious, ill-conceived movie ever made (the "game" part gets lost in there somewhere). In the end, it's Yeah, it's like a movie. A very polished, action-packed movie too, and for a while you'll think it's the greatest game ever made. That is until you get towards the end and it all falls apart, and what was once a cool action movie/game, becomes the most horrible, pretentious, ill-conceived movie ever made (the "game" part gets lost in there somewhere). In the end, it's not a game anymore, it's an aberration, and the most over-hyped game in history. Reviewers obviously didn't play through to the end, and if you value your sanity, you won't either. Expand
  33. Yoheyyo
    Jan 16, 2003
    3
    zzzzzz.....oh, is that cut scene over? has excellent graphics, with some nice subtleties, and makes great use of the controller, but the unending cut scenes, cheeseball story, lame-ass villians bring the score way down. it really seems like the creator ran out of ideas. a mad bomber on roller blades? please, that's just stupid. most over-rated game ever.
  34. Korn
    Feb 13, 2008
    0
    Why Is this Game Have a Higher Score than the Original MGS? What A Joke
  35. B.S.
    Sep 13, 2005
    6
    10 for addictive game play, first half plot, and graphics. 5 for preachy religious story line towards the end.
  36. J.R.
    Apr 4, 2003
    6
    I found the gameplay in MGS2 to be too touchy and frustrating. Often what you need to do is tricky and the touchy controls can really screw things up for you. Plus the plot was silly. Lets face it, video games aren't cheap, so rent this one and you'll be fine.
  37. EdwardB.
    Oct 22, 2005
    5
    Overated. A long and complicated plot that involves zen, reality, patriotism (not a good mix) ...does not equal a good plot. Cut scenes never end ... You play as Raiden for 2/3rds of game. He's a weak minded whimp who verges on looking like a girl .. Didn't we all buy this to play as Snake??? FInished it because I bought it. Felt personally obligated since I wasted time and Overated. A long and complicated plot that involves zen, reality, patriotism (not a good mix) ...does not equal a good plot. Cut scenes never end ... You play as Raiden for 2/3rds of game. He's a weak minded whimp who verges on looking like a girl .. Didn't we all buy this to play as Snake??? FInished it because I bought it. Felt personally obligated since I wasted time and money on this. I know that Manhunter and Suffering are not the same "type" of game but how did this get such a high rating??? The only good thing is I bought this for only 6 to 7 bucks...I guess its worth that. Expand
  38. CoryP.
    Oct 9, 2005
    5
    Let me explain why 5 for those of you who care. I rate on a system of smash or trash and part of this game was a smash and the other part was trash (pretty much a ray of sunshine shining on the half of the game disc that isn't under a pile of turd.) The perfect score goes to the tanker level when you are the main man Snake (whoot!) and then when you swith to Raiden its better to just Let me explain why 5 for those of you who care. I rate on a system of smash or trash and part of this game was a smash and the other part was trash (pretty much a ray of sunshine shining on the half of the game disc that isn't under a pile of turd.) The perfect score goes to the tanker level when you are the main man Snake (whoot!) and then when you swith to Raiden its better to just switch off the system. Even if we needed him for a part in the whole metal gear series why did they make him a limp wristed pillow biter, to make things worse they give his a girl friend whose twice as annoying as he is. One final thought, I wonder if anyone filed a lawsuit against faulty advertising on the company, for those of you who fisrt bought it did it once show raiden in the commercials, or did it mention his name on the back of the game case, NOPE. so why did they go and give us a nice (*cough* "crappy" *cough*) surprise when Raiden did show up. Puzzling ain't it. Expand
  39. CarlosFromPeru
    Aug 4, 2007
    1
    This game is a big disappointment. I was waiting for something better. The story is ridiculous.
  40. AaronP.
    Mar 23, 2007
    0
    This game sucks. It sucks because it has lousy gameplay and it has a plot that would make a little kid cry. This game is the pimple on the franchises a**. Trust me save your hard earned money.
  41. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    6
    While there are things I really liked about MGS2, I definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
  42. ZackL
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    This is my absolute least favorite game of all time simply because everyone thinks it's the greatest thing to ever be played when it's garbage if there was a lower rating than 0 than you better believe that's what this would be getting
  43. JasonL.
    Jun 9, 2002
    1
    The plot and interaction with supporting characters are both pathetically corny. Unlike many others I will not be fooled into thinking this is a great game just because of some pretty cutscenes (which happened to be way too long).
  44. Bander
    Oct 7, 2003
    4
    It was a remake of MGS:1 dont u people listen to the game line and think about the storyline SAME ONE.
  45. SolidSnake
    Mar 30, 2008
    0
    To be honest, I hated working on this game.

    Working conditions sucked, salary was even lower than it was in MGS1, and the script was complete bullshit. Except for my parts, of course.

