Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2004
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 968 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 968
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    Snake Eater has my favorite storyline of any game ive ever played. I have never felt such a connecting to a story before. The gameplay is some of the best in gaming if not the best. A classic if there ever was one.
  2. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    This game was brilliant and story wise is one of my favourite in the series. In this game players can watch past events as they shape the future of the series. For example players will be taking control of a new character and will watch the rise of Big Boss and how he became the legend. The game play is also greatly improved making it much more flexible and gives players more variety asThis game was brilliant and story wise is one of my favourite in the series. In this game players can watch past events as they shape the future of the series. For example players will be taking control of a new character and will watch the rise of Big Boss and how he became the legend. The game play is also greatly improved making it much more flexible and gives players more variety as they can carry a set of equipment and weapons of their own chossing. Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay isMetal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay is incredibly fun and the game is addictive with tons of replay value wether be on a more challenging difficulty or that extra run to try to beat the game with complete stealth. Characters are great and very interesting. Nothing bad to say about this one. MGS3 will go down as one of the greatest video games in history and an absolute masterpiece by the mastermind Hideo Kojima. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controlsThis is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controls are wonderful and the visuals and style are incomparable to any other game out there. A lot of it is cheesy and may be ridiculed if seen in a film, but there's this sort of depth to the characters and story, plus many twists and turns that are impossible to predict and wonderful attention to detail that it easily can be considered one of the best video games in existence. It's literally the only game out there where I don't find the constant percentages and various statistics regarding Naked Snake's survival annoying. Going to the 'start menu' is actually fun. Healing Snake's wounds and changing camo to hide better in different areas never really feels like a chore and the parts where you get stuck always take some thought (it's not a game that you just mindlessly dawdle your way through). This is definitely a game worth any true gamer's time. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game does not cease to be interesting at any point. The 3rd installment in the Metal Gear Solid series is nothing to shy away from, instead try to go and buy it. Heres the jist of it. The campaign is very engaging and informative that will make you teary at points. Like Hideo Kojima wants, the gamer will be placed this time in Big Boss's body, the real Snake. The new system involvingThis game does not cease to be interesting at any point. The 3rd installment in the Metal Gear Solid series is nothing to shy away from, instead try to go and buy it. Heres the jist of it. The campaign is very engaging and informative that will make you teary at points. Like Hideo Kojima wants, the gamer will be placed this time in Big Boss's body, the real Snake. The new system involving survival is original and adds on the Metal Gear Solid's array of well crafted ideals placed in a game. Overall, the game is magnificent and nothing short of greatness. Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    my review for my favorite PS2 game, MGS3.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 10/10. a outstanding story with the most breathtaking twist i have ever encountered in the last generation of gaming. i don't want to spoil anything else :). GRAPHICS- 9/10. it pushes the PS2 to the max. great cutscenes (minus the laughable lip-synching), and great visual quality overall. SOUND- 10/10. exceptional voice
    my review for my favorite PS2 game, MGS3.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 10/10. a outstanding story with the most breathtaking twist i have ever encountered in the last generation of gaming. i don't want to spoil anything else :).
    GRAPHICS- 9/10. it pushes the PS2 to the max. great cutscenes (minus the laughable lip-synching), and great visual quality overall.
    SOUND- 10/10. exceptional voice acting, and and a top quality score.
    GAMEPLAY- 8.5/10. i personally didn't have much of a problem, but some people had trouble adjusting to the complex controls. otherwise, no gameplay problems here. very fun stealth/ action gameplay.
    FUN FACTOR- 10/10. a top-notch game that absolutely everyone who likes action/stealth games needs to play.
    OVERALL- 10/10.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Im not very in to shooting games but this was awesome only thing hindering it from getting a 10 is the annoying camera but this game is just another awesome game by Konami super fun good story just a little bit cheeky but you fill connected to the character You feel me!
  8. Chimp
