Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2004
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1044 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2017
    10
    The best story line in all time, amazing level design, a true virtual forest on the PS2 system. The BOSS fights and his characters so amazing. But you need play the MGS3 substance because the camera changed to better (free camera). Thanks Kojima Produtions, this game is 10/10. Masterpiece!
  2. Jul 24, 2017
    10
    The greatest game of the franchise. The gameplay, story, and characters make this game the best PS2 game, period. Although I do not recommend the original version since the camera is quite bad, the Subsistence version fixes it (also the HD collection does). I highly recommend the game even if you've never played a Metal Gear game (although I suggest you play the others first) just for theThe greatest game of the franchise. The gameplay, story, and characters make this game the best PS2 game, period. Although I do not recommend the original version since the camera is quite bad, the Subsistence version fixes it (also the HD collection does). I highly recommend the game even if you've never played a Metal Gear game (although I suggest you play the others first) just for the gameplay. Expand
  3. May 1, 2017
    9
    A lot of people think that this is the best Metal Gear Solid game. In my opinion, I thought the story was pretty good, but it took me a while to really to get into the story. The gameplay is pretty good though. So, that is why I am giving MS3 a 9/10
  4. Apr 6, 2017
    2
    MGS 3 reste fidèle à lui-même et à l'esprit débilitant de la série : des cinématiques RAF (Rien A Foutre), un côté mièvre prononcé et une interface à revoir. Toujours la vue subjective qui se contrôle au stick gauche (je suis pas gaucher bordel !!), toujours les mêmes contrôles pourris pour sélectionner les objets, toujours ce problème de caméra trop haute même si on peut la faire pivoterMGS 3 reste fidèle à lui-même et à l'esprit débilitant de la série : des cinématiques RAF (Rien A Foutre), un côté mièvre prononcé et une interface à revoir. Toujours la vue subjective qui se contrôle au stick gauche (je suis pas gaucher bordel !!), toujours les mêmes contrôles pourris pour sélectionner les objets, toujours ce problème de caméra trop haute même si on peut la faire pivoter légèrement, ce qui permet de voir un peu devant soi la plupart du temps.

    Le maniement du personnage reste malheureusement bien pourri et les graphismes dans la jungle sont en net recul de ce que proposait MGS 2 : à la non-jouabilité générale s'ajoute donc la déception technique. MGS 2 était pénible... MGS 3 l'est tout autant et a eu très vite raison de la patience des joueurs les plus indulgents.
    Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2017
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is a beautifully crafted story which surely takes narrative to its limits. Each character is charismatic and memorable, as well the scenes are well thought and rightly paced with gameplay.Story is absolutely genius.
    My only gripe with this game is the gameplay, which in theory is excellent, but is poorly executed and it is messy to work with. Happily, after some hours
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is a beautifully crafted story which surely takes narrative to its limits. Each character is charismatic and memorable, as well the scenes are well thought and rightly paced with gameplay.Story is absolutely genius.
    My only gripe with this game is the gameplay, which in theory is excellent, but is poorly executed and it is messy to work with. Happily, after some hours it feels a lot better (though it never feels excellent)
    My score would be a 9.3 approx. 9/10
    Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    Kojima has done a great job with this franchise and the truth is that this solid metal gear 3 is the best game of this series without a doubt this is the best saga of espionage leaving aside other sagas of tactical secrecy.