    Hm... here's my advice. Just play through the Tanker Chapter and move on to MGS3. It'll save you a lot of hours of drudging through boring missions and a ridiculously asinine storyline.
  46. NinjaMafia
    Aug 10, 2003
    7
    This is a pretty disappointing sequel for me. Sure the graphics are nice but the gameplay is monotonous at times. All you do basically is hold people up and then shoot them. Sure there are a few boss battles and gun fights , but they ultimately fall short of what MSG had going for it. The enviroment was horrible. First off, it is day throughout most of the game and when its not day its This is a pretty disappointing sequel for me. Sure the graphics are nice but the gameplay is monotonous at times. All you do basically is hold people up and then shoot them. Sure there are a few boss battles and gun fights , but they ultimately fall short of what MSG had going for it. The enviroment was horrible. First off, it is day throughout most of the game and when its not day its the end of the game. The whole facility you are sneaking around in is Orange, and call me crazy but that doesn't seem stealthy. The storyline however was deep, but it strayed way to far from what the other metal gears stories where like. Lastly the game is extremely short. I beat this game in around 3 hours when I skipped theridicuosly long cutscenes (Iswear some cut scenes were 30 minutes long) Overall the game is not horrible. I just wish the game captured the essence of MGS. Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    Mar 3, 2005
    0
    I hated this game and I'm going with the rest of the other brutally honest people here and tell you straight up this game sucks. I wanted to write the people responsible for this game and tell them exactly how gay the end was. I'm currently running around naked on this game that never seems to end. Where am I supposed to go now, wait you know what I don't care because II hated this game and I'm going with the rest of the other brutally honest people here and tell you straight up this game sucks. I wanted to write the people responsible for this game and tell them exactly how gay the end was. I'm currently running around naked on this game that never seems to end. Where am I supposed to go now, wait you know what I don't care because I hate this game and I'm tired of hearing how the colonel was a north american fireworm in his past life. My only last wish is that there were numbers lower than 0 so I could give this one a lower score. Expand
  48. NelsonL.
    Oct 16, 2002
    5
    Yes this game is beautiful, and yes, the gameplay is still incredible. But please, the story is really awfull, with 10 minutes long scenes where you can do nothing but get bored to death. And for the Bosses you'll fight, they are the most ridiculous I ever saw in a video game (a big fat guy on rollers, a cliche vampire, a poor cow-boy with a schwarzy arm... baahhh !). Really disapointing.
  49. Acnone
    Jan 4, 2002
    5
    It's good but I HATE that new guy. I mean go to hell you long haired freak. Solid could kick you ass without trying. Solid snake FOREVER!
  50. MichealJ.
    Feb 23, 2003
    3
    Ditto to Yo hey yo's opinion.
  51. KyleB.
    Nov 14, 2002
    3
    Why do they call this metal gear SOLID!. The game has no snake what so ever. For the first 15-20 minutes you're snake, after that you take control of a very womanly character named raiden. This character slaps people instead of punching and has a huge emotional attachment to Rose, one of the most annoying female love interests I have ever seen in a game. Raiden never once cracked a Why do they call this metal gear SOLID!. The game has no snake what so ever. For the first 15-20 minutes you're snake, after that you take control of a very womanly character named raiden. This character slaps people instead of punching and has a huge emotional attachment to Rose, one of the most annoying female love interests I have ever seen in a game. Raiden never once cracked a joke, he has some of the most ugly hair ever and instead of using a bandana he uses wigs! He sounds like he has a cold, Has almost no physicial definition looking like a ten year old boy. Raiden truly destroys this game, if you can't like the main character, how can you really enjoy the game? It gets a three because those few precious seconds as snake and the witty banter Snake and Ottacon pass back and forth makes the game at least some what humerous. The game should have no Raiden what so ever. They actually called him Snake at the start of the game. DISGRACEFUL! Expand
  52. PaulF.
    Jan 14, 2003
    0
    OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the storyline is so ridiculously convoluted and just plain silly that any and all redeeming features of the gameplay (and there are a few, but really not that many) are flooded with bad feelings. the cut scenes drag on for ages, explaining, and re-explaining OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the storyline is so ridiculously convoluted and just plain silly that any and all redeeming features of the gameplay (and there are a few, but really not that many) are flooded with bad feelings. the cut scenes drag on for ages, explaining, and re-explaining the most ridiculous justifications for the most non-sensical twists. i should probably give it a one because the first section with snake is ok, though not great, and the second character is crap, but even if he had been cool it wouldn't have mattered. Please people, stop giving this game a 10, and stop buyng it, if you keep believing the hype and continue to pretend this game is good just because you liked its predecessor (which wasnt as good as the original Syphon Filter by a longshot by the way) then the game will never improve, the next version will have just as lame a story, with another crappy character, and they'll lazily put in another torture sequence, and stinger fight with an aircraft (how lame was that?) and you'll have paid another $50 for a pile of crap that you can give 10's to again. Expand
  53. AliciaD.
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    This is violent and teaches children it is ok to play with guns and killing people.
