User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1041 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Compared to the revolutionary Metal Gear Solid on the Playstation many have judged this sequel to be a disappointment yet, despite its many faults, Sons of Liberty makes for an intriguing gaming experience. The cut scenes may still be too long, the plot pointlessly confusing, Raiden slightly annoying and the oil rig setting certainly lacking in the diversity of the Shadow Moses Facility ofCompared to the revolutionary Metal Gear Solid on the Playstation many have judged this sequel to be a disappointment yet, despite its many faults, Sons of Liberty makes for an intriguing gaming experience. The cut scenes may still be too long, the plot pointlessly confusing, Raiden slightly annoying and the oil rig setting certainly lacking in the diversity of the Shadow Moses Facility of the first game but no series has ever made stealth gameplay anywhere near as enjoyable.

    In fact thanks to a number of refinements and additions to the ‘tactical espionage system’ the gameplay itself is actually, for the most part superior to the original even of it is comparatively lacking in the imagination department.

    *For those seeking the best of both worlds I would certainly recommend the GameCube/Wii ‘Twin Snakes’ remake of the first title.*
    Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game blew my mind first time i played it. I was still playing the nintendo 64 back then and didn't ever realize they could even make games like this. This blew like any movie or game I ever played out of the water cinematic and story wise back then. A masterpiece of a game.
  3. May 11, 2015
    9
    One of the best games on playstation 2. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it.
  4. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    as the metal gear games go this is probubly my least favorite . ill get all the bad things out of the way first . well to start you only play as snake in the prolouge then you have to play as whinny raiden who doesnt have 1/10 of the coolness as solid snake . the game size is small there are just not many places to go every thing just feels real constricting. the story at times is abit toas the metal gear games go this is probubly my least favorite . ill get all the bad things out of the way first . well to start you only play as snake in the prolouge then you have to play as whinny raiden who doesnt have 1/10 of the coolness as solid snake . the game size is small there are just not many places to go every thing just feels real constricting. the story at times is abit to off the wall. the ending is to big of a cliff hanger and we had to wait all the way to MGS4 which was many years later to see how it resolves. the good . the graphics are amazing they had a big wow factor in its day. even though the story has some off the wall moments most of it is very enjoyable and addictive enough to want you to learn more . the combat system is awsome and being able to sneak up on enimys and make them surrender or take them hostage is sick. i had just a ton of fun playing with the gaurds in this game. good enimy AI . great and fun boss battles . you get to fight ALOT and i mean ALOT of metal gears in this game ...sweeeeeeeet. over all this game has enough good to keep it up there as pretty good game in the MGS series but theres enough bad to keep it in last of the 4 games. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    This really shows the true potential that the PS2 had during his release and is still intact. No other game had me so amazed during the time i had the console and is incredible the graphics were amazing in those years,the original gameplay,the funny parts ,the top nosh story . Lets put it simply this is a truly masterpiece in the Playstation library and it is already a classic. ThisThis really shows the true potential that the PS2 had during his release and is still intact. No other game had me so amazed during the time i had the console and is incredible the graphics were amazing in those years,the original gameplay,the funny parts ,the top nosh story . Lets put it simply this is a truly masterpiece in the Playstation library and it is already a classic. This cant be missed. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    This is one of the few games I played from start to finish non stop when I got home with it. I can't even imagine doing something like that now but that might be due to age hehe.
  7. Jan 29, 2016
    8
    Metal Gear Solid 2 Sons Of Liberty is a very mixed bag if there ever was one, first of all,lets talk about the gameplay. The gameplay and graphics have been massively improved from MGS1, no longer awkwardly pixelated character models, instead fully relying on detailed clothing and facial structures. The gameplay is more or less the same with a few tweaks, the inventory system still usesMetal Gear Solid 2 Sons Of Liberty is a very mixed bag if there ever was one, first of all,lets talk about the gameplay. The gameplay and graphics have been massively improved from MGS1, no longer awkwardly pixelated character models, instead fully relying on detailed clothing and facial structures. The gameplay is more or less the same with a few tweaks, the inventory system still uses the left and right triggers to function, but if a guard sees you, then you have a limited amount of time to take them out before they call for help, making it easier for you to make up for some foolish decisions. there is now a first person mode for firearms, allowing you to aim accurately with your weapons. Now, lets move on to the story, Sons Of Liberty takes place 2 years after the shadow Moses incident, where info of a design of the Metal Gear Ray has been leaked into the public, and now every PMC, the Navy, Military, Air Force, and marines has their own version of Metal Gear that they have developed or are developing. Solid Snake and Otacon devise a plan to get info of a metal gear variant that the U.S Marines have developed, and leak it to the internet. So Snake jumps aboard with Otacon on codec, and Snake infiltrates the tanker where the new Metal Gear is being held. Snake gets the pictures he needs and is just about to skedaddle, when Revolver Ocelot arrives and shoots up the marines and sets a timer of explosives rigged to the tanker, suddenly Liquid Snake takes control of Ocelots body for a minute and talks to Snake, before Revolver takes control of his body again, pilots the Marines new Metal Gear, called Ray and escapes , while the tanker gets blown to smithereens. 