User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 683 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 683

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, the visual setting still satisfys, not to mention every mission had an unforgettable twist. 10/10
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    The plot becomes appreciated after repeat playthroughs, and the game play kicks ass. I can definitely see why other people would dislike it, but I can't help loving this game.
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    0
    No, I still dont get this, WHO CALLS A VIDEO GAME BAD BASED OFF PLOT? It makes no sense, are you really going to hate this game just because you play as Raiden? Are you high? Not only is his involvment in the game necessary to the plot, but its not that big of a deal, snake and raiden's controls are the same, how big of a baby are you to complain who you are playing as? Plot are you serious? "Screw the incredible graphic,s and gameplay, the plot was stupid" maybe you people forgot but this ISNT a movie, its a game, if you hate the cutscenes than just skip them, is it really that hard? How can functioning humans review like this, it is the epitome of illogical reviwing, thats like saying the food sucked because it wasnt on a good plate, who cares about the plate???? The food is the main focus. You cant just call food bad because of the plate it is served on. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Everyone who has a negative review on here complains about the dumbest stuff. "O you have to play as Raidan " and that "the cut scenes are too long". Its just the same when people say that movies are too long. Everyone who says this games cut scenes are too long, are the people who didn't get the story of it. This is a amazing game with a great story and lots of different characters. If you want all action and no brains just go back to your COD already. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    This was a good game and provides yet another gripping instalment into the tactical espionage world of Metal Gear. The story goes even deeper as new characters are introduced as well as some old characters returning. The game play has been significantly improved from metal gear solid to allow more fun for players.
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 2 continues the pedigree of trendsetting, pulse-pounding action from its PlayStation predecessor, updating the graphics and introducing more layers of intrigue, betrayal, politics, and technology to an already complex plot. The result is one of PS2's best games ever.
  7. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    This is one of the few games I played from start to finish non stop when I got home with it. I can't even imagine doing something like that now but that might be due to age hehe.
  8. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    I kind of feel like people missed the point on this game; it is, unlike most games, far more about what the game does to the player. Simply put, this was a benchmark for player manipulation and interaction for the purpose for telling a story and creating an experience. The story also gets a lot of unfounded criticism; it is a bit wonky at times, but more often than not, its simply brilliantly complex. It's the mindscrew that "The Matrix" and "Fight Club" wish they were. Indeed, as maligned as the ending may be, it definitely elicits a stronger emotional reaction than all but a very, very small handful of other games (three of which are in this same series), and it does so in a way that no other game had ever done before, and arguably has since. It is a twist far more complex than "you are the villan" or "it was a dream" or all the tropes that we accept so easily as "twists". It's not perfect, but damnit, it doesn't need to be; it is an artistic achievement, and a brilliant work of post-modenism.