  54. RyanM.
    Jun 18, 2004
    6
    I know i may regret this, but i really don't know if i enjoy this series too much. However hard i try, i can't manage to get used to the sneaking aroundness. If your reading this your probably a big metal gear fan and won't give a damn about what i say, but is it really as good as people are proclaiming it is. I fail to see it...
  55. Micd
    Nov 8, 2005
    5
    Ok, cutseens are very long, gameplay aint so good, so why bother? this game waz overrated . i gave it a five, but it even deserves a four!
  56. AndrewC.
    Apr 12, 2006
    6
    The only reason I gave this game a 6 is because the gameplay was awesome. The game itself, when comparing it to MGS, it complete and utter crap. The storyline is atrocious, the characters not memorable, and the entire experience lacks the intensity and originality of its predescor.
  57. JasonW.
    Aug 26, 2006
    1
    it was weak, no snake except in the tanker part, yet they promte snake as being the main theme on the back of the game box, its really awful how the chatter just goes on an on an on an on an on...no serioulsy thats how it is , (when coming to the end it really gets bad)... the game was short, the highest level card u achieve is 5 an u dont even use it, all in all this Game deserves to be it was weak, no snake except in the tanker part, yet they promte snake as being the main theme on the back of the game box, its really awful how the chatter just goes on an on an on an on an on...no serioulsy thats how it is , (when coming to the end it really gets bad)... the game was short, the highest level card u achieve is 5 an u dont even use it, all in all this Game deserves to be given away for free, i gave it a 1. Expand
  58. BoraC.
    Mar 26, 2008
    4
    Is it a game or a movie? It's not supposed to be both. It starts as a game, and ends up as a movie. No matter how good or bad the storyline is, a game is not supposed to have a cutscene that is longer than a tv sit-com. Before the battle with Solidus I checked the time and it was more than 20 minutes, so I quit playin.
  59. DanielE
    Dec 2, 2009
    3
    The gameplay enhancements and overall graphical improvements over the first game are a welcome addition. However the contrived plot and lame characters send this one to the bottom. The whole time i was playing this i keep getting a sense of deja vu, and in the end i found out why. I really wanted to like this game, but after the prequel on the ship in the beginning, this thing just tanks. The gameplay enhancements and overall graphical improvements over the first game are a welcome addition. However the contrived plot and lame characters send this one to the bottom. The whole time i was playing this i keep getting a sense of deja vu, and in the end i found out why. I really wanted to like this game, but after the prequel on the ship in the beginning, this thing just tanks. If you enjoy philosophical ramblings shoved down your throat while being treated to a recycled plot that is much harder to believe than its source material being presented as a "game". Then this is for you. Expand
  60. DeanR
    Dec 29, 2008
    0
    Metal Gear Solid 2 was the worst game in the series. Hideo Kojima deceived gamers by making them believe you played as Solid Snake only to find out that you play a new, young (and by all accounts) bisexual character named Raiden. If Raiden was similar to Snake in any way - it might have been okay - but he moved like a ballerina and pranced like a pony. How would you expect Batman fans to Metal Gear Solid 2 was the worst game in the series. Hideo Kojima deceived gamers by making them believe you played as Solid Snake only to find out that you play a new, young (and by all accounts) bisexual character named Raiden. If Raiden was similar to Snake in any way - it might have been okay - but he moved like a ballerina and pranced like a pony. How would you expect Batman fans to buy a Batman game and then have to play as some new character the whole game? It would be an outrage. The games plot was confusing and the only reason it was a success was because cool-aid drinking fanboys forced themselves to like the game. It was a mess. LUCKILY though, Hideo learned from his mistake and produced 2 awesome follow-ups - MGS3 (my second fav of the series) and MGS4. So I can forgive the crap that was MGS2, but don't try to tell me that it was some kind of masterpiece - because it was stupid. Expand
  61. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    as the metal gear games go this is probubly my least favorite . ill get all the bad things out of the way first . well to start you only play as snake in the prolouge then you have to play as whinny raiden who doesnt have 1/10 of the coolness as solid snake . the game size is small there are just not many places to go every thing just feels real constricting. the story at times is abit toas the metal gear games go this is probubly my least favorite . ill get all the bad things out of the way first . well to start you only play as snake in the prolouge then you have to play as whinny raiden who doesnt have 1/10 of the coolness as solid snake . the game size is small there are just not many places to go every thing just feels real constricting. the story at times is abit to off the wall. the ending is to big of a cliff hanger and we had to wait all the way to MGS4 which was many years later to see how it resolves. the good . the graphics are amazing they had a big wow factor in its day. even though the story has some off the wall moments most of it is very enjoyable and addictive enough to want you to learn more . the combat system is awsome and being able to sneak up on enimys and make them surrender or take them hostage is sick. i had just a ton of fun playing with the gaurds in this game. good enimy AI . great and fun boss battles . you get to fight ALOT and i mean ALOT of metal gears in this game ...sweeeeeeeet. over all this game has enough good to keep it up there as pretty good game in the MGS series but theres enough bad to keep it in last of the 4 games. Expand
