Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 774 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Since the incident on Shadow Moses Island, Metal Gear's top-secret technology has been leaked into the black market through the machinations of Revolver Ocelot. As a result, countless variations of Metal Gears have sprung up in every corner of the globe, making the weapon an increasinglySince the incident on Shadow Moses Island, Metal Gear's top-secret technology has been leaked into the black market through the machinations of Revolver Ocelot. As a result, countless variations of Metal Gears have sprung up in every corner of the globe, making the weapon an increasingly common component of the armed forces of nuclear powers.
    In the midst of all of this, Solid Snake, now a member of the anti-Metal Gear group "Philanthropy," has learned that a new prototype Metal Gear has been developed by the U.S. Marines and is being transported in secret to an unknown destination. To learn more about this new machine, Snake must infiltrate the transport, disguised as a tanker, as it makes its way down the Hudson River. Just as Snake is about to begin his mission, however, the ship is seized by a mysterious and well-armed group bent on stealing the new Metal Gear for their own, nefarious purposes. [Konami]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. I know everyone is expecting this game to be good, but I have to tell you I was shocked at how great it is. [Dec 2001, p.159]
  2. You’ll be more impressed that you can make Snake stare lecherously at a centerfold poster one minute, only to have him pop out and choke someone to death the next.
  3. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  4. If you’re wearing body armor just before you start a new part of the plot, you’ll see your character wearing it in the cut-scene as well. I feel that this effect really adds to the suspension of disbelief in MGS2 and helps it be that much more impressive.
  5. Enjoyable, captivating, and thrilling.
  6. Aside from the over-abundance of movies and com-link chatter, there is a really great game hidden on this DVD. The freedom to explore and ultimately play this game as you see fit within the confines of the parameters of the script is a great feature that offers excellent replay potential.
  7. SOL's storyline (and this is being generous) is woefully inept, consisting of such high-calibre nonsense that there's absolutely no point following it.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 260
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, theThe most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, the visual setting still satisfys, not to mention every mission had an unforgettable twist. 10/10 Expand
  2. OerriderCrash
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    This game is wonderful.
  3. AdamV.
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    But playing with Raiden is like Neo taking the blue pill, the joke sould have stopped at the point in the game where Vamp kills those marines!
  4. MGSForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is what i consider sheer perfection. True its storyline can become convoluted at sometimes, but if you ignore that then get ready This game is what i consider sheer perfection. True its storyline can become convoluted at sometimes, but if you ignore that then get ready to be immersed in one of the best games money can buy. I swear, this game changed my stance on video games. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I think this is one of the best computer game ever. You'll find there a lot of action, amazing story, nice locations and above all this littleI think this is one of the best computer game ever. You'll find there a lot of action, amazing story, nice locations and above all this little thing which makes games unique - culture connections. Even if you are not a fan of games like this, you should play MGS2. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Among the Metal gear solid games, the second one is my least favourite. It probably has the most convoluted story of the bunch, but that doesAmong the Metal gear solid games, the second one is my least favourite. It probably has the most convoluted story of the bunch, but that does not make it better. On the contrary, the game has so many plot twists that are squeezed in near the end of the game, it's astounding and confusing.The environments are grey and repetative compared to the other games in the series, though still good. But this remains a Metal Gear Solid game, for the good and the bad, though if by now you haven't played a MGS game then this isn't a place to start. But this is still a great game. It has great bosses and a lot of action and sneaking to do, and the game has a roster of great characters. Much of the game was memorable to me and even though it's not my favourite MGS game, it's still a damn good game that really stays with you. Expand
  7. PaulF.
    Jan 14, 2003
    0
    OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the storyline is so ridiculously convoluted and just plain silly that any and all redeeming features of the gameplay (and there are a few, but really not that many) are flooded with bad feelings. the cut scenes drag on for ages, explaining, and re-explaining the most ridiculous justifications for the most non-sensical twists. i should probably give it a one because the first section with snake is ok, though not great, and the second character is crap, but even if he had been cool it wouldn't have mattered. Please people, stop giving this game a 10, and stop buyng it, if you keep believing the hype and continue to pretend this game is good just because you liked its predecessor (which wasnt as good as the original Syphon Filter by a longshot by the way) then the game will never improve, the next version will have just as lame a story, with another crappy character, and they'll lazily put in another torture sequence, and stinger fight with an aircraft (how lame was that?) and you'll have paid another $50 for a pile of crap that you can give 10's to again. Expand

See all 260 User Reviews