    Another Kojima Masterpiece.
    Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    The game's greatest strength is without a doubt its story. For the first 10+ hours its a contrived, impossible, confusing circus. Then, in the final 5+ hours it all comes together. Looking back, I can safely say that the plot was intelligent, and even moving at times. I don't want to give anything away, but there's one moment late in the game that really moved me, and even depressed me just a little. That's how immersed I was. The gameplay was also very solid (no pun intended), even if the dated controls and camera required a little bit of getting used to. I was initially disappointed with having to play as Raiden for most of the game, but his character grew on me. I also beat Resident Evil 4 a few days before, so it's been a pretty good gaming week for me. Get the Metal Gear Solid HD collection. Expand
  10. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    Sons of Liberty is pretty much what you would expect from an MGS game. The story takes so many twists and turns and is more than a bit ridiculous. The writing and voice acting can go from excellent to decent to laughable all in the same scene. The gameplay is inventive and diverse but a little clunky. With MGS, however, its flaws are just as important to its character as its strengths and the overall product is very entertaining and innovative. Expand
  11. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    This really shows the true potential that the PS2 had during his release and is still intact. No other game had me so amazed during the time i had the console and is incredible the graphics were amazing in those years,the original gameplay,the funny parts ,the top nosh story . Lets put it simply this is a truly masterpiece in the Playstation library and it is already a classic. This cant be missed. Expand
  12. May 19, 2011
    10
    To this day, I think I have more playthroughs logged in MGS2 than any other game (at one point I had all the dog tags). Unbelievable graphics (at the time), awesome voice acting, great story, great cut scenes, intense action, well thought out levels and bosses, this has to be one of the best games ever made.
  13. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This is not just a game. This here is a work of art. Steeped in metaphor, this game seeks to involve you the "gamer" at a deeper level; breaking all known conventions. Put simply there has been nothing like it before or since. It's far too complex for me to go into within the character limit here, but you should check out the sites : metagearsolid.org/reports_mgs2.html and deltaheadtranslation.com/MGS2/DOTM_TOC.htm for a greater analysis of the game. Expand
  14. Apr 9, 2012
    1
    Standards for video games must have been really low when this game first came out. I didn't play the original but I picked up MGS2 in the HD collection for the PS3. The problem with the game isn't the graphics (as some might say the graphics look dated on the PS3). No, the problem is the same as it was back when the game first came out - the gameplay. MGS2 has the worst gameplay of any console game I have ever played. How could reviewers possibly give this game a perfect score? MGS and MGS4 are great games (still have to play MGS3) but MGS2 just doesn't compare. The camera is terrible, the shooting is terrible, your character handles terribly. But the Metal Gear series isn't known for gameplay as much as it is for story, right? You could totally skip this installment. I bought the HD collection to fill in the gap between MGS and MGS4 and what have I gained? Pretty much nothing. The problem isn't Raiden either - I actually like Raiden. Snake controls even worse than Raiden if that is even possible. Why did I give this game a 1 instead of a 0? The cutscenes were the best part of the game, even though they were mindless and nowhere near as good as in the other games. I couldn't wait to put down my controller from playing this horrible game just to watch a cutscene. The only reason I am putting this review here and not in the HD collection is because I don't want to judge the entire collection after only playing one game. I hope the other 2 games are better. Extremely disappointed with MGS2. Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This is just another game, not! This is a game for the ages. The story is so well made and planned that it does not bore the audience and gamer at all. It is such a wonderful and addicting game. The boss levels are boss, just kidding, they are very interesting and fun to play through, at times irritating, but that does not pan in its overall rating. It can't even be considered a quirk in this game. MGS2 is a must get, a classic if I would say. Expand
  16. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    great game. good graphics, pretty decent controls, crazy ass story line. one of a kind. memorable characters and great voice acting, if you like mgs 1 i dont see why you wouldnt enjoy this game. yes, the very ending is very strange, i dont understand it, but you gotta play this game, but you dont play as snake the whole game, i think thats why there are some bad reviews. non the less still a classic in my opinion 10/10 Expand
  17. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I love this game. The story, characters, graphics and music were great. Even if Solid Snake isn't the main character i still like, despise some negativity of some fans. Besides, this my favourite mgs game of all time.
  18. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Thought provoking, clever plot, and playful with the fourth wall. Not the greatest of the MGS series when it comes to gameplay, but is a definite jump in progress from the Shadow Moses incident. The plot twisting, turning, melting, and remolding will be confuse some, if not most, players - but all the confusion is worthwhile when the multiple climaxes surface themselves near the end. To top it off, the social and political commentary in Sons of Liberty is the greatest out of the entire series. Definitely a top PS2 game. Expand
  19. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This is by far my favorite game of all time! Tight controls, deep meaningful story, so many plot twists it's unbelievable; this is truly a game of the ages. Kojima is a mastermind for crafting such a delicate piece of art. Everything from the controls to the characters is perfect., and yes even though Raiden is annoying, it was very interesting and thought provoking to see Snake from an outside perspective as the mentor. I highly encourage anyone who hasn't played this game to go out and discover the joy that is this game! I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  20. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Square is to shoot? X is O? Overrated game? Frustrating shooting? convoluted plot? Raiden's a wimp? What are you talking about!? You sorry lads are probably the same unlucky bunch that didn't get Inception the first time. What kind of mongrels are you to not realize the absolute genius that is MGS2? Only a proper fool would have a negative thing to say about this game. If you have any sense you will pick this game up as the review finishes. Gameplay is a blend of shooting, sneaking and putting people in lockers. It's so artiscly crafted that it's kind of weird how smooth the gameplay is. You play as Snake in the first chapter which finishes in like 25 minutes. (when you get good at it though) first time it took me an hour and 30 mins. Russians have hijacked the tanker you are on in an attempt to capture Metal Gear Ray. As snake you can choose to sneak through the game using tranqs and boxes or Rambo style with melee moves and pistols. Music is also nice with great themes capitalizing on tense moments. Visuals are stupendous with real time cutscenes and the whole shebang. Raiden is no different. With an upgraded arsenal to house bombs, snipers, machine the works. It never feels wrong to play as raiden instead of snake. The basic plot in this part is dead cell, a group of terrorists, have hijacked the president and his people and you must go in solo to get him home. 10/10 best game ever made. Expand