  62. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    You don't play as Solid Snake through most of the game. Instead you play as an emotionally challenged J-pop wimp named Raiden. The bosses in this game are a rollerblading bomber, a bisexual pseudo vampire (like Twilight), and an old man who is being controlled by a dead guy's arm. The gameplay consists of wandering around being spotted and then hiding for 20 minutes while the enemies goYou don't play as Solid Snake through most of the game. Instead you play as an emotionally challenged J-pop wimp named Raiden. The bosses in this game are a rollerblading bomber, a bisexual pseudo vampire (like Twilight), and an old man who is being controlled by a dead guy's arm. The gameplay consists of wandering around being spotted and then hiding for 20 minutes while the enemies go quiet. The enemies are infinite once you've been spotted and you're bound to be spotted since the smallest disturbence sets them off. As a result you spend most of the game hiding from enemies and not doing any combat whatsoever. Normally a stealth game doesn't focus on combat but this is a whole other story. In most stealth games you can occasionally take out a soldier or two without being spotted, but this game demands that you don't do any combat other than the boss battles. Add to all this a terrible plot and you've got one of the most overrated games of all time. Expand
  63. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This game is inferior to its predecessor (which ought to be played on the Gamecube for a revamped graphic: The Twin Snakes) but it's still very enjoyable. Yes, the plot is really corny and borders the ridiculous many times. The dialogues can even be worse, granted. Atmosphere and character design was also better on The Twin Snakes. Still, how can't we be totally overwhelmed by the sheerThis game is inferior to its predecessor (which ought to be played on the Gamecube for a revamped graphic: The Twin Snakes) but it's still very enjoyable. Yes, the plot is really corny and borders the ridiculous many times. The dialogues can even be worse, granted. Atmosphere and character design was also better on The Twin Snakes. Still, how can't we be totally overwhelmed by the sheer excellence of the visuals, audio effects and cinematic? The game is full of those great, little touches that are a trademark of great productions (too many to mention). The control are as bad as in the predecessor but the action is flawless. Technically speaking this game is a real masterpiece and worth the highest rating. But the problems mentioned above drag it down to a 9/10. Expand
  64. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then asMetal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then as Raiden was like playing as Batman, then as Batgirl. Raiden was wimpy and whiny and asks way too many questions. His catchphrase can pretty much be "What?" or "..." Also, why does he need to call everyone over everything! Solid Snake could handle it without calling on the Codec too much, then again he had real training and not virtual reality training. It was well worth it to see Raiden get peed on by a guard or slip in bird poo to his watery grave or get dramatically electrocuted. The bosses were weird, but interesting. This game would be much better as an first-person shooter so you did not have to keep pressing the button. Now, for the positive aspects. I could not put down the game until it was over! The graphics were a great merge into the PlayStation 3 era. The Easter eggs were pretty cool. A great stealth game overall! Expand
  65. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Compared to the revolutionary Metal Gear Solid on the Playstation many have judged this sequel to be a disappointment yet, despite its many faults, Sons of Liberty makes for an intriguing gaming experience. The cut scenes may still be too long, the plot pointlessly confusing, Raiden slightly annoying and the oil rig setting certainly lacking in the diversity of the Shadow Moses Facility ofCompared to the revolutionary Metal Gear Solid on the Playstation many have judged this sequel to be a disappointment yet, despite its many faults, Sons of Liberty makes for an intriguing gaming experience. The cut scenes may still be too long, the plot pointlessly confusing, Raiden slightly annoying and the oil rig setting certainly lacking in the diversity of the Shadow Moses Facility of the first game but no series has ever made stealth gameplay anywhere near as enjoyable.

    In fact thanks to a number of refinements and additions to the ‘tactical espionage system’ the gameplay itself is actually, for the most part superior to the original even of it is comparatively lacking in the imagination department.

