• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2004
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 706 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 706

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    Snake Eater has my favorite storyline of any game ive ever played. I have never felt such a connecting to a story before. The gameplay is some of the best in gaming if not the best. A classic if there ever was one.
  2. Chimp
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This game is not for everyone. and by that, i mean it is not for stupid people. with possibly the deepest plot in any game, it really is more than just a game. yes, i got half life 2 on tuesday and i know how unbelievably awesome that is....but this game is more important and personal to me because of its story. of course, the gameplay is amazing. this time around, you have to beThis game is not for everyone. and by that, i mean it is not for stupid people. with possibly the deepest plot in any game, it really is more than just a game. yes, i got half life 2 on tuesday and i know how unbelievably awesome that is....but this game is more important and personal to me because of its story. of course, the gameplay is amazing. this time around, you have to be stealthier than in the previous two games. the jungle is really cool, with animals and camoflage and all that. speaking of camoflage, let me just say if you're playing on normal or higher you will HAVE to use it. enemies are much more realistic this time around and can spot you from far away if you move or really stand out. the CQC system is genius, and the boss battles are amazing. also, its full of humour just like the other two, but its not in-your-face humour, more subtle. and the main theme is the best in any game ever. simply unbelievable. Expand
  3. NortonJ.
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    What is wrong with reviewers these days?!?!? Scores of 50 (thats disgraceful) and 80 for a game this polished is quite simply.....mad. MGS3 is one of those addictive games that you honestly cannot put down until you've finished it. You will sacrifice things in life just to bask in its brilliance. We are lucky to have one of these games come across us once every 3 years and some What is wrong with reviewers these days?!?!? Scores of 50 (thats disgraceful) and 80 for a game this polished is quite simply.....mad. MGS3 is one of those addictive games that you honestly cannot put down until you've finished it. You will sacrifice things in life just to bask in its brilliance. We are lucky to have one of these games come across us once every 3 years and some incompetent reviewer who obviously has issues ruins an average score I for one and others would agree should be at least 95. To put it quite simply, this game is more than just a "must buy" your PS2 needs it, it craves it. 2006-2007 we will see MGS4 on the PS3, so until then enjoy what is yet another masterpiece from the genious Hideo Kojima. Expand
  4. ZacharyR.
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3:Snake Eater was EXCELLENT! It was the best game yet in the Metal Gear Series! If I could say one word to Hideo Kojima it would be, BRAVO!
  5. EhabA.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is almost a movie with great moves u just have to play it.
  6. Kewlkat
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Whether you're watching it, or playing it, ( and trust me, you'll be doing plenty of both), this game never fails to be immersive, daring, riveting, exciting, deep, intense, cool, and just plain fun to play almost the entire way through. One of the best games I have ever played.
  7. SKULLOMANIAW.
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    This game literally made me cry because I've never played such a well developed game since Metal Gear Solid: Sons of Liberty. The turn from the steel, factory look to the jungle look was a great and worthy change. I can't put the stupid controller down. DAMN THIS GAME HAS ME HOOKED!
  8. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    This game was brilliant and story wise is one of my favourite in the series. In this game players can watch past events as they shape the future of the series. For example players will be taking control of a new character and will watch the rise of Big Boss and how he became the legend. The game play is also greatly improved making it much more flexible and gives players more variety asThis game was brilliant and story wise is one of my favourite in the series. In this game players can watch past events as they shape the future of the series. For example players will be taking control of a new character and will watch the rise of Big Boss and how he became the legend. The game play is also greatly improved making it much more flexible and gives players more variety as they can carry a set of equipment and weapons of their own chossing. Expand
  9. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay isMetal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay is incredibly fun and the game is addictive with tons of replay value wether be on a more challenging difficulty or that extra run to try to beat the game with complete stealth. Characters are great and very interesting. Nothing bad to say about this one. MGS3 will go down as one of the greatest video games in history and an absolute masterpiece by the mastermind Hideo Kojima. Expand
  10. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controlsThis is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controls are wonderful and the visuals and style are incomparable to any other game out there. A lot of it is cheesy and may be ridiculed if seen in a film, but there's this sort of depth to the characters and story, plus many twists and turns that are impossible to predict and wonderful attention to detail that it easily can be considered one of the best video games in existence. It's literally the only game out there where I don't find the constant percentages and various statistics regarding Naked Snake's survival annoying. Going to the 'start menu' is actually fun. Healing Snake's wounds and changing camo to hide better in different areas never really feels like a chore and the parts where you get stuck always take some thought (it's not a game that you just mindlessly dawdle your way through). This is definitely a game worth any true gamer's time. Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game does not cease to be interesting at any point. The 3rd installment in the Metal Gear Solid series is nothing to shy away from, instead try to go and buy it. Heres the jist of it. The campaign is very engaging and informative that will make you teary at points. Like Hideo Kojima wants, the gamer will be placed this time in Big Boss's body, the real Snake. The new system involvingThis game does not cease to be interesting at any point. The 3rd installment in the Metal Gear Solid series is nothing to shy away from, instead try to go and buy it. Heres the jist of it. The campaign is very engaging and informative that will make you teary at points. Like Hideo Kojima wants, the gamer will be placed this time in Big Boss's body, the real Snake. The new system involving survival is original and adds on the Metal Gear Solid's array of well crafted ideals placed in a game. Overall, the game is magnificent and nothing short of greatness. Expand
  12. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    my review for my favorite PS2 game, MGS3.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 10/10. a outstanding story with the most breathtaking twist i have ever encountered in the last generation of gaming. i don't want to spoil anything else :). GRAPHICS- 9/10. it pushes the PS2 to the max. great cutscenes (minus the laughable lip-synching), and great visual quality overall. SOUND- 10/10. exceptional voice
    my review for my favorite PS2 game, MGS3.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 10/10. a outstanding story with the most breathtaking twist i have ever encountered in the last generation of gaming. i don't want to spoil anything else :).