2 years later, the site where the tanker sunk has been built into a environmental facility to take care of the oil that spilled when the tanker sunk. A terrorist group called The Sons Of Liberty , whose leader claims to be the long lost Solid Snake, who was thought to have been killed during the Tanker incident. The Sons Of Liberty demand 30 billion dollars in cash or they will blow up the Big Shell, causing a global environmental disaster. so Sna- no, Raiden jumps in to steal Solid Snakes spotlight for the rest of the game, probably the biggest bait- and-switch of all time. Now I don't want to spoil what happens on the Big Shell, because i think you should experience it for yourself, but i will say that near the end of the game, you'll have trouble figuring out what the hell is going on. apart from that, MGS2 is a game worthy of the 30 dollar price tag and i would recommend you picking this one up. Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    If Metal Gear Solid was the first modern video game, then Metal Gear Solid 2 was absolutely the first post-modern video game. After such lofty expectations were placed on director Hideo Kojima after MGS1, instead of pandering to fans expectations Kojima created what is often cited as one of video gaming's most intelligent and self aware games ever created.
    Two years after the Shadow Moses
    If Metal Gear Solid was the first modern video game, then Metal Gear Solid 2 was absolutely the first post-modern video game. After such lofty expectations were placed on director Hideo Kojima after MGS1, instead of pandering to fans expectations Kojima created what is often cited as one of video gaming's most intelligent and self aware games ever created.
    Two years after the Shadow Moses incident Solid Snake has been tipped off about the U.S military possessing a new Metal Gear as a nuclear deterrent, Metal Gear RAY. As such he infiltrates a navy vessel in search of this new Metal Gear, though what he finds is correct, he is ambushed by the only surviving member of FOXHOUND, Ocelot. Having lost his arm in MGS1, Ocelot has grafted Liquid Snake's on in replacement and is now under the influence of Liquid. As a result Snake is killed when Liquid Ocelot activates Metal Gear RAY.
    Two years later, rookie Raiden is sent in to the Big Shell tanker which is has been captured by terrorists claiming to have nuclear weapons, lead by Liquid Ocelot. What follows is one of the most mind bending and simply unforgettable deconstructions of video games as we know it. Oh an a pretty great game too.
    It plays almost identically to the original Metal Gear Solid, the graphics at the time pushed the PS2 to breaking point and is arguably one of the systems finest looking games.
    The true beauty of Metal Gear Solid 2 lies in it's story, one that will throw every conceivable plot twist at you as well as the rulebook for what video games can and can't do. It's a once in a lifetime experience.
    Expand
  9. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    Sons of Liberty is pretty much what you would expect from an MGS game. The story takes so many twists and turns and is more than a bit ridiculous. The writing and voice acting can go from excellent to decent to laughable all in the same scene. The gameplay is inventive and diverse but a little clunky. With MGS, however, its flaws are just as important to its character as its strengths andSons of Liberty is pretty much what you would expect from an MGS game. The story takes so many twists and turns and is more than a bit ridiculous. The writing and voice acting can go from excellent to decent to laughable all in the same scene. The gameplay is inventive and diverse but a little clunky. With MGS, however, its flaws are just as important to its character as its strengths and the overall product is very entertaining and innovative. Expand
  10. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This game, in a word, is masterful. Every aspect of this game is well done. The story, while difficult to follow at times, is awesome, full plot twists and emotional moments. The ending in particular has the story transform in ways you would never imagine. The music is just outstanding, namely the main theme and the boss battle music. The gameplay takes everything good about the originalThis game, in a word, is masterful. Every aspect of this game is well done. The story, while difficult to follow at times, is awesome, full plot twists and emotional moments. The ending in particular has the story transform in ways you would never imagine. The music is just outstanding, namely the main theme and the boss battle music. The gameplay takes everything good about the original Metal Gear Solid and just beefs it up to a whole new level. The stealth aspects in particular have evolved exceptionally well. In particular, the ability to hold people up at gunpoint is awesome.
    The biggest complaint with this game is that you don't play as Solid Snake for the majority of it, but rather you play as Raiden. In truth, I really like Raiden as the protagonist. It allows the story center around him and his back story, which allows for more variation in the story. Granted, he's not as cool as Snake, but he's no issue.

