User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 778 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 778

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, the visual setting still satisfys, not to mention every mission had an unforgettable twist. 10/10
  2. Chopin
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    The best action game ever made, and takes my pick as the second best game ever made behind Final Fantasy IX(their totally different, I know, but I have a wide range of tastes). I played this one before the first one, and came into it really biased, as I had only watched someone play the first one and thought it was stupid(I was wrong of course-the first one is great too). I had no idea The best action game ever made, and takes my pick as the second best game ever made behind Final Fantasy IX(their totally different, I know, but I have a wide range of tastes). I played this one before the first one, and came into it really biased, as I had only watched someone play the first one and thought it was stupid(I was wrong of course-the first one is great too). I had no idea how good the plot was, by looking at the back of the box I thought it was just infiltrating an oil tanker and the head boss would be like the captain or something silly......that was the worst judgement I ever made, as this games final cutscenes before the last battle are so epic, and you find out so much, everything is so cool! The biggest draw is having to play as Raiden, it would of worked if you were Snake the full game, he has similar objectives, with different boss battles and stuff. Although you wouldn't get to fight Fatman, who was the most fun boss fight and maybe the hardest. Another draw is Solidus is WAY to easy, at least on normal difficulty, after the 3 Metal Gears he seemed to easy and I only had to use one ration. The sneaking is genius, the scenes spectacular, the voice acting perfect, and the plot so good I almost think its true. Also the music is perfect, although there are only about 6 different tracks. The best scene is Snake and Otacon's handshake, one of the best moments in gaming. Genius. Buy it now, if you havent already. Expand
  3. DomF.
    Feb 8, 2002
    10
    This game is incredibly deep and has a twisty and surprising storyline. This game is better than the first.
  4. PsychoMantis
    Jan 31, 2002
    8
    The original is still better overall. The graphics are great in this game with cool effects and it all runs smoothly. The sound effects are great too, but the audio side I have a complaint about, in some instances the music turned to jazz/lounge, which some people might be turned off by, like me. Those instances are far and few between though, so no biggy. The story is WAY confusing at The original is still better overall. The graphics are great in this game with cool effects and it all runs smoothly. The sound effects are great too, but the audio side I have a complaint about, in some instances the music turned to jazz/lounge, which some people might be turned off by, like me. Those instances are far and few between though, so no biggy. The story is WAY confusing at times and you may get lost, but it is still captivating and well told. My only other gripe is the game was too short and Rose's bitching to Jack every other Codec transmission, ugh. Expand
  5. OerriderCrash
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    This game is wonderful.
  6. Joe
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    A truly epic and unforgetable game.
  7. BenD.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    The low point of the MGS trilogy, a high point in video games in general.
  8. Ryguy98Mgs4fan
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    I give it a 10 because there was a lot of freakin good graphics and the characters were different abillited people who has different personalities too! I hope metal gear will keep going until mgs6 ends. That's why i chose 10 for my ratings. Oh yeah also the first person view Is cool with the aiming on the aimsight.
  9. JamesR.
    Jan 20, 2002
    10
    It's fun and easily one of the best games out.
  10. GiancarloS.
    Jan 31, 2002
    9
    The best game out there, a little shorter than the first; but the graphics, sound and gameplay are just amazing...Solid Snake Rules!!!
  11. MarkM.
    Feb 21, 2002
    10
    An excellent game and unless you're some kind of twisted demented freak type monster who has been living in space for the last 2 years, you will know what I say is true.
  12. RevolverOcelot
    Feb 3, 2002
    10
    What can I say: perfect graphics, amazing gameplay and a storyline with so many twists that if you wrote them all down, you would finish on Metal Gear Solid 7's release date! I'm glad I'm typing this out, because I'm speachless! If you don't have a PlayStation2, then buy one just for this game: it's worth the £249.98!
  13. Rob1
    Feb 6, 2002
    8
    This game is really good and fun but it lacks in length!
  14. JayC.
    Mar 10, 2002
    8
    Brilliant graphics, gameplay, sound...story line gets very, very twisted and almost spoils it. Two downers tho'...the game is way too short and not as intense as the first metal gear and being raiden instead of snake doesn't make it fell the same for me...but if you ain't got it...go get it...its amazing!!!
  15. D.T.
    Mar 10, 2002
    10
    A truly great game. Buy it now!
  16. ChrisdaG.
    Mar 18, 2002
    10
    I got it the thursday before the day it came out and I finished it on extreme by the saturday. The game is great but top short, when mgs3 comes out in uk, I want it to be longer.
