Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 696 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Since the incident on Shadow Moses Island, Metal Gear's top-secret technology has been leaked into the black market through the machinations of Revolver Ocelot. As a result, countless variations of Metal Gears have sprung up in every corner of the globe, making the weapon an increasingly common component of the armed forces of nuclear powers.
    In the midst of all of this, Solid Snake, now a member of the anti-Metal Gear group "Philanthropy," has learned that a new prototype Metal Gear has been developed by the U.S. Marines and is being transported in secret to an unknown destination. To learn more about this new machine, Snake must infiltrate the transport, disguised as a tanker, as it makes its way down the Hudson River. Just as Snake is about to begin his mission, however, the ship is seized by a mysterious and well-armed group bent on stealing the new Metal Gear for their own, nefarious purposes. [Konami]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. I know everyone is expecting this game to be good, but I have to tell you I was shocked at how great it is. [Dec 2001, p.159]
  2. The environments are amazing, when on the deck of the tank the rain effects are extremely lifelike, along with rain drops hitting the ship and characters.
  3. A must-own, state-of-the-art tactical espionage stealth-a-thon. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  4. Not just a game, it's an experience, and well worth the three-year wait...It almost makes you wonder how Hideo Kojima might fare directing a movie based on the Metal Gear license.
  5. A great game not only because it surpasses MGS1 in terms of graphics, sound, and control, but because it offers new and innovative gameplay.
  6. Aside from the over-abundance of movies and com-link chatter, there is a really great game hidden on this DVD. The freedom to explore and ultimately play this game as you see fit within the confines of the parameters of the script is a great feature that offers excellent replay potential.
  7. SOL's storyline (and this is being generous) is woefully inept, consisting of such high-calibre nonsense that there's absolutely no point following it.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 254
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most memorable game to date on PS2. Amazing story and snake is and still to this day remains a badass. Great gameplay for a 2001 game, the visual setting still satisfys, not to mention every mission had an unforgettable twist. 10/10 Expand
  2. joshuaviper10000
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    I see for most gamers (except for a few ill-thought players who don't recognize gaming as art now, not just fun, but both together and can't take the plot seriously, didn't understand it, or didn't feel like waiting through the movie scenes; and lets not forget the ones too, that gave the game a 10 just because it was amusement for their feeble minds [that was only for a select 2 people{hint:OCB} on this page]) that this cinematic action/shooter was understood in most respects. Hideo Kojima pushes the gaming envelope by using extended cinematic scenes to create an unsurpassed level of suspense. MGS2 takes the plot of MGS1 and manipulates it to mean something different. And up to the last hour of play seems like the Playstation title. Then uses irony to create a different central idea revolving around the digital age. I don't want to reveal any of the games meaning or surprises so I'll quit giving everything away and move to other subjects. The graphics are far above any PS2 titles of 2001 and textures unmatched by any standards. You become the character or so it feels considering how efficient the controls are. Physics are remarkable. And for the musical composer, I salute you Harry Gregson-Williams. By far this is the best game I've ever played and beat; and I've played and beat alot of games. Don't hate me for this, but this game is better than Halo(but not in multiplayer mainly because their is no multiplayer). I give this game a 12 out of 10. PS: Alicia D., this game actually teaches people not to kill but sneak around them or stun them, and if you do kill it's for a good reason(like saving the President or yourself). PSS: Halo's AWESOME! Expand
  3. JohnP.
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    Great.
  4. MGSForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This game is what i consider sheer perfection. True its storyline can become convoluted at sometimes, but if you ignore that then get ready to be immersed in one of the best games money can buy. I swear, this game changed my stance on video games. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty was a very interesting game when looking at it. The negative about it, first. The story plot bended and twisted so much, it completely snapped in two! I do not know what a Shadow Moses is and it never explained it! Something to do with Metal Gear Solid, I think. The story just went everywhere and kind of turned me off. Playing as Solid Snake, then as Raiden was like playing as Batman, then as Batgirl. Raiden was wimpy and whiny and asks way too many questions. His catchphrase can pretty much be "What?" or "..." Also, why does he need to call everyone over everything! Solid Snake could handle it without calling on the Codec too much, then again he had real training and not virtual reality training. It was well worth it to see Raiden get peed on by a guard or slip in bird poo to his watery grave or get dramatically electrocuted. The bosses were weird, but interesting. This game would be much better as an first-person shooter so you did not have to keep pressing the button. Now, for the positive aspects. I could not put down the game until it was over! The graphics were a great merge into the PlayStation 3 era. The Easter eggs were pretty cool. A great stealth game overall! Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Among the Metal gear solid games, the second one is my least favourite. It probably has the most convoluted story of the bunch, but that does not make it better. On the contrary, the game has so many plot twists that are squeezed in near the end of the game, it's astounding and confusing.The environments are grey and repetative compared to the other games in the series, though still good. But this remains a Metal Gear Solid game, for the good and the bad, though if by now you haven't played a MGS game then this isn't a place to start. But this is still a great game. It has great bosses and a lot of action and sneaking to do, and the game has a roster of great characters. Much of the game was memorable to me and even though it's not my favourite MGS game, it's still a damn good game that really stays with you. Expand
  7. PaulF.
    Jan 14, 2003
    0
    OK, you guys are fans of the series, solid snake is a decently cool character, but this game is trash, absolute utter total trash. the storyline is so ridiculously convoluted and just plain silly that any and all redeeming features of the gameplay (and there are a few, but really not that many) are flooded with bad feelings. the cut scenes drag on for ages, explaining, and re-explaining the most ridiculous justifications for the most non-sensical twists. i should probably give it a one because the first section with snake is ok, though not great, and the second character is crap, but even if he had been cool it wouldn't have mattered. Please people, stop giving this game a 10, and stop buyng it, if you keep believing the hype and continue to pretend this game is good just because you liked its predecessor (which wasnt as good as the original Syphon Filter by a longshot by the way) then the game will never improve, the next version will have just as lame a story, with another crappy character, and they'll lazily put in another torture sequence, and stinger fight with an aircraft (how lame was that?) and you'll have paid another $50 for a pile of crap that you can give 10's to again. Expand

See all 254 User Reviews