User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 464 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 464
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Plamen
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Awesome game!
  2. KristmundurS.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    The best re-release of a Metal Gear Solid game. The new camera angle is a blessing although some boss battles do good without it. The Online Mode is great port of the Metal Gear Solid gameplay along with the hilarious extras i.e.: cardboard box and porno books! The original MSX games are great and are fun play for those who want to see the origin of Solid Snake's adventures. The The best re-release of a Metal Gear Solid game. The new camera angle is a blessing although some boss battles do good without it. The Online Mode is great port of the Metal Gear Solid gameplay along with the hilarious extras i.e.: cardboard box and porno books! The original MSX games are great and are fun play for those who want to see the origin of Solid Snake's adventures. The Secret Theater is just drop-dead funny, especially: Metal Gear Raiden: Snake Eraser, Metal Gear S... and He's Still Got It. Duel Mode and the Snake vs. Monkey don't offer Europeans anything new except a new camera angle and the Demo Theater fails by giving you all the cutscenes of the game simply by making a save file. The Existence Disc is all right but many things could've been changed and the narration is just useless, but if you haven't been able to finish the game then it's good opportunity to see the full story. There are some control and lag issues online but since it's test version of the real MGO which is supposed to be on MGS4 fans should easily look past it and enjoy the sillyness. It's my favorite game of the series(way better than Snake Eater as whole). Expand
  3. Beagrie
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    The game is amazing, packed with extras and bonus missions, the ame has reached a new high, all the metal gear solid games are top notch and deserve respect!
  4. RobertoL.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    MGS is the ultimate videogame that everyone can enjoy. With varying difficulties, gorgeous graphics and one of the best videogame stories ever, this game is a must have for everyone with a pulse.
  5. JohnnyS.
    Apr 18, 2006
    5
    I was very disappointed with the online play. It doesn
  6. Chris
    Aug 5, 2006
    5
    Man these game would be great if only for one thing --- the controls, which are absolutely horrible. The 3rd person perspective may be ok for 1st player but it is absolutely frustrating for online play (which is the reason I got the game). You can't see in front of you unless you press the r1 button, but even then you have to press the square button(lightly) to see what your gun, Man these game would be great if only for one thing --- the controls, which are absolutely horrible. The 3rd person perspective may be ok for 1st player but it is absolutely frustrating for online play (which is the reason I got the game). You can't see in front of you unless you press the r1 button, but even then you have to press the square button(lightly) to see what your gun, then you have to press the r1 button to cradle to your shoulder so you actually see what your aiming at, then you have to manevur your aim with the left analog stick..its rather difficult and annoying, plus if you press the fire button(square) too hard it will fire and give away your position before you get your aim your target. Another thing is you have to adjust the camera angle everytime you climb something, go around a corner, ect. Omg and did i forget...theres no crosshairs, these is especially fucked pup when you want to throw a grenade but don't know where your throwing it, or when you see someone while in 3rd person view and want to shoot them but you can't tell if your aiming at him so you have to go into 1st person and hope he dosen't turn away or just run away while your concentrating on holding down the l1 and r1 button and pressing the square button lightly and adjust it with the analog stick....omg god give me good controls. It would have helped tremendously if you could just have crosshairs and be able to choose between 3rd, 1st, or 2nd person view mode. Expand
  7. AdamW.
    Jan 20, 2008
    7
    The controls are horrible. However the plot did strike a chord with me. The voice actors are also unwisely picked, not matching the characters too well. There weren't any cross hairs for aiming your guns. There's not too much replay value either except for secrets or harder difficulties. In the end it's definitely worth a rent at the very least.
  8. KromsSomething
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever made; the story melds perfectly with the gameplay. Metal Gear Solid 3 is one game you'll enter as one person and leave as another. All the satisfaction you'll ever need.
  9. Bryce
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    I personally cant see what people are whinging about with the controls, i thought they were fine. the story was great but since i havent play the previous ones im not totally sure about some things. graphics were amazing and the difficulty feel at the right place for all difficulties and even with exert causing you to lose once seen i didnt get frustrated once, i feel thats a sign of a I personally cant see what people are whinging about with the controls, i thought they were fine. the story was great but since i havent play the previous ones im not totally sure about some things. graphics were amazing and the difficulty feel at the right place for all difficulties and even with exert causing you to lose once seen i didnt get frustrated once, i feel thats a sign of a fantastic game. Expand
  10. MUIZZI
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    EXCELLENTE!
  11. Zippy
    Mar 15, 2006
    4
    Good game, finished it quickly. No replay value at all. P2 needs a stable online system, then it could have scored a 10.
  12. AndyG.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    even if you don't play many games or you aren't that big a metal gear fan, there's simply no reason not to own this. awesome game to begin with, endless bonus features, online mode, and at $30? please. if you don't buy this, then sell your ps2.