  17. AdamL.
    Mar 22, 2002
    10
    I just finished it... This is surely the most amazing game ever released. Nothing compares to the amazing cut scenes, the amazing graphics, perfect gameplay, and awesome music. If you don't already have this you need it now! You will either love or hate the story, I personally loved it (Although the 1st MGS was better), but regardless of that the awesome gameplay alone should have I just finished it... This is surely the most amazing game ever released. Nothing compares to the amazing cut scenes, the amazing graphics, perfect gameplay, and awesome music. If you don't already have this you need it now! You will either love or hate the story, I personally loved it (Although the 1st MGS was better), but regardless of that the awesome gameplay alone should have you desperate for this game! Expand
  18. StewartL.
    Mar 30, 2002
    10
    Stealth the the most revolutionary thing ever to happen to video games. Attention to detail is astounding. You can shoot ice buckets and ice will fall out! That's not all. The ice cubes in groups take longer to melt then the single ones!!
  19. MoneyMaker
    Mar 8, 2002
    10
    I say no more...It speaks for itself.
  20. MichaelH.
    Apr 24, 2002
    10
    One of the best games out on the PS2 contains good graphics but is too short.
  21. NicholasJ.
    May 4, 2002
    10
    This game rules. You can throw people over banisters and break there necks. I've played this game 14 times, and I never get bored of it.
  22. ZiweiT.
    Dec 9, 2003
    9
    This game is great in EVERY WAYS except that i have to use raiden(Jack) for the most of the game. I don't know why some gamers think that the plot towards the end is hard to understand but i understand it fully.
  23. CodyH.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best games I played, I can't wait till more Metal Gear Solid games come out!
  24. TobiasR.
    Apr 5, 2003
    9
    A supergame, the lengthy cutscenes can be forgiven, the codec moments is irritating. But the gameplay rocks. It's a high adrenaline pumping game with spectacular graphics.
  25. DANIELL.
    May 25, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS.THE GRAPHICS AND EVERYTHING.WHOEVER SAYS THIS GAME SUCKS IS A SORE LOSER.
  26. AndrewJ.
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    This game is really top notch, and is the closest you'll get to being a real James Bond!
  27. GarrethO.
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    Perfect just not quite as good as the origional as far as storyline goes but hell, look at it! You feel for every character, it's like a film you have the priviledge to play...god bless Kojima.
  28. Alex
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    Beautiful! Leaves a sweet taste after having played.
  29. MarkH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    I'm totally late on this one. whatevs. Metal Gear Solid 2, along with it's predecessor and hopefully it's successor, belong among the best games of all time. This game is beautiful, challenges the player's expectations, provides a story that is deep and challenging (to a fault at the ending,) but incredibly involving and epic, with a strong message. Metal Gear Solid 2 I'm totally late on this one. whatevs. Metal Gear Solid 2, along with it's predecessor and hopefully it's successor, belong among the best games of all time. This game is beautiful, challenges the player's expectations, provides a story that is deep and challenging (to a fault at the ending,) but incredibly involving and epic, with a strong message. Metal Gear Solid 2 is the true realization of the video game as an art form. Anybody who has ever picked up a dual shock controller absolutely needs to play this game. Expand
  30. JavierA.
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    How could you give a low score to this game... you got to be out of your mind. Excellent graphics, sound, control over the character is great, camera features, the story line is good and of cure it's violent, has guns and everything, that's why all games get "RATED" so parents can control and decide what their children play; even ?cartoonnetwork? has explicit violence Alicia please!!!!
  31. Jeffbighead
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    This game was great. The story will keep you craving for more, with the plot twists and the extreme dramatic scenes, this could be one of the most pollitically incorrect games in the gaming market today. I have played this game after playing the remake of the first one so none of the gameplay elements besides the new weapons have surprized me. I liked the first one a lot more because it This game was great. The story will keep you craving for more, with the plot twists and the extreme dramatic scenes, this could be one of the most pollitically incorrect games in the gaming market today. I have played this game after playing the remake of the first one so none of the gameplay elements besides the new weapons have surprized me. I liked the first one a lot more because it didn't leave me hanging like this one did, and I didn't have to watch some girls die just to save their children. I also liked the first one more because they didn't introduce all the patriot stuff and mess up all the government crap like they did in this one. Plus I was looking forward to seeing solid Snake kick some ass again! But instead we were left with Raiden and his dumbass girlfriend. Expand
