Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2004
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 940 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 940
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SimonK.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Hideo Kojima does it once again this is one of the best games ever made crisp graphics excellent sound and gameplay that takes the stealth genre to the next level. You dont have it What the hell are you doing. Go buy it!!!!!
  2. GarrethDouble'R'
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Superb graphics, completely unbelievable boss fights, astonishing music, a compelling story and enough genius moments to write pages about. What's most incredable about Metal Gear Solid 3 is that it WILL ruin most other games for you. Once you let yourself fall in love with Snake Eater, it breaks your legs and keeps you in its basement for good.
  3. SamD.
    Feb 3, 2006
    9
    Of the MGS series, this is the one that surprised me the most. At first I was thinking "same old, same old" except that everything was outside. As I went through I couldn't believe how engaging the cheeziness of the plot was and how much it felt like a James Bond film. On the other hand there were major changes to the theme which I won't spoil, but by the end you really felt Of the MGS series, this is the one that surprised me the most. At first I was thinking "same old, same old" except that everything was outside. As I went through I couldn't believe how engaging the cheeziness of the plot was and how much it felt like a James Bond film. On the other hand there were major changes to the theme which I won't spoil, but by the end you really felt like you had been through the whole ordeal that Snake just went through. The hunting and healing aspects of the game are a level of involvement in games which I think should be more prevalent. Its not just about get some place, killing some guy, running over here, using this item, etc. It was a constant struggle (albeit, a fun struggle) to do anything in the game because of that aspect. It sucks you right in. Expand
  4. ChrisZ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    If people only played past the first few missions instead of saying "I'm done" would they see the amazing work and story line.
  5. AlN.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    After 2 years still the best game I have ever played.
  6. GrayFox
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people who never think just write that bull**it here !keep thinking. Respect To Other Players who take this game with honor. Expand
  7. JohnnyS.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Another great kojima work. these games have real character.
  8. RobG.
    Nov 19, 2004
    9
    With videogames, one should trust the majority. it's perhaps the only medium in which i would advise you to trust the majority, anyway. games are interesting in this fashion: when a good game comes out, there is not nearly the amount of polarization as there would be in, say film. in short, everyone prolly really likes halo 2 because it's a very fun game. on the other hand,With videogames, one should trust the majority. it's perhaps the only medium in which i would advise you to trust the majority, anyway. games are interesting in this fashion: when a good game comes out, there is not nearly the amount of polarization as there would be in, say film. in short, everyone prolly really likes halo 2 because it's a very fun game. on the other hand, uninspired wastes-of-time (well...all videogames are, but that's beside the point) like the new bad boys video game will be chalked up as an entertainment commodity collectively hated by the masses, and with just cause. but, like all review consensus, you're likely to run into at least one or two stragglers who will tell you that, "it's not nearly as good as it was hyped up to be" or "this other game is better." with the latest metal gear (snake eater), the obvious argument for not liking the game would be the dated graphics, control and camera scheme all to be blamed by the ps2's nearly obsolete specs. of course, when i first started up my copy of snake eater, the first thought that popped into my head was not the graphical quality or the camera problems but the fact that i was playing another metal gear solid game. no other game franchise in history has done mature gamers a greater duty. simply put: yes, the graphics (though non-comparable to the x-box) are phenomenal and really push the ps2; yes, the gameplay is the best ever in an mgs game; yes, the game is better than metal gear solid 2 which at first was very well received until rayden (the protagonist) must have gotten on the gamer's nerves when they played it a second time through. so why the 9? well. i'm afraid that i have a big heart for the original metal gear solid on the playstation. that was a perfect game. snake eater, on the other hand, is longer, more fun, and a much prettier game. but let's just call snake eater the second greatest gaming story ever told. kojima continues to throw a-level action movie themes and practices into stories that are, at their core, truly romantic, which is a very tough thing to pull off, indeed. and the bondesque theme-song and opening credits for the game will make the hair stand up on your arms even though they may actually be derivative. but it's a very difficult task to do what movies have done with the concept of interactive video games. kojima is a video game revolutionary and like i said before: my only thought when starting this game was, "huzzah! another metal gear game!" Expand
  9. BrandonW.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    This game is really exciting and the story has you trying to guess whats gonna happen next and then surprises you.