  13. MartinM.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    I strongly disagree with Zippy. This game has almost unlimited replay value due to the online. The PS2 online system is stable (no trouble online with this game), what I think you want is a unififed system (XBox).
  14. StickymanM.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    The Metal Gear series just keeps getting better and better. Even the cheats and extras you don't bother with are far and above anything else out there. I can't get enouth Metal Gear.
  15. JoshJ.
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    I'm a Metal Gear fan that has remained loyal to the series for several years. I will say that Subsistence overall is an improvement over Snake Eater. However, I will not jump on the band-wagon that acclaims the game to be "fricken amazing." The game is mainly amazing because of the previously released SE story and because of Metal Gear Online. There are several things with I'm a Metal Gear fan that has remained loyal to the series for several years. I will say that Subsistence overall is an improvement over Snake Eater. However, I will not jump on the band-wagon that acclaims the game to be "fricken amazing." The game is mainly amazing because of the previously released SE story and because of Metal Gear Online. There are several things with Subsistence that I'm not satisfied with. The manual that comes with the game is skimpy (about 13 pages long). While playing Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake, important information is said to be in this skimpy manual - which is a lie. Several secret theaters on Disc 2: Persistence are poorly done (the graphics look crappy when being compared to the gameplay of SE). The same thing can go for the much anticipated Disc 3: Existence. I have the Limited Edition of this game and will say I am extremely dissapointed with Disc 3 - so much so that I barely touch it and will say that it was a waste of $10. The box to the LE (in the US) is opened through the top - as opposed to the open-sided box that the Japanese people received. I'll leave you with the pros of this game. The SE story is much more enjoyable (that is if you didn't play your eyeballs out with the SE version) with the 3D camera. The SE story is also improved a little bit through the now available bonus camos and face paints. The MG and MG2: Solid Snake games are also really cool. MGO, although I haven't tried it yet, appears to be one of the more successful parts of this game (most definitely a major reason as to why people are buying this game in America). If you want this game... expect a balanced amount of pros and cons. If you would rather hang onto your SE copy, then you're not losing out on too much. At about this point in the video gaming industry, I think almost everyone is starting to become annoyed with Metal Gear remakes. I leave you to decide for yourselves. Expand
  16. E.L.
    Apr 17, 2006
    4
    While this game has the BEST story and game play I've played in years, the fact that it also has the WORST control system prevents me give it a score more than 4. I find it most annoying and frustrating when switching constantly between the first person and third person view. And some times the camera views get "auto-switched" when I don't even intent to. You can only move While this game has the BEST story and game play I've played in years, the fact that it also has the WORST control system prevents me give it a score more than 4. I find it most annoying and frustrating when switching constantly between the first person and third person view. And some times the camera views get "auto-switched" when I don't even intent to. You can only move around when you are in the third person view, but then you can't see what (or who) is ahead of you. Yes, you can switch to the first person view, but then you can't move in this view, only to look around. It's most frustrating and annoying to walk a few steps, then stop, then change camera view to first person, to look around, then change the view back to third person, then walk another few steps, then repeat the whole process again. Expand
  17. DylanT.
    Apr 23, 2006
    1
    I thought the game was a rip off the other metal gear solid games.
  18. MattA.
    May 15, 2006
    9
    Very good game. I enjoyed the story and characters a lot... and it was a lot more comprehensible than Metal Gear Solid 2. I loved the whole 1960's twist on the game... and the games cutscene were fairly entertaining. Good game.
  19. RobertW.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    If you have not played the original version of MGS3: Snake Eater, you absolutely need to get Subsistence immediately.
  20. JohnnyX.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    this is hands down one of the best games i'vever played online and off. this game is highly rewarding to play through more than once. more than the others were in fact. i have to comment on a 1 given to this game by a reviewer... how is MGS3 a rip-off?? it's the backbone to the entire series and is still made by the same guy (hideo kojima). the fact of you actually playing the this is hands down one of the best games i'vever played online and off. this game is highly rewarding to play through more than once. more than the others were in fact. i have to comment on a 1 given to this game by a reviewer... how is MGS3 a rip-off?? it's the backbone to the entire series and is still made by the same guy (hideo kojima). the fact of you actually playing the role of big boss in this one is totally amazing. considering all you've seen of him in previous games is drawings in manuals and 8-bit renderings of him (see mg1). oh yeah, and all the bonus features are totally cool. it's fun to see how long it takes you to beat the bosses in duel mode, mg1and 2 are still a lot of fun to play and have a really good story, one i missed since i played mg1 on the NES when i was 7. Expand
  21. RobinS.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Truly the best Metal Gear... a bit hard without the radar but who cares if you got an overwhelming story that explains most of the gaps of the 1st and 2nd game.