  32. KristmundurS.
    Jan 1, 2007
    8
    Sons of Liberty is sequel to the hit Metal Gear Solid. The game makes some great improvement to Metal Gear Solid. This game has still the most impressive graphics on the PS2. New gameplay elemts have included, such as rolling, hanging, First Person aiming and many more. The enemy AI has also improved. The game offers some great and interesting elements along with a great plot but the Sons of Liberty is sequel to the hit Metal Gear Solid. The game makes some great improvement to Metal Gear Solid. This game has still the most impressive graphics on the PS2. New gameplay elemts have included, such as rolling, hanging, First Person aiming and many more. The enemy AI has also improved. The game offers some great and interesting elements along with a great plot but the story is a little weaker than that of MGS1's. The players arsenal has also widened and Boss battles are also fun and memorable. The only problem fans of the first game have is a new playable character is introduced in the game's second half whose name is Raiden, a rookie. This game offers much more replay than MGS1 which is to play the game again to look for hidden items and collectable stuff and the PAL version gets an extra DVD. This is great sequel to a classic game and needs to be played. Expand
  33. ChrisZ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    Metal Gear's story line stands out as the top daddy in video games next to Warcraft.
  34. MGSForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is what i consider sheer perfection. True its storyline can become convoluted at sometimes, but if you ignore that then get ready to be immersed in one of the best games money can buy. I swear, this game changed my stance on video games.
  35. ChrisH.
    Nov 16, 2001
    10
    I loved the other Metal Gears and I love this one. Definitely game of the year.
  36. JamesK.
    Jan 11, 2002
    10
    This is the best Metal Gear game yet. The game play and the new movements it give you are amazing. All of the Metal Gear games keep building off each other. And it is nice that you get another character to control.
  37. RhysH.
    Jan 31, 2002
    9
    The Game play is very realistic. Though it is short and the Story line takes away from the Game. Overall it's one of the best games ever.
  38. MikeW.
    Jan 30, 2002
    10
    Really great game with great graphics.
  39. MarkP.
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    This game is awesomely the best game I've played. When I had my PS2. I rented it, it was the first game that was played on my PS2!!! Now I'm going to get this game and play it a lot of times!!! Great graphics, environments, etc. The new main theme song for MGS2 makes me feel I am part of the game!!! All the graphics here psyched me out!!! I rate this game 10!!! No wait! Way This game is awesomely the best game I've played. When I had my PS2. I rented it, it was the first game that was played on my PS2!!! Now I'm going to get this game and play it a lot of times!!! Great graphics, environments, etc. The new main theme song for MGS2 makes me feel I am part of the game!!! All the graphics here psyched me out!!! I rate this game 10!!! No wait! Way beyond than 10!!! Expand
  40. AdrianoG.
    Feb 17, 2002
    10
    I've waited for MGS2 to come out for about 2 years. I say its the best VideoGame ever for any VideoGame System. The graphics, movies, sound effect, music, etc.. is the best of all times. I recommend this game for all the Action and PS(2) lovers.
  41. ShlimVahT.
    Feb 7, 2002
    10
    This is simply the best game for the PS2. Saying its the best game eva is pushing at coz of XBox's Halo.
  42. JoaoR.
    Mar 19, 2002
    10
    Just Perfect. Best graphics I've seen in a game of this genre, the music is perfect, the gameplay is perfect, the story, all is perfect!
  43. RussellC.
    Mar 23, 2002
    10
    To counter the bad points mentioned by others -- the game takes 10 to 15 hours to complete on the normal setting. This may only be a week's worth of playing, but the game gives great incentive to play it again. Each time you complete it, you are given a new item to work with at the start of a new game. You can also improve your playing time, or try a different strategy. I don't To counter the bad points mentioned by others -- the game takes 10 to 15 hours to complete on the normal setting. This may only be a week's worth of playing, but the game gives great incentive to play it again. Each time you complete it, you are given a new item to work with at the start of a new game. You can also improve your playing time, or try a different strategy. I don't think Raiden is a bad character. He has some smart moves on him, such as that cartwheel move, and he allows you to see Snake from a different perspective. His involvement in the story is also very well structured. I do admit though that Mei Ling is better tham Rose - she is soooo annoying! This is truly a unique game and is surpassed by no others. If you own a PS2, then BUY this game now! Collapse