    This game is undoubtedly an indispensable part of the ps2 10/10
  7. Jan 4, 2017
    9
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 87/100
    Mein User Score = 9/10
    Expand
  8. Nov 30, 2016
    9
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! not because its bad because its a waste of money to buy the original version go with either the hd version on ps3, xbox 360, psvita, or the 3ds version which is my personal favorite version this version is a 9/10 but the updated version is a 10/10 and my favorite game of all time
  9. May 10, 2016
    10
    If you like guns and strategy, don't think it twice. Buy it. This game is just amazing. I mean the graphics are awesome. The voices and cinematic are just fantastic. I really really recommend it. I don't know what else to say. Great game. Just enjoy it!
  10. Mar 31, 2016
    10
    el segundo mejor juego de la historia todo el juego es perfecto los controles la supervivencia el sigilo los gráficos y sus expansiones representan un punto alto para la serie nunca olvidaremos lo que hiciste por tu patria boss
  11. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    This is not a video game,this is something more.This is like a music album,a movie and a video game all put together.You can rarely find a classic product like this.This is ahead of it's time.Characters are absolutely amazing,their histories and some of their tragic consequences they suffered turned them into enemies of planet earth.The story is absolutely amazing and reallyThis is not a video game,this is something more.This is like a music album,a movie and a video game all put together.You can rarely find a classic product like this.This is ahead of it's time.Characters are absolutely amazing,their histories and some of their tragic consequences they suffered turned them into enemies of planet earth.The story is absolutely amazing and really interesting,the graphics are really good,there are a lot of weapons,dialogue is 5/5,voices are remarkable and the thing about this game is that it's really not repetitive,the missions are always different.This is one of my favorite games of all time,without a doubt. Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2016
    10
    I will probably be a bit subjective but Snake Eater is my favourite game of all time. It has one of the best storylines ever, you can feel what the main character feels, the camouflage system works nicely and the gameplay is pretty good. If you like games' main focus being story, you will love this game.
    I forgot to mention the music. Way To Fall and Snake Eater are two of the best game music.
  13. Feb 6, 2016
    10
    This is quite simply my favourite game of all time. I haven't got a bad word to say about it. The story manages to be campy and ridiculous and yet hard hitting and emotional. The gameplay allows so much freedom to the player that every play through can be completely different. Anyone who has never played this masterpiece most definitely should. Simply perfect.
  14. Feb 4, 2016
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater is a near perfect game, with barely any problems. The story is very well fleshed out and paced very well. The gameplay is fun when you get the hang of it, and every time I got seen, I could only blame myself. The gameplay has been vastly improved from Sons Of Liberty, and you get to play as Snake for the whole game, whew! The story takes place in 1964, duringMetal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater is a near perfect game, with barely any problems. The story is very well fleshed out and paced very well. The gameplay is fun when you get the hang of it, and every time I got seen, I could only blame myself. The gameplay has been vastly improved from Sons Of Liberty, and you get to play as Snake for the whole game, whew! The story takes place in 1964, during the Cold War. and the protagonist is Naked Snake, who would later become Big Boss. After years of training with the female soldier, The Boss, Snake is sent in to his first mission, to save the American scientist Sokolov, who is being forced to make missiles for the KGB, a Russian army branch. Snake saves Sokolov, (while having a run-in with Revolver Ocelot) and is extracting him, when Snakes mentor, and best friend, The Boss, defects to the Soviet Union, along with the heroes of World War 2, The Cobras. The Cobras take Sokolov back to the factory, and The Boss breaks Snakes arm and throws him off a bridge. I won't spoil what happens after that, but I will say that it's very entertaining and intense throughout. That ending, though, wow, that ending, made me want to cry. Anyway, buy this game on the MGS HD collection on the PS3, you NEED to play through it. Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2015
    9
    In Snake Eater, you play as Naked Snake, a cardboard-box loving meme king who beat the game using little to no stealth by simply remembering the basics of CQC. Also, yeah, he's totally Big Boss.
  16. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay is incredibly fun and the game is addictive with tons of replay value wether be on a more challenging difficulty or that extra run to try to beat the game with complete stealth. Characters are great and very interesting. Nothing bad to say about this one. MGS3 will go down as one of the greatest video games in history and an absolute masterpiece by the mastermind Hideo Kojima. Expand
  17. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    I don't really know what can i say about this game that hasn't been said before, this is simply one of the best games ever. Every aspect of it is great. music,graphics,characters, story etc.
    The first time i finished it was the first time that i cried with a game,it doesn't matter if you like stealth games or not, you've got to play it
  18. Oct 9, 2015
    10
    goddamn this game is good,quality voice acting(but pls dont talk to me about the lip sync) and amazing controls. must **** buy right **** now 10/10 nuff said
  19. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    Perhaps one of the best series ever written. This time you take on the role of who you know as Big Boss. The revolutionary camouflage system this had when released paved the way for the future of stealth games. All these games have very deep stories with very important messages and this is no different. Do yourself a favor and play this gem.
  20. Sep 27, 2015
    10
    I think that this is the best game i've ever played (i've realized this after playing The Witcher 3). It is unquestionably a masterpiece of story-driven games. The gameplay is also amazing, introducing to the Metal Gear franchise the survival part, with the food, the cure menu and the camuflage. In terms of graphics was awesome for the time, that a playstation 2 could move such a goodI think that this is the best game i've ever played (i've realized this after playing The Witcher 3). It is unquestionably a masterpiece of story-driven games. The gameplay is also amazing, introducing to the Metal Gear franchise the survival part, with the food, the cure menu and the camuflage. In terms of graphics was awesome for the time, that a playstation 2 could move such a good crafted forest, great detail into the characters models and the combats animations where just amazing. Also the soundtracks and sounds efects are incredible, with themes for any kind of tastes, and the dubbing is also impresive, with the best version of David Hayter.
    All of these make a game that deserve to be my number 1, and even, in my opinion, be on the top games of history, but, even that is subjective so it depends of the person that played it.
    I will end my review saying that if you haven't play MGS3 you are mising one of the best expirience that a game can offer you.
    Expand
  21. Sep 25, 2015
    0
    I start up the game and encounter my first enemy. I remember I had a tranq-pistol and a knife. I tranquilized the enemy, and didn't want him waking up and compromising my mission, so I used the knife to stab him. After about a dozen or so stabs, my victim gets up. I then turned off my console.
  22. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    The best game in the entire series, a truly remarkable game. Great story and cut scenes with a very interesting and sad story that keeps you motivated till the very end. Amazing stealth game play with great enemy and item placement. The new camouflage and food system makes the game feel new and fresh without changing too much to the series's unique game play style. Overall, it is a greatThe best game in the entire series, a truly remarkable game. Great story and cut scenes with a very interesting and sad story that keeps you motivated till the very end. Amazing stealth game play with great enemy and item placement. The new camouflage and food system makes the game feel new and fresh without changing too much to the series's unique game play style. Overall, it is a great place to get into the MGS series if you ain't already.
    9.8/10
    Expand
  23. Aug 24, 2015
    10
    This is the most immersive, daring, riveting, exciting, deep, intense, cool and connecting experience I have ever had. In my opinion the best MGS to date.
  24. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    MGS3 is still the best and it is a great game too out of all the other MGS games in the series as well.This game have a beautiful story... very dramatic.
  25. May 22, 2015
    10
    I wanna start this review by saying that this may be the best game i've ever played, the compelling characters and emotional story are things i haven't seen in recent games, the gameplay it's incredibly addictive and good, the music is awesome, especially the main song (Snake Eater) and the main theme, the graphics are beautiful and the sound design is perfect. It's a really interestingI wanna start this review by saying that this may be the best game i've ever played, the compelling characters and emotional story are things i haven't seen in recent games, the gameplay it's incredibly addictive and good, the music is awesome, especially the main song (Snake Eater) and the main theme, the graphics are beautiful and the sound design is perfect. It's a really interesting game, and i must say, it's really a unique piece of art. You should be checking it out. Expand
  26. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hideo kojima and his team guys can make miracles.I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand
  27. May 4, 2015
    10
    The boss: "Today's enemy could be tomorrows hero".

    When I reviewed sons of liberty, I called it the best game play and the best game ever made, until I played this game that I thought to myself; this is way better. The characters are remediable and there are so many villains in this game and there have they time to shine. Solid snake is a freaking bad-ass in this game, showing no
    The boss: "Today's enemy could be tomorrows hero".

    When I reviewed sons of liberty, I called it the best game play and the best game ever made, until I played this game that I thought to myself; this is way better.

    The characters are remediable and there are so many villains in this game and there have they time to shine. Solid snake is a freaking bad-ass in this game, showing no pain but much awesomeness.
    Expand
  28. May 2, 2015
    10
    Great game and it's very emotionally enveloping there was never a moment where I thought the game wasn't sad at a sad scene. Its soundtrack was amazing and I loved the way they did a traditional spy theme song with the song Snake Eater and in the end credits where they did a slight change on the Metal Gear Solid 2 theme song they made it sound fantastic. The gameplay was good with anGreat game and it's very emotionally enveloping there was never a moment where I thought the game wasn't sad at a sad scene. Its soundtrack was amazing and I loved the way they did a traditional spy theme song with the song Snake Eater and in the end credits where they did a slight change on the Metal Gear Solid 2 theme song they made it sound fantastic. The gameplay was good with an annoyance on the camera as it constantly fought with you. The bosses were great and had some of the most memorable bosses I still have a lot of respect for the boss fight The End as everytime it takes 15-30 minutes for me to beat him this boss battle is frustrating but is great at the same time. The controls are annoying but mainly because it difficult to aim in the first person which is the only real way you can aim and I felt it took me a few minutes to get used to the controls. The characters were excellent and memorable. Each character had a lot of character developement and because of this it made the characters a lot more relatable. Great game definitely worth a buy. Expand
  29. Apr 26, 2015
    7
    To preface, I didn't really enjoy Snake Eater until the Subsistence/HD versions updated the camera. I found this version very flawed in its sneaking sections; apparently some drug addled lunatic on Kojima's team thought that using the same 'fixed' camera setup from MGS2 would work fine in a jungle environment when you have no radar, and no LOS cones. It doesn't. Maybe I shouldn't takeTo preface, I didn't really enjoy Snake Eater until the Subsistence/HD versions updated the camera. I found this version very flawed in its sneaking sections; apparently some drug addled lunatic on Kojima's team thought that using the same 'fixed' camera setup from MGS2 would work fine in a jungle environment when you have no radar, and no LOS cones. It doesn't. Maybe I shouldn't take discovery so seriously in these games, but I'd like to stay hidden, that's kind of hard when the camera insists it wants to be top-down, or facing Snake from the front, when I need to be seeing in front of me. The R1 first person function is OK, but as Snake is unable to move in this mode, it's borderline useless.

    In all other departments, Snake Eater is excellent and probably my favourite Metal Gear; it occupies a weird line between all the depth and seriousness of an anti-war statement and the OTT silliness of a James Bond movie mixed in with some Rambo; some genuine laugh-out loud moments sandwiched between some thought-provoking writing and genuinely impressive action scenes.

    The gameplay is generally much improved from MGS2, sneaking has added dimensions thanks to the 'camouflage', 'food' and 'cure' mechanics, CQC , as well as the simple fact that the jungle is so much more fun to sneak in.