  10. Yoda/on/crack
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    I havn't had this much fun playing a game in some time now. And i play a ton of games, so thats saying something. I gave this game a 10 b/c it does a great job of sucking you into the story. Once i started playing the game i couln't put it down. Yes, the ps2 is showing its age, but i'm willing to put up with it b/c of games like MGS3. Not many games have the kind of I havn't had this much fun playing a game in some time now. And i play a ton of games, so thats saying something. I gave this game a 10 b/c it does a great job of sucking you into the story. Once i started playing the game i couln't put it down. Yes, the ps2 is showing its age, but i'm willing to put up with it b/c of games like MGS3. Not many games have the kind of gameplay that MGS3 has. Another reason would have to be the fact that kojima cut down on the cutscenes compared MGS2. With less cutscenes the games storyline flows better. Expand
  11. James
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    This game is friggin incredible. My Game of the Year.
  12. BenjitheGreat
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I liked MGS1, didnt like MGS2 so much. As far as pure action gameplay goes, MGS3 is far superior to its predecessors. The best part for me was exploring the jungle environments for animals that you could kill and then eat for stamina. I also enjoyed the new camoflauge system, great concept. Sneeking on the ground through underbrush, then picking off a guard with your tranq gun, then I liked MGS1, didnt like MGS2 so much. As far as pure action gameplay goes, MGS3 is far superior to its predecessors. The best part for me was exploring the jungle environments for animals that you could kill and then eat for stamina. I also enjoyed the new camoflauge system, great concept. Sneeking on the ground through underbrush, then picking off a guard with your tranq gun, then slashing on the ground with your knife was great fun. My complaint with MGS3 is similar to the complaints i had with MGS2. The plot is sometimes convoluted and the scenes drawn out too much. Overall, this game is awesome. Expand
  13. JoeT.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    mgs3 jungles, caves,swamps etc. is superb looking. Things like different kind of snakes,frogs,birds,fish catching them all is tricky specially on higher difficulty. 2 things i wish they done is, first i wish they put the camouflage uniform in an item window similar to equipping your box,weapon,binoculars. it'll be much quicker to changed your outfit more frequently. 2nd thing is i mgs3 jungles, caves,swamps etc. is superb looking. Things like different kind of snakes,frogs,birds,fish catching them all is tricky specially on higher difficulty. 2 things i wish they done is, first i wish they put the camouflage uniform in an item window similar to equipping your box,weapon,binoculars. it'll be much quicker to changed your outfit more frequently. 2nd thing is i wish hideo kojima spread out the camouflage uniform, force naked snake to play the game without any weapon only ap sensor,thermal google throughout game, only unlocking them if they finish the game, at different levels of difficulty. Kojima is a bit influenced by the critics, especially with the legendary cobra units, the characters like the fury, the pain, the fear, the end, was not thoroughly explained backstory of superb characters which is quite sad, i really love long cutscenes of mgs2 character explanation. please bring back the dog tags( completed all dg tgs in mgs 2 sons of liberty/substance 2001/2002) Raiden is a good character, i cant understand people hating him, especially what he experienced as child used as war soldier and his parents being killed, I'm even doubting some critics if they played mgs2 for complaining about raiden, if your a critic i want you to listen and play mgs2 again and listen to col. campbell and rose last codec transmition to Raiden before the last fight w/ solidus snake(itll explain you why raiden, was chosen for S3 plan(selection for societal sanity)Raiden and Rose combination is outstanding character development) I love mgs series for humor, personatily, uniqueness of the characters, story, emotion of the game. rewarding story.. A must buy game for excellent gaming experience. Expand
  14. CalvinS.
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    The best Metal Gear Solid game ever.The Cobra Units is my best part.This game is both for parents and kids.The End and The Sorrow are the 2 best Cobra Units and the hardest.This game provides fun for the family.
  15. SmashOne
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    This is an excellent game. I was blown away by the the first one but the second was didn't really do it for me. This one has come back to blow me away again. The story line and th eway it's told are brilliant. The camo and the various types of terrain add a lot to the game and show a great deal of originality. The last two got a bit tedious with all the bulidings, rooms and This is an excellent game. I was blown away by the the first one but the second was didn't really do it for me. This one has come back to blow me away again. The story line and th eway it's told are brilliant. The camo and the various types of terrain add a lot to the game and show a great deal of originality. The last two got a bit tedious with all the bulidings, rooms and corridors. Not so here. The boss battles are pretty good and the whole package feels right. Great job by Konami and Hideo. Expand
  16. AB
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    MGS3 is one of the most incredible stealth games ever released. The only problem is the bad dialogue. But that doesn't matter because the gameplay is what matters, and MGS3 does gameplay right.
  17. Bishop
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    This game is really great. I had a hard time getting in to it right from the start but once I beat the prologue I was hooked. Please don't just play the first level and think its too hard, keep playing and you will be glad you did.
  18. JasonS.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I love this game! It's awesome because it's actually set way before the first one. I've beaten all 3 of them.