  44. LarryC.
    Mar 25, 2002
    9
    The graphics are as equally stunning as the attention given to the detail. The army men and characters alike are incredibly believable and nothing short of perfect. But all good things have their flaws. Although the stunning graphicality of the game is a reason enough to buy it, the story line does become a little confusing and even entering the realms of fantasy. The brilliant inclusion The graphics are as equally stunning as the attention given to the detail. The army men and characters alike are incredibly believable and nothing short of perfect. But all good things have their flaws. Although the stunning graphicality of the game is a reason enough to buy it, the story line does become a little confusing and even entering the realms of fantasy. The brilliant inclusion of the small sub-quests throughout the game, such as the dog tags or the variety of mission settings more than compensate for the gameplay. On the whole an incredible work of art and a perfect bridge between the realms of video gaming and films-truly excellent. Expand
  45. LukeT.
    Mar 31, 2002
    10
    The only controversial thing is the storyline. But I loved it. And how were they gonna improve on the first storyline anyway?? Also, playing as Raiden gave me a much greater appreciation as to how good Snake really is.
  46. LeeM.
    Mar 8, 2002
    10
    I've just bought this game today and I'm hooked on to it. And anyone who doesn't buy this game needs to get their brains checked
  47. SeanL.
    Apr 2, 2002
    10
    It is the best game on PS2 and no other game can beat it. It totally rocks all round!!!
  48. JeffT.
    Apr 7, 2002
    10
    This is the best action game ever. If there were one thing they could have done, they should have made the player able to play the game with both players (the plant, the tanker).
  49. AmyD.
    May 18, 2002
    10
    Most interesting and entertaining game Konami has ever made!!!!
  50. LilWicca
    May 5, 2002
    10
    MGS will rule 4 eva!! 1 and 2. Too short though, only took me 3 and a half hours but still rules!! I think storyline got a bit out of hand, but at least not every boss u killed had a sob story like in the 1st one. That really bugged me!! Can't wait 4 the next one, snake will always rule over any character though!!!!!
  51. EricC.
    Sep 27, 2002
    10
    Let me just clear this part up. Graphics, sound, A.I., control, music, voice acting, framerate, and any other technical aspect of this game is flawless, without a doubt. Now for the story: Not many action games can come up with a story this unique and interesting. The fact that Hideo Kojima took everyone's expectations of the game and shocked the brains out of our heads, with Raiden, Let me just clear this part up. Graphics, sound, A.I., control, music, voice acting, framerate, and any other technical aspect of this game is flawless, without a doubt. Now for the story: Not many action games can come up with a story this unique and interesting. The fact that Hideo Kojima took everyone's expectations of the game and shocked the brains out of our heads, with Raiden, the plot twists, and other elements that could ruin the plot for one who reads this, is amazing. I will say that Raiden and Rosemary's lovey-dovey, codec talking relationship should have been cut out. But Raiden was a fairly decent character in every other part than those (nowhere near being Snake, though). I can't criticize the double-crosses in this game because, just like the plot twists in the first Metal Gear Solid, not a single one was done badly to the point of absurdity. After beating the game a few times, I now completely understand the whole story, and it is downright fantastic. If a gamer looking for only action and no story played this game, of course they'll hate it. But if you're a video game lover and enjoy a great story, Metal Gear Solid 2 is the perfect sequel to one of the greatest games ever made. Expand
  52. joshuaviper10000
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    I see for most gamers (except for a few ill-thought players who don't recognize gaming as art now, not just fun, but both together and can't take the plot seriously, didn't understand it, or didn't feel like waiting through the movie scenes; and lets not forget the ones too, that gave the game a 10 just because it was amusement for their feeble minds [that was only for I see for most gamers (except for a few ill-thought players who don't recognize gaming as art now, not just fun, but both together and can't take the plot seriously, didn't understand it, or didn't feel like waiting through the movie scenes; and lets not forget the ones too, that gave the game a 10 just because it was amusement for their feeble minds [that was only for a select 2 people{hint:OCB} on this page]) that this cinematic action/shooter was understood in most respects. Hideo Kojima pushes the gaming envelope by using extended cinematic scenes to create an unsurpassed level of suspense. MGS2 takes the plot of MGS1 and manipulates it to mean something different. And up to the last hour of play seems like the Playstation title. Then uses irony to create a different central idea revolving around the digital age. I don't want to reveal any of the games meaning or surprises so I'll quit giving everything away and move to other subjects. The graphics are far above any PS2 titles of 2001 and textures unmatched by any standards. You become the character or so it feels considering how efficient the controls are. Physics are remarkable. And for the musical composer, I salute you Harry Gregson-Williams. By far this is the best game I've ever played and beat; and I've played and beat alot of games. Don't hate me for this, but this game is better than Halo(but not in multiplayer mainly because their is no multiplayer). I give this game a 12 out of 10. PS: Alicia D., this game actually teaches people not to kill but sneak around them or stun them, and if you do kill it's for a good reason(like saving the President or yourself). PSS: Halo's AWESOME! Expand
  53. jjjojo
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    This game is perfect even better than the first one it has good moves controls and everything else.