    *For those seeking the best of both worlds I would certainly recommend the GameCube/Wii ‘Twin Snakes’ remake of the first title.*
    Expand
  66. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    For me, it's silly that people attack this game. Sure, in comparison to Solid Snake, Raiden was (at least when he was introduced) a lame main character, but this game, like all the Metal Gear games is unique and insanely entertaining. The style is both badass with the action-packed gameplay/scenes and humorous (yet amazing) in the small details and quirks. Despite not being an open worldFor me, it's silly that people attack this game. Sure, in comparison to Solid Snake, Raiden was (at least when he was introduced) a lame main character, but this game, like all the Metal Gear games is unique and insanely entertaining. The style is both badass with the action-packed gameplay/scenes and humorous (yet amazing) in the small details and quirks. Despite not being an open world game - as Metal Gear games aren't, there is a constant sense of discovery all throughout. The game truly is a masterpiece and is beautifully put together. It doesn't take itself seriously, nor does it expect anyone to, but, in the long run, it's hard not to care about the characters no matter how corny or ridiculous some of them may be. The story, despite is surprisingly in depth, which I liked. I would compare it to James Bond, but that would be an understatement, but it's almost impossible to compare any Metal Gear Solid game to anything. The only possible way to truly understand what kind of game it is, would be to experience it first hand, and it is worth your time and money. Expand
  67. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    It had awesome graphics on the ps2, when it was released. Gameplay is also deep and the story knows how to tie you to your console. However in every aspect it is not as good as Metal Gear Solid.
  68. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This game deserves to be on the hall of fame for the PS2. It was released in 2001, but this game was WAY ahead of its time. And I don't see why people hate Raiden...just saying. Anyway, this game is so awesome that they re-released it in HD (along with MGS3 and Peace Walker) for the PS3, 360 and Vita. So do yourself a favor and get those versions, which are superior to the already awesomeThis game deserves to be on the hall of fame for the PS2. It was released in 2001, but this game was WAY ahead of its time. And I don't see why people hate Raiden...just saying. Anyway, this game is so awesome that they re-released it in HD (along with MGS3 and Peace Walker) for the PS3, 360 and Vita. So do yourself a favor and get those versions, which are superior to the already awesome PS2 version. Expand
  69. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    Gran recuerdo el que me produce este MGS 2. Raidens aparte, el juego es excelente, tanto en el aspecto técnico como en el jugable. Personalmente la primera mitad no me entusiasmó pero al llegar al final el ritmo crece hasta un clímax memorable. Quizá la historia sea un tanto enrevesada pero es muy interesante.
    GRAFICOS: 9 SONIDO 8 DIVERSION:8 DURACION :7
  70. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Among the Metal gear solid games, the second one is my least favourite. It probably has the most convoluted story of the bunch, but that does not make it better. On the contrary, the game has so many plot twists that are squeezed in near the end of the game, it's astounding and confusing.The environments are grey and repetative compared to the other games in the series, though still good.Among the Metal gear solid games, the second one is my least favourite. It probably has the most convoluted story of the bunch, but that does not make it better. On the contrary, the game has so many plot twists that are squeezed in near the end of the game, it's astounding and confusing.The environments are grey and repetative compared to the other games in the series, though still good. But this remains a Metal Gear Solid game, for the good and the bad, though if by now you haven't played a MGS game then this isn't a place to start. But this is still a great game. It has great bosses and a lot of action and sneaking to do, and the game has a roster of great characters. Much of the game was memorable to me and even though it's not my favourite MGS game, it's still a damn good game that really stays with you. Expand
  71. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game blew my mind first time i played it. I was still playing the nintendo 64 back then and didn't ever realize they could even make games like this. This blew like any movie or game I ever played out of the water cinematic and story wise back then. A masterpiece of a game.
  72. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I think this is one of the best computer game ever. You'll find there a lot of action, amazing story, nice locations and above all this little thing which makes games unique - culture connections. Even if you are not a fan of games like this, you should play MGS2.
  73. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The very definition of "mind****." This game made sweet love to my mind in a cheap motel and never called back the following day. MGS2 isn't just a game, it's an experience. It's a thrilling, intelligent, and emotional roller coaster ride with twists and turns at every corner. I achieved such a high level of immersion on my first playthrough that I found myself questioning reality byThe very definition of "mind****." This game made sweet love to my mind in a cheap motel and never called back the following day. MGS2 isn't just a game, it's an experience. It's a thrilling, intelligent, and emotional roller coaster ride with twists and turns at every corner. I achieved such a high level of immersion on my first playthrough that I found myself questioning reality by game's end. Though initially annoyed by Konami's decision to make Raiden the main protagonist, I did enjoy seeing Solid Snake from a student perspective. Seemingly all knowing mentor who's better equipped and provides support when you're stuck is an appropriate role for a character who exudes unparalleled badassery and pimptitude. The soundtrack was pretty good. The improvements in gameplay over the original are vast. The first person aiming is a godsend, and the improved AI made toying around with enemy soldiers infinitely more fun and versatile. Every phase of the game is "Solid". Pun intended. Expand
  74. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    One of the best games. Hideo Kojima is genius director and writer! The story is complex and interesting and the plot becomes appreciated after repeat playthroughs. The story is mgs2 strongest point like in every other mgs games but also gameplay, graphics and music are amazing.