    Snake Eater might have one of the greatest showcases in a Metal Gear game, the Shagohod/Volgin/Boss section is rivaled only by piloting REX and having a fistfight with Ocelot in MGS4. You can also look forward to more pant-wetting, R1 to boob peeping, sniping bosses early, more crotch-grabbing, anti-Raiden jokes, arguments about James Bond, conversations about movies, shooting green rubber frogs, loads of easter eggs and an impressive level of attention to detail.
    Expand
  30. Mar 25, 2015
    10
    One of the best games of all time. It has an amazing story, great gameplay and a vast amount of ways you can play
    The mixture of stealth, action and survival just comes together so well.
    I would say this is a must play to anyone who can get there hands on it
  31. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This game it's the prove on how big it's this saga and Kojima and his team.

    After put two amazing games, he risk so much to change essential things. -He changed the story (which is the most identifying thing on the metal gear saga), change the complete tematic for this, Cold war, the 60's, not the "nano-machine" thing, and the futuristic thing that we used to see on Metal Gear 1 and
    This game it's the prove on how big it's this saga and Kojima and his team.

    After put two amazing games, he risk so much to change essential things.

    -He changed the story (which is the most identifying thing on the metal gear saga), change the complete tematic for this, Cold war, the 60's, not the "nano-machine" thing, and the futuristic thing that we used to see on Metal Gear 1 and mostly Metal gear 2.

    He prefer not to continue with the main story, and all the fans are waiting so hard for that.

    The game change too, NO SOLITON RADAR!!! and the development of CQC, the survival package, and the stamina bar, NO RATIONS (only for recover stamina), the camouflage bar the face paint, etc.

    All those big changes on the same platform, and maintend the sthealth at his beast, what a genius.

    He change the game with all the risk that implies that, but give us to the fans the two things that we wanted, an amazing history and a good STEALTH GAME.

    Plus, some really good boss fightings (much better than the MGS and by far much better than MGS2).

    He put into the story of Big Boss, a character that we only knew as the father of Liquid and Solid, but even for some people Solid and Big Boss are the same, there are some differences on the character personality that mades him unique, he created another protagonist and i love that.

    I will not lie, i cried at the end of the game and i spend more than 2 hours to kill The End.
    The Ocelot thing was really really good and memorable. And Volgin.....greatest villian ever.

    Even the EVA story with Big Boss wasn't bad, i mean was better than the Meryl and Snake.

    And The Sorrow part????. I don't remember how i pass that.

    I guess this it's the second or third best game on the PS2 history, only behind GTA: san Andreas and Gran Turismo 4. For em it's bigger than resident evil 4 and God Od War or Call Of Duty.

    This was the first time that i cried with a game
    Expand
  32. Mar 19, 2015
    9
    This game has been remade on many platforms, so don't think my review is exclusive to PS2. Honestly if you can learn the controls (Which in my opinion are awesome but many disagree) I think the 3DS version might be the best one. That being said, wow.

    Kojima has never come this close to glory again. True, untainted glory. The story is involving, exciting, mysterious and tragic. The
    This game has been remade on many platforms, so don't think my review is exclusive to PS2. Honestly if you can learn the controls (Which in my opinion are awesome but many disagree) I think the 3DS version might be the best one. That being said, wow.

    Kojima has never come this close to glory again. True, untainted glory. The story is involving, exciting, mysterious and tragic. The gameplay is incredibly solid, giving the rush of danger like no other and putting the player in Naked Snake's shoes with hardcore hunger and medical systems.

    The cutscenes, while long are this time engaging, and feel like a James Bond movie. The first few go a little long, but I was never waiting for them to end. Grab some popcorn when you play the first chapter, but don't think of that as a bad thing. MGS cutscens ARE long, you can go up to an hour or so without any real gameplay in these games and that's okay when it's done right, like it is here. I got emotional to the end of this game, and I first played it on the tiny little 3ds. Buy Snake Eater.It's the first Metal Gear Solid game canonically (despite the 3 in the title), the best place for newbies to start and spends the least amount of time wasting your playtime with forced exposition and redundant dialogue. There's a lot to be seen here, especially on a second play through and if you can make it past the rather masochistic torture scenes you'll find an ACTUAL mature game that earns its money.
    Expand
  33. Jub
    Mar 7, 2015
    4
    *My review is for the HD collection version but as that is a bundled game I'll write it here in stead.*

    As a lot of people have already said: the controls are so horrible that I gave up with trying to play this game properly. I love sneaking games and really wanted to enjoy this also but I couldn't. I literally spent hours at the start trying to figure out how to interact with the
    *My review is for the HD collection version but as that is a bundled game I'll write it here in stead.*

    As a lot of people have already said: the controls are so horrible that I gave up with trying to play this game properly. I love sneaking games and really wanted to enjoy this also but I couldn't.

    I literally spent hours at the start trying to figure out how to interact with the cover. The camera interaction, inverting controls, and dodgy object clipping simply ruined the experience for me. Everyone around me is saying "Snake, remember this is a sneaking mission". I know this, I'm trying my darndest to hide. It's just that I like to stand up when my elbow clips a tree and I also enjoy running out from cover because the controls have inverted on me. I honestly don't think this aspect could have been worse if they tried.

    Something else that bugs me is Hideo Kojima's obsession with fan service. A little is fine and can actually improve the experience especially when it's subtle. Half naked women jumping out every 5 minutes and throwing themselves over Snake destroys all immersion for me, but then again, I'm 30 years old and not an adolescent pervert.

    The game does look really nice and the character model interactions are also very good e.g. the punching, carrying bodies and alike.

    A great story just awful game play.
    Expand
  34. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    It
    Is
    Epic
    In
    Every
    Way
    Possible
    The environment, the characters, the customisation, the new gameplay and much needed third person camera with the option to switch back to the classic camera, the new arsenal of weapon and the BIG Twist at the end. Kojima you sleigh devil will you ever stop out doing yourself
  35. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    One of the best game's of all time, Metal gear Solid 3 is an absolute masterpiece, and is also my most favourite game of all time. The story and characters are both extremely gripping and fantastic, along with the voice acting. The gameplay is incredibly fun, realistic and has a ton of replay value as there are tons of secret and different ways to get through a segment. The graphics areOne of the best game's of all time, Metal gear Solid 3 is an absolute masterpiece, and is also my most favourite game of all time. The story and characters are both extremely gripping and fantastic, along with the voice acting. The gameplay is incredibly fun, realistic and has a ton of replay value as there are tons of secret and different ways to get through a segment. The graphics are fantastic for 2004 and still hold up today in the many HD remakes, along with the sound direction. In the end, this is just a fantastic, masterpiece of a game that honestly I cant find any problem's with. In my opinion, this is the absolute best game ever made, until Metal Gear Solid 5 that is :p Expand
  36. Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Hideo Kojima gave the fans what they wanted... to play with naked snake... this game got me through some tough times... and in my opinion it is the best video game i have ever played in my life... i really cant even put in words.. its an absolute masterpiece.. thanks konami for making the best video game ever.... :')
  37. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

    Game-play:Stealth is the base of the game play in this game but if you want you can go full in action the shooting and the movement are realistic also all the items are useful. Story:The story of this game is excellent the best story i have ever played and one of the best endings ever.It will take you about 16 to 18 hours. Graphics:The graphics are
    Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

    Game-play:Stealth is the base of the game play in this game but if you want you can go full in action the shooting and the movement are realistic also all the items are useful.