  21. Aug 26, 2012
    4
    This game was never good. This game still isn't good. The camera is your worst enemy. Guards constantly spot you when you can't even see them and this get's worse once you need to turn on your radar in the rest of the rooms in the game. The Story is just plain un-interesting. Hideo Kojima may be a master writer of stories, but this one doesn't deliver until the last hour or so of game play and cut scenes, and even at that point I find myself not caring about some of the things, while the parts while interesting feel more like they belong in a film or some documentary. This is not a good game and it's a boring movie. Expand
  22. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    MGS2 is the most involved with themes, like conspiration, memes, and many others. The protagonist may not be Snake, but this factor put Raiden in other way: the way of the Cyber Ninja. The movement the bosses, the situations, partially all remembers MGS1. The Easter eggs are to funny to, and more exposed. A the moment the MGS with the best Story
  23. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    Whoever says this isn't a good game is a fool. The introduction to first-person shooting was just magnificent, especially since it was the first MGS game to do this. For anyone interested in a sneaking game with an extraordinary(yet sometimes far-fetched & convoluted in all honesty) plot, great music and graphics that would be welcomed for a game on the PS3 then MGS2 is definitely the game for you. It is so fun to play and I still play it to this day and don't get bored. The pitter-patter of rain while Snake walks the George Washington bridge in the opening of the tanker chapter, the music while you sneak around the Big Shell, the change of pace according to different missions, the Colonel's crazy sequence towards the end, the nostalgia you get when you emerge on the roof of Strut A as Raiden, the delusional yet righteous villains including Vamp, Solidus, Fatman and Fortune, not to mention Ocelot having a key role as always(his speech while hijacking Metal Gear is fantastic).....all of these moments in the game, they all make this game a treat particularly for a hardcore MGS fan like myself. Expand
  24. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    as the metal gear games go this is probubly my least favorite . ill get all the bad things out of the way first . well to start you only play as snake in the prolouge then you have to play as whinny raiden who doesnt have 1/10 of the coolness as solid snake . the game size is small there are just not many places to go every thing just feels real constricting. the story at times is abit to off the wall. the ending is to big of a cliff hanger and we had to wait all the way to MGS4 which was many years later to see how it resolves. the good . the graphics are amazing they had a big wow factor in its day. even though the story has some off the wall moments most of it is very enjoyable and addictive enough to want you to learn more . the combat system is awsome and being able to sneak up on enimys and make them surrender or take them hostage is sick. i had just a ton of fun playing with the gaurds in this game. good enimy AI . great and fun boss battles . you get to fight ALOT and i mean ALOT of metal gears in this game ...sweeeeeeeet. over all this game has enough good to keep it up there as pretty good game in the MGS series but theres enough bad to keep it in last of the 4 games. Expand
  25. Aug 21, 2010
    0
    You don't play as Solid Snake through most of the game. Instead you play as an emotionally challenged J-pop wimp named Raiden. The bosses in this game are a rollerblading bomber, a bisexual pseudo vampire (like Twilight), and an old man who is being controlled by a dead guy's arm. The gameplay consists of wandering around being spotted and then hiding for 20 minutes while the enemies go quiet. The enemies are infinite once you've been spotted and you're bound to be spotted since the smallest disturbence sets them off. As a result you spend most of the game hiding from enemies and not doing any combat whatsoever. Normally a stealth game doesn't focus on combat but this is a whole other story. In most stealth games you can occasionally take out a soldier or two without being spotted, but this game demands that you don't do any combat other than the boss battles. Add to all this a terrible plot and you've got one of the most overrated games of all time. Expand
  26. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    This game is inferior to its predecessor (which ought to be played on the Gamecube for a revamped graphic: The Twin Snakes) but it's still very enjoyable. Yes, the plot is really corny and borders the ridiculous many times. The dialogues can even be worse, granted. Atmosphere and character design was also better on The Twin Snakes. Still, how can't we be totally overwhelmed by the sheer excellence of the visuals, audio effects and cinematic? The game is full of those great, little touches that are a trademark of great productions (too many to mention). The control are as bad as in the predecessor but the action is flawless. Technically speaking this game is a real masterpiece and worth the highest rating. But the problems mentioned above drag it down to a 9/10. Expand
  27. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then as Raiden was like playing as Batman, then as Batgirl. Raiden was wimpy and whiny and asks way too many questions. His catchphrase can pretty much be "What?" or "..." Also, why does he need to call everyone over everything! Solid Snake could handle it without calling on the Codec too much, then again he had real training and not virtual reality training. It was well worth it to see Raiden get peed on by a guard or slip in bird poo to his watery grave or get dramatically electrocuted. The bosses were weird, but interesting. This game would be much better as an first-person shooter so you did not have to keep pressing the button. Now, for the positive aspects. I could not put down the game until it was over! The graphics were a great merge into the PlayStation 3 era. The Easter eggs were pretty cool. A great stealth game overall! Expand
  28. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Compared to the revolutionary Metal Gear Solid on the Playstation many have judged this sequel to be a disappointment yet, despite its many faults, Sons of Liberty makes for an intriguing gaming experience. The cut scenes may still be too long, the plot pointlessly confusing, Raiden slightly annoying and the oil rig setting certainly lacking in the diversity of the Shadow Moses Facility of the first game but no series has ever made stealth gameplay anywhere near as enjoyable.