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This game is not for everyone. and by that, i mean it is not for stupid people. with possibly the deepest plot in any game, it really is more than just a game. yes, i got half life 2 on tuesday and i know how unbelievably awesome that is....but this game is more important and personal to me because of its story. of course, the gameplay is amazing. this time around, you have to beThis game is not for everyone. and by that, i mean it is not for stupid people. with possibly the deepest plot in any game, it really is more than just a game. yes, i got half life 2 on tuesday and i know how unbelievably awesome that is....but this game is more important and personal to me because of its story. of course, the gameplay is amazing. this time around, you have to be stealthier than in the previous two games. the jungle is really cool, with animals and camoflage and all that. speaking of camoflage, let me just say if you're playing on normal or higher you will HAVE to use it. enemies are much more realistic this time around and can spot you from far away if you move or really stand out. the CQC system is genius, and the boss battles are amazing. also, its full of humour just like the other two, but its not in-your-face humour, more subtle. and the main theme is the best in any game ever. simply unbelievable. Expand
  9. NortonJ.
    Apr 2, 2005
    9
    What is wrong with reviewers these days?!?!? Scores of 50 (thats disgraceful) and 80 for a game this polished is quite simply.....mad. MGS3 is one of those addictive games that you honestly cannot put down until you've finished it. You will sacrifice things in life just to bask in its brilliance. We are lucky to have one of these games come across us once every 3 years and some What is wrong with reviewers these days?!?!? Scores of 50 (thats disgraceful) and 80 for a game this polished is quite simply.....mad. MGS3 is one of those addictive games that you honestly cannot put down until you've finished it. You will sacrifice things in life just to bask in its brilliance. We are lucky to have one of these games come across us once every 3 years and some incompetent reviewer who obviously has issues ruins an average score I for one and others would agree should be at least 95. To put it quite simply, this game is more than just a "must buy" your PS2 needs it, it craves it. 2006-2007 we will see MGS4 on the PS3, so until then enjoy what is yet another masterpiece from the genious Hideo Kojima. Expand
  10. ZacharyR.
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3:Snake Eater was EXCELLENT! It was the best game yet in the Metal Gear Series! If I could say one word to Hideo Kojima it would be, BRAVO!
  11. EhabA.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is almost a movie with great moves u just have to play it.
  12. Kewlkat
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Whether you're watching it, or playing it, ( and trust me, you'll be doing plenty of both), this game never fails to be immersive, daring, riveting, exciting, deep, intense, cool, and just plain fun to play almost the entire way through. One of the best games I have ever played.
  13. SKULLOMANIAW.
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    This game literally made me cry because I've never played such a well developed game since Metal Gear Solid: Sons of Liberty. The turn from the steel, factory look to the jungle look was a great and worthy change. I can't put the stupid controller down. DAMN THIS GAME HAS ME HOOKED!
  14. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    The origins of the enigmatic Big Boss are explained in this worthy part of the Metal Gear Solid series. Arguably the most complex and gripping game of 2004.
  15. Oct 3, 2010
    8
    This was the weakest entry in this series but that is not really saying a bad thing, with it still being a great game when you compare it to others. I would definitely recommend this if you own a PS2 and want an amazing game for a low low price.
  16. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    Smart, imaginative and exciting, Snake Eater surpasses MGS2 in almost every way. The game looks great, the environments are a nice change, the survival mechanics are implemented well and the cast of villains is among the best in any video game. The controls are also improved but still feel clunky and stiff. The story is entertaining but not as engaging as previous games in the series.Smart, imaginative and exciting, Snake Eater surpasses MGS2 in almost every way. The game looks great, the environments are a nice change, the survival mechanics are implemented well and the cast of villains is among the best in any video game. The controls are also improved but still feel clunky and stiff. The story is entertaining but not as engaging as previous games in the series. Special appreciation has to go to the spectacular boss fights. Each one is brimming with creativity and will change how you view this old video game staple. Expand
  17. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    Basically this one is totally different from the other MGS games is focused more in the survivalist way rather than an a urban zone. This installment is set on the jungle and the main protagonist is Big Boss (the original Snake or Naked Snake). I loved the game and is very entertaining the story ,the gameplay etc. You made it again Hideo Kojima