    GRAPHICS- 9/10. it pushes the PS2 to the max. great cutscenes (minus the laughable lip-synching), and great visual quality overall.
    SOUND- 10/10. exceptional voice acting, and and a top quality score.
    GAMEPLAY- 8.5/10. i personally didn't have much of a problem, but some people had trouble adjusting to the complex controls. otherwise, no gameplay problems here. very fun stealth/ action gameplay.
    FUN FACTOR- 10/10. a top-notch game that absolutely everyone who likes action/stealth games needs to play.
    OVERALL- 10/10.
    Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Im not very in to shooting games but this was awesome only thing hindering it from getting a 10 is the annoying camera but this game is just another awesome game by Konami super fun good story just a little bit cheeky but you fill connected to the character You feel me!
  14. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    I've only ever played Nintendo games my entire life. They were simple with decent stories and great gameplay. Then I played Super Paper Mario, which made me realize how immersive a game could be and how connected a game could make you to a character. I listened to my friend's advice and got Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater(The 3D version, but I'm putting my review here). This game was aI've only ever played Nintendo games my entire life. They were simple with decent stories and great gameplay. Then I played Super Paper Mario, which made me realize how immersive a game could be and how connected a game could make you to a character. I listened to my friend's advice and got Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater(The 3D version, but I'm putting my review here). This game was a surprise. I'd heard the story in these games were boring and hard to follow, but this one was rather easy to understand. The characters like Eva and Sokolov were displayed very well and I felt for them like people. The gameplay works well for it and the boss battles were great, especially for shooter standards. I never minded the long cutscenes because they explained in great detail what was going on and further established my love for the characters(Even the optional Johnny). And just like any MGS game, it has one of the most satisfying endings I've ever seen. The game took 15 hours to complete, but those were some of the best hours I've spent playing a game. This game hasn't changed my opinions on gaming, other than proving that a game can have seem like a movie while excelling as a game. This game currently is in my Top Five Favorite Games and I don't see that changing any time soon. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good story with a fair amount of plot twists. Expand
  15. Alex
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Sam Fisher, eat your heart out. The king of stealth returns. This is, by leaps and bounds, the best game in the MGS series.
  16. JamesH.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Go and buy this now, and I mean NOW!!
  17. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    No doubt, one of the best Playstation 2 games ever. It has a great storyline, awesome characters and it really shows how great the series is. It has great controls that are pretty easy to understand, and the game isn't hard to understand. Has lots of great items and etc. But the best thing about the whole game is the story. Especially the ending. If you're looking for a great shooter game,No doubt, one of the best Playstation 2 games ever. It has a great storyline, awesome characters and it really shows how great the series is. It has great controls that are pretty easy to understand, and the game isn't hard to understand. Has lots of great items and etc. But the best thing about the whole game is the story. Especially the ending. If you're looking for a great shooter game, you need to play this one. I clocked over 110 hours in the game... Expand
  18. AnthonyC.
    Dec 5, 2004
    9
    A step up from two. Story telling at it's best. Kojima is a genius. Big Boss is the coolest character since Neo.
  19. FedericoM.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    It's simply the best!
  20. Alfgrr
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    This will kill every game that comes out this year.
  21. AndrejJ.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Congrats to Hideo Kojima and every one who developed this game. It's a world wonder
  22. DougP.
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    ok first i'm 22 and no don't live at home. I have about 10 games for the ps2 this game rocks. Its easy to play easy to learn and great for company. i still can't beat the dam game. oh yeah did i mention that i got it for under 3 bucks, which makes the value so much better. It should sell for about 20 though - what a game.
  23. AhmedAlataby
    Aug 19, 2003
    10
    Oh man .. Kojima does it again ... the waiting .. THE WAITING .. believe me guys, this game is gonna be the bomb! I guess the people who played MGS2 already know what I mean .. :) .. Anyways .. The graphics looks (very) good, the music .. Hi mister Williams. and the gameplay is just .. WOW .. And they say that you might be play this game .. Online .. :S .. I sure hope so!! .. Thats why IOh man .. Kojima does it again ... the waiting .. THE WAITING .. believe me guys, this game is gonna be the bomb! I guess the people who played MGS2 already know what I mean .. :) .. Anyways .. The graphics looks (very) good, the music .. Hi mister Williams. and the gameplay is just .. WOW .. And they say that you might be play this game .. Online .. :S .. I sure hope so!! .. Thats why I think that this game really is worth the 10 points I gave it :D .. That's it folks !! SeeYa Expand
  24. Sean
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    This is one sexy game.