    In fact thanks to a number of refinements and additions to the ‘tactical espionage system’ the gameplay itself is actually, for the most part superior to the original even of it is comparatively lacking in the imagination department.

    *For those seeking the best of both worlds I would certainly recommend the GameCube/Wii ‘Twin Snakes’ remake of the first title.*
    Expand
  29. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    For me, it's silly that people attack this game. Sure, in comparison to Solid Snake, Raiden was (at least when he was introduced) a lame main character, but this game, like all the Metal Gear games is unique and insanely entertaining. The style is both badass with the action-packed gameplay/scenes and humorous (yet amazing) in the small details and quirks. Despite not being an open world game - as Metal Gear games aren't, there is a constant sense of discovery all throughout. The game truly is a masterpiece and is beautifully put together. It doesn't take itself seriously, nor does it expect anyone to, but, in the long run, it's hard not to care about the characters no matter how corny or ridiculous some of them may be. The story, despite is surprisingly in depth, which I liked. I would compare it to James Bond, but that would be an understatement, but it's almost impossible to compare any Metal Gear Solid game to anything. The only possible way to truly understand what kind of game it is, would be to experience it first hand, and it is worth your time and money. Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    It had awesome graphics on the ps2, when it was released. Gameplay is also deep and the story knows how to tie you to your console. However in every aspect it is not as good as Metal Gear Solid.
  31. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This game deserves to be on the hall of fame for the PS2. It was released in 2001, but this game was WAY ahead of its time. And I don't see why people hate Raiden...just saying. Anyway, this game is so awesome that they re-released it in HD (along with MGS3 and Peace Walker) for the PS3, 360 and Vita. So do yourself a favor and get those versions, which are superior to the already awesome PS2 version. Expand
  32. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    Several years after their release I finally start dip my toe into the PS2 era Metal Gear games. Initial feelings are mixed, I can't see what the fuss is about; the controls are obtuse, clunky. The camera angles are a nuisance and movement is non-intuitive - it's hard to get Snake/Raiden to do anything I want them to. After a couple of false starts I persevere, the story is instantly compelling, but the gameplay isn't doing it for me. The constant interruptions from radio and custcenes are frustrating and I feel like I might as well be watching a film. TEN hours later - finished. Christ, why didn't you just make a film? I think out of those ten hours, I spent about three, maybe four actually in control. Not to beat about the bush, this is exceptional, outstanding entertainment. The story is incredible - at the seventh hour - about the time we enter Metal Gear Arsenal, MGS2 is running on pure awesome. Expand
  33. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    Gran recuerdo el que me produce este MGS 2. Raidens aparte, el juego es excelente, tanto en el aspecto técnico como en el jugable. Personalmente la primera mitad no me entusiasmó pero al llegar al final el ritmo crece hasta un clímax memorable. Quizá la historia sea un tanto enrevesada pero es muy interesante.
    GRAFICOS: 9 SONIDO 8 DIVERSION:8 DURACION :7
  34. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Among the Metal gear solid games, the second one is my least favourite. It probably has the most convoluted story of the bunch, but that does not make it better. On the contrary, the game has so many plot twists that are squeezed in near the end of the game, it's astounding and confusing.The environments are grey and repetative compared to the other games in the series, though still good. But this remains a Metal Gear Solid game, for the good and the bad, though if by now you haven't played a MGS game then this isn't a place to start. But this is still a great game. It has great bosses and a lot of action and sneaking to do, and the game has a roster of great characters. Much of the game was memorable to me and even though it's not my favourite MGS game, it's still a damn good game that really stays with you. Expand
  35. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game blew my mind first time i played it. I was still playing the nintendo 64 back then and didn't ever realize they could even make games like this. This blew like any movie or game I ever played out of the water cinematic and story wise back then. A masterpiece of a game.
  36. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I think this is one of the best computer game ever. You'll find there a lot of action, amazing story, nice locations and above all this little thing which makes games unique - culture connections. Even if you are not a fan of games like this, you should play MGS2.
  37. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The very definition of "mind****." This game made sweet love to my mind in a cheap motel and never called back the following day. MGS2 isn't just a game, it's an experience. It's a thrilling, intelligent, and emotional roller coaster ride with twists and turns at every corner. I achieved such a high level of immersion on my first playthrough that I found myself questioning reality by game's end. Though initially annoyed by Konami's decision to make Raiden the main protagonist, I did enjoy seeing Solid Snake from a student perspective. Seemingly all knowing mentor who's better equipped and provides support when you're stuck is an appropriate role for a character who exudes unparalleled badassery and pimptitude. The soundtrack was pretty good. The improvements in gameplay over the original are vast. The first person aiming is a godsend, and the improved AI made toying around with enemy soldiers infinitely more fun and versatile. Every phase of the game is "Solid". Pun intended. Expand
  38. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    One of the best games. Hideo Kojima is genius director and writer! The story is complex and interesting and the plot becomes appreciated after repeat playthroughs. The story is mgs2 strongest point like in every other mgs games but also gameplay, graphics and music are amazing.
  39. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. where do i start? the story is mind boggling even with multiple playthroughs and looking at people talking about the game on youtube and you will never understand it all.