    This came is a must play for anyone. It truly is a masterpiece.
    9.3/10
    Expand
  11. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    It had awesome graphics on the ps2, when it was released. Gameplay is also deep and the story knows how to tie you to your console. However in every aspect it is not as good as Metal Gear Solid.
  12. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    So the next game of metal gear solid the first one was amazing and one of the best i've ever played the second one i also amazing it has all the elements of the first one with better graphics the story is a bit complicated but after playing many times you will come to understand it but actually i can't give it 10 out of 10 cause i didn't get to play with snake i didn't really likeSo the next game of metal gear solid the first one was amazing and one of the best i've ever played the second one i also amazing it has all the elements of the first one with better graphics the story is a bit complicated but after playing many times you will come to understand it but actually i can't give it 10 out of 10 cause i didn't get to play with snake i didn't really like raiden in this game but still an amazing game with amazing story Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best action game ever made, and takes my pick as the second best game ever made behind Final Fantasy IX(their totally different, I know, but I have a wide range of tastes). I played this one before the first one, and came into it really biased, as I had only watched someone play the first one and thought it was stupid(I was wrong of course-the first one is great too). I had no idea how good the plot was, by looking at the back of the box I thought it was just infiltrating an oil tanker and the head boss would be like the captain or something silly......that was the worst judgement I ever made, as this games final cutscenes before the last battle are so epic, and you find out so much, everything is so cool! The biggest draw is having to play as Raiden, it would of worked if you were Snake the full game, he has similar objectives, with different boss battles and stuff. Although you wouldn't get to fight Fatman, who was the most fun boss fight and maybe the hardest. Another draw is Solidus is WAY to easy, at least on normal difficulty, after the 3 Metal Gears he seemed to easy and I only had to use one ration. The sneaking is genius, the scenes spectacular, the voice acting perfect, and the plot so good I almost think its true. Also the music is perfect, although there are only about 6 different tracks. The best scene is Snake and Otacon's handshake, one of the best moments in gaming. Genius. Buy it now, if you havent already. Expand
  14. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    the gameplay is absolute bliss, the story although very complicated, is very interesting and a huge asset to the appeal of the game. there are a few things wrong though. I do wish you could play as snake, because raiden does get pretty annoying, but after a while once you get to learn more about his character, he doesn't end up being that bad, infact I like raiden. the plot sometimes feelsthe gameplay is absolute bliss, the story although very complicated, is very interesting and a huge asset to the appeal of the game. there are a few things wrong though. I do wish you could play as snake, because raiden does get pretty annoying, but after a while once you get to learn more about his character, he doesn't end up being that bad, infact I like raiden. the plot sometimes feels ridiculous because of all the twists and turns it takes throughout the entire game, but is still enjoyable and quite necessary to set the plot for future titles. I love this game, but I don't think its quite as good as the first game which I consider a perfect game, this one having a few problems which in reality are just popular nitpicks among players Expand
  15. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of the better games of the Metal Gear series, and of the entire Play Station 2 era as a whole. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty takes the action and stealth gameplay of the first game, amps it up tenfold, and continues the driving narrative as well. The controls are one hundred percent tighter and easier to handle, and the major improvements made to the already winningDefinitely one of the better games of the Metal Gear series, and of the entire Play Station 2 era as a whole. Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty takes the action and stealth gameplay of the first game, amps it up tenfold, and continues the driving narrative as well. The controls are one hundred percent tighter and easier to handle, and the major improvements made to the already winning formula make for one heck of an experience. Truly a legacy series and truly one of the better games in that series second only to MGS4 at this time. Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This game deserves to be on the hall of fame for the PS2. It was released in 2001, but this game was WAY ahead of its time. And I don't see why people hate Raiden...just saying. Anyway, this game is so awesome that they re-released it in HD (along with MGS3 and Peace Walker) for the PS3, 360 and Vita. So do yourself a favor and get those versions, which are superior to the already awesomeThis game deserves to be on the hall of fame for the PS2. It was released in 2001, but this game was WAY ahead of its time. And I don't see why people hate Raiden...just saying. Anyway, this game is so awesome that they re-released it in HD (along with MGS3 and Peace Walker) for the PS3, 360 and Vita. So do yourself a favor and get those versions, which are superior to the already awesome PS2 version. Expand
  17. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    One of the best games. Hideo Kojima is genius director and writer! The story is complex and interesting and the plot becomes appreciated after repeat playthroughs. The story is mgs2 strongest point like in every other mgs games but also gameplay, graphics and music are amazing.
  18. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    I remember when this game first came out and all of us were like stunned by the details and the graphics, it's amazing what the series became. Anyways, sorry so back on point, this game is amazing. It's not overly long, but just right and it's sad at some parts and can be challenging if you want to make it that way. I beat it first then went back and tried doing mostly stealth kills whichI remember when this game first came out and all of us were like stunned by the details and the graphics, it's amazing what the series became. Anyways, sorry so back on point, this game is amazing. It's not overly long, but just right and it's sad at some parts and can be challenging if you want to make it that way. I beat it first then went back and tried doing mostly stealth kills which makes you learn to appreciate the game a lot more. This is definitely one of the best PS2 games of all times, and you should try it if you're able to find it. It's definitely worth time you put into it. Expand
  19. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Good:Story,Mystic feeling about patriots,Snake,Otacon,Ocelot,solidus,Music.Plot twists.
    Bad:Ending where they show america and snake,raiden telling about joy and etc... things credits music.