  25. T.H.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    AWESOME
  26. BuddhiC.
    Aug 29, 2004
    9
    I am an older white male and I served in the military during Nam (Vietnam War) Having experienced these harsh environments I know that MGS3 is the most realistic jungle senario I have ever experienced in a video game. But-But.But.But...Theres always a But. When your speaking in comparing the video game to real life,its not good,but the acual jungle environments and the type of gameplay I am an older white male and I served in the military during Nam (Vietnam War) Having experienced these harsh environments I know that MGS3 is the most realistic jungle senario I have ever experienced in a video game. But-But.But.But...Theres always a But. When your speaking in comparing the video game to real life,its not good,but the acual jungle environments and the type of gameplay MGS3 offers... is remarkable. Awesome...Awesome fun for Everyone! Expand
  27. HamzaBasmer
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    I'm a #1 fan of the Metal Gear Solid games. All of the MGS games are the best games ever to be released! There is one problem though, they should make a REAL soundtrack cd with actual songs. This song definately suits MGS 3, "Holly Mcnarland - In The Air Tonight". Anyone reading this message PLEASE have a listen to it. (you can download it from Kazaa)
  28. joniLB
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    i hear mgs goin rock the house, if you suka dun buy diz game you guy are fool. the best game in the world goin come out. damn the waiting and waiting, can't wait until it come out goin grab me it. i play all the mgs game already. but i think mgs 3 goin rock the world. buy the game if you fool dun buy the game i should kick your ass... aite g2g buh baii....
  29. ianfinn
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    I am a number one fan of Metal Gear Solid. I think all the MGS games are the best games ever devloped. The graphics are fantastic. The graphics for MGS3 look SPECTACULAR. There is only one prob hurry yours ass up and release it already.

    PS
    This game rules
  30. AleksiK.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Forget all other sh..ty games, cause the worlds best game returns and its better than ever!!
  31. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best storyline of any game I ever played and its simply the best game I ever played!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  32. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    The mechanics may make the end game stumble a little bit, but the humor, story, character, and amazing world that Mr. Kojima has created is stunning, wonderful, and absolutely astoundingly incredible. One of the best games of all time in a series that stands as the culmination of phenomenal storytelling and incredibly unique mechanics. A classic.
  33. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    After every Metal Gear Solid the game and story gets better. Whenever I play an MGS game I think that Kojima cannot outdo himself be he does and that is why MGS is so good. MGS 3 is the best story in the series so far. The game is so engaging and emotional. If you did not cry at the end of the game I don't think any movie or game can make you cry.
  34. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Es el mejor Metal Gear o por lo menos mi favorito. Desde los jefes finales, la historia, las inolvidables secuencias de video,los escenarios hasta el novedoso CQC, el camuflage o la supervivencia; todo contribuye a crear la mejor experiencia que se puede vivir como agente secreto.
    GRAFICOS:10 SONIDO: 8 DIVERSION:9 DURACION: 8
  35. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Not as good as MGS2, but a VERY close contender! As a longtime fan of the series, this is my second favorite entry if not tied with MGS2 in some aspects. I don't know what else to say aside from the fact that it's simply an amazing work of art. Yup, that's right, it's so good it's a work of art! Same with 1 and 2! I love Metal Gear!!
  36. May 27, 2012
    10
    Game is one of the best games I've ever played! One of the best cinematic games as well! Masterpiece game! Better than a lot of movies!
  37. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the greatest games ever made. I won't spoil the ending but it is one of the greatest endings to any game ever. The bosses are all very different from one another, while some have you running and gunning tactics, some require a stealth approach, hand to hand combat, or even your typical boss with a simple tactic to beating him. Some bosses even have unique ways to fightThis game is one of the greatest games ever made. I won't spoil the ending but it is one of the greatest endings to any game ever. The bosses are all very different from one another, while some have you running and gunning tactics, some require a stealth approach, hand to hand combat, or even your typical boss with a simple tactic to beating him. Some bosses even have unique ways to fight them such as food poisoning for example. The stealth game play is great. The camera stays behind you so you can actually see in front of you. Hunting for food is rewarding, and figuring out what food is best and how to use the jungle to your advantage is it's own reward. You can throw snakes at guards or even carefully toss them in a river or place them in front of a trap. Expand
  38. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of PS2 (it's on my top 10), and alongside with MGS1 the best games of the series. The prequel of the Bipedal Tank nukes could'nt be more epic than MGS3.
  39. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best experiences you will have in your life (and I
  40. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    I recently watched my friend play the end of this game and it was the most painful thing i have ever witnessed. Not because of the game, just his pure apathy towards video games in general. Eva has rockin' and she unzips her jacket ALOT, so you can see massive cleavage. I wish her and Snake bumped uglies more often. Oh well, still a perfect game.
  41. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 3 was originally in development for the upcoming PS3, However the gap between game and console release was long enough for Hideo Kojima to push the PS2 to it's limit and release MGS3 November 2004.

    Everybody in development pretty much agreed it would be set in the jungle, The wonderful and horrifying idea of creating a prequel set in the 1964 Cold War meant the gadget
    Metal Gear Solid 3 was originally in development for the upcoming PS3, However the gap between game and console release was long enough for Hideo Kojima to push the PS2 to it's limit and release MGS3 November 2004.

    Everybody in development pretty much agreed it would be set in the jungle, The wonderful and horrifying idea of creating a prequel set in the 1964 Cold War meant the gadget laden nature and philosophy of Metal Gear could threaten the previous installments of the series but also fall flat, Kojima planned to leave Metal Gear after MGS2 as he felt it was left open ended enough for others to develop, regardless he has continued to helm the series even to this day and made the smartest direction possible for a prequel, A James Bond Homage.