    the gameplay is true to the original and is enhanced with the pressure sensitive buttons on the ps2 and ps3 controllers,

    this is the first metal gear i have played and it is still my favorite even if you dont play as snake.
    this and mgs 4 are my favorites even though they are almost movies.
    Expand
  40. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    The second game in the MGS series is probably the oddest one too. In this game, you start off as Snake, carrying out a mission to discover the new Metal Gear. From this point, we skip some time and are introduced to Raiden, a new member of Fox. The further you infiltrate the area, the more the veil of a new terrorist plot wears off. The gameplay didn't change, as it's still a stealth game. A few new weapons and items are introduced, most important being the Stun Gun and the Freezer. The story is quite immersive, but doesn't feel as deep as in the first game. The fact that you don't play with Snake is also a clever way of saying he's trying to skip the radar. This is proven as you meet him multiple times, calling himself Iriquois Plissken. The game was okay, the bad guys weren't as scary as in the first game -except Fortune- and the ending -Solidus being the third Snake- is rather weak and a typical move for a sequel. Also the fact that Solidus is supposed to be the perfect clone, yet Snake having a more physique liking to Big Boss is a flaw that I didn't see Kojima make. This game is definitely the weakest link in the series, but still deserves a certain gratitude for being a greater game than most out there. Expand
  41. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This game, in a word, is masterful. Every aspect of this game is well done. The story, while difficult to follow at times, is awesome, full plot twists and emotional moments. The ending in particular has the story transform in ways you would never imagine. The music is just outstanding, namely the main theme and the boss battle music. The gameplay takes everything good about the original Metal Gear Solid and just beefs it up to a whole new level. The stealth aspects in particular have evolved exceptionally well. In particular, the ability to hold people up at gunpoint is awesome.
    The biggest complaint with this game is that you don't play as Solid Snake for the majority of it, but rather you play as Raiden. In truth, I really like Raiden as the protagonist. It allows the story center around him and his back story, which allows for more variation in the story. Granted, he's not as cool as Snake, but he's no issue.