    Its like a pretty good holywood cinema.
  20. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    For me, it's silly that people attack this game. Sure, in comparison to Solid Snake, Raiden was (at least when he was introduced) a lame main character, but this game, like all the Metal Gear games is unique and insanely entertaining. The style is both badass with the action-packed gameplay/scenes and humorous (yet amazing) in the small details and quirks. Despite not being an open worldFor me, it's silly that people attack this game. Sure, in comparison to Solid Snake, Raiden was (at least when he was introduced) a lame main character, but this game, like all the Metal Gear games is unique and insanely entertaining. The style is both badass with the action-packed gameplay/scenes and humorous (yet amazing) in the small details and quirks. Despite not being an open world game - as Metal Gear games aren't, there is a constant sense of discovery all throughout. The game truly is a masterpiece and is beautifully put together. It doesn't take itself seriously, nor does it expect anyone to, but, in the long run, it's hard not to care about the characters no matter how corny or ridiculous some of them may be. The story, despite is surprisingly in depth, which I liked. I would compare it to James Bond, but that would be an understatement, but it's almost impossible to compare any Metal Gear Solid game to anything. The only possible way to truly understand what kind of game it is, would be to experience it first hand, and it is worth your time and money. Expand
  21. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then asMetal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then as Raiden was like playing as Batman, then as Batgirl. Raiden was wimpy and whiny and asks way too many questions. His catchphrase can pretty much be "What?" or "..." Also, why does he need to call everyone over everything! Solid Snake could handle it without calling on the Codec too much, then again he had real training and not virtual reality training. It was well worth it to see Raiden get peed on by a guard or slip in bird poo to his watery grave or get dramatically electrocuted. The bosses were weird, but interesting. This game would be much better as an first-person shooter so you did not have to keep pressing the button. Now, for the positive aspects. I could not put down the game until it was over! The graphics were a great merge into the PlayStation 3 era. The Easter eggs were pretty cool. A great stealth game overall! Expand
  22. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    This was a good game and provides yet another gripping instalment into the tactical espionage world of Metal Gear. The story goes even deeper as new characters are introduced as well as some old characters returning. The game play has been significantly improved from metal gear solid to allow more fun for players.
  23. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This is by far my favorite game of all time! Tight controls, deep meaningful story, so many plot twists it's unbelievable; this is truly a game of the ages. Kojima is a mastermind for crafting such a delicate piece of art. Everything from the controls to the characters is perfect., and yes even though Raiden is annoying, it was very interesting and thought provoking to see Snake from anThis is by far my favorite game of all time! Tight controls, deep meaningful story, so many plot twists it's unbelievable; this is truly a game of the ages. Kojima is a mastermind for crafting such a delicate piece of art. Everything from the controls to the characters is perfect., and yes even though Raiden is annoying, it was very interesting and thought provoking to see Snake from an outside perspective as the mentor. I highly encourage anyone who hasn't played this game to go out and discover the joy that is this game! I give it a perfect 10. Expand
  24. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    While not as great as the original it did improve the gameplay of the series by a lot. First person mode aiming for every weapon, and all the cool melee moves, interrogating the guards, shooting them in the leg were all fun stuff to do... The storyline is its only lackluster field in my opinion but I guess this can be understood, since it was one of the very first games for the ps2, so theWhile not as great as the original it did improve the gameplay of the series by a lot. First person mode aiming for every weapon, and all the cool melee moves, interrogating the guards, shooting them in the leg were all fun stuff to do... The storyline is its only lackluster field in my opinion but I guess this can be understood, since it was one of the very first games for the ps2, so the technical part might have been more important to the devs. Expand
  25. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    This is the first MGS I"ve ever played ,(I never had a PS1 growing up), so I played it with an un bias outlook. So how does hold up? It holds up very well. The stealth mechanic is very engaging and every detail added, whether it's the AI or the easter eggs, adds a great deal of atmosphere. It does suffer from terrible writing, such as forced exposition, overdrawn cutscenes, and lacklusterThis is the first MGS I"ve ever played ,(I never had a PS1 growing up), so I played it with an un bias outlook. So how does hold up? It holds up very well. The stealth mechanic is very engaging and every detail added, whether it's the AI or the easter eggs, adds a great deal of atmosphere. It does suffer from terrible writing, such as forced exposition, overdrawn cutscenes, and lackluster characters. Sons of Liberty is a well done game and worth playing if its your first MGS game, because playing it after MGS will probably anger you to no end. Expand
  26. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    With the success of MGS1, Kojima was catapulted into superstardom, He got his big break and by 1999 he had already finished the outline to a sequel.