    Finally revealing the series origins The Virtuous Mission begins in 1964, CIA Operative Naked Snake (David Hayter) is sent by Major Tom a former British Special Air Service member to retrieve defective Russian scientist Sokolov who is developing a nuclear equipped tank "The Shagohod", during the mission Snake is contacted by his former mentor The Boss, The relationship between her and Snake seems to go beyond that of a teacher and student but not that of a pair of lovers as Snake later addresses. She simply is a remarkable soldier with many accomplishments.

    After confronting a young Revolver Ocelot, the mission goes haywire once The Boss reveals to Snake she is defecting to the Soviet Union and gives her new benefactor Col. Volgin two "Davy Crockett" Nuclear warheads, with the help of her former comrades "The Cobra unit" they re-take Sokolov she breaks her former students arm and throws him off a bridge. whilst leaving via helicopter Volgin then unexpectedly fires a nuke to cover up the Scientists theft subsequently blaming The Boss for the attack.

    After the very impressive cascading titular opening sung by Cynthia Harrell, The Snake Eater mission begins, Snake must make contact with the agents ADAM and EVA, rescue Sokolov destroy the Shagohod
    and kill his former mentor the Boss.

    What begins is pretty much the best spy game ever made, tracking through the harsh jungle environment Snake has to procure resources from the flora and fauna, mend cuts and broken bones all the way to the Russian stronghold. along the way stealth is handled by various disguises and face make up best situated to the area through easily navigated menu's.

    Though the dialogue can seem off in some area's each character is weirdly wonderful, motivation and ideologies are unfortunately shared only between the 5-6 main characters and the villians ambushes though not fleshed out entirely well offer something interesting in terms of their theming,The Cobra Unit is made up of The Boss (The Joy), The Sorrow, The Fury, The End, The Fear & The Pain, though the Pain doesn't really fit as it's a sensation rather than an emotion, each fight has a certain strategy behind it, The End is obviously debatable as one of the greatest bosses in a video game history for being so open ended and being able to last hours.

    The somewhat forced relationship between Eva & Snake will inevitably grown on you as Eva becomes more self-reliant and a lot more than just blatant sex appeal, But throughout the comic relief provided by Revolver Ocelot The relationship between Snake and The Boss is all that matters meaning their eventual encounter will alter each other deeply.

    All this and more has been woven together perfectly, Harry Gregson Williams music reflects the gritty era and Kojima's trademark humour throws in various Jazz numbers perfectly complimenting the work created. Lastly an honorable mention to Yoji Shinkawa, his artworks are impeccable regardless of style and times, not that anyone complained.

    When all is said and done MGS3's theme is "Scene" the setup for the franchise is beautifully told and voiced by the English cast brilliantly, it received universal praise for it's gameplay and has aged incredibly well. The exploits of Naked Snakes eventually downturn to the series antagonist "Big Boss" had begun. 9.5.
    Expand
  42. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Hideo Kojima's Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is a masterpiece from the beginning to the end. Movie and game combined with excellency. Great gameplay, graphics and story. The camera is not so good.
  43. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Probably the best MGS series I have played.Everything is perfect, the environment, the enemies , the arsenal , the character , the story and the list goes on and on and on.
  44. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    This is the best game in the series in my opinion. The game play has been perfected, its paced beautifuly, it has one of the greatest story lines ever told and it s still fun to play today. Some of the most most memorable moments in games are found her, thanks to some awesome boss fights and great cut scenes. In my opinion this is a masterpiece and pretty well perfect game.
  45. May 6, 2014
    10
    Lots of times, many people get angry over games with long cutscenes and being a so called almost interactive movie, I also feel that way. But, Metal gear solid 3 nails the mix between cutscenes and gameplay perfectly, and the story is touching, you care about it, you even want more cutscenes, and so many suprises from Hideo Kojima's crazy mind, I literally thought the game ended 3 times!Lots of times, many people get angry over games with long cutscenes and being a so called almost interactive movie, I also feel that way. But, Metal gear solid 3 nails the mix between cutscenes and gameplay perfectly, and the story is touching, you care about it, you even want more cutscenes, and so many suprises from Hideo Kojima's crazy mind, I literally thought the game ended 3 times! Easily one of the best games of all time Expand
  46. May 12, 2014
    10
    this is the best game I've ever played.the camera is **** in the beginning but it just takes practice and the use of first-person vision that the rest is a breeze. the history of the game of a twist at the end. and delicious EVE with Bikini hummm... the final scene of them is hot
  47. Snake!
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Ohh this is good game i can´t belive some people give it a 0 and they say "konami is a mockery of a company" you guys need a real game like mgs 3, this a great game!! buy it!!
  48. JoeP.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    This game is the best game in the world to me. it never gets boring.
  49. Donkay
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Can't go wrong with Snake if you like Special Ops games. You'll spend countless hours on this game yet it'll seem to just wiz by cuz of the fun gameplay. The graphics are awesome and the storyline is nicely done.