  19. SolidSnake
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    This game is great... it is by far the best of the MGS series and ive played and beaten them all. I also think you all will agree with me that this stealth title is much better then the Tom Clancys Splinter Cells games. This brings so many new things to the table and executes them to perfection. Hideo Kojima is an excellenet developer and i hope this isnt the last of the MGS series. This This game is great... it is by far the best of the MGS series and ive played and beaten them all. I also think you all will agree with me that this stealth title is much better then the Tom Clancys Splinter Cells games. This brings so many new things to the table and executes them to perfection. Hideo Kojima is an excellenet developer and i hope this isnt the last of the MGS series. This game brings together the best parts of both worlds, a great fighting/run and gun game with an excellent cut scene selection and stealth movements. If you want a game that will suck you into the storyline and keep you hooked then check out this game, you wont regret it. Expand
  20. JustinB.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I wasnt much of a fan of the previous 2 installments in the "Solid" series, but this one is amazingly excellent and engrossing. Easily one of the best PS2 games out there.
  21. MateusC.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    Doesn't worry: this is the best game of PlayStation 2 and the a shot in the head of Xbox Fanboys. The Largeness and the perfection are gifts in MGS3 and perhaps either therefore that this game brings as many feelings in the players.
  22. AramisG.
    Jan 5, 2005
    9
    So far I have played three of the big games of this season (Halo 2, Metroid Prime 2 and MGS3) and this game was probably the most enjoyable of the them. I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed this. The jungle environments and the 60s cold war era feel are just really well done. I have been to this part of the world and they really nabbed it. The story is decent, yet addictive, with So far I have played three of the big games of this season (Halo 2, Metroid Prime 2 and MGS3) and this game was probably the most enjoyable of the them. I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed this. The jungle environments and the 60s cold war era feel are just really well done. I have been to this part of the world and they really nabbed it. The story is decent, yet addictive, with the highlights being the intriguing characters of The Boss and The End. I reccomend playing through the game with no-radar and force yourself to clear each area without getting spotted. My biggest gripes with this game are with the controls/camera scheme (the reason I am not giving it a 10). It is just time to upgrade to 1st or 3rd person (frontal view). It interefers with some of the early boss fights and generally makes sighting enemies (who are right in front of you!) difficult. Managing the selection menus gets old fast. Also it would have been more classier if The Pain and The Fear had better dialogue. Something about The Fury swaring when you shoot him was just dead on how boss dialogue should go. Lastly, if you nuke an area then return to it later in the game it would be totally devastated not peacfully intact (after Virtuous Mission). Hopefully this game will help inspire a new direction for stealth based games (I am sick of office/industrial complex environments). Expand
  23. MichaelW.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I thought it was really good and the graphics were amasing.
  24. RyanOlsen
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    ryencoke you are the most retarted person whos ever rated a game.This game is not for panzies like you, you autta stick to games like Marykate and ashley and olsen go horse riding,or,learn the alpha bet with barbie.You obviously are a newb gamer,because this is the best game ever made.That goes for you too,Chris p.
  25. B.Dollaz
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    Fun game play. Some akward camera angles (unlike the first two, and cheesy dialog. But hey, it wouldn't be a MGS game without the cheesy dialog.
  26. Wazzupyo
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    This game is realy great control graphics end the action en stealt is also this game is the best game that i played in my life.
  27. RevolverO.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best game EVER. The story is incredible, and it fills all the gaps about the metal gear story. Big Boss was so right... I just wished they made a game were he would took over the world. Get it, you won't be disapointed. Revolver is the best, make a game just for him and eva! It would be perfect!
  28. JohnR.
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    Hey Chris P. I think you were playing this game on very easy because this game on Normal is like a real mission because if you get spotted somewhere like a base you screwed and Ryencoke you retard Snake can swim.
  29. AgentH.
    May 1, 2005
    10
    I don't know what to say...BEST GAME EVER!
  30. TimoK.
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    this is fantastic everything about it is so fresh and new. roll on mgs4.
  31. CurtisS.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    The game was vary cool but the movies were to long.
  32. KyleK.
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    One of the best games i have played to memory. The whole feel of it and the story is the best. Music is awesome because it makes the game feel right. hunting and healing wounds is good. boss fights are really good. last boss fight is sooo good especiouly when she talks for ages and then where you get the patriot and finish it off. superb so awesome. this is really good must get.
  33. AkshayD.
    May 4, 2006
    10
    This game is really good. The graphics are excellent. The sounds are breath-taking. The story-line is fabulous and gives the whole sense to the game. The stealth actions are really good and seems so realistic. The way Konami has included a moden story into a jungle is so good. The small details of the game shold be given attention because it makes the game what it is. Boss Battles are This game is really good. The graphics are excellent. The sounds are breath-taking. The story-line is fabulous and gives the whole sense to the game. The stealth actions are really good and seems so realistic. The way Konami has included a moden story into a jungle is so good. The small details of the game shold be given attention because it makes the game what it is. Boss Battles are fantastic. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is recommended to everyone who likes stealth games with a little bit of action and adventure. The Game is fun and enjoyablee. Expand
  34. Thompson
    May 21, 2007
    10
    A bonafide classic! This is no game, this is an experience!