  54. BenNewbery
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    I've never given a game a 10, but this deserves an 11. I ain't gonna bore everyone with the depth of the game but i'll say one thing BUY IT, i trust u will not be dissapointed, if u r i'll give u ur money back! THE STORY LINE IS AMAZING, IT CLINGS ON TO UR ATTENTION AND DOESN'T LET GO UNTIL U FALL ASLEEP WITH FROM UR EYES POPPING OUT, U'LL LOVE MORE THAN I LOVE ?????
  55. PatrickS.
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    This game is the bomb it's so cool i like killing people in the game and kicking there butts well oi gave it a 10 as u can see cause it deserves the best cause it is the best!!!!
  56. Mr_soliduss
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    This game is incredible. Its cool, fun, exciting, and really deserves to be respected by the gamers around the world. the story in this game is great: you wont find not one game with such incredible story an such charismatic characters. The graphics is incredible: the edge of PS2. And for the music,we should all bound to Harry Gregson Williams, the best composer. for those who spit onThis game is incredible. Its cool, fun, exciting, and really deserves to be respected by the gamers around the world. the story in this game is great: you wont find not one game with such incredible story an such charismatic characters. The graphics is incredible: the edge of PS2. And for the music,we should all bound to Harry Gregson Williams, the best composer. for those who spit on Raiden, Kojima put him in only because He wanted people to look snake differently from another view. Kojima tried to evolute video games, and we just cant say he didnt. pure 10!!! Expand
  57. Mr_soliduss
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    This game is incredible. Its cool, fun, exciting, and really deserves to be respected by the gamers around the world. the story in this game is great: you wont find not one game with such incredible story an such charismatic characters. The graphics is incredible: the edge of PS2. And for the music,we should all bound to Harry Gregson Williams, the best composer. for those who spit onThis game is incredible. Its cool, fun, exciting, and really deserves to be respected by the gamers around the world. the story in this game is great: you wont find not one game with such incredible story an such charismatic characters. The graphics is incredible: the edge of PS2. And for the music,we should all bound to Harry Gregson Williams, the best composer. for those who spit on Raiden, Kojima put him in only because He wanted people to look snake differently from another view. Kojima tried to evolute video games, and we just cant say he didnt. pure 10!!! Expand
  58. JustinM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    Greatest game ever. The story rules and I can't wait for MGS3: Snake Eater!!!
  59. KelcieB.
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    If you have not played this game u need to.
  60. SteveW.
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    This Game Is Awsome Its Hard To Note Something That Hasnt Already Been Said But My Fave Part Is The Protect E.E Pipe Bit Or As I Call It... Not So Clay Pigeon Shooting Hehe Quality Game!
  61. JakeP.
    May 30, 2005
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. I am usually a picky reviewer, but this game is so amazing. The game is great, and you MUST watch the cutscenes. They are so freaking amazing. This game MUST become a movie. I'm telling you now to buy this game.
  62. AdamskaE.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest. Superb game play. Excellent graphics. Amazing soundtrack. Genius story.
  63. TonyD.
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    still probably the best game ive palyed even though one of my first PS2 games. Top draw.
  64. BigB0SS
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Sons of Liberty is a great game. I think this game didn't do so hot (although it sold many copies) with fans because of the whole Raiden character and the unusual ending plot. However, I look at this game as being a masterpiece. The graphics at the time were outstanding - the best you could find on a console at that time. The extra playability functions (ex. shooting in first person, Sons of Liberty is a great game. I think this game didn't do so hot (although it sold many copies) with fans because of the whole Raiden character and the unusual ending plot. However, I look at this game as being a masterpiece. The graphics at the time were outstanding - the best you could find on a console at that time. The extra playability functions (ex. shooting in first person, hanging from ledges) really added a lot to the gameplay. The music - which was done by Harry Gregson really added to the game experience. I look at the plot as being one of those unique "Sundance" or "IFC" movie plots - strange but artistic. I also know that there are secret societies that exist in reality (however, not to the extent of the Patriots). But from a fictional stand point, it's very buyable. Great game... if you haven't played it, go rent or buy the Substance version. Expand
  65. SeanS.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    The game is perfect, controls, gameplay and cinema. Most people give up on the story line. The story is what pushes the game along. Some say absurd and pure nonsense, but thats the point of video games, indulge in a world of fantasy...well told fantasy.
