User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 273

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    This is the greatest game ever. I hadn't played the others and I played this and nearly died. The story is the most greatest and best invention ever and is cleverer than any film I've ever seen. The game has bad camera and controls but has the best boss battles possible in a game. The best twist at the end in a game ever which is brilliant. I cannot put this games story into words. It is very boring for the first eighth but then it gets better and better until by the last quarter your fighting a nuclear tank and hundreds of soldiers then nearly clapping and crying at the end. Anyone who wrote a review without playing the game fully is a fool and should be put down. BUY IT IF YOU HAVEN'T BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE AND YOU'VE GOT RID OF YOUR PS2 OR ARE SELLING YOUR 40/60 GB PS3. The score should be ten but it's broke Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    This game is a very great game with excellent story with fun gameplay and plenty of intense moments. The original version (snake eater) wasn't super just because of the camera angle and that is why this is so much better. there is not much replay value to the game itself but subsistance comes with bonuses that ad to the game. unfortunately i can not review the bonus content because i got the package that had the 1st 3 MGS games and it only came with disc 1. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    (10.0)
    Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence est le meilleur épisode de la saga Metal Gear. Il est le jeu parfait de par ses graphismes, sa musique ou encore de par son style !
  4. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    This is Kojima's magnum opus. The gameplay is near-flawless, and the story is only second to the first "Solid" game in terms of sheer quality; it truly causes you to care about some of the characters and relationships found here. And no other game I have ever played hits you with the same emotional sledgehammer presented by the end of this game (don't worry; no spoilers here). The Boss Battles are, at the end of the day, the best in the series, and stealth has never felt as good as it does here. The over-the-shoulder camera feels so natural that you'll find yourself getting angry that the first two games (and the first version of this game) don't have it. This game is also the most willfully goofy Metal Gear game (which, as any Metal Gear fan knows, is a good thing), and the plot is much more streamlined compared with its immediate predecessor. All in all, this was arguably the best game of the last generation, and it unquestionably ranks among the finest games ever made. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    Subsistence adds more content to an already classic game, the addition of the first two MG games is fantastic. The online ( since, i never played) need to be similar to MGS4 but at all cost is incredible. MGS gets better than ever.
  6. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    An excellent enhancement of an already fantastic game that's worth every penny, even to date. Pros: Improved camera system; additional online play; excellent graphics and audio; involving storyline; classic Metal Gear games; lots of bonus material and replay value. Cons: The controls are still quirky; online play takes time to adjust to.
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    How could you own a PS2 and not own this game? This is one of the best games, not only on the PS2, but overall. Canonically, this is the first in the epic MGS series. See where it all started. Learn all about Naked Snake (the father of Solid Snake), and how he became Big Boss. Today, this masterpiece is on PSN, for $14.99. I need not say more. However, it is included in the MGS: Legacy Collection, which not only has this game, but every single MGS game. Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    This game is just a masterpiece, one of the best written and in depth told stories in the history of video games. For the ones who played the previous Metal Gear Solid games, this game actually serves as the prequel of the entire series taking place in the year 1964 where you take on the role of Snake not Solid Snake, Naked Snake aka the Big Boss from the original Metal gear games. This game's story leads to the events that take place in the future metal gear solid games. The forest and desert like environments are a great addition, this allows the player to find many more places to hide and avoid enemies and use different stealth tactics unlike the predecessors where you had to come up with a stealth plan in narrow and indoor areas. The indoors areas are still in this game, however they are a lot easier to go through by using the scientist costume speaking of costumes this game gives you the camo and face paint system where