    The 1999 draft was translated into English a few years later and the game was originally going to be called "Metal Gear Solid III" to represent Manhattan 's three tallest skyscrapers, the new protagonist Raiden was created to be more
    With the success of MGS1, Kojima was catapulted into superstardom, He got his big break and by 1999 he had already finished the outline to a sequel.

    The 1999 draft was translated into English a few years later and the game was originally going to be called "Metal Gear Solid III" to represent Manhattan 's three tallest skyscrapers, the new protagonist Raiden was created to be more appealing to women, become a "Dr. Watson" to Solid Snakes "Holmes" helping us to provide an alternate view on a character who pretty much became an icon in the industry.

    A few original ideas had Snake looking for Nuclear weapons in Iraq and Iran culminating in another Metal Gear encounter as well as the return of Liquid Snake, political correctness and growing tension between countries ended this setup and due to the horrific 9/11 attacks the games ending was heavily altered to remove scenes of destruction and American symbolism.

    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was released November 2001 on the PS2. The exposure and marketing of this game was insane, Harry Gregson Williams was brought in to compose the soundtrack, The graphics and gameplay had a major overhaul and Konami had released titles featuring demos, merchandise and game stills none of which featured the inevitable main protagonist Raiden.

    MGS2 is split into two chapters. Chapter 1 "The Tanker incident" is set in 2007. Snake (David Hayter) and Otacon have formed an organization "Philanthropy" specifically created with the purpose to destroy all Metal Gears after becoming available on the black market due to Ocelot, Whilst Infiltrating a Tanker supposedly holding an "Anti-Metal Gear" Metal Gear the military operated ship is hijacked by Russian soldiers in cahoots with Ocelot who plan to steal the new amphibious Metal Gear RAY. Snake makes he's way to the storage hold in time to see Ocelot reveal his true intentions betraying the Russians, and escaping the sinking ship in MG RAY, seeing Snake Ocelot's mind is suddenly taken over by that of Liquids and Snake observes that Ocelot has Liquids arm grafted onto his body (Ocelot lost his arm to Gray Fox in the previous game).

    Chapter 2 "The Plant" begins in 2009 on an oil rig that was designed to clean up the tanker incident two years prior. the terrorist unit "Dead Cell" and their leader "Solid Snake" have claimed the plant plus the president and hostages at ransom demanding billions or they will create the "worst natural disaster in history". A Reformed FOXHOUND run by Col. Campbell sends a soldier codenamed Snake to save the president and stop the terrorists, It is here revealed that a new protagonist Raiden (Quinton Flynn) not featured in any box art or hinted anywhere is to be the star of MGS2. What happens next is a story of plot twists, bizarre coincidences, new characters, long cutscenes and overall a moral that becomes ridiculously full circle towards the end of the game and is executed so well most people associated MGS2 as the first example of post modern video gaming.