  66. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    I had doubts as to how good this game would really be. Then I played it. And played it. And played it. The story is intense and deep (don't think that everything is as it seems...) and the gameplay is immersive and wonderful. MGS2 is also the least violent of all MGS games, as there is only one excessively bloody scene that comes to mind (the first scene with Vamp early on) andI had doubts as to how good this game would really be. Then I played it. And played it. And played it. The story is intense and deep (don't think that everything is as it seems...) and the gameplay is immersive and wonderful. MGS2 is also the least violent of all MGS games, as there is only one excessively bloody scene that comes to mind (the first scene with Vamp early on) and minimal gore, if any. Do yourself a big favor: if you own a PS2, get this game. It'll only run you $5 or so. Expand
  67. AbrahamD.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A great sequel.
  68. JonathanL.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    One of the most stellar games of all time. The Metal Gear Solid series is the first action game to really integrate a deep and intricate plot. The graphics and audio of MGS2 were revolutionary for their time and the characters were intriguing while the gameplay was enjoyable. One of the best games on any console.
  69. ivanm.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    i fail to see what's wrong with this new character Raiden.He's ok with me.I hate to see how many people are bias against him.
  70. Subliminal42
    May 23, 2009
    10
    If you're here to decide on whether to buy this game i urge you, to NOT look at these comments, most of them are garbage. Metal Gear Solid 2 is UNDOUBTEDLY an improvement on Metal Gear Solid 1, it is a very story driven game, combining a conspiracy/sci-fi esque story with the players first chance to 'step back' and take a look at the metal gear series, find out who snake If you're here to decide on whether to buy this game i urge you, to NOT look at these comments, most of them are garbage. Metal Gear Solid 2 is UNDOUBTEDLY an improvement on Metal Gear Solid 1, it is a very story driven game, combining a conspiracy/sci-fi esque story with the players first chance to 'step back' and take a look at the metal gear series, find out who snake really is, what drives him. This is reason enough to play as raiden. Oh, and raiden has NO difference in gameplay style, he has the exact same moves as snake, and even more! For someone who is a fan of the series this is a must buy. if you disagree with Kojima's choice to integrate raiden into the story then I think you cant really call yourself a fan of the series. Raiden is here, and hes not leaving anytime soon. Expand
  71. jonathonc
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    an inredible game just all out grea.t if you want a stupid story bad gameplay horrible graphics go get spinter cell if you want the opposite get this game you will be blown away
  72. CarlL
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    The gameplay is amazing, the plot is a little confusing. But play the next two games, then play MGS2 again and you'll realize why it was like that, they had to set it up for the future games. Look at how many times Raiden says The Sorrow and The Joy together. It's dropping hints like mad!
  73. MikeN.
    Nov 16, 2001
    10
    I find myself rolling my eyes at some of the over-the-top story elements, and cheesy dialog...but apart from that minor gripe, it's a must have!
  74. BugmanZ.
    Dec 31, 2001
    10
    This is the definitely the game of the year! Great gameplay, great sound, very original ideas and as for the story, I think its great. It has many twists and turns and keeps you guessing till the end. Some people may not like it probably because their brain is too weak to understand it. I've never seen such a great and unique story. This is definitely one of the best game I've This is the definitely the game of the year! Great gameplay, great sound, very original ideas and as for the story, I think its great. It has many twists and turns and keeps you guessing till the end. Some people may not like it probably because their brain is too weak to understand it. I've never seen such a great and unique story. This is definitely one of the best game I've ever played. Expand
  75. ChrisR.
    Dec 31, 2001
    10
    This game is perhaps one of the games that will never ever be forgotten as time goes by, some say the story is over the top? So what its a game, and I believe the story is amazing, at many points it left me messed up and i loved it, awesome game, get it NOW!
  76. MasonL.
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    This game has the best storyline of all the PS2 games so far.
  77. FROyasmin
    Mar 19, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played on Playstation 2. If you don't have it go rent it, and if you like it go buy it!
  78. Omar
    Mar 19, 2002
    10
    Best game on Playstation 2. Hideo Kojima is a genius. MGS2 is a classic.
  79. JohnnyC.
    Apr 26, 2002
    9
    Man, that game ruled! But, it was a little to freakin short. Number 1 was a lot longer, but number 2's graphics were excellent!!! Should have been longer, way too short, it took me 2 days to beat, honest.