you can dress yourself according to the environment to reduce chances of enemy detection. The enemiesx are also more intelligent and will detect you if you run behind them to take them down, thats why this game allows you to slowly walk behind the enemies and take them out. On top of that there are alot of different ways to take down enemies, shooting them with your Mk22 gun which will put them to sleep, taking them down from the CQC, slitting their throat or the old fashioned way shooting them all with a big and powerful gun. It is not essential that you use the stealth stratedy to go through this game you can just go out there and kill everyone in sight as there are a lot of powerful weapons in the game that will help you take down large number of enemies, however using this stratedy can also be alot more difficult than stealth. The game's boss fights are also epic and each fight is unique in its own way, on top of that you can use different strategies to take down bosses you can take them down by either depleting their health and depleting their stamina however the way you kill the bosses would not change the actual story or any of the cutscenes, the bosses will just drop you their camoufloges with their own special abilities if you stamina kill them. The game's controls however can be tedious and complicated at time since they are pressure sensitive but you will get used to them. The game's graphics are fantastic for the ps2 this is quite possibly one of the best looking ps2 games ever, the environments are beautiful and the character models and animations look fantastic, however sometimes In have seen the grass and trees become somewhat invisible and there is lip syching but that kind of makes sense as the characters are speaking a different language but the game is translating it for you. Voice acting is also fantastic and realistic. The voice actors are deep into their characters and this adds alot of emotion and drama to the entire story of the game. The music and songs are all excellent and suit the nature and environment of the game and certain situations. On top of that the opening and ending songs are quite possibly the best I have heard in any video game. The game is also really long around 15 hours and has alot of replay value. Subsistence unlike Snake Eater has alot of extras, first of for starters it has 2 discs, the first disc has the exact same game from snake eater but with a third person 3D camera angle and the cutscenes from the entire game and ti can take up to 4 hours to view them all, and the cutscenes are still so epic that it will be like you are watching an amazing movie. The second disc has all the extras, Snake vs Monkey returns from Snake Eater, along with that the game has the original Metal Gear games Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 with somewhat improved graphics and pace from their original version they are a great addition and allows the people who have never played the original Metal Gears to play them and enjoy them. Despite their age the games are still very fun. The second disc also has a mode which allows you to play the game's epic boss battles, and play them as many times as you can to get as much of a perfect score as possible. Than there is the online mode which is sadly not working anymore as the networks are just down that may be because the ps2 era is just near its end but no online doesn't bother me that much as the game still has enough content to keep me exited and entertained. Overall this game is a masterpiece anybody who is a fan of Metal Gear Solid or anyone who likes storytelling in games, likes stealth and tactical espionage games should get this game. Trust me it is worth every penny. 10/10. Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I'm a hardcore gamer, i've played HUNDREDS and hundreds of games, and metal gear solid 3 is on the top of my list. Everything about this game is amazing, from the characters, to the story, to the gameplay, which is nothing new for the series. If you think of yourself as a real, or more hardcore gamer, you definitely need to play this game, as its honestly one of the best i've ever played.
  10. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    For me The Greatest game ever, even including games from new consoles. That powerful story and gameplay in Snake Eater it is like something which could not be compared to another game.
  11. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Creative bosses, genuine 60s spy plot, and ingenious gameplay. The importance of the environment and your interaction with it (camouflage, caught/killed animals and plants as food, noise and sight detection by enemies, etc), along with an update to gameplay (via CQC and camera movement) and one of the best bosses in video game history, not only makes this game one of the best on PS2, but one of the most important. Expand
  12. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Amazing title for the series.