    Story:The story of this game is excellent the best story i have ever played and one of the best endings ever.It will take you about 16 to 18 hours.

    Graphics:The graphics are also excellent it is better than some games on the ps3 and xbox360.

    Notes:Some of the best written characters ever,also i loved the weapons and gadgets,This is a legendary game buy at full price.
    Expand
  38. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    It was pretty fun, but it's very overrated, story wasn't that amazing either. Constantly going into the menu to change camouflage and fixing yourself up nearly every time you take damage was also pretty annoying. Good but would not fap again.
  39. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    When i played and completed this game, then played and completed RE4, I felt that MGS3: Snake Eater paled in comparison, simply because I despised the isometric quasi 3D camera system, YET... when I played the Subsistence version, it became level with RE4 and one of the greatest games I have ever played, simply because the new 3D camera system made it a more immersive experience and theWhen i played and completed this game, then played and completed RE4, I felt that MGS3: Snake Eater paled in comparison, simply because I despised the isometric quasi 3D camera system, YET... when I played the Subsistence version, it became level with RE4 and one of the greatest games I have ever played, simply because the new 3D camera system made it a more immersive experience and the game it should have always been. Kojima should have given the same 3D treatment to Sons of Liberty and also Twin Snakes. I'd have loved to have played them in 3D. Anyway, regarding Snake Eater, just buy Subsistence. it is a far superior version. Expand
  40. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    This is the best game in the series in my opinion. The game play has been perfected, its paced beautifuly, it has one of the greatest story lines ever told and it s still fun to play today. Some of the most most memorable moments in games are found her, thanks to some awesome boss fights and great cut scenes. In my opinion this is a masterpiece and pretty well perfect game.
  41. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Hideo Kojima's Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is a masterpiece from the beginning to the end. Movie and game combined with excellency. Great gameplay, graphics and story. The camera is not so good.
  42. May 20, 2014
    8
    I know that Kojima wanted a more realistic game and he did with the best graphics compared to Half Life 2 and Halo 2. But the radar or map as been removed to make it more difficult to hide and the worst of all the camera wasn't improve since the original metal gear solid except for the first person view improved from mgs 2 but still can't move is legs while aiming. The noticeableI know that Kojima wanted a more realistic game and he did with the best graphics compared to Half Life 2 and Halo 2. But the radar or map as been removed to make it more difficult to hide and the worst of all the camera wasn't improve since the original metal gear solid except for the first person view improved from mgs 2 but still can't move is legs while aiming. The noticeable improvements were the stamina bar that is used to represent hunger from Naked Snake in which you must find food in order to regain stamina, also poison is been use to affect the player or the Fear boss, removing bullets, etc. Very realistic, masterful acting especially from The Boss a shocking story and more importantly the can last between 8 to 14 hours long. It maybe longer than it's two predecessors but doesn't have better playing when the first two came out in their respective years. My sincere review 8.8 out of 10. Expand
  43. May 12, 2014
    10
    this is the best game I've ever played.the camera is **** in the beginning but it just takes practice and the use of first-person vision that the rest is a breeze. the history of the game of a twist at the end. and delicious EVE with Bikini hummm... the final scene of them is hot
  44. May 6, 2014
    10
    Lots of times, many people get angry over games with long cutscenes and being a so called almost interactive movie, I also feel that way. But, Metal gear solid 3 nails the mix between cutscenes and gameplay perfectly, and the story is touching, you care about it, you even want more cutscenes, and so many suprises from Hideo Kojima's crazy mind, I literally thought the game ended 3 times!Lots of times, many people get angry over games with long cutscenes and being a so called almost interactive movie, I also feel that way. But, Metal gear solid 3 nails the mix between cutscenes and gameplay perfectly, and the story is touching, you care about it, you even want more cutscenes, and so many suprises from Hideo Kojima's crazy mind, I literally thought the game ended 3 times! Easily one of the best games of all time Expand
  45. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    No doubt, one of the best Playstation 2 games ever. It has a great storyline, awesome characters and it really shows how great the series is. It has great controls that are pretty easy to understand, and the game isn't hard to understand. Has lots of great items and etc. But the best thing about the whole game is the story. Especially the ending. If you're looking for a great shooter game,No doubt, one of the best Playstation 2 games ever. It has a great storyline, awesome characters and it really shows how great the series is. It has great controls that are pretty easy to understand, and the game isn't hard to understand. Has lots of great items and etc. But the best thing about the whole game is the story. Especially the ending. If you're looking for a great shooter game, you need to play this one. I clocked over 110 hours in the game... Expand
  46. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Im not very in to shooting games but this was awesome only thing hindering it from getting a 10 is the annoying camera but this game is just another awesome game by Konami super fun good story just a little bit cheeky but you fill connected to the character You feel me!
  47. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Probably the best MGS series I have played.Everything is perfect, the environment, the enemies , the arsenal , the character , the story and the list goes on and on and on.
  48. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily my favorite Metal Gear game. It has an amazing storyline with an amazing twist at the end. The gameplay fits perfectly with the jungle theme. It looked amazing at its time, even though the lipsynch was laughable.
    The Boss battles were quite good with a few exceptions. Especially The End and The Boss boss battles were the best. With The End battle searching him and then landing some good shots on him. And with The Boss boss battle (Yo dawg I heard you liked bosses) when you have to press the square button to shoot The Boss yourself, it made you feel guilt.
    If you enjoy amazing stories with survival gameplay, pick this up. You will not regret it.
    Expand
  49. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    An amazing game. This game explores the story of Big Boss, how is that not awesome. The gameplay is thrilling, the story is great, the soundtrack is great (Snake Eater!) and the characters are awesomely memorable probably some of the best of any game. The beginning is a little slow though. I highly recommend this game to anyone.
  50. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of PS2 (it's on my top 10), and alongside with MGS1 the best games of the series. The prequel of the Bipedal Tank nukes could'nt be more epic than MGS3.
  51. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 3 was originally in development for the upcoming PS3, However the gap between game and console release was long enough for Hideo Kojima to push the PS2 to it's limit and release MGS3 November 2004.

    Everybody in development pretty much agreed it would be set in the jungle, The wonderful and horrifying idea of creating a prequel set in the 1964 Cold War meant the gadget
    Metal Gear Solid 3 was originally in development for the upcoming PS3, However the gap between game and console release was long enough for Hideo Kojima to push the PS2 to it's limit and release MGS3 November 2004.

    Everybody in development pretty much agreed it would be set in the jungle, The wonderful and horrifying idea of creating a prequel set in the 1964 Cold War meant the gadget laden nature and philosophy of Metal Gear could threaten the previous installments of the series but also fall flat, Kojima planned to leave Metal Gear after MGS2 as he felt it was left open ended enough for others to develop, regardless he has continued to helm the series even to this day and made the smartest direction possible for a prequel, A James Bond Homage.

    Finally revealing the series origins The Virtuous Mission begins in 1964, CIA Operative Naked Snake (David Hayter) is sent by Major Tom a former British Special Air Service member to retrieve defective Russian scientist Sokolov who is developing a nuclear equipped tank "The Shagohod", during the mission Snake is contacted by his former mentor The Boss, The relationship between her and Snake seems to go beyond that of a teacher and student but not that of a pair of lovers as Snake later addresses. She simply is a remarkable soldier with many accomplishments.