  35. PaulJ.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Together with subsistence the best game ever created for the sixth generation consoles.
  36. PawelK.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    MGS 3 is perhaps the best video game for the PS2. It has original gameplay that offers tons of replay value, interesting characters and an amazing story line. Although the controls of the game can be cumbersome at first once you get used to them the game really takes off. The game is survival but if you just want to sneak changing the game mode to easy or normal makes that feature almost MGS 3 is perhaps the best video game for the PS2. It has original gameplay that offers tons of replay value, interesting characters and an amazing story line. Although the controls of the game can be cumbersome at first once you get used to them the game really takes off. The game is survival but if you just want to sneak changing the game mode to easy or normal makes that feature almost none existent. The game feels real, there's a huge amount of realism, you heal wounds, hunt animals, lose energy, look through sights to aim weapons(rather than everyone having a laser pointer, enemies react differently depending on where they're shot and so many more innovations. Hideo Kojima makes a gmae that fels like a movie, the cut scenes are long but entertaining and if your a fan and sometimes even if your not the story sucks you in. The greatest thing about metal gear is how it's compatible with most gamers, if you want to be a real spy, you sneak distracting enemies then quietly sneak by or holding them up at knife point for information, if you want to be an ak welding psyco grab some ammo, some rockets and shoot everything that moves(and doesn't move). The 5 difficulty settings very easy, easy, normal, hard and extreme are basically to raise or lower the realism and offer replay value up the ying yang. The game is fun, innovative, with gripping story line a pure classic master peace. Perfect 10. Expand
  37. ZackM.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Snake Eater pushes gaming to the next level on the PS2. Just play it once and you will know what you
  38. HickmanY.
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This is a case of a game being too good. People are becoming jaded and most gamers still think that mindless blow-em-up games are the best ones. How many games out there really change things? If anyone remembers gaming over the last 25 years like I do there have been a handful of games that changed the genre and Metal Gear for NES was a big leap!! Then on the day metal gear solid came out This is a case of a game being too good. People are becoming jaded and most gamers still think that mindless blow-em-up games are the best ones. How many games out there really change things? If anyone remembers gaming over the last 25 years like I do there have been a handful of games that changed the genre and Metal Gear for NES was a big leap!! Then on the day metal gear solid came out and the fist time anyone fought pcycho mantis people nearly pissed themselves. Mgs2 was completely lost on anyone who has a normal IQ and Mgs3 is so good its confusing most people. Whatever you can say about Hideo Kojima he has to be the single most important person in video games today. As far as all the SC fans I can only say that if not for Snake there would be no SC and MGS3 should not be missed... unless you like to dumb things down. Expand
  39. Sholmes
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    Once again Metal Gear raises the bar in terms of what to expect in terms of video game storytelling. No other game provides a better mix of story presentation and excellent gameplay. Compared to any Splinter Cell game and their torrid single-player campaigns, complete with the extremely linear gameplay scenarios, laughably bad hit detection, broken AI, and awful animation. All these make Once again Metal Gear raises the bar in terms of what to expect in terms of video game storytelling. No other game provides a better mix of story presentation and excellent gameplay. Compared to any Splinter Cell game and their torrid single-player campaigns, complete with the extremely linear gameplay scenarios, laughably bad hit detection, broken AI, and awful animation. All these make MGS3 look absolutely fantastic, especially some of the environments, which are pehaps the most beautiful on ANY console. Don't let any Splinter Cell zealot with some stupid fanboy agenda try to spin you away, MGS3 is worth a look from everyone. Expand
  40. JoeS.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    This game is sick, i picked it up the day it came out and im hooked, ,the graphics are unbelievable, and it has a brilliant story. Thumbs up Kojima and company.