  50. AlbertoC.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Greatest Game Of All-Time. Nuff said.
  51. Tonydannie
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    I loved this game!! Very challenging and the Boss fights are great. my favorite will have to be "The End" sniping fight. This game is with out a doubt the best yet in the metal gear solid series. The story is amazing and it makes better sense then "Sons Of Liberty" And the score is as good as any score in a film( granted it is a film composer's ). But it is as god if not better then I loved this game!! Very challenging and the Boss fights are great. my favorite will have to be "The End" sniping fight. This game is with out a doubt the best yet in the metal gear solid series. The story is amazing and it makes better sense then "Sons Of Liberty" And the score is as good as any score in a film( granted it is a film composer's ). But it is as god if not better then the films this man has scored. Best game ever!!! Until Metal Gear Solid 4 of course. Expand
  52. JesseJ.
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    This is a great game i dont have to say anything, just look at the reviews!!!!!!
  53. Gareth
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Perfect. A slightly long intro scene will only bother you when you play through the game a second time. MGS had length issues, MGS 2 had pacing problems, Snake Eater has neither and appart from the suggestive subtitle, it has no flaws. Touches of genious such as the very long ladder climb as the music fades in, the increadable graphics atop the cliff, the best ending to a videogame ever Perfect. A slightly long intro scene will only bother you when you play through the game a second time. MGS had length issues, MGS 2 had pacing problems, Snake Eater has neither and appart from the suggestive subtitle, it has no flaws. Touches of genious such as the very long ladder climb as the music fades in, the increadable graphics atop the cliff, the best ending to a videogame ever which needs to be seen to believe superb voice acting and plot and great characters all round. Packed with witt, charm and shear balls its the most perfect action/adventure game you can buy on any of the 3 consoles right now. Trust me, you'll take a week of work to play it none stop and itill stay with you long after you have finished. Top class. Expand
  54. RickN.
    Oct 17, 2005
    9
    If everyone put this much effort into making games, then the world would be a much better place. I know its not everyones cup of tea from reading some reviews, most of which are from MGS newcomers, who complain about cutscenes being to long, the camera being crap etc. These are valid points of course, but anyone else who's played the MGS games since the PS1 original are more than If everyone put this much effort into making games, then the world would be a much better place. I know its not everyones cup of tea from reading some reviews, most of which are from MGS newcomers, who complain about cutscenes being to long, the camera being crap etc. These are valid points of course, but anyone else who's played the MGS games since the PS1 original are more than used to these flaws. Even so, the sheer quality of this game makes up for these problems one hundred fold. The graphics, the characters, the weapons, the gadgets, the boss fights, the stealth tactics, the atmosphere of tension created throughout the game, the close quarter combat system, the cutscenes and overall coolness of the game are just all unreal. Plus theres just way to many secrets in the game to list here, its just crazy how much works gone into it. People who know the MGS series will love it more than anything, people who are new to it, just open your mind a bit. This game is amazing and makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Expand
  55. SolidusSnake
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    I have always been a fan of the metal gear solid series . The first metal gear solid for playstation was amazing . I was a bit disapointed by the sequel bacause of Raiden and the plot witch wasnt all that interesting and original.Now Snake Eater is stil a great game better than Sons of Liberty and almost equal with the original.The problem is that it could be a perfect game if only they I have always been a fan of the metal gear solid series . The first metal gear solid for playstation was amazing . I was a bit disapointed by the sequel bacause of Raiden and the plot witch wasnt all that interesting and original.Now Snake Eater is stil a great game better than Sons of Liberty and almost equal with the original.The problem is that it could be a perfect game if only they changed the camera.They changed the era and the whole set of the game but they still have the same camera. Its in the jungle now and there is no radar which makes the camera more of a problem than a help. The camera ruins some of the experience of being in the jungle but overall its the best adventure game of the year. Expand
  56. JoshA.
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    The perfect game. What else can I say?
  57. CoryP.
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    Smash or trash and this game is well above the ranking system here.(it was deducted a mark for mentioning Raiden in the game, if you were wondering). The best MGS to date. The story, graphics, sounds, gameplay are all god like. To this date from purchasing it when it first came out, I'm still playing the game (I have beaten the game many times) and still finding new things to do. It Smash or trash and this game is well above the ranking system here.(it was deducted a mark for mentioning Raiden in the game, if you were wondering). The best MGS to date. The story, graphics, sounds, gameplay are all god like. To this date from purchasing it when it first came out, I'm still playing the game (I have beaten the game many times) and still finding new things to do. It will be a major improvement when the 4th of the series comes out but I really need it NOT to have Raiden in it to enjoy beyond all possibilties. Better yet the best choice ever would be if Snake decides to shoot Raiden right in the face point blank with a stinger missle. Expand
  58. BlakeY.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Wonderful game.
  59. AnonymousAnonymous
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    Like this was the best game I played. All my other friends think Halo 2 sucks( Most think so). This is or should be the best game of the year, not Halo 2.
    If I rated Halo 2, it would be an 8. (I like Halo 2, but MGS 3 RULES, whoever doesn't think so sucks.)
  60. RafaelH.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Just one comment : the best MG game so far and one of the best games I played, and I hve played a lot .
  61. MattB.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Oh my God!, this game is so good!, my sons and I have played and finished the game so many times, yet we just keep coming back for more. The game is so life like, the first time I played it, after beating the sorrow, I had my first Nightmare in 30 yrs. WOW!...
  62. Kei
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    A game, no a virtual movie made with real passion.
  63. MartinK.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    This is the best game of all... until a new MG comes out! Praise Kojima!