    Raiden would leave a sour taste in many peoples mouth, true the execution is very flawed considering how adult the situation is. it was obvious that in Japan he became a very popular manga hero whereas many people in the west would be left polarized, in all honesty however it's not THAT bad and considering it's now 2013 and how drastic the character has changed, I do miss seeing a little bit of a naïve Raiden as it was obvious he would never the god-like status Snake reached.

    Snake is back as this ridiculous fighting force by Hayter's performance satisfying fans and relaying wisdom to Raiden with the help of Otacon and his sister Emma, Sadly though the villians all have little to no personality other than shallow motives, I know that's a horrible thing to say but look how astonishingly fleshed out MGS1's villians were. Vamp is a goddamn vampire which is never explained until future sequels, Fortune (Lady Luck) remains completely unsympathetic throughout. Fatman's gone in seconds and "Solid"-us Snake the THIRD clone of the Big Boss Lineage has interesting ambitions yet terrible execution. Ocelot however continues to steal the show throughout revealing ridiculously large intentions, making him my favourite antagonist in any video game series.

    The music cues are wonderfully superb as ever, the story's pace falls flat in some areas regardless of 45min cutscenes, BUT when the overall plot unfolds you will be stunned at how well Kojima nailed the hammer on the head in regards of not playing to audiences expectations, the inevitable future of the internet, being a pawn in a situation, Censorship and leaving a legacy etc.

    Overall Kojima had the once in a lifetime chance of giving the player something back, if there's is anything to take from Playing MGS2 is that it is possible to be moved regardless whatever form of media and for the time it was released THAT'S AMBITIOUS. I do like MGS2 but it is a diamond in the rough that is far from polishe
    Expand
  27. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    The game's greatest strength is without a doubt its story. For the first 10+ hours its a contrived, impossible, confusing circus. Then, in the final 5+ hours it all comes together. Looking back, I can safely say that the plot was intelligent, and even moving at times. I don't want to give anything away, but there's one moment late in the game that really moved me, and even depressed meThe game's greatest strength is without a doubt its story. For the first 10+ hours its a contrived, impossible, confusing circus. Then, in the final 5+ hours it all comes together. Looking back, I can safely say that the plot was intelligent, and even moving at times. I don't want to give anything away, but there's one moment late in the game that really moved me, and even depressed me just a little. That's how immersed I was. The gameplay was also very solid (no pun intended), even if the dated controls and camera required a little bit of getting used to. I was initially disappointed with having to play as Raiden for most of the game, but his character grew on me. I also beat Resident Evil 4 a few days before, so it's been a pretty good gaming week for me. Get the Metal Gear Solid HD collection. Expand
  28. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. where do i start? the story is mind boggling even with multiple playthroughs and looking at people talking about the game on youtube and you will never understand it all.

    the gameplay is true to the original and is enhanced with the pressure sensitive buttons on the ps2 and ps3 controllers,

    this is the first metal gear i have played and it is still my favorite even if you dont play as snake.
    this and mgs 4 are my favorites even though they are almost movies.
    Expand
  29. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    Continuing the legend with an addition of a very well written character, Metal Gear Solid 2 did not disappoint and it had very large shoes to fill. Have played all MSGS as they were released. Give this a play.
  30. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This is just another game, not! This is a game for the ages. The story is so well made and planned that it does not bore the audience and gamer at all. It is such a wonderful and addicting game. The boss levels are boss, just kidding, they are very interesting and fun to play through, at times irritating, but that does not pan in its overall rating. It can't even be considered a quirk inThis is just another game, not! This is a game for the ages. The story is so well made and planned that it does not bore the audience and gamer at all. It is such a wonderful and addicting game. The boss levels are boss, just kidding, they are very interesting and fun to play through, at times irritating, but that does not pan in its overall rating. It can't even be considered a quirk in this game. MGS2 is a must get, a classic if I would say. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  2. As stunning and enjoyable as ever. You may feel foolish gripping the controller throughout a 40-minute cut scene, but MGS2 is something which must be experienced.
  3. 80
    MGS2 suffers in its story. I can't spoil it for you, but I can at least warn you to be prepared for a plot that frequently reaches levels of sheer absurdity.