  41. RaulC.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    A Masterpiece! Knowing that the greatest sin of the three top console games(Halo 2, San Andreas, and MGS3) is that they´re all an extension of a winning formula, there is littlle else wrong in here in matters of perfection. Built in the final stages of the PS2 MGS3 might not have the ooohh! and aaahh! provided by the first time experience of watching MGS2 when it appeared onthe A Masterpiece! Knowing that the greatest sin of the three top console games(Halo 2, San Andreas, and MGS3) is that they´re all an extension of a winning formula, there is littlle else wrong in here in matters of perfection. Built in the final stages of the PS2 MGS3 might not have the ooohh! and aaahh! provided by the first time experience of watching MGS2 when it appeared onthe console. Nevertheless this may be the finest example of great graphics on the system to date, a living breathing environment where you feel so inmerse that you could almost fell the moisture arround you. Unfortunately the classic MGS camera falls short to this extraordinary setting and gameplay, even if Kojima stated that they wanted to keep it this way for the trilogy finale. Great storytelling, the best in the series for me, cool characters, and a lot of subtext and details to keep you hooked for a long time. You won´t find a package like this again on this console generation, and unless you hate survival/steallth games, you can´t go wrong here, it's a must buy. Expand
  42. JWIzBored
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    I was never a fan of the Metal Gear series. I had started on MGS1 too late, and found the graphics put me off. When MGS2 was out, the hype around it was so overwhelming that I HAD to get a copy. Immediately, I was hooked. The GREAT story, good graphics for its time, incredible detail (look up with binoculars equipped when in the outdoors and poop falls from the sky) made me play it to I was never a fan of the Metal Gear series. I had started on MGS1 too late, and found the graphics put me off. When MGS2 was out, the hype around it was so overwhelming that I HAD to get a copy. Immediately, I was hooked. The GREAT story, good graphics for its time, incredible detail (look up with binoculars equipped when in the outdoors and poop falls from the sky) made me play it to death. Even the whiny, gay-ish Raiden didn't turn me off. After that experience, I was determined to get MGS3: SE. I certainly did not regret it. The great graphics, riveting plot got me hooked. Survival in the jungle is the game's most innovative concept, with the camoflaging, curing and food catching. The detail in this game is amazing! For example, at one point when you have to rescue Sokolov, a scientist, you can shoot into the room he's being held and hear him utter a cry! Absolutely amazing! The bosses in this game might be brilliant for some, or utterly rubbish for others. Bosses range from a Hornet manipulating freak to a sniping old man.. but when you've fought a fat guy on roller skates and a bisexual vampire, it really isn't much. Also in this game, is the appearance of the young Shalashaska, also known as Revolver Ocelot later on in the series. You play as Big Boss, the man who intiated the "Les Enfants Terribles" project, that cloned Solid, Solidus and Liquid Snake. Big Boss is, in my opinion, the most interesting character in the series. Play the game and you'll know. This game is definitely worth buying. It doesn't matter if you are a Metal Gear guru or a newbie wanting to try the series. Just get it! Expand
  43. Bloomfield
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    It's amazing... Just amazing...
  44. Ryan
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever. Once you get into the game you never want to sleep, eat, drink or anything until you see the credits begin to roll.
  45. Jake
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Everything about this game is great.....except maybe the camera view, but good ol' Hideo fixed that for Subsistance coming out later this month....but everything else in this game makes up for it. I never thought the PS2 could spit out such amazing stuff as in this game, and nothing is pre-rendered. The End has to be the best boss fight in any game ever. Even better than anything Everything about this game is great.....except maybe the camera view, but good ol' Hideo fixed that for Subsistance coming out later this month....but everything else in this game makes up for it. I never thought the PS2 could spit out such amazing stuff as in this game, and nothing is pre-rendered. The End has to be the best boss fight in any game ever. Even better than anything Resident Evil 4 had to offer. For those of you who have it, the dolby surround will just blow you away. Get the optical out just for this! Can't wait for MGS4 for ps3! ya'll should check out the trailer! Expand
  46. AndrewG.
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    this is the best metal gear solid game ever... no i think its one of, if not the best game ever.
  47. NiklH.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    One word for this game is AWESOME well i read the review of this game before on metacritics a month ago and after a while i bought this game all i can say its one of the best games on ps2 and people if u have not bought this game then go ahead and buy this game, and who says that ps2 cannot generate very good graphics check this game u will come to know what good graphics are thank u.
  48. Sideburns
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    Haven't played this yet but to the whimp who said thats its not "user friendly" - get a life. Yeah, this game isnt for amatuer, platform loving wanabees who only enjoy gaming fluff. If your not willing to challenge yourself and learn how to play then thats your loss. Go back to playing GT3 and ratchet and clank and leave the real games to the rest of us. The metal gear solid Haven't played this yet but to the whimp who said thats its not "user friendly" - get a life. Yeah, this game isnt for amatuer, platform loving wanabees who only enjoy gaming fluff. If your not willing to challenge yourself and learn how to play then thats your loss. Go back to playing GT3 and ratchet and clank and leave the real games to the rest of us. The metal gear solid franchise has been one of the most interesting and elaborate experiances in gaming history and i suspect that SE will continue this fine tradition. Im waiting for the PAL release which is y i haven't played yet. Looking foward to it. Expand
  49. BrennanM.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3, despite the fact that the series is showing it's age, manages to be the best game in the series.