    This came is a must play for anyone. It truly is a masterpiece.
    9.3/10
    Expand
  42. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    This is the first MGS I"ve ever played ,(I never had a PS1 growing up), so I played it with an un bias outlook. So how does hold up? It holds up very well. The stealth mechanic is very engaging and every detail added, whether it's the AI or the easter eggs, adds a great deal of atmosphere. It does suffer from terrible writing, such as forced exposition, overdrawn cutscenes, and lackluster characters. Sons of Liberty is a well done game and worth playing if its your first MGS game, because playing it after MGS will probably anger you to no end. Expand
  43. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    So the next game of metal gear solid the first one was amazing and one of the best i've ever played the second one i also amazing it has all the elements of the first one with better graphics the story is a bit complicated but after playing many times you will come to understand it but actually i can't give it 10 out of 10 cause i didn't get to play with snake i didn't really like raiden in this game but still an amazing game with amazing story Expand
  44. May 20, 2014
    9
    Quite possibly one of the best intro of gaming history and a great presentation to a man that was abused to kill other people it's shocking; the graphics are the best of it's time, the acting impressive the characters lips look great. The setting beautifully created and realistic for it's time, a few new tricks of it's slew for unique stealth a first person aiming but the downside of it is that the player can't walk while aiming. Atleast gives tactical advantage over where I am going to hide? it's just great. Perfect cut-scenes with unique characters to show but horrible choice from using more raiden than SNAKE! prevents it from making the game even longer so I give this game a 9.1607 out of 10. Expand
  45. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of the better games of the Metal Gear series, and of the entire Play Station 2 era as a whole. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty takes the action and stealth gameplay of the first game, amps it up tenfold, and continues the driving narrative as well. The controls are one hundred percent tighter and easier to handle, and the major improvements made to the already winning formula make for one heck of an experience. Truly a legacy series and truly one of the better games in that series second only to MGS4 at this time. Expand
  46. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    a freaking PS2 era masterpiece here you have it the best in the metal gear solid quadrilogy and the series great graphics because it took full advantage of the PS2's hardware and pushed the graphics to the limit and gameplay was super fun i will never forget this game story was freaking amazing too just an amazing masterpiece
  47. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Good:Story,Mystic feeling about patriots,Snake,Otacon,Ocelot,solidus,Music.Plot twists.
    Bad:Ending where they show america and snake,raiden telling about joy and etc... things credits music.

    Its like a pretty good holywood cinema.
  48. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    With the success of MGS1, Kojima was catapulted into superstardom, He got his big break and by 1999 he had already finished the outline to a sequel.

    The 1999 draft was translated into English a few years later and the game was originally going to be called "Metal Gear Solid III" to represent Manhattan 's three tallest skyscrapers, the new protagonist Raiden was created to be more
    appealing to women, become a "Dr. Watson" to Solid Snakes "Holmes" helping us to provide an alternate view on a character who pretty much became an icon in the industry.

    A few original ideas had Snake looking for Nuclear weapons in Iraq and Iran culminating in another Metal Gear encounter as well as the return of Liquid Snake, political correctness and growing tension between countries ended this setup and due to the horrific 9/11 attacks the games ending was heavily altered to remove scenes of destruction and American symbolism.

    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was released November 2001 on the PS2. The exposure and marketing of this game was insane, Harry Gregson Williams was brought in to compose the soundtrack, The graphics and gameplay had a major overhaul and Konami had released titles featuring demos, merchandise and game stills none of which featured the inevitable main protagonist Raiden.

    MGS2 is split into two chapters. Chapter 1 "The Tanker incident" is set in 2007. Snake (David Hayter) and Otacon have formed an organization "Philanthropy" specifically created with the purpose to destroy all Metal Gears after becoming available on the black market due to Ocelot, Whilst Infiltrating a Tanker supposedly holding an "Anti-Metal Gear" Metal Gear the military operated ship is hijacked by Russian soldiers in cahoots with Ocelot who plan to steal the new amphibious Metal Gear RAY. Snake makes he's way to the storage hold in time to see Ocelot reveal his true intentions betraying the Russians, and escaping the sinking ship in MG RAY, seeing Snake Ocelot's mind is suddenly taken over by that of Liquids and Snake observes that Ocelot has Liquids arm grafted onto his body (Ocelot lost his arm to Gray Fox in the previous game).