  64. ThebiggestMGSfanintheworld
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Quite franckly, the best computer game I have ever played. Well, since I played the first MGS!!!
  65. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Yet ANOTHER great Metal Gear Solid game! Heralded as the best in the series by many, this game is easily one of the greatest games you will play on the Playstation 2 console. The graphics are easily some of the best the PS2 can do, pushing the limitations of the console. The gameplay is VERY deep. There are so many things to do, items to find, etc. that you will want to play through this Yet ANOTHER great Metal Gear Solid game! Heralded as the best in the series by many, this game is easily one of the greatest games you will play on the Playstation 2 console. The graphics are easily some of the best the PS2 can do, pushing the limitations of the console. The gameplay is VERY deep. There are so many things to do, items to find, etc. that you will want to play through this game more than once. The game is also a lot longer than the other Metal Gear solid games, taking 20 to 25 hours on a first time through the game. The controls are the usual for the PS2 Metal Gear Solid games, which is not a bad thing at all. And the story is VERY compelling, especially if you are a Metal Gear Solid fan. If you are, you definitley wouldn't want to miss this story! Overall, one of the greatest games for the PS2 in 2004, and probably for the rest of the life on the console. A must-have! Expand
  66. NathanR.
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    It's excellent but confusing 2 bring all of the other metal gear solid storys together and get the correct endind because i thought that snake liquid and solidus were clones of big boss.
  67. SimonK.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Hideo Kojima does it once again this is one of the best games ever made crisp graphics excellent sound and gameplay that takes the stealth genre to the next level. You dont have it What the hell are you doing. Go buy it!!!!!
  68. GarrethDouble'R'
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Superb graphics, completely unbelievable boss fights, astonishing music, a compelling story and enough genius moments to write pages about. What's most incredable about Metal Gear Solid 3 is that it WILL ruin most other games for you. Once you let yourself fall in love with Snake Eater, it breaks your legs and keeps you in its basement for good.
  69. SamD.
    Feb 3, 2006
    9
    Of the MGS series, this is the one that surprised me the most. At first I was thinking "same old, same old" except that everything was outside. As I went through I couldn't believe how engaging the cheeziness of the plot was and how much it felt like a James Bond film. On the other hand there were major changes to the theme which I won't spoil, but by the end you really felt Of the MGS series, this is the one that surprised me the most. At first I was thinking "same old, same old" except that everything was outside. As I went through I couldn't believe how engaging the cheeziness of the plot was and how much it felt like a James Bond film. On the other hand there were major changes to the theme which I won't spoil, but by the end you really felt like you had been through the whole ordeal that Snake just went through. The hunting and healing aspects of the game are a level of involvement in games which I think should be more prevalent. Its not just about get some place, killing some guy, running over here, using this item, etc. It was a constant struggle (albeit, a fun struggle) to do anything in the game because of that aspect. It sucks you right in. Expand
  70. ChrisZ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    If people only played past the first few missions instead of saying "I'm done" would they see the amazing work and story line.
  71. AlN.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    After 2 years still the best game I have ever played.
  72. GrayFox
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people who never think just write that bull**it here !keep thinking. Respect To Other Players who take this game with honor. Expand
  73. JohnnyS.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Another great kojima work. these games have real character.
  74. RobG.
    Nov 19, 2004
    9
    With videogames, one should trust the majority. it's perhaps the only medium in which i would advise you to trust the majority, anyway. games are interesting in this fashion: when a good game comes out, there is not nearly the amount of polarization as there would be in, say film. in short, everyone prolly really likes halo 2 because it's a very fun game. on the other hand,With videogames, one should trust the majority. it's perhaps the only medium in which i would advise you to trust the majority, anyway. games are interesting in this fashion: when a good game comes out, there is not nearly the amount of polarization as there would be in, say film. in short, everyone prolly really likes halo 2 because it's a very fun game. on the other hand, uninspired wastes-of-time (well...all videogames are, but that's beside the point) like the new bad boys video game will be chalked up as an entertainment commodity collectively hated by the masses, and with just cause. but, like all review consensus, you're likely to run into at least one or two stragglers who will tell you that, "it's not nearly as good as it was hyped up to be" or "this other game is better." with the latest metal gear (snake eater), the obvious argument for not liking the game would be the dated graphics, control and camera scheme all to be blamed by the ps2's nearly obsolete specs. of course, when i first started up my copy of snake eater, the first thought that popped into my head was not the graphical quality or the camera problems but the fact that i was playing another metal gear solid game. no other game franchise in history has done mature gamers a greater duty. simply put: yes, the graphics (though non-comparable to the x-box) are phenomenal and really push the ps2; yes, the gameplay is the best ever in an mgs game; yes, the game is better than metal gear solid 2 which at first was very well received until rayden (the protagonist) must have gotten on the gamer's nerves when they played it a second time through. so why the 9? well. i'm afraid that i have a big heart for the original metal gear solid on the playstation. that was a perfect game. snake eater, on the other hand, is longer, more fun, and a much prettier game. but let's just call snake eater the second greatest gaming story ever told. kojima continues to throw a-level action movie themes and practices into stories that are, at their core, truly romantic, which is a very tough thing to pull off, indeed. and the bondesque theme-song and opening credits for the game will make the hair stand up on your arms even though they may actually be derivative. but it's a very difficult task to do what movies have done with the concept of interactive video games. kojima is a video game revolutionary and like i said before: my only thought when starting this game was, "huzzah! another metal gear game!" Expand
  75. BrandonW.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    This game is really exciting and the story has you trying to guess whats gonna happen next and then surprises you.