  80. RyanK.
    Jul 11, 2002
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty is a game packed with excitement and is well laid out. The sound is great and the graphics are even better. I enjoyed watching the numerous cutscenes and I also enjoyed the gameplay. Metal Gear Solid 2 : SOL, is a game that mixes real time strategy and stealth with many imaginative characters including Vamp, Fortune, and Fatman. The story line is easy Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty is a game packed with excitement and is well laid out. The sound is great and the graphics are even better. I enjoyed watching the numerous cutscenes and I also enjoyed the gameplay. Metal Gear Solid 2 : SOL, is a game that mixes real time strategy and stealth with many imaginative characters including Vamp, Fortune, and Fatman. The story line is easy to follow, but has controls that are not easy to get the hang of. Even though the game is split into two main places, the story is long and takes time. I liked the way the cutscenes were used to explain the storyline and I equally enjoyed how every character interacted with each other. The only feature of the incredible gameplay that I do not care for is how long the cut scenes were. Eventhough the scenes were beautifully detailed and well thought up, they are just too long. I cannot complain too much though because the cut scenes are the backbone of the storyline. With this in mind I give Metal Gear 2: Sons of Liberty a 9 out of 10. I strongly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys real time strategy games mixed with the adventure and shocking turn of events of any other great game. Expand
  81. PhoebeR.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    AMAZING!
  82. AlbertoC.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    Greatest Ever Made. Everything is just perfect, the story,graphics,gameplay,voice-work,soundtrack and characters. What classics are made of.
  83. KevinS.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    I think that MGS2 is the best action game ever made on PS2. When I got it I played it for a good hour.I had the game for a year.
  84. JustinM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    Greatest game ever. The story rules and I can't wait for MGS3: Snake Eater!!!
  85. SnakeTails
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Man,people need to wake up and smell the gun powder! this game rocks. because of the great grafics and amasing AI you get lost in a trance... any way I gave it a 10 because I pay attenton to the story line. oh and for you nerds out thare you can play as snake in the plant...over and out!!...
  86. KermitB.
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. There is more action in this game than most games.
  87. IsaacM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Great game!! Raiden is the most painfully annoying character ever especially obvious when put next to the coolest character ever (Solid Snake) I just wanted to reach into the TV screen and throttle him!! Apart from Raiden though you can't fault this game except perhaps I would have liked the kind of innovation you saw with the original Metal Gear Solid (think Psycho Mantis - oh what Great game!! Raiden is the most painfully annoying character ever especially obvious when put next to the coolest character ever (Solid Snake) I just wanted to reach into the TV screen and throttle him!! Apart from Raiden though you can't fault this game except perhaps I would have liked the kind of innovation you saw with the original Metal Gear Solid (think Psycho Mantis - oh what fun he was) but a thoroughly worthy sequel. Expand
  88. JoryG.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Metal Gear Solid had an exceptional story and revolutionary gameplay. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater makes some bold steps in terms of dramatic and depressing storytelling. But MGS2: Sons of Liberty is, I think, the most successful of the three because, exactly as Kojima and his pals intended, it screws with the player to the extent that most gamers hate it. I agree that Raiden and Rose Metal Gear Solid had an exceptional story and revolutionary gameplay. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater makes some bold steps in terms of dramatic and depressing storytelling. But MGS2: Sons of Liberty is, I think, the most successful of the three because, exactly as Kojima and his pals intended, it screws with the player to the extent that most gamers hate it. I agree that Raiden and Rose weren't exactly the most interesting bunch to listen to, but in the end of the game this terrible weakness becomes a shocking strength: Rose's inane, melodramatic banter has all been a petty construction- or has it? This, I think, is the most effective element of MGS2: By the time the game is over, the savvy player will be able to take a moment to just stop and think, and unravel the story and its themes. Yes, by the end Rose is apparently carring Raiden's child and Snake appears in the street before Raiden, but he doesn't clarify a freaking thing! More and more sheets just get pulled over the player's head as the game's theme becomes the game itself. It hasn't been done again since. Expand
  89. LiamG.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    Best game I ever played, PERIOD!!! A story that introduces conspiracy theories that are completely plausible and that could explain things in real life (if the theory was true).The level of interactivity is incredible...scaring guards, catching colds, even making bags of flour start leaking when you shoot at them! The level of detail is astounding. My only reproach is the fact that you Best game I ever played, PERIOD!!! A story that introduces conspiracy theories that are completely plausible and that could explain things in real life (if the theory was true).The level of interactivity is incredible...scaring guards, catching colds, even making bags of flour start leaking when you shoot at them! The level of detail is astounding. My only reproach is the fact that you are forced to use a secondary caracter for more than half the game. Otherwise, a completely flawless game. Expand
  90. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Honestly, this is the best video game I've ever played. Amazing storyline with epic and emotional moments, top-notch gameplay, tons of replayability, and an awesome soundtrack. The best game of all time {along with MGS1, MGS3, and MGS4}.