    After confronting a young Revolver Ocelot, the mission goes haywire once The Boss reveals to Snake she is defecting to the Soviet Union and gives her new benefactor Col. Volgin two "Davy Crockett" Nuclear warheads, with the help of her former comrades "The Cobra unit" they re-take Sokolov she breaks her former students arm and throws him off a bridge. whilst leaving via helicopter Volgin then unexpectedly fires a nuke to cover up the Scientists theft subsequently blaming The Boss for the attack.

    After the very impressive cascading titular opening sung by Cynthia Harrell, The Snake Eater mission begins, Snake must make contact with the agents ADAM and EVA, rescue Sokolov destroy the Shagohod
    and kill his former mentor the Boss.

    What begins is pretty much the best spy game ever made, tracking through the harsh jungle environment Snake has to procure resources from the flora and fauna, mend cuts and broken bones all the way to the Russian stronghold. along the way stealth is handled by various disguises and face make up best situated to the area through easily navigated menu's.

    Though the dialogue can seem off in some area's each character is weirdly wonderful, motivation and ideologies are unfortunately shared only between the 5-6 main characters and the villians ambushes though not fleshed out entirely well offer something interesting in terms of their theming,The Cobra Unit is made up of The Boss (The Joy), The Sorrow, The Fury, The End, The Fear & The Pain, though the Pain doesn't really fit as it's a sensation rather than an emotion, each fight has a certain strategy behind it, The End is obviously debatable as one of the greatest bosses in a video game history for being so open ended and being able to last hours.

    The somewhat forced relationship between Eva & Snake will inevitably grown on you as Eva becomes more self-reliant and a lot more than just blatant sex appeal, But throughout the comic relief provided by Revolver Ocelot The relationship between Snake and The Boss is all that matters meaning their eventual encounter will alter each other deeply.

    All this and more has been woven together perfectly, Harry Gregson Williams music reflects the gritty era and Kojima's trademark humour throws in various Jazz numbers perfectly complimenting the work created. Lastly an honorable mention to Yoji Shinkawa, his artworks are impeccable regardless of style and times, not that anyone complained.

    When all is said and done MGS3's theme is "Scene" the setup for the franchise is beautifully told and voiced by the English cast brilliantly, it received universal praise for it's gameplay and has aged incredibly well. The exploits of Naked Snakes eventually downturn to the series antagonist "Big Boss" had begun. 9.5.
    Expand
  52. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    I recently watched my friend play the end of this game and it was the most painful thing i have ever witnessed. Not because of the game, just his pure apathy towards video games in general. Eva has rockin' and she unzips her jacket ALOT, so you can see massive cleavage. I wish her and Snake bumped uglies more often. Oh well, still a perfect game.
  53. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    my review for my favorite PS2 game, MGS3.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 10/10. a outstanding story with the most breathtaking twist i have ever encountered in the last generation of gaming. i don't want to spoil anything else :). GRAPHICS- 9/10. it pushes the PS2 to the max. great cutscenes (minus the laughable lip-synching), and great visual quality overall. SOUND- 10/10. exceptional voice
    my review for my favorite PS2 game, MGS3.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 10/10. a outstanding story with the most breathtaking twist i have ever encountered in the last generation of gaming. i don't want to spoil anything else :).
    GRAPHICS- 9/10. it pushes the PS2 to the max. great cutscenes (minus the laughable lip-synching), and great visual quality overall.
    SOUND- 10/10. exceptional voice acting, and and a top quality score.
    GAMEPLAY- 8.5/10. i personally didn't have much of a problem, but some people had trouble adjusting to the complex controls. otherwise, no gameplay problems here. very fun stealth/ action gameplay.
    FUN FACTOR- 10/10. a top-notch game that absolutely everyone who likes action/stealth games needs to play.
    OVERALL- 10/10.
    Expand
  54. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    Snake Eater is certainly worth playing. It's a decent game start to finish, but there are some major flaws I would like to point out. The long cut-scenes are not one of them. If they are needed to tell the story, then they are okay in my book. Gameplay is well done. All the gameplay flaws from Sons of Liberty have been ironed out and your vitality in a combat situation is well improved.Snake Eater is certainly worth playing. It's a decent game start to finish, but there are some major flaws I would like to point out. The long cut-scenes are not one of them. If they are needed to tell the story, then they are okay in my book. Gameplay is well done. All the gameplay flaws from Sons of Liberty have been ironed out and your vitality in a combat situation is well improved. Now to some of my major complaints. I actually found the camera excusable in Sons of Liberty due to the small and narrow corridors. In Snake Eater, the camera work is less than stellar. Environments are expansive and huge. The camera is useless now that I can't see ten feet in front of me and the radar has been omitted. I ran into several occasions where the game turned into a frustrating run and gun in some of the areas populated by numerous enemies. There is now a food system, which I thought was implemented well, but now there is a cure system in which you have to pause the game and cure EVERY injury you receive. As you might expect, it can get rather tedious and is just an extraneous addition when bosses hit you with attacks that can constantly drain your health unless cured. The story of the game is superb. It becomes well appreciated and is very thoughtful. The soundtrack is once again composed by Harry Gregson-Williams and I have to say, it is a lot better than the occasional jazzy, lounge like tracks in sons of Liberty. But during the majority of the game, no music is heard except for bosses and alerts. I thought this made the game seem somewhat empty and unfinished. The graphics are gorgeous. They definitely push the PS2 to its limits. Overall, this is a good game especially if you are a fan of the series. It never reaches the heights of Sons of Liberty, but is a welcome addition to the franchise. My score may seem rather low, but if the camera issues and the cure system were fixed, I can definitely see this title receiving a 9. Expand
  55. Jun 30, 2013
    5
    Story is pretty bad, but the game was good until EVA showed up totally ruined MGS experience.no need another words if EVA was not join snake then the game would be 5x better. i remember originaly there was no EVA in the game just a man with motorcycle in the first trailer well that was the real MGS3, Not to mention the idiot James Bond style musics and feeling. yeah i love james bondStory is pretty bad, but the game was good until EVA showed up totally ruined MGS experience.no need another words if EVA was not join snake then the game would be 5x better. i remember originaly there was no EVA in the game just a man with motorcycle in the first trailer well that was the real MGS3, Not to mention the idiot James Bond style musics and feeling. yeah i love james bond movies but this isn't good for MGS univere is just not fit this james bond style for mgs game.Kojima should stop this.Anyway anyone know why kojima keep calling the game MGS without Solid snake? why not just Metal Gear Snake Eater? Expand
  56. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    metal gear solid 3 is the best one in the series gameplay became the best in this one there is no radar which is better and made you think of how to play and continue in the game i loved the camouflage and healing system in the game the graphics are amazing and let me tell you that this game has the best ending i've ever seen so far the best story i've ever seen
  57. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    A slight departure from the template laid down in the first two Metal Gear Solid games 'Snake Eater' takes place in a Russian jungle in 1964, a time before the enemy detecting radar had been invented. While there are still a number of tools available to help navigate through the maze of bad guys and other traps between you and your goal this change brings a whole new level of tension toA slight departure from the template laid down in the first two Metal Gear Solid games 'Snake Eater' takes place in a Russian jungle in 1964, a time before the enemy detecting radar had been invented. While there are still a number of tools available to help navigate through the maze of bad guys and other traps between you and your goal this change brings a whole new level of tension to the gameplay, no longer can you be certain of exactly where the enemies are.