  76. Yoda/on/crack
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    I havn't had this much fun playing a game in some time now. And i play a ton of games, so thats saying something. I gave this game a 10 b/c it does a great job of sucking you into the story. Once i started playing the game i couln't put it down. Yes, the ps2 is showing its age, but i'm willing to put up with it b/c of games like MGS3. Not many games have the kind of I havn't had this much fun playing a game in some time now. And i play a ton of games, so thats saying something. I gave this game a 10 b/c it does a great job of sucking you into the story. Once i started playing the game i couln't put it down. Yes, the ps2 is showing its age, but i'm willing to put up with it b/c of games like MGS3. Not many games have the kind of gameplay that MGS3 has. Another reason would have to be the fact that kojima cut down on the cutscenes compared MGS2. With less cutscenes the games storyline flows better. Expand
  77. James
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    This game is friggin incredible. My Game of the Year.
  78. BenjitheGreat
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I liked MGS1, didnt like MGS2 so much. As far as pure action gameplay goes, MGS3 is far superior to its predecessors. The best part for me was exploring the jungle environments for animals that you could kill and then eat for stamina. I also enjoyed the new camoflauge system, great concept. Sneeking on the ground through underbrush, then picking off a guard with your tranq gun, then I liked MGS1, didnt like MGS2 so much. As far as pure action gameplay goes, MGS3 is far superior to its predecessors. The best part for me was exploring the jungle environments for animals that you could kill and then eat for stamina. I also enjoyed the new camoflauge system, great concept. Sneeking on the ground through underbrush, then picking off a guard with your tranq gun, then slashing on the ground with your knife was great fun. My complaint with MGS3 is similar to the complaints i had with MGS2. The plot is sometimes convoluted and the scenes drawn out too much. Overall, this game is awesome. Expand
  79. JoeT.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    mgs3 jungles, caves,swamps etc. is superb looking. Things like different kind of snakes,frogs,birds,fish catching them all is tricky specially on higher difficulty. 2 things i wish they done is, first i wish they put the camouflage uniform in an item window similar to equipping your box,weapon,binoculars. it'll be much quicker to changed your outfit more frequently. 2nd thing is i mgs3 jungles, caves,swamps etc. is superb looking. Things like different kind of snakes,frogs,birds,fish catching them all is tricky specially on higher difficulty. 2 things i wish they done is, first i wish they put the camouflage uniform in an item window similar to equipping your box,weapon,binoculars. it'll be much quicker to changed your outfit more frequently. 2nd thing is i wish hideo kojima spread out the camouflage uniform, force naked snake to play the game without any weapon only ap sensor,thermal google throughout game, only unlocking them if they finish the game, at different levels of difficulty. Kojima is a bit influenced by the critics, especially with the legendary cobra units, the characters like the fury, the pain, the fear, the end, was not thoroughly explained backstory of superb characters which is quite sad, i really love long cutscenes of mgs2 character explanation. please bring back the dog tags( completed all dg tgs in mgs 2 sons of liberty/substance 2001/2002) Raiden is a good character, i cant understand people hating him, especially what he experienced as child used as war soldier and his parents being killed, I'm even doubting some critics if they played mgs2 for complaining about raiden, if your a critic i want you to listen and play mgs2 again and listen to col. campbell and rose last codec transmition to Raiden before the last fight w/ solidus snake(itll explain you why raiden, was chosen for S3 plan(selection for societal sanity)Raiden and Rose combination is outstanding character development) I love mgs series for humor, personatily, uniqueness of the characters, story, emotion of the game. rewarding story.. A must buy game for excellent gaming experience. Expand
  80. CalvinS.
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    The best Metal Gear Solid game ever.The Cobra Units is my best part.This game is both for parents and kids.The End and The Sorrow are the 2 best Cobra Units and the hardest.This game provides fun for the family.
  81. SmashOne
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    This is an excellent game. I was blown away by the the first one but the second was didn't really do it for me. This one has come back to blow me away again. The story line and th eway it's told are brilliant. The camo and the various types of terrain add a lot to the game and show a great deal of originality. The last two got a bit tedious with all the bulidings, rooms and This is an excellent game. I was blown away by the the first one but the second was didn't really do it for me. This one has come back to blow me away again. The story line and th eway it's told are brilliant. The camo and the various types of terrain add a lot to the game and show a great deal of originality. The last two got a bit tedious with all the bulidings, rooms and corridors. Not so here. The boss battles are pretty good and the whole package feels right. Great job by Konami and Hideo. Expand
  82. AB
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    MGS3 is one of the most incredible stealth games ever released. The only problem is the bad dialogue. But that doesn't matter because the gameplay is what matters, and MGS3 does gameplay right.
  83. Bishop
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    This game is really great. I had a hard time getting in to it right from the start but once I beat the prologue I was hooked. Please don't just play the first level and think its too hard, keep playing and you will be glad you did.
  84. JasonS.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I love this game! It's awesome because it's actually set way before the first one. I've beaten all 3 of them.