  75. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. where do i start? the story is mind boggling even with multiple playthroughs and looking at people talking about the game on youtube and you will never understand it all.

    the gameplay is true to the original and is enhanced with the pressure sensitive buttons on the ps2 and ps3 controllers,

    this is the first metal gear i have played and it is still my favorite even if you dont play as snake.
    this and mgs 4 are my favorites even though they are almost movies.
    Expand
  76. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    The second game in the MGS series is probably the oddest one too. In this game, you start off as Snake, carrying out a mission to discover the new Metal Gear. From this point, we skip some time and are introduced to Raiden, a new member of Fox. The further you infiltrate the area, the more the veil of a new terrorist plot wears off. The gameplay didn't change, as it's still a stealth game.The second game in the MGS series is probably the oddest one too. In this game, you start off as Snake, carrying out a mission to discover the new Metal Gear. From this point, we skip some time and are introduced to Raiden, a new member of Fox. The further you infiltrate the area, the more the veil of a new terrorist plot wears off. The gameplay didn't change, as it's still a stealth game. A few new weapons and items are introduced, most important being the Stun Gun and the Freezer. The story is quite immersive, but doesn't feel as deep as in the first game. The fact that you don't play with Snake is also a clever way of saying he's trying to skip the radar. This is proven as you meet him multiple times, calling himself Iriquois Plissken. The game was okay, the bad guys weren't as scary as in the first game -except Fortune- and the ending -Solidus being the third Snake- is rather weak and a typical move for a sequel. Also the fact that Solidus is supposed to be the perfect clone, yet Snake having a more physique liking to Big Boss is a flaw that I didn't see Kojima make. This game is definitely the weakest link in the series, but still deserves a certain gratitude for being a greater game than most out there. Expand
  77. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This game, in a word, is masterful. Every aspect of this game is well done. The story, while difficult to follow at times, is awesome, full plot twists and emotional moments. The ending in particular has the story transform in ways you would never imagine. The music is just outstanding, namely the main theme and the boss battle music. The gameplay takes everything good about the originalThis game, in a word, is masterful. Every aspect of this game is well done. The story, while difficult to follow at times, is awesome, full plot twists and emotional moments. The ending in particular has the story transform in ways you would never imagine. The music is just outstanding, namely the main theme and the boss battle music. The gameplay takes everything good about the original Metal Gear Solid and just beefs it up to a whole new level. The stealth aspects in particular have evolved exceptionally well. In particular, the ability to hold people up at gunpoint is awesome.
    The biggest complaint with this game is that you don't play as Solid Snake for the majority of it, but rather you play as Raiden. In truth, I really like Raiden as the protagonist. It allows the story center around him and his back story, which allows for more variation in the story. Granted, he's not as cool as Snake, but he's no issue.

    This came is a must play for anyone. It truly is a masterpiece.
    9.3/10
    Expand
  78. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    This is the first MGS I"ve ever played ,(I never had a PS1 growing up), so I played it with an un bias outlook. So how does hold up? It holds up very well. The stealth mechanic is very engaging and every detail added, whether it's the AI or the easter eggs, adds a great deal of atmosphere. It does suffer from terrible writing, such as forced exposition, overdrawn cutscenes, and lacklusterThis is the first MGS I"ve ever played ,(I never had a PS1 growing up), so I played it with an un bias outlook. So how does hold up? It holds up very well. The stealth mechanic is very engaging and every detail added, whether it's the AI or the easter eggs, adds a great deal of atmosphere. It does suffer from terrible writing, such as forced exposition, overdrawn cutscenes, and lackluster characters. Sons of Liberty is a well done game and worth playing if its your first MGS game, because playing it after MGS will probably anger you to no end. Expand
  79. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    So the next game of metal gear solid the first one was amazing and one of the best i've ever played the second one i also amazing it has all the elements of the first one with better graphics the story is a bit complicated but after playing many times you will come to understand it but actually i can't give it 10 out of 10 cause i didn't get to play with snake i didn't really likeSo the next game of metal gear solid the first one was amazing and one of the best i've ever played the second one i also amazing it has all the elements of the first one with better graphics the story is a bit complicated but after playing many times you will come to understand it but actually i can't give it 10 out of 10 cause i didn't get to play with snake i didn't really like raiden in this game but still an amazing game with amazing story Expand
  80. May 20, 2014
    9
    Quite possibly one of the best intro of gaming history and a great presentation to a man that was abused to kill other people it's shocking; the graphics are the best of it's time, the acting impressive the characters lips look great. The setting beautifully created and realistic for it's time, a few new tricks of it's slew for unique stealth a first person aiming but the downside of itQuite possibly one of the best intro of gaming history and a great presentation to a man that was abused to kill other people it's shocking; the graphics are the best of it's time, the acting impressive the characters lips look great. The setting beautifully created and realistic for it's time, a few new tricks of it's slew for unique stealth a first person aiming but the downside of it is that the player can't walk while aiming. Atleast gives tactical advantage over where I am going to hide? it's just great. Perfect cut-scenes with unique characters to show but horrible choice from using more raiden than SNAKE! prevents it from making the game even longer so I give this game a 9.1607 out of 10. Expand
  81. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of the better games of the Metal Gear series, and of the entire Play Station 2 era as a whole. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty takes the action and stealth gameplay of the first game, amps it up tenfold, and continues the driving narrative as well. The controls are one hundred percent tighter and easier to handle, and the major improvements made to the already winningDefinitely one of the better games of the Metal Gear series, and of the entire Play Station 2 era as a whole. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty takes the action and stealth gameplay of the first game, amps it up tenfold, and continues the driving narrative as well. The controls are one hundred percent tighter and easier to handle, and the major improvements made to the already winning formula make for one heck of an experience. Truly a legacy series and truly one of the better games in that series second only to MGS4 at this time. Expand