    The jungle itself also provides for a far more interesting setting than the difficult to navigate oil rig from the series previous entry. Not only is it aesthetically pleasing but it also has a real impact upon gameplay with your level of camouflage vital to remaining hidden. It is also possible to capture and eat the wildlife in order to restore health with injuries now affecting Snake's ability to run and aim accurately.

    The games hand-to-hand fighting mechanics have also seen an overhaul with the introduction of the CQC system. This allows Snake to pull off a more complex set of combat moves and even tackle more than one enemy at once. Be warned however that getting spotted and outnumbered will still quickly get you killed!
    On the negative side there is still the odd camera issue to be found but the biggest problem, as with previous Metal Gear games, continues to be the quite frankly ludicrously long cut scenes (Some must exceed the half-hour mark!). If I wanted to watch a movie I’d have put one in the disc tray instead of the game disc and it would be certainly make more sense.

    Other than this (rather important) issue however the Metal Gear Solid series continue to provide the best gameplay in its genre and Snake Eater is certainly worth adding to any collection.
    Expand
  58. Apr 23, 2013
    4
    I can tell the game is vastly improved on earlier MGSs, the environment, the camouflage system etc.etc. I really want to enjoy it, but the camera system just does not work or suit the game. Usually looking down from a bird's eye view, you can only see a small area of the environment, you can only pan the camera a little way and this is the most frustrating, decrepit part of the game.I can tell the game is vastly improved on earlier MGSs, the environment, the camouflage system etc.etc. I really want to enjoy it, but the camera system just does not work or suit the game. Usually looking down from a bird's eye view, you can only see a small area of the environment, you can only pan the camera a little way and this is the most frustrating, decrepit part of the game. Everything is off the camera! Out of sight! and the only way to get some environmental awareness is to use the awkward first person view.

    In previous titles this camera system was fine or acceptable and the reason it worked was because you had a radar/map, that gave you awareness of everything off the camera, making it less frustrating. In Snake Eater you don't have anything as useful as that and it's something Kojima failed to to spot or resolve to the games detriment.