  85. SolidSnake
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    This game is great... it is by far the best of the MGS series and ive played and beaten them all. I also think you all will agree with me that this stealth title is much better then the Tom Clancys Splinter Cells games. This brings so many new things to the table and executes them to perfection. Hideo Kojima is an excellenet developer and i hope this isnt the last of the MGS series. This This game is great... it is by far the best of the MGS series and ive played and beaten them all. I also think you all will agree with me that this stealth title is much better then the Tom Clancys Splinter Cells games. This brings so many new things to the table and executes them to perfection. Hideo Kojima is an excellenet developer and i hope this isnt the last of the MGS series. This game brings together the best parts of both worlds, a great fighting/run and gun game with an excellent cut scene selection and stealth movements. If you want a game that will suck you into the storyline and keep you hooked then check out this game, you wont regret it. Expand
  86. JustinB.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    I wasnt much of a fan of the previous 2 installments in the "Solid" series, but this one is amazingly excellent and engrossing. Easily one of the best PS2 games out there.
  87. MateusC.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    Doesn't worry: this is the best game of PlayStation 2 and the a shot in the head of Xbox Fanboys. The Largeness and the perfection are gifts in MGS3 and perhaps either therefore that this game brings as many feelings in the players.
  88. AramisG.
    Jan 5, 2005
    9
    So far I have played three of the big games of this season (Halo 2, Metroid Prime 2 and MGS3) and this game was probably the most enjoyable of the them. I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed this. The jungle environments and the 60s cold war era feel are just really well done. I have been to this part of the world and they really nabbed it. The story is decent, yet addictive, with So far I have played three of the big games of this season (Halo 2, Metroid Prime 2 and MGS3) and this game was probably the most enjoyable of the them. I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed this. The jungle environments and the 60s cold war era feel are just really well done. I have been to this part of the world and they really nabbed it. The story is decent, yet addictive, with the highlights being the intriguing characters of The Boss and The End. I reccomend playing through the game with no-radar and force yourself to clear each area without getting spotted. My biggest gripes with this game are with the controls/camera scheme (the reason I am not giving it a 10). It is just time to upgrade to 1st or 3rd person (frontal view). It interefers with some of the early boss fights and generally makes sighting enemies (who are right in front of you!) difficult. Managing the selection menus gets old fast. Also it would have been more classier if The Pain and The Fear had better dialogue. Something about The Fury swaring when you shoot him was just dead on how boss dialogue should go. Lastly, if you nuke an area then return to it later in the game it would be totally devastated not peacfully intact (after Virtuous Mission). Hopefully this game will help inspire a new direction for stealth based games (I am sick of office/industrial complex environments). Expand
  89. MichaelW.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I thought it was really good and the graphics were amasing.
  90. RyanOlsen
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    ryencoke you are the most retarted person whos ever rated a game.This game is not for panzies like you, you autta stick to games like Marykate and ashley and olsen go horse riding,or,learn the alpha bet with barbie.You obviously are a newb gamer,because this is the best game ever made.That goes for you too,Chris p.
  91. B.Dollaz
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    Fun game play. Some akward camera angles (unlike the first two, and cheesy dialog. But hey, it wouldn't be a MGS game without the cheesy dialog.
  92. Wazzupyo
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    This game is realy great control graphics end the action en stealt is also this game is the best game that i played in my life.
  93. RevolverO.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best game EVER. The story is incredible, and it fills all the gaps about the metal gear story. Big Boss was so right... I just wished they made a game were he would took over the world. Get it, you won't be disapointed. Revolver is the best, make a game just for him and eva! It would be perfect!
  94. JohnR.
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    Hey Chris P. I think you were playing this game on very easy because this game on Normal is like a real mission because if you get spotted somewhere like a base you screwed and Ryencoke you retard Snake can swim.
  95. AgentH.
    May 1, 2005
    10
    I don't know what to say...BEST GAME EVER!
  96. TimoK.
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    this is fantastic everything about it is so fresh and new. roll on mgs4.
  97. CurtisS.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    The game was vary cool but the movies were to long.
  98. KyleK.
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    One of the best games i have played to memory. The whole feel of it and the story is the best. Music is awesome because it makes the game feel right. hunting and healing wounds is good. boss fights are really good. last boss fight is sooo good especiouly when she talks for ages and then where you get the patriot and finish it off. superb so awesome. this is really good must get.
  99. AkshayD.
    May 4, 2006
    10
    This game is really good. The graphics are excellent. The sounds are breath-taking. The story-line is fabulous and gives the whole sense to the game. The stealth actions are really good and seems so realistic. The way Konami has included a moden story into a jungle is so good. The small details of the game shold be given attention because it makes the game what it is. Boss Battles are This game is really good. The graphics are excellent. The sounds are breath-taking. The story-line is fabulous and gives the whole sense to the game. The stealth actions are really good and seems so realistic. The way Konami has included a moden story into a jungle is so good. The small details of the game shold be given attention because it makes the game what it is. Boss Battles are fantastic. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is recommended to everyone who likes stealth games with a little bit of action and adventure. The Game is fun and enjoyablee. Expand
  100. Thompson
    May 21, 2007
    10
    A bonafide classic! This is no game, this is an experience!
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 90
    When all is said and done, Snake Eater achieves what no other game can on such a level: complete immersion into an action-driven interactive movie.
  2. Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best game of the year? Yes. Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best in its series? No.
  3. There has never been, and will not be for a long time a more convincing and immersive game released.