  82. WhitebearS.
    Feb 10, 2002
    10
    This is the tightest game ever, nothing will surpass this one, but I wanted to play as snake rather than raiden.
  83. DavinderC.
    Feb 4, 2002
    9
    I think the game is quite good but snake doen't look very good!
  84. DanL.
    May 1, 2002
    10
    Great graphics, stunning attention to detail, and great gameplay mechanics make this (along with Halo) one of the greatest games I've played on a modern console.
  85. Spencer
    May 4, 2003
    9
    Although the game is great in every way (graphics, plot, camera, controls, etc.) the problems lies on the fact that the cut scenes within the game are too long and the playing time is too short. nevertheless metal gear solid sons of liberty is a game that every playstation owners should have on their shelves.
  86. WesleyW.
    Jan 3, 2003
    7
    The quality is there, but there's too much trial and error gameplay for my liking. Many times you'll get to a part, die, and have to redo it. Another complain would be that the details aren't all that impressive. How about some freaking bullet holes in the walls when you shoot them? They forget to add that, and yet include all kinds of obscure things many people may not The quality is there, but there's too much trial and error gameplay for my liking. Many times you'll get to a part, die, and have to redo it. Another complain would be that the details aren't all that impressive. How about some freaking bullet holes in the walls when you shoot them? They forget to add that, and yet include all kinds of obscure things many people may not ever notice (like when you walk through a puddle and make wet footprints guards will notice them). Anyways, it's a good game, but HUGELY over-rated in my opinion. Expand
  87. AdamV.
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    But playing with Raiden is like Neo taking the blue pill, the joke sould have stopped at the point in the game where Vamp kills those marines!
  88. BenM.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Best. game. ever.
  89. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    Sure, the storyline sucked (a lot) and was very hard to follow, but everything else is nothing short of spectacular.
  90. CameronC.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    This game is crazy. The story keeps changing. Just when you think you have it sussed they throw you back into the deep end. Nice graphics too.
  91. AlexB.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    A truly brilliant game. Hideo Kojima is an exceptional artist, and via technical wizardry brings to life an exciting, complex, and interesting story, rife with plot twists and unique characters. The controls may take a short learning curve, but they eventually become second nature and any obtuseness just adds to the difficulty factor that keeps you on the edge of your seat. As many A truly brilliant game. Hideo Kojima is an exceptional artist, and via technical wizardry brings to life an exciting, complex, and interesting story, rife with plot twists and unique characters. The controls may take a short learning curve, but they eventually become second nature and any obtuseness just adds to the difficulty factor that keeps you on the edge of your seat. As many reviews note, if you're a fan of videogames and own a PS2, there is no reason not to play this game. Expand
  92. Nick
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    I like reading comments on MGS2. It's fun to compare the complete idiots and people who actually have a brain. "The game sucks! I'm too stupid to understand the story!" "You play as Raiden instead of Snake, now I can't have gay fantasies while I play! Worst game ever." "The gameplay is lame! I can't run around with a bazooka wtf!??? I wanna blow up everyone!!!!" If you I like reading comments on MGS2. It's fun to compare the complete idiots and people who actually have a brain. "The game sucks! I'm too stupid to understand the story!" "You play as Raiden instead of Snake, now I can't have gay fantasies while I play! Worst game ever." "The gameplay is lame! I can't run around with a bazooka wtf!??? I wanna blow up everyone!!!!" If you can't appreciate great graphics, incredible music, a storyline on par with movies and stealthy gameplay perhaps GTA is more your kind of game. As it is, Metal Gear Solid 2 will always be remembered and cherished by those who want depth in their games. Expand
  93. JW
    Jun 4, 2008
    8