  13. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    To try to describe all the things I love about Metal Gear Solid 3 would not fit adequately in 5000 characters. I will instead describe with example. I have now played the game at least 15 times through, half of those without skipping cut-scenes (a MAJOR achievement). I got the HD collection, the original and the hd collection for vita. And I have finished it on Foxhound. Which truly reduced me to tears. And every time I see the credits I max the volume and salute the whole way through. If you haven't already on ps2, or 3ds, or ps3, or psvita, play it NOW. Expand
  14. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Um dos melhores jogos do PS2,uma das melhores histórias dos games,momentos fantásticos,Naked Snake um verdadeiro herói,não desiste nunca,grandes vilões e chefes igualmente,a floresta muito bem representada,lugar perfeito para se camuflar,poder matar animais,colher frutas para se alimentar é muito legal,mostra a luta pela sobrevivência em território,simplesmente fantástico esse jogo. Expand
  15. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    The absolute best Metal Gear game around. The Bosses are all awesome, the graphics are great, the music is intense, and the gameplay is solid (pun intended). The story of MGS3 is amazing, too. It perfectly depicts the back story of the entire Metal Gear series, leading you through the Cold War era in a believable and interesting way. Really, the only minor flaw with this game is the voice acting, which is excellent for the most part. However, some of the voices are, well, out of place (namely the Boss's voice, which is way too over dramatic at times). It's a must own game that no one should miss. It's quite possibly the best game on the PS2. Expand
  16. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    The already-fantastic origin story of the definitive stealth-action game series, smoothed out and perfected for the optimal PS2 gaming experience this time around. The second disc is an extra treat, including the original two MSX Metal Gear games (1987, 1990), Snake Vs. Monkey mode, the ever-funny Secret Theater, and (the now defunct) online mode to boot. This is a game more than worthy of your time and money. Expand
  17. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 became one of my favorite video games of all time as soon as I played it. This game is a truly unique experience that needs to be enjoyed by everyone. The graphics are so stellar that they look better than some current generation games. There were a few times I had to remind myself that I was playing a PS2 Game and not a 360 game. The story is very strong as well. It is impossible not to care about the characters in this game. The story alone made me want to play through this game to see what would happen next. However, what makes this game truly superb is the gameplay. The gameplay is one of the most polished and well executed experiences I have ever played. The controls feel good, and although there are a lot of options and things you can do, I never felt overwhelmed by the possibilities. The game also lets you decide how to play through it. Want to kill everything? You can do that. Want to sneak around and use stealth (which admittedly is the game's encouraged way)? You can do that too. Metal Gear Solid 3 leaves you with so many ways to get through obstacles. You can use others as human shields, scare them to give you helpful information, and hide their bodies if need be. Or you can go non lethal, opting instead for tranquilizers and distractions rather than lethal tactics. Overall, this is one of the best and most well made video games I have ever played. I simply cannot give this game anything less than a perfect score, due to the extremely smooth gameplay and the great story. Anyone who has not experienced this game, please do yourselves a favor and play this game. It is worth every minute. Expand
  18. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    My favorite game of all time. It has solid (no pun intended) gameplay, that few other games come close to today. The camouflage system still works well today. The eating system offers a nice twist. The boss battles are fantastic, the standouts being The End, The Sorrow, and The Boss. The story is among the best, with an extremely emotional ending. This game has to be played by everybody.
  19. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Incredible how kojima did this, this is the game that wanted an open world jungle with survival aspects, The plot is so deep, typical of Kojima, It has a free camera, face camo, the survival viewer, but the bosses while incredible they just happen you don't have a backstory, it has so many easter eggs, it is in a jungle, Snake eater the song, buy it.
  20. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This is a no doubter, the best damn Metal Gear game ever! everything the did wrong completely fixed it and made this masterpiece. There is NOTHING wrong with this game! amazing storyline, awesome graphics for the old gen consoles, and the best gameplay for the ps2 times. trust me, if you ever come up with this game, BUY IT! trust me it's worth it.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Improving on one of the best games ever couldn't have been an easy job, but Kojima Productions was able to do it. They packed this director's cut of "Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater", a thrilling and cinematic military stealth action game, so full of tweaks and extras, we wish our review scale went to 11. [Apr 2006, p.73]
  2. Subsistence's awe-inspiring single-player adventure outclasses every other stealth game in existence, including the previous MGS titles. It's the perfect blend of gripping narrative, nuanced gameplay, astonishing (nearly next-gen) graphics, and creative boss battles. [Apr. 2006, p.98]
  3. 98
    Subsistence goes a long way towards remedying the few problems of ["Snake Eater"] with a brand new camera system that literally rejuvenates the gameplay. The online mode adds a ton of replay value as well, and has dozens of options to keep you returning to blow away friends late into the night.