  91. PatrickN.
    Nov 14, 2001
    10
    Should definitely be Game of the Year. Exciting, entertaining, visually perfect, and fun. Perfect ten.
  92. PatrickB.
    Nov 17, 2001
    9
    Very VERY good game. No game deserves a perfect score though, no matter how good it is. Story great, gameplay great. Could be longer.
  93. Roachy
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    This game was amazing. Great graphics compared to the first one. Wonderful gameplay. The coolest part is how you can stun the guards and drag them into lockers and leave them there.
  94. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    Sons of Liberty is pretty much what you would expect from an MGS game. The story takes so many twists and turns and is more than a bit ridiculous. The writing and voice acting can go from excellent to decent to laughable all in the same scene. The gameplay is inventive and diverse but a little clunky. With MGS, however, its flaws are just as important to its character as its strengths andSons of Liberty is pretty much what you would expect from an MGS game. The story takes so many twists and turns and is more than a bit ridiculous. The writing and voice acting can go from excellent to decent to laughable all in the same scene. The gameplay is inventive and diverse but a little clunky. With MGS, however, its flaws are just as important to its character as its strengths and the overall product is very entertaining and innovative. Expand
  95. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    So what if this game has a confusing storyline. Maybe if you pay close enough attention you'd realise that how deep and an accurate description of society this game is. The gameplay and graphics have vastly improved and the main character is a perfect example of the average gamer. We are all effected and created by the memes of our society and this game nails it here. Ofcourse cod playersSo what if this game has a confusing storyline. Maybe if you pay close enough attention you'd realise that how deep and an accurate description of society this game is. The gameplay and graphics have vastly improved and the main character is a perfect example of the average gamer. We are all effected and created by the memes of our society and this game nails it here. Ofcourse cod players rating this game don't understand that. The game requires you to be technical not go in shooting everything in sight. The game's length also depends on the difficulty you play on on very easy it's between 4-5 hours with out cutscenes and as you go up to European extreme the game is over 14 hours. Overall this is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Expand
  96. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    The plot becomes appreciated after repeat playthroughs, and the game play kicks ass. I can definitely see why other people would dislike it, but I can't help loving this game.
  97. MerylS.
    Feb 19, 2002
    10
    The best game in the World!!!
  98. TomR.
    Jan 1, 2002
    10
    I can't see how anyone can give this game less than a 10 out of 10... it is like playing a movie. If you're looking for non-stop gameplay, go elsewhere, but this storyline, as absurd as it may be at times, thoroughly engulfs you as you become the character you're playing. Never before has this happened to me... this game is truly groundbreaking. Game of the year, 2001.
  99. DenzoN.
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    If you're looking for a shoot'em up game you will not find better than Metal Gear Soild 2. I have clocked it 5 times and i still haven't lost interest.
  100. CodyB
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    The perfect masterpiece of the ps2, yet there are are some people that bitch & moan about how "horrible" THEY THINK the storyline is because either they don't PAY FULL ATTENTION or they're just totally mentally retarded to understand ANYTHING AT ALL. ANYBODY who rates this brilliant masterpiece a low score are inexperienced losers who just TRY to ruin gaming experiences for The perfect masterpiece of the ps2, yet there are are some people that bitch & moan about how "horrible" THEY THINK the storyline is because either they don't PAY FULL ATTENTION or they're just totally mentally retarded to understand ANYTHING AT ALL. ANYBODY who rates this brilliant masterpiece a low score are inexperienced losers who just TRY to ruin gaming experiences for other gamers because they have no lives of their own. Trust me, I am an true gamer and I know what a true masterpiece is, get this game or be like one of "them". Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  2. As stunning and enjoyable as ever. You may feel foolish gripping the controller throughout a 40-minute cut scene, but MGS2 is something which must be experienced.
  3. 80
    MGS2 suffers in its story. I can't spoil it for you, but I can at least warn you to be prepared for a plot that frequently reaches levels of sheer absurdity.