    I am a huggge MGS fan an i am eagerly awaiting MGS4. MGS2 was that 'odd' title you usually get in a groundbreaking franchise. whilst it innovated on graphics, gameplay, music and sound...the story was way to far fetched. i love my games with depth, but this went TOO far. towards the end of the game, it just delivered plot twist after plot twist and not all of them in any sense I am a huggge MGS fan an i am eagerly awaiting MGS4. MGS2 was that 'odd' title you usually get in a groundbreaking franchise. whilst it innovated on graphics, gameplay, music and sound...the story was way to far fetched. i love my games with depth, but this went TOO far. towards the end of the game, it just delivered plot twist after plot twist and not all of them in any sense good...BUT, at the same time, you follow it with ears perked up. however, the game contained it's usual collection of great characters, a fave of mine being Vamp, the seemingly immortal being. the gameplay is fantastic! sneaking has never been so much fun. there are numerous ways to do your objective and you can go through the entire game without killing anybody. i will say one thing though, MGS2 starts off amazingly...with some of the best moments in game history. the tanker section should of been how the game went all the way through, not on the tanker all the way through, but with snake as your main character and the game following the same structure as it did in the tanker. overall, this game is a solid game and a masterpiece...i think lol...despite its flaws. Expand
  94. TomB
    Aug 1, 2008
    8
    Solid. The visuals, gameplay, and plot are excellent. But it's not everyone's kind of game. I personally did not enjoy hiding in a locker for 2 minutes while waiting for the guards to go away. And while the plot is rich, I had trouble wrapping my head around a lot of the twists and turns. What struck me was the variety of ways to approach an enemy, from stunning, to killing, to Solid. The visuals, gameplay, and plot are excellent. But it's not everyone's kind of game. I personally did not enjoy hiding in a locker for 2 minutes while waiting for the guards to go away. And while the plot is rich, I had trouble wrapping my head around a lot of the twists and turns. What struck me was the variety of ways to approach an enemy, from stunning, to killing, to having them surrender. Snake is the coolest character in video games and I would have liked to use him more, but the game is developed fluidly enough to make you forget it. Expand
  95. GregS
    Aug 20, 2008
    7
    It's good but NOWHERE near as good as the original.
  96. JimmyP
    Oct 4, 2009
    8
    MGS1 is better. Doesn't live up to high reviews, in my opinion, but it's still quite good and worth playing.
  97. anthonyL
    May 27, 2009
    9
    A solid sequel that has some memorable moments. MGS2 also has hands down the best theme music ever seen in a game. A great but sometimes hard to follow story, especially for newcomers. A little short in length though, including cutscenes takes about 12 hours on your first go. Much less on subsequent gos with no cutscenes. although not quite as good as MGS1 or its sequels it is still a A solid sequel that has some memorable moments. MGS2 also has hands down the best theme music ever seen in a game. A great but sometimes hard to follow story, especially for newcomers. A little short in length though, including cutscenes takes about 12 hours on your first go. Much less on subsequent gos with no cutscenes. although not quite as good as MGS1 or its sequels it is still a great game, worthy of its name. Expand
  98. [Anonymous]
    Dec 1, 2001
    8
    A great game most definitely, but there is far too much cinematic and stuff. I think I spent more time watching video and listening to Kodek than I did playing the game.
  99. Serra
    Dec 5, 2001
    7
    Seems like a lot of games get a good score because of it's look...yea, I know, that's what the higher end consoles are there for, better graphics/sound, but that's like saying Star Wars I was a good movie because the SPFX were great. I liked this game, don't get me wrong, but it's kinda short and a few too many cutscenes for me. I felt like I was watching a movie Seems like a lot of games get a good score because of it's look...yea, I know, that's what the higher end consoles are there for, better graphics/sound, but that's like saying Star Wars I was a good movie because the SPFX were great. I liked this game, don't get me wrong, but it's kinda short and a few too many cutscenes for me. I felt like I was watching a movie more than playing a game, especially with the dang Codec peeping every few minutes. Expand
  100. DanEues
    Jan 10, 2002
    8
    I agree with ACONE, the new guy looks kinda gay but im not going to give it a freakin 5. The game doesnt deserve a 10 either. The guys you call on the codec dont help a bit so your kinda forced to go wandering around. Other than that the game is good. I give it an honest 8.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  2. As stunning and enjoyable as ever. You may feel foolish gripping the controller throughout a 40-minute cut scene, but MGS2 is something which must be experienced.
  3. 80
    MGS2 suffers in its story. I can't spoil it for you, but I can at least warn you to be prepared for a plot that frequently reaches levels of sheer absurdity.