  22. JesusC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    6
    I couldn't stand the setting, the characters, the FPS lag, or the storyline--which didn't have quite the flair of MGS2. It's better off as a rent. You'll beat it once and never go back again (I didn't).
  23. Mithyus
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    It boils down to the fact that MGS3 is like nothing else in gaming world, mixing great gameplay, graphic and sound elements to a majestic way of storytelling. Absolutely, ultimately brilliant.
  24. PaulJ.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Together with Snake Eater the best game ever created for the sixth generation consoles.
  25. Jackson
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    I gave this one a nine because this is by far the best metal gear game ever. i even played portable ops and that is a game that requires alot of getting used to and when i say a lot i mean a lot. but anyways back to mgs3subsistence; yes you must get the hang of playing with the new camera angle in subsistance but it is well worth it. This is the first game in along time to make me stay up I gave this one a nine because this is by far the best metal gear game ever. i even played portable ops and that is a game that requires alot of getting used to and when i say a lot i mean a lot. but anyways back to mgs3subsistence; yes you must get the hang of playing with the new camera angle in subsistance but it is well worth it. This is the first game in along time to make me stay up all night playing till the sun came up; the last game was grand theft auto sanandreas. i would have given this game a full ten but i feel the makers of this game could have went a step furether to make this the best game of all time by adding a multiplayer offline option. when we first got the news of mgs3 going offline i started to hear alot off talk like "i'm gonna get my money back for this game". i wounder if kojima lost some money by taking this great game offline. Expand
  26. NicholasR.
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    Controls are crap, Visuals look like a ps2 launch title, and the story is a cut-rate spy movie knock-off. I lent this game to three different people who all agree that this is the worst game ever. I have played sudoku on gba and it's still better this game.
  27. anthonyL
    May 27, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece that will be remembered with God of War as the greatest games on the ps2. Intense moments and highly climactic sequences like the end sequence with EVA, make this experience hard to forget. well designed bosses (especially "the End") and solid jungle sneaking are also great. A great story, with less cutscenes than MGS2. Good to see that even by cutting alot of story it still A masterpiece that will be remembered with God of War as the greatest games on the ps2. Intense moments and highly climactic sequences like the end sequence with EVA, make this experience hard to forget. well designed bosses (especially "the End") and solid jungle sneaking are also great. A great story, with less cutscenes than MGS2. Good to see that even by cutting alot of story it still comes across impressive. This edition is also far superior to the snake eater edition. Expand
  28. CodyB
    Jul 14, 2009
    9
    One hell of a package! This masterpiece gets a 9.8 for its powerful compelling stoy, beautiful setting (jungle, mountains, flower field), timeline as the prequel to the entire metal gear series (not to mention that players get to experience metal gear 1 & 2 in the bonus disk), easter eggs (the end dying of old age, the nightmare scene when snake is in prison, & so much more), and One hell of a package! This masterpiece gets a 9.8 for its powerful compelling stoy, beautiful setting (jungle, mountains, flower field), timeline as the prequel to the entire metal gear series (not to mention that players get to experience metal gear 1 & 2 in the bonus disk), easter eggs (the end dying of old age, the nightmare scene when snake is in prison, & so much more), and let's not forget one of the coolest minigames out there; snake vs monkey. Make no mistake; the characters in this game are just great (obviously naked snake, the boss, the sorrow, eva, major zero, young ocelot) and a few of the bosses themselves are some of the most epic bosses in video game history that could only come from the crafted mind of gaming legend hideo kojima (the end, the sorrow, and the boss). Not as epic as sons of liberty and guns of the patriots but comes close with its powerful storytelling. Expand
  29. DavidL.
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Gaming euphoria.
  30. MichaelN.
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    Fantastic game that deserves maximum scores, honestly. The addition of the online mode is perhaps, one of the greatest additions to the Metal Gear franchise ever since it hit the Playstation.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#29 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Improving on one of the best games ever couldn't have been an easy job, but Kojima Productions was able to do it. They packed this director's cut of "Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater", a thrilling and cinematic military stealth action game, so full of tweaks and extras, we wish our review scale went to 11. [Apr 2006, p.73]
  2. Subsistence's awe-inspiring single-player adventure outclasses every other stealth game in existence, including the previous MGS titles. It's the perfect blend of gripping narrative, nuanced gameplay, astonishing (nearly next-gen) graphics, and creative boss battles. [Apr. 2006, p.98]
  3. 98
    Subsistence goes a long way towards remedying the few problems of ["Snake Eater"] with a brand new camera system that literally rejuvenates the gameplay. The online mode adds a ton of replay value as well, and has dozens of options to keep you returning to blow away friends late into the night.