  18. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played. It is definitely the best game in the metal gear series. Kojima could had made this his only game and would still appeal as the best game director.Snake Eater has the greatest story in a game I've ever played.The boss battles are the most memorable of any game. This is truly a Masterpiece.
  19. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    mgs 3, just another classic. great graphics for an 04' game. cutting russian soldiers throats is very satisfying. mess around in the jungle killing animals and eating them, treating gunshot wounds and cuts. wild boss fights, alot of action. really enjoyed the camo system. answers questions about the previous metal gears, poses new ones. and its just incredible that snakes radio ismgs 3, just another classic. great graphics for an 04' game. cutting russian soldiers throats is very satisfying. mess around in the jungle killing animals and eating them, treating gunshot wounds and cuts. wild boss fights, alot of action. really enjoyed the camo system. answers questions about the previous metal gears, poses new ones. and its just incredible that snakes radio is indistrucable. 10/10 must play Expand
  20. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    Snake Eater is easily one of my favourite games on the ps2. It's the third "solid" entry in a series famous for its convulted plot, bizarre characters and pretestuos philosophical preachings. Yet this game averts all of the above providing an immersive storyline with "solid" characters, clever level design and a balanced gameplay-cutscene ratio. In this game you play as "Naked snake" whoSnake Eater is easily one of my favourite games on the ps2. It's the third "solid" entry in a series famous for its convulted plot, bizarre characters and pretestuos philosophical preachings. Yet this game averts all of the above providing an immersive storyline with "solid" characters, clever level design and a balanced gameplay-cutscene ratio. In this game you play as "Naked snake" who will later be known as "big boss", whose main mission is to rescue the scientist Sokolov in russian field during the cold war. It's a novelization of the historical facts with the mgs usual twist. i won't spoil the game for you so enough with the plot. Since the setting as changed from a near-future to a not so distant past, the technology available to the player is different: no more ominscent-radars or codec or (dear lord) no nanomachines. Your avatar now has two energy bars: one is the usual health bar, once it reaches zero it's game over, but it refills with time; the other one is the "resistance" bar, it affects your precision, sight, resistence to damage etc... You can refill this bar with another addition:eating. In this game you can hunt animals in order to eat em or tossing them to enemies distracting them. Player-damage has changed also, you can cure your wounds by manually choosing the broken body part and using the appropriate medicine. It's way simpler to play than to explain so trust me it's not annoying. All this animal hunting and bone-healing is not done in a close structure like the big shell but most of the time Snake will wander through beautiful outdoors, with the occasional building popping in. These environments are all beautifully renderd, even though I'll admit that indoors are not as detailed as in previous entries, but that's the price to pay to this overall spectacle. The sense of immersion is helped by the beautiful and fitting music and background noises. Speaking of sounds, voice acting is superb, helping each cast member shine through the experience. In this game the characters are at worst bearable (which is much to say speaking of mgs) and at best memorable. In the end the game is great, fun to play and pleasant to watch, with a memorable plot, a must buy if you own a ps2. Expand
  21. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    MGS3 has my favorite storyline of any game ive ever played. I have never felt such a connecting to a story before. Kojima truly is amazing director and writer. This game has it all. Great characters, music, story, gameplay and boss fights.
  22. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    When i played and completed this game, then played and completed RE4, I felt that MGS3: Snake Eater paled in comparison, simply because I despised the isometric quasi 3D camera system, YET... when I played the Subsistence version, it became level with RE4 and one of the greatest games I have ever played, simply because the new 3D camera system made it a more immersive experience and theWhen i played and completed this game, then played and completed RE4, I felt that MGS3: Snake Eater paled in comparison, simply because I despised the isometric quasi 3D camera system, YET... when I played the Subsistence version, it became level with RE4 and one of the greatest games I have ever played, simply because the new 3D camera system made it a more immersive experience and the game it should have always been. Kojima should have given the same 3D treatment to Sons of Liberty and also Twin Snakes. I'd have loved to have played them in 3D. Anyway, regarding Snake Eater, just buy Subsistence. it is a far superior version. Expand
  23. Mar 19, 2015
    9
    This game has been remade on many platforms, so don't think my review is exclusive to PS2. Honestly if you can learn the controls (Which in my opinion are awesome but many disagree) I think the 3DS version might be the best one. That being said, wow.