  50. BigDog
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    It was the greatest game ever. Mad proops to Kojima for that.
  51. RobertS.
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    "Simply breathtaking", even that doesn't do it much, if any justice. I hope its not the last one. :( maybe until the PS3 comes out :)
  52. THISGAMEISTHEBEST
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    This game is spectacular, anyone who doesnt think this game is good or think it sucks, is out of their mind, in fact anyone who says it sucks is a [Ed: Come now...], this is the most realistic game i have ever played along with metal gear solid 1 and 2. this game has the best graphics, the story keeps it interesting, the fact that you can heal yourself, have a range of weapons and tactics This game is spectacular, anyone who doesnt think this game is good or think it sucks, is out of their mind, in fact anyone who says it sucks is a [Ed: Come now...], this is the most realistic game i have ever played along with metal gear solid 1 and 2. this game has the best graphics, the story keeps it interesting, the fact that you can heal yourself, have a range of weapons and tactics to use throughout the game makes it even more phenomenal. The controls are very easy, its like any other new game you get, just leanr it and get used to it. The AI is amazing, and the way you have to hide and outsmart the enemy if your caught makes the game even more realistic. Now anyone who says this game is garbage, is a complete moron and shouldnt be allowed to play and game console. There are a few flaws, but wat game doesnt have flaws, because there are soldiers who can contorl bee's or control electricity or act like a spider or anything like that makes the game fake BUT good and different, and these difference make you as a gamer challenged in the enviorment provided as well as the weapons and other items. Hideo Kojima is by far the best producer in the gaming industry. The script was well acted also. Whoever rates this game below an 8 obviously doesnt know anything about the facts i just pointed out about this game and the detail put into. Those type of gamers play crash bandicoot, or city crisis, or some garbage game that has no detail, or organized scripts or good gameplay. I've never been in the jungle at war but i can garantee that this game make you feel you are there virtually. I suggest you play at night time for better experience. Greatest Series ever. Expand
  53. LaliluL.
    Apr 26, 2005
    8
    Ridiculous. this game espionage gamers everywhere cringe with happiness. this game has amazing graphics, a storyline that patches up a lot of holes in the METAL GEAR timeline, but also leaves me wondering a few things... This games downsides were definitely the long strung out cinematics. They take so long you almost forget where you are or what you did last, also the lack of specialRidiculous. this game espionage gamers everywhere cringe with happiness. this game has amazing graphics, a storyline that patches up a lot of holes in the METAL GEAR timeline, but also leaves me wondering a few things... This games downsides were definitely the long strung out cinematics. They take so long you almost forget where you are or what you did last, also the lack of special features was a stab in the back, and the snake vs monkey was just ridiculous therefore turning the knife in my already stabbed back. Expand
  54. EraquarP.
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is the best game ever made I even shed a small tear at the end.
  55. BigB0SSNakedSnake
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Metal Gear is the definitive PlayStation series. Snake Eater is by far the best of the series. The jungle gameplay was nice to change up the facility type action that was seen in MGS and MGS2. The story is about 3 times longer (I'm talking about cutscenes and gameplay) than the previous two. I dig the camo and face paint setup, the food eating setup, and the backpack storage forMetal Gear is the definitive PlayStation series. Snake Eater is by far the best of the series. The jungle gameplay was nice to change up the facility type action that was seen in MGS and MGS2. The story is about 3 times longer (I'm talking about cutscenes and gameplay) than the previous two. I dig the camo and face paint setup, the food eating setup, and the backpack storage for items and weapons. If you haven't played this game yet, then you're messed up. If not, wait for MGS3: Subsistence to come out in March, 2006. It's the updated version of Snake Eater with added online features. Expand
  56. Mr.E
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    I loved this game. One of the best games I've ever played. I can't til the PSP sequel comes out.
  57. LJ
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    A milestone for gaming! Without a doubt, this has some of the best story-telling I have ever come across to in anything. For me this is tied with Zelda: OOT for the best game ever and it's also the best prequel ever made! Is that good!
  58. DD
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    A magnificent achievement in gaming! MGS3 can challenge any great film in terms of terrific story-telling- strong, compelling characters, and fantastic action sequences that are to die for.