    Chapter 2 "The Plant" begins in 2009 on an oil rig that was designed to clean up the tanker incident two years prior. the terrorist unit "Dead Cell" and their leader "Solid Snake" have claimed the plant plus the president and hostages at ransom demanding billions or they will create the "worst natural disaster in history". A Reformed FOXHOUND run by Col. Campbell sends a soldier codenamed Snake to save the president and stop the terrorists, It is here revealed that a new protagonist Raiden (Quinton Flynn) not featured in any box art or hinted anywhere is to be the star of MGS2. What happens next is a story of plot twists, bizarre coincidences, new characters, long cutscenes and overall a moral that becomes ridiculously full circle towards the end of the game and is executed so well most people associated MGS2 as the first example of post modern video gaming.

    Raiden would leave a sour taste in many peoples mouth, true the execution is very flawed considering how adult the situation is. it was obvious that in Japan he became a very popular manga hero whereas many people in the west would be left polarized, in all honesty however it's not THAT bad and considering it's now 2013 and how drastic the character has changed, I do miss seeing a little bit of a naïve Raiden as it was obvious he would never the god-like status Snake reached.

    Snake is back as this ridiculous fighting force by Hayter's performance satisfying fans and relaying wisdom to Raiden with the help of Otacon and his sister Emma, Sadly though the villians all have little to no personality other than shallow motives, I know that's a horrible thing to say but look how astonishingly fleshed out MGS1's villians were. Vamp is a goddamn vampire which is never explained until future sequels, Fortune (Lady Luck) remains completely unsympathetic throughout. Fatman's gone in seconds and "Solid"-us Snake the THIRD clone of the Big Boss Lineage has interesting ambitions yet terrible execution. Ocelot however continues to steal the show throughout revealing ridiculously large intentions, making him my favourite antagonist in any video game series.

    The music cues are wonderfully superb as ever, the story's pace falls flat in some areas regardless of 45min cutscenes, BUT when the overall plot unfolds you will be stunned at how well Kojima nailed the hammer on the head in regards of not playing to audiences expectations, the inevitable future of the internet, being a pawn in a situation, Censorship and leaving a legacy etc.

    Overall Kojima had the once in a lifetime chance of giving the player something back, if there's is anything to take from Playing MGS2 is that it is possible to be moved regardless whatever form of media and for the time it was released THAT'S AMBITIOUS. I do like MGS2 but it is a diamond in the rough that is far from polishe
    Expand
  49. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Kojima,you did it again!
    After superb Metal Gear Solid,you again made the world flip.
    You start with Solid Snake,the hero we all know and love,and theeeeeeeeenn he's (supposedly) dead.
    Kojima then introduced as to Raiden ,(later) badass who was part in army's 21st trials.(which means he is trained by video games like this) Plot unfolds,Snake isn't dead(YAY!),Liquid isn't actually dead
    (YAY?) and Big Shell incident is a recreation of Shadow Moses. Raiden tries to save president,he dies.
    Raiden tries to save Emma Emmerich,Otacon's sister,she dies by Vamp,romanian wizard with knives.
    Raiden gets naked,gets his stuff back,than gets badass sword.Snake and Raiden go all badass on MG Rex then defeat it.Raiden fights with Solidus Snake,who is supposedly Big Boss's perfect clone.
    Raiden defeats him,credits,end!
    Kojima,you beast,you did it again!
    Expand
  50. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Impressive visuals feels a little cartoonic but still its great
    Sound:
    nicely done
    Game play:
    Classic metal gear style
    Story:
    Amazing story line
    overall MGS2 is a well made game but not completely
  51. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is an absolutely remarkable series. The first MGS game is the first title in a very long time that I remember wanting to play again immediately after finishing it, and I did the same with this one. The soundtrack is fantastic, from the actual music, to the way the guns sound to the sound of footsteps; all amazing. The graphics were stellar for the time period. The gameplay is some of the best I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. There are however, a few minor detractors for me:

    1: Raiden. The popular complaint. I just didn't like his character. Over the top annoying and emotional.
    2: (Spoilers): The Metal Gear Ray boss fight. Not difficult once you know what to do, but so horribly repetitive.
    3: The dialogue between Raiden and Rose is just...so unnecessary and cheesy.
    4: The story at times feels convoluted, but it's actually really great in my opinion.