    Kojima has never come this close to glory again. True, untainted glory. The story is involving, exciting, mysterious and tragic. The
    This game has been remade on many platforms, so don't think my review is exclusive to PS2. Honestly if you can learn the controls (Which in my opinion are awesome but many disagree) I think the 3DS version might be the best one. That being said, wow.

    Kojima has never come this close to glory again. True, untainted glory. The story is involving, exciting, mysterious and tragic. The gameplay is incredibly solid, giving the rush of danger like no other and putting the player in Naked Snake's shoes with hardcore hunger and medical systems.

    The cutscenes, while long are this time engaging, and feel like a James Bond movie. The first few go a little long, but I was never waiting for them to end. Grab some popcorn when you play the first chapter, but don't think of that as a bad thing. MGS cutscens ARE long, you can go up to an hour or so without any real gameplay in these games and that's okay when it's done right, like it is here. I got emotional to the end of this game, and I first played it on the tiny little 3ds. Buy Snake Eater.It's the first Metal Gear Solid game canonically (despite the 3 in the title), the best place for newbies to start and spends the least amount of time wasting your playtime with forced exposition and redundant dialogue. There's a lot to be seen here, especially on a second play through and if you can make it past the rather masochistic torture scenes you'll find an ACTUAL mature game that earns its money.
    Expand
  24. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    metal gear solid 3 is the best one in the series gameplay became the best in this one there is no radar which is better and made you think of how to play and continue in the game i loved the camouflage and healing system in the game the graphics are amazing and let me tell you that this game has the best ending i've ever seen so far the best story i've ever seen
  25. May 20, 2014
    8
    I know that Kojima wanted a more realistic game and he did with the best graphics compared to Half Life 2 and Halo 2. But the radar or map as been removed to make it more difficult to hide and the worst of all the camera wasn't improve since the original metal gear solid except for the first person view improved from mgs 2 but still can't move is legs while aiming. The noticeableI know that Kojima wanted a more realistic game and he did with the best graphics compared to Half Life 2 and Halo 2. But the radar or map as been removed to make it more difficult to hide and the worst of all the camera wasn't improve since the original metal gear solid except for the first person view improved from mgs 2 but still can't move is legs while aiming. The noticeable improvements were the stamina bar that is used to represent hunger from Naked Snake in which you must find food in order to regain stamina, also poison is been use to affect the player or the Fear boss, removing bullets, etc. Very realistic, masterful acting especially from The Boss a shocking story and more importantly the can last between 8 to 14 hours long. It maybe longer than it's two predecessors but doesn't have better playing when the first two came out in their respective years. My sincere review 8.8 out of 10. Expand
  26. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    An amazing game. This game explores the story of Big Boss, how is that not awesome. The gameplay is thrilling, the story is great, the soundtrack is great (Snake Eater!) and the characters are awesomely memorable probably some of the best of any game. The beginning is a little slow though. I highly recommend this game to anyone.
  27. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily my favorite Metal Gear game. It has an amazing storyline with an amazing twist at the end. The gameplay fits perfectly with the jungle theme. It looked amazing at its time, even though the lipsynch was laughable.
    The Boss battles were quite good with a few exceptions. Especially The End and The Boss boss battles were the best. With The End battle searching him and then landing some good shots on him. And with The Boss boss battle (Yo dawg I heard you liked bosses) when you have to press the square button to shoot The Boss yourself, it made you feel guilt.
    If you enjoy amazing stories with survival gameplay, pick this up. You will not regret it.
    Expand
  28. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

    Game-play:Stealth is the base of the game play in this game but if you want you can go full in action the shooting and the movement are realistic also all the items are useful. Story:The story of this game is excellent the best story i have ever played and one of the best endings ever.It will take you about 16 to 18 hours. Graphics:The graphics are
    Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

    Game-play:Stealth is the base of the game play in this game but if you want you can go full in action the shooting and the movement are realistic also all the items are useful.

    Story:The story of this game is excellent the best story i have ever played and one of the best endings ever.It will take you about 16 to 18 hours.

    Graphics:The graphics are also excellent it is better than some games on the ps3 and xbox360.

    Notes:Some of the best written characters ever,also i loved the weapons and gadgets,This is a legendary game buy at full price.
    Expand
  29. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    It was pretty fun, but it's very overrated, story wasn't that amazing either. Constantly going into the menu to change camouflage and fixing yourself up nearly every time you take damage was also pretty annoying. Good but would not fap again.
  30. Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Hideo Kojima gave the fans what they wanted... to play with naked snake... this game got me through some tough times... and in my opinion it is the best video game i have ever played in my life... i really cant even put in words.. its an absolute masterpiece.. thanks konami for making the best video game ever.... :')

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. netjak
    90
    When all is said and done, Snake Eater achieves what no other game can on such a level: complete immersion into an action-driven interactive movie.
  2. Gaming Target
    98
    Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best game of the year? Yes. Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best in its series? No.
  3. There has never been, and will not be for a long time a more convincing and immersive game released.