    But you know what, after getting spotted on multiple occasions due to the camera, I never finished Snake Eater. I got fed up, ditched it and bought 'Subsistence'. I can confirm that the game is awesome. With the full 3D camera movements I can actually see what's up ahead! And I can actually appreciate how attractive the game is! Dear lord! If only Kojima could have done this sooner. But sadly, the camera makes Snake Eater obsolete.
    Expand
  59. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    The healing and eating and the constantly changing of the camouflage are annoying and just disturbs the player. However the story is good and also the graphics are.
    Its a good game but i liked it predecessor more.
  60. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    After every Metal Gear Solid the game and story gets better. Whenever I play an MGS game I think that Kojima cannot outdo himself be he does and that is why MGS is so good. MGS 3 is the best story in the series so far. The game is so engaging and emotional. If you did not cry at the end of the game I don't think any movie or game can make you cry.
  61. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best experiences you will have in your life (and I
  62. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    I've only ever played Nintendo games my entire life. They were simple with decent stories and great gameplay. Then I played Super Paper Mario, which made me realize how immersive a game could be and how connected a game could make you to a character. I listened to my friend's advice and got Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater(The 3D version, but I'm putting my review here). This game was aI've only ever played Nintendo games my entire life. They were simple with decent stories and great gameplay. Then I played Super Paper Mario, which made me realize how immersive a game could be and how connected a game could make you to a character. I listened to my friend's advice and got Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater(The 3D version, but I'm putting my review here). This game was a surprise. I'd heard the story in these games were boring and hard to follow, but this one was rather easy to understand. The characters like Eva and Sokolov were displayed very well and I felt for them like people. The gameplay works well for it and the boss battles were great, especially for shooter standards. I never minded the long cutscenes because they explained in great detail what was going on and further established my love for the characters(Even the optional Johnny). And just like any MGS game, it has one of the most satisfying endings I've ever seen. The game took 15 hours to complete, but those were some of the best hours I've spent playing a game. This game hasn't changed my opinions on gaming, other than proving that a game can have seem like a movie while excelling as a game. This game currently is in my Top Five Favorite Games and I don't see that changing any time soon. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good story with a fair amount of plot twists. Expand
  63. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Es el mejor Metal Gear o por lo menos mi favorito. Desde los jefes finales, la historia, las inolvidables secuencias de video,los escenarios hasta el novedoso CQC, el camuflage o la supervivencia; todo contribuye a crear la mejor experiencia que se puede vivir como agente secreto.
    GRAFICOS:10 SONIDO: 8 DIVERSION:9 DURACION: 8
  64. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay isMetal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater is one of the best games ever made. The story is a prequel and follows Big Boss instead of the traditional main MGS character Solid Snake. Needless to say it has one of the deepest stories of any of the MGS games. Graphics and visuals were/are some of the best on the PS2. Voice acting is amazing. Sounds of the jungles and environment are great. Gameplay is incredibly fun and the game is addictive with tons of replay value wether be on a more challenging difficulty or that extra run to try to beat the game with complete stealth. Characters are great and very interesting. Nothing bad to say about this one. MGS3 will go down as one of the greatest video games in history and an absolute masterpiece by the mastermind Hideo Kojima. Expand
  65. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the greatest games ever made. I won't spoil the ending but it is one of the greatest endings to any game ever. The bosses are all very different from one another, while some have you running and gunning tactics, some require a stealth approach, hand to hand combat, or even your typical boss with a simple tactic to beating him. Some bosses even have unique ways to fightThis game is one of the greatest games ever made. I won't spoil the ending but it is one of the greatest endings to any game ever. The bosses are all very different from one another, while some have you running and gunning tactics, some require a stealth approach, hand to hand combat, or even your typical boss with a simple tactic to beating him. Some bosses even have unique ways to fight them such as food poisoning for example. The stealth game play is great. The camera stays behind you so you can actually see in front of you. Hunting for food is rewarding, and figuring out what food is best and how to use the jungle to your advantage is it's own reward. You can throw snakes at guards or even carefully toss them in a river or place them in front of a trap. Expand
  66. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    Snake Eater is easily one of my favourite games on the ps2. It's the third "solid" entry in a series famous for its convulted plot, bizarre characters and pretestuos philosophical preachings. Yet this game averts all of the above providing an immersive storyline with "solid" characters, clever level design and a balanced gameplay-cutscene ratio. In this game you play as "Naked snake" whoSnake Eater is easily one of my favourite games on the ps2. It's the third "solid" entry in a series famous for its convulted plot, bizarre characters and pretestuos philosophical preachings. Yet this game averts all of the above providing an immersive storyline with "solid" characters, clever level design and a balanced gameplay-cutscene ratio. In this game you play as "Naked snake" who will later be known as "big boss", whose main mission is to rescue the scientist Sokolov in russian field during the cold war. It's a novelization of the historical facts with the mgs usual twist. i won't spoil the game for you so enough with the plot. Since the setting as changed from a near-future to a not so distant past, the technology available to the player is different: no more ominscent-radars or codec or (dear lord) no nanomachines. Your avatar now has two energy bars: one is the usual health bar, once it reaches zero it's game over, but it refills with time; the other one is the "resistance" bar, it affects your precision, sight, resistence to damage etc... You can refill this bar with another addition:eating. In this game you can hunt animals in order to eat em or tossing them to enemies distracting them. Player-damage has changed also, you can cure your wounds by manually choosing the broken body part and using the appropriate medicine. It's way simpler to play than to explain so trust me it's not annoying. All this animal hunting and bone-healing is not done in a close structure like the big shell but most of the time Snake will wander through beautiful outdoors, with the occasional building popping in. These environments are all beautifully renderd, even though I'll admit that indoors are not as detailed as in previous entries, but that's the price to pay to this overall spectacle. The sense of immersion is helped by the beautiful and fitting music and background noises. Speaking of sounds, voice acting is superb, helping each cast member shine through the experience. In this game the characters are at worst bearable (which is much to say speaking of mgs) and at best memorable. In the end the game is great, fun to play and pleasant to watch, with a memorable plot, a must buy if you own a ps2. Expand
  67. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    MGS3 has my favorite storyline of any game ive ever played. I have never felt such a connecting to a story before. Kojima truly is amazing director and writer. This game has it all. Great characters, music, story, gameplay and boss fights.
  68. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controlsThis is definitely one of the best games ever created and it's my personal favorite Metal Gear Solid game. As most MGS fans know, each game in the series is unique, but none really compare to the brilliance that is Snake Eater. The gameplay at first glance may seem complex, but it's really easy to get used to and is easily modified to best fit your personal preference. The camera controls are wonderful and the visuals and style are incomparable to any other game out there. A lot of it is cheesy and may be ridiculed if seen in a film, but there's this sort of depth to the characters and story, plus many twists and turns that are impossible to predict and wonderful attention to detail that it easily can be considered one of the best video games in existence. It's literally the only game out there where I don't find the constant percentages and various statistics regarding Naked Snake's survival annoying. Going to the 'start menu' is actually fun. Healing Snake's wounds and changing camo to hide better in different areas never really feels like a chore and the parts where you get stuck always take some thought (it's not a game that you just mindlessly dawdle your way through). This is definitely a game worth any true gamer's time. Expand
  69. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    The mechanics may make the end game stumble a little bit, but the humor, story, character, and amazing world that Mr. Kojima has created is stunning, wonderful, and absolutely astoundingly incredible. One of the best games of all time in a series that stands as the culmination of phenomenal storytelling and incredibly unique mechanics. A classic.
  70. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Not as good as MGS2, but a VERY close contender! As a longtime fan of the series, this is my second favorite entry if not tied with MGS2 in some aspects. I don't know what else to say aside from the fact that it's simply an amazing work of art. Yup, that's right, it's so good it's a work of art! Same with 1 and 2! I love Metal Gear!!
  71. May 27, 2012
    10
    Game is one of the best games I've ever played! One of the best cinematic games as well! Masterpiece game! Better than a lot of movies!
  72. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    Smart, imaginative and exciting, Snake Eater surpasses MGS2 in almost every way. The game looks great, the environments are a nice change, the survival mechanics are implemented well and the cast of villains is among the best in any video game. The controls are also improved but still feel clunky and stiff. The story is entertaining but not as engaging as previous games in the series.Smart, imaginative and exciting, Snake Eater surpasses MGS2 in almost every way. The game looks great, the environments are a nice change, the survival mechanics are implemented well and the cast of villains is among the best in any video game. The controls are also improved but still feel clunky and stiff. The story is entertaining but not as engaging as previous games in the series. Special appreciation has to go to the spectacular boss fights. Each one is brimming with creativity and will change how you view this old video game staple. Expand
  73. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played. It is definitely the best game in the metal gear series. Kojima could had made this his only game and would still appeal as the best game director.Snake Eater has the greatest story in a game I've ever played.The boss battles are the most memorable of any game. This is truly a Masterpiece.
  74. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    mgs 3, just another classic. great graphics for an 04' game. cutting russian soldiers throats is very satisfying. mess around in the jungle killing animals and eating them, treating gunshot wounds and cuts. wild boss fights, alot of action. really enjoyed the camo system. answers questions about the previous metal gears, poses new ones. and its just incredible that snakes radio ismgs 3, just another classic. great graphics for an 04' game. cutting russian soldiers throats is very satisfying. mess around in the jungle killing animals and eating them, treating gunshot wounds and cuts. wild boss fights, alot of action. really enjoyed the camo system. answers questions about the previous metal gears, poses new ones. and its just incredible that snakes radio is indistrucable. 10/10 must play Expand