  59. NathanP.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    My favourite game ever, an amazing experience.
  60. BryceHollandsworth
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    This game is HARD. Even depending on the difficulty level you set it at, it will still be a challenge. Expect to be seen and killed a LOT if you're new to this game. However, this level of difficulty and skill is exactly what the game industry needs! The intense storyline, how it fits together the pieces to the other games, and how amazing the gameplay is is the whole reason to buyThis game is HARD. Even depending on the difficulty level you set it at, it will still be a challenge. Expect to be seen and killed a LOT if you're new to this game. However, this level of difficulty and skill is exactly what the game industry needs! The intense storyline, how it fits together the pieces to the other games, and how amazing the gameplay is is the whole reason to buy it! The humor is good, the action is AMAZING! And if you can control your inner Rambo for minutes on end, you might just get to see the true awesomeness this game is! Expand
  61. UmarA.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Amazing!!
  62. Skoobz
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Aw geeze, my sony camcorder is better than your panasonic one. my ge dishwasher is better than your whirpool dishwasher. shut up already. splinter cell is good in its own merits and the same can be said for mgs3. mgs is more ground breaking. i could not believe what i was experiencing when i first played mgs. and up till now, i still can't believe the thrill of mgs3. hideo just keepsAw geeze, my sony camcorder is better than your panasonic one. my ge dishwasher is better than your whirpool dishwasher. shut up already. splinter cell is good in its own merits and the same can be said for mgs3. mgs is more ground breaking. i could not believe what i was experiencing when i first played mgs. and up till now, i still can't believe the thrill of mgs3. hideo just keeps on raising the bar higher and higher. i cannot wait to see what he has in store for us in mgs4. yes, i too thought sc was just a mgs hack, but after playing it, i've enjoyed it immensly also. ignore these dolts who tell you to stay clear from either game. rent them both, i'm sure you'll end up buying them both. i sure hope konami is brining snake to the pc again, because playing sc2 on the pc is fantastic. the eye candy is gorgeous. i can't wait to see snake on an nvidea gfx card...you can only do so much with the emotion engine of the ps2. Expand
  63. KarlK.
    Nov 25, 2004
    9
    A great game but just too much forests. I know we are becoming to used to these destroy all games and a lot of people just cant appreciate a good stealth game the only falws i found in this game was it's constant use of the dark forests. It became increasingly annoying not being able to see anything because of these dark forests but aside from that one of the best games out.
  64. MorganG.
    Nov 26, 2004
    10
    By far, one of the greastest games I have ever played, if not the best. I was very suprised by the story, as it didnt have as many plot twists as I would have imagined, but thats alright, having a nice, almost normal story. The levles are highly detalied, and I love the water effects. This game is beautiful, fun, and Ill be playing this game for months to come. Untill Ac!d is released on By far, one of the greastest games I have ever played, if not the best. I was very suprised by the story, as it didnt have as many plot twists as I would have imagined, but thats alright, having a nice, almost normal story. The levles are highly detalied, and I love the water effects. This game is beautiful, fun, and Ill be playing this game for months to come. Untill Ac!d is released on the PSP that is. Expand
  65. WeakSauce300
    Nov 29, 2004
    9
    So Addicting!
  66. Volgin
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    Where to start....by far the best game of the year. BY FAR. way better than half life 2 (i beat it, this was so much better). it still has the humour and style of mgs, but the gameplay is WAY better. if anything the previous mgs games lacked, it was certain gameplay elements. Eating, curing, camo...everything is simple but brilliant. MY favorite new thing is CQC, which allows you to do Where to start....by far the best game of the year. BY FAR. way better than half life 2 (i beat it, this was so much better). it still has the humour and style of mgs, but the gameplay is WAY better. if anything the previous mgs games lacked, it was certain gameplay elements. Eating, curing, camo...everything is simple but brilliant. MY favorite new thing is CQC, which allows you to do pretty much anything you need to do to a guard. And the graphics....I dont think anyone thought the PS2 was capable of this. The bosses, while extremely unrealistic(a trademark of the MGS series-unrealistic but cool and fun bosses) are really cool and the battles are amazing. The best was The End, which was a long sniping battle like the movie Enemy at the Gates except in the forest, a plateau, and a ravine. To be honest-all the boss battles are really cool. The plot is very good, but here is my only complaint-there arent as many plot twists as 2, and no freaky weird place like arsenal gear(which was my personal favorite "level" in any videogame ever). The plot is mostly straightforward and normal, with not as many long scenes, except the conclusion which is about 30 mins. I hope this isnt the last episode of the MGS series like they said it is...there are still some plot holes that need to be filled. Expand
  67. ChrisH.
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    First off i would like to comment on this moron that rated this game a fifty obviously you shouldent be playing games. maybe you should go join the army or something because the realness and feel of this game are great and one more thing obviously you dont understand storlylines to well because its not called snake eater because you eat snakes its because part of your mission is to take First off i would like to comment on this moron that rated this game a fifty obviously you shouldent be playing games. maybe you should go join the army or something because the realness and feel of this game are great and one more thing obviously you dont understand storlylines to well because its not called snake eater because you eat snakes its because part of your mission is to take out the cobra unit hence snake eater. so get of your lazy ass and get an education. Expand
  68. Nov 25, 2015
    9
    In Snake Eater, you play as Naked Snake, a cardboard-box loving meme king who beat the game using little to no stealth by simply remembering the basics of CQC. Also, yeah, he's totally Big Boss.