    That's really all I can say that is negative about this game. It is one of the greatest games I have ever played. With that said, I know these games are not for everyone. I, however, absolutely love them and that's why this game, as well as the first MGS, both get 10's from me.
    Expand
  52. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    This game is a real trip. Strange and cheesy, it still manages to be really cool in its execution. The spltting of the story is a powerful choice, but hasn't been seen by many fans as a good one. I tend to disagree. Raiden, who at first seems like an excuse to create a more anime-centric character, comes into his own rather quickly. He has a personality and style all his own, but still controls like Snake in the long run. It might as well be a skin swap.
    Having played this directly after the first Metal Gear Solid, a few aspects of this game stood out as improvements, and others detracted. A great improvement was made to gunplay, which was clunky on the directional pad, but shines a little brighter on a stick. The character movement is better as well, allowing for various speeds of stealth. One thing that caught me a bit off guard was the enemy ai, that at times seems very sensitive, and at other times they are dull as rocks. It's a frustrating thing to often trudge through the trial and error, but I feel like this was done on purpose to create a greater sense of urgency. Like most of Kojima's games, it is pretty genuine in its design. It allows itself to be more than what you see, and this installment adds more depth and sophistication to an already established system. There is an "epic" atmosphere, even in confined halls or battling ridiculous bosses.
    The conspiracies run deep in this one, and at first glance the plot is a bit of a cluster but a person willing to pay attention will find a detailed tale full of political intrigue and mystery. Even the inclusion of the oddly named "Solidus" wasn't so bad. The controls are a bit dated now and some practice is needed, but it shouldn't be a problem for someone committing to a good time. This is the real dividing point in the series, you can take it or leave it. It doesn't capture the same charm as the first, but its attention to detail is so strong it outplays many games even now.
    Expand
  53. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    One of my personal favorite games, and one of the best to grace itself on the PS2. Having not played Guns or the Patriots yet, this is by far the best in the series. The storyline, while outlandish and silly, is still engaging, shocking and damn right one of the best in a video game. The graphics were stunning, the gameplay updated loveably from the first, and the characters feel like people rather than goals to be reached.
    I see people saying don't fall for the hype, don't waste your money. Rubbish. We, the people make hype for games, and this game deserves it, and your money. Stealth action at its best, its still one of the most decent games money can buy.
    Expand
  54. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    While not as great as the original it did improve the gameplay of the series by a lot. First person mode aiming for every weapon, and all the cool melee moves, interrogating the guards, shooting them in the leg were all fun stuff to do... The storyline is its only lackluster field in my opinion but I guess this can be understood, since it was one of the very first games for the ps2, so the technical part might have been more important to the devs. Expand
  55. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Great game. Don't understand the hate for it. Sure the story may not be that great, but the game play was fun. Kind of like Crisis core. Great game play, ignorable story. And you also can't call Raiden a cry baby and ignore it when Cloud does it.
  56. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    This game somehow manages to take the original Metal Gear Solid, which was a masterpiece in its own right, and one up it in almost every aspect. Sure, the bosses aka. Dead Cell in Sons of Liberty don't leave quite the impression that FOXHOUND did on the player in MGS1 and the boss fights are less imaginative as well as less difficult, the overall gameplay of MGS2 is much more complex and ultimately superior. Expand
  57. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    the gameplay is absolute bliss, the story although very complicated, is very interesting and a huge asset to the appeal of the game. there are a few things wrong though. I do wish you could play as snake, because raiden does get pretty annoying, but after a while once you get to learn more about his character, he doesn't end up being that bad, infact I like raiden. the plot sometimes feels ridiculous because of all the twists and turns it takes throughout the entire game, but is still enjoyable and quite necessary to set the plot for future titles. I love this game, but I don't think its quite as good as the first game which I consider a perfect game, this one having a few problems which in reality are just popular nitpicks among players Expand
  58. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    If you have a PS2 or PC (MGS2: Substance) buy this. Best game ever what I played. Good story, Good Characters... But the only problem the little hard control this problem after 10 minutes playing not hard.
  59. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    Despite being not as big as mgs1 and making you play as raiden instead of snake. Mgs2 still does a lot of things right, it has simpler controls, it added new (and good) stealth mechanics. And the gameplay is way more accesoble for new players.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  2. As stunning and enjoyable as ever. You may feel foolish gripping the controller throughout a 40-minute cut scene, but MGS2 is something which must be experienced.
  3. 80
    MGS2 suffers in its story. I can't spoil it for you, but I can at least warn you to be prepared for a plot that frequently reaches levels of sheer absurdity.