  75. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best storyline of any game I ever played and its simply the best game I ever played!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  76. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game does not cease to be interesting at any point. The 3rd installment in the Metal Gear Solid series is nothing to shy away from, instead try to go and buy it. Heres the jist of it. The campaign is very engaging and informative that will make you teary at points. Like Hideo Kojima wants, the gamer will be placed this time in Big Boss's body, the real Snake. The new system involvingThis game does not cease to be interesting at any point. The 3rd installment in the Metal Gear Solid series is nothing to shy away from, instead try to go and buy it. Heres the jist of it. The campaign is very engaging and informative that will make you teary at points. Like Hideo Kojima wants, the gamer will be placed this time in Big Boss's body, the real Snake. The new system involving survival is original and adds on the Metal Gear Solid's array of well crafted ideals placed in a game. Overall, the game is magnificent and nothing short of greatness. Expand
  77. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    Snake Eater has my favorite storyline of any game ive ever played. I have never felt such a connecting to a story before. The gameplay is some of the best in gaming if not the best. A classic if there ever was one.
  78. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    This game was brilliant and story wise is one of my favourite in the series. In this game players can watch past events as they shape the future of the series. For example players will be taking control of a new character and will watch the rise of Big Boss and how he became the legend. The game play is also greatly improved making it much more flexible and gives players more variety asThis game was brilliant and story wise is one of my favourite in the series. In this game players can watch past events as they shape the future of the series. For example players will be taking control of a new character and will watch the rise of Big Boss and how he became the legend. The game play is also greatly improved making it much more flexible and gives players more variety as they can carry a set of equipment and weapons of their own chossing. Expand
  79. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    stealth game.....i like this game ......especially when i fighting all the boss in this game.i always play this game when i bored...i have played mgs2,mgs3 and mgs4..all of them are the best!
  80. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    It's exceeded by its enhancement, Subsistence. But that doesn't take away from the fun I had before it. Pros: Excellent graphics and sound; greatly told, involving storyline; charismatic characters; variety of moves and weapons. Cons: Dated camera system and poor control; too much dialogue may turn off certain gamers.
  81. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    Basically this one is totally different from the other MGS games is focused more in the survivalist way rather than an a urban zone. This installment is set on the jungle and the main protagonist is Big Boss (the original Snake or Naked Snake). I loved the game and is very entertaining the story ,the gameplay etc. You made it again Hideo Kojima
  82. Oct 3, 2010
    8
    This was the weakest entry in this series but that is not really saying a bad thing, with it still being a great game when you compare it to others. I would definitely recommend this if you own a PS2 and want an amazing game for a low low price.
  83. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    The origins of the enigmatic Big Boss are explained in this worthy part of the Metal Gear Solid series. Arguably the most complex and gripping game of 2004.
  84. BryceHollandsworth
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    This game is HARD. Even depending on the difficulty level you set it at, it will still be a challenge. Expect to be seen and killed a LOT if you're new to this game. However, this level of difficulty and skill is exactly what the game industry needs! The intense storyline, how it fits together the pieces to the other games, and how amazing the gameplay is is the whole reason to buyThis game is HARD. Even depending on the difficulty level you set it at, it will still be a challenge. Expect to be seen and killed a LOT if you're new to this game. However, this level of difficulty and skill is exactly what the game industry needs! The intense storyline, how it fits together the pieces to the other games, and how amazing the gameplay is is the whole reason to buy it! The humor is good, the action is AMAZING! And if you can control your inner Rambo for minutes on end, you might just get to see the true awesomeness this game is! Expand
  85. JamesG
    May 4, 2009
    6
    I fail to see the widespread appeal in this installment. Despite loving both Metal Gear Solid and Metal Gear Solid 2 (and later the portable games) I found Snake Eater a chore. Unlike some other negative scorers I love the long cutscenes and plots that the Metal Gear series offers, the only plot/codec based annoyance for me was the restating of the controls for the first 10-15 minutes. I fail to see the widespread appeal in this installment. Despite loving both Metal Gear Solid and Metal Gear Solid 2 (and later the portable games) I found Snake Eater a chore. Unlike some other negative scorers I love the long cutscenes and plots that the Metal Gear series offers, the only plot/codec based annoyance for me was the restating of the controls for the first 10-15 minutes. The story is a convoluted train wreck which seems to lack any clear direction in places leaving characters to paraphrase what has been said before. I also found it the least interesting in the Metal Gear franchise, as the Cold War scenario eventually boils down to nothing more than a metal gear hunt, wasting much potential. However, the story is passable enough (and short enough - in comparison to the others at least) to carry the game. The gameplay suffers in the jungle environment too. The food system is a fun addition, if nothing more than a gimmick - as is the camo system. Unfortunately the upsides of the jungle end there. For the most part the game feels like a corridor shooter with a few trees painted on the walls. It lacks the amazing artistic direction that so many other games on the Playstaion 2 show. Being a prequel (so it isn't referenced by the rest of the series often) Snake Eater is well worth a go, because it's something you can leave part way through and skip onto the next title in the series. Collapse
  86. Kewlkat
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Whether you're watching it, or playing it, ( and trust me, you'll be doing plenty of both), this game never fails to be immersive, daring, riveting, exciting, deep, intense, cool, and just plain fun to play almost the entire way through. One of the best games I have ever played.
  87. rambo
    Dec 19, 2007
    4
    I was a fan of Metal Gear Solid since MGS1 get out, i liked it so much for its originality and others, his sequel MGS2 was good too but the third title MGS3 is so bad, i dunno we are talkin about the same game. The Camera is the Worst thing in this game. I cannot recommend this game to anyone, just wait for MGS4 which i hopi will be better than this suckin game
  88. JohnD.
    Nov 17, 2007
    6
    I have no idea why people like this game so much. Gameplay is very poor, camera is horrible and frustrating and playing through levels take too much time. Changing your camoflage is pretty useless because the enemies can still see you, and if you don't wanna die, you must sit around in the bushes for way too long. Camera makes you want to kill everybody and the way it changest to a I have no idea why people like this game so much. Gameplay is very poor, camera is horrible and frustrating and playing through levels take too much time. Changing your camoflage is pretty useless because the enemies can still see you, and if you don't wanna die, you must sit around in the bushes for way too long. Camera makes you want to kill everybody and the way it changest to a firs-person view when you go to the bushes is anoying, and you cant change it to a third-person viw. Also a big problem is that you can't see your enemies before they can see you because of the camera. The first level is annaoying as hell, but if you can play through that the game starts to get a little better, but still this game has too many flaws to be an excellent game experience. Cutscenes are cool (but a little too long) and graphics are excellent for a PS2 game, but I'd rather buy subsistence. Expand
  89. NathanP.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    My favourite game ever, an amazing experience.
  90. GrayFox
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people The Guy At Detroit Free Press must be very rough huh?Who played original MG and GMS on other consoles knows the story not just rambo 3 behind it man! Think befor You press and choose wisely because this game have more work in it than you think. Big Red i cant believe you AI is easy??PLay On EU extreme noob!T he Story is crazy? Make better with the whole MGS universe!!Y ou stupid people who never think just write that bull**it here !keep thinking. Respect To Other Players who take this game with honor. Expand
  91. PawelK.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    MGS 3 is perhaps the best video game for the PS2. It has original gameplay that offers tons of replay value, interesting characters and an amazing story line. Although the controls of the game can be cumbersome at first once you get used to them the game really takes off. The game is survival but if you just want to sneak changing the game mode to easy or normal makes that feature almost MGS 3 is perhaps the best video game for the PS2. It has original gameplay that offers tons of replay value, interesting characters and an amazing story line. Although the controls of the game can be cumbersome at first once you get used to them the game really takes off. The game is survival but if you just want to sneak changing the game mode to easy or normal makes that feature almost none existent. The game feels real, there's a huge amount of realism, you heal wounds, hunt animals, lose energy, look through sights to aim weapons(rather than everyone having a laser pointer, enemies react differently depending on where they're shot and so many more innovations. Hideo Kojima makes a gmae that fels like a movie, the cut scenes are long but entertaining and if your a fan and sometimes even if your not the story sucks you in. The greatest thing about metal gear is how it's compatible with most gamers, if you want to be a real spy, you sneak distracting enemies then quietly sneak by or holding them up at knife point for information, if you want to be an ak welding psyco grab some ammo, some rockets and shoot everything that moves(and doesn't move). The 5 difficulty settings very easy, easy, normal, hard and extreme are basically to raise or lower the realism and offer replay value up the ying yang. The game is fun, innovative, with gripping story line a pure classic master peace. Perfect 10. Expand
  92. PaulJ.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Together with subsistence the best game ever created for the sixth generation consoles.
  93. Thompson
    May 21, 2007
    10
    A bonafide classic! This is no game, this is an experience!
  94. BigRed
    May 15, 2007
    5
    Way too many interruptions in this game. Between the endless calls and the never ending cut-scenes you hardly get a chance to play. 2 hours into this game and I have only played for about 15 minutes of actual game time. Sure you can skip everything, but then you miss out on the story, which starts off promising but then gets crazy and stupid. Some cool gadgets, but I know they didn
  95. DD
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    A magnificent achievement in gaming! MGS3 can challenge any great film in terms of terrific story-telling- strong, compelling characters, and fantastic action sequences that are to die for.
  96. LJ
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    A milestone for gaming! Without a doubt, this has some of the best story-telling I have ever come across to in anything. For me this is tied with Zelda: OOT for the best game ever and it's also the best prequel ever made! Is that good!
  97. AlN.
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    After 2 years still the best game I have ever played.
  98. ChrisZ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    If people only played past the first few missions instead of saying "I'm done" would they see the amazing work and story line.
  99. EraquarP.
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is the best game ever made I even shed a small tear at the end.
  100. Mr.E
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    I loved this game. One of the best games I've ever played. I can't til the PSP sequel comes out.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. netjak
    90
    When all is said and done, Snake Eater achieves what no other game can on such a level: complete immersion into an action-driven interactive movie.
  2. Gaming Target
    98
    Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best game of the year? Yes. Is Metal Gear Solid 3 the best in its series? No.
  3. There has never been, and will not be for a long time a more convincing and immersive game released.