  69. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    This is not a video game,this is something more.This is like a music album,a movie and a video game all put together.You can rarely find a classic product like this.This is ahead of it's time.Characters are absolutely amazing,their histories and some of their tragic consequences they suffered turned them into enemies of planet earth.The story is absolutely amazing and reallyThis is not a video game,this is something more.This is like a music album,a movie and a video game all put together.You can rarely find a classic product like this.This is ahead of it's time.Characters are absolutely amazing,their histories and some of their tragic consequences they suffered turned them into enemies of planet earth.The story is absolutely amazing and really interesting,the graphics are really good,there are a lot of weapons,dialogue is 5/5,voices are remarkable and the thing about this game is that it's really not repetitive,the missions are always different.This is one of my favorite games of all time,without a doubt. Expand
  70. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    Perhaps one of the best series ever written. This time you take on the role of who you know as Big Boss. The revolutionary camouflage system this had when released paved the way for the future of stealth games. All these games have very deep stories with very important messages and this is no different. Do yourself a favor and play this gem.
  71. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay is incredibly fun and the game is addictive with tons of replay value wether be on a more challenging difficulty or that extra run to try to beat the game with complete stealth. Characters are great and very interesting. Nothing bad to say about this one. MGS3 will go down as one of the greatest video games in history and an absolute masterpiece by the mastermind Hideo Kojima. Expand
  72. Oct 9, 2015
    10
    goddamn this game is good,quality voice acting(but pls dont talk to me about the lip sync) and amazing controls. must **** buy right **** now 10/10 nuff said
  73. Feb 6, 2016
    10
    This is quite simply my favourite game of all time. I haven't got a bad word to say about it. The story manages to be campy and ridiculous and yet hard hitting and emotional. The gameplay allows so much freedom to the player that every play through can be completely different. Anyone who has never played this masterpiece most definitely should. Simply perfect.
  74. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    I don't really know what can i say about this game that hasn't been said before, this is simply one of the best games ever. Every aspect of it is great. music,graphics,characters, story etc.
    The first time i finished it was the first time that i cried with a game,it doesn't matter if you like stealth games or not, you've got to play it
  75. Mar 31, 2016
    10
    el segundo mejor juego de la historia todo el juego es perfecto los controles la supervivencia el sigilo los gráficos y sus expansiones representan un punto alto para la serie nunca olvidaremos lo que hiciste por tu patria boss
  76. Feb 10, 2016
    10
    I will probably be a bit subjective but Snake Eater is my favourite game of all time. It has one of the best storylines ever, you can feel what the main character feels, the camouflage system works nicely and the gameplay is pretty good. If you like games' main focus being story, you will love this game.
    I forgot to mention the music. Way To Fall and Snake Eater are two of the best game music.
  77. May 10, 2016
    10
    If you like guns and strategy, don't think it twice. Buy it. This game is just amazing. I mean the graphics are awesome. The voices and cinematic are just fantastic. I really really recommend it. I don't know what else to say. Great game. Just enjoy it!
  78. Jul 25, 2016
    10
    This is like. The best game ever.
    The gameplay is godlike.
    The Graphics are godlike (for the time especially)
    The story is f*ckin godlike!
    Buy.
    The.
    Goddamn.
    Game.
  79. Jul 4, 2012
    0
    This is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controlsThis is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controls are wonderful and the visuals and style are incomparable to any other game out there. A lot of it is cheesy and may be ridiculed if seen in a film, but there's this sort of depth to the characters and story, plus many twists and turns that are impossible to predict and wonderful attention to detail that it easily can be considered one of the best video games in existence. It's literally the only game out there where I don't find the constant percentages and various statistics regarding Naked Snake's survival annoying. Going to the 'start menu' is actually fun. Healing Snake's wounds and changing camo to hide better in different areas never really feels like a chore and the parts where you get stuck always take some thought (it's not a game that you just mindlessly dawdle your way through). This is definitely a game worth any true gamer's time. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. netjak
    90
    When all is said and done, Snake Eater achieves what no other game can on such a level: complete immersion into an action-driven interactive movie.
  2. Gaming Target
    98
    Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best game of the year? Yes. Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best in its series? No.
  3. There has never been, and will not be for a long time a more convincing and immersive game released.