User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 433 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 433
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    This game is a very great game with excellent story with fun gameplay and plenty of intense moments. The original version (snake eater) wasn't super just because of the camera angle and that is why this is so much better. there is not much replay value to the game itself but subsistance comes with bonuses that ad to the game. unfortunately i can not review the bonus content because i gotThis game is a very great game with excellent story with fun gameplay and plenty of intense moments. The original version (snake eater) wasn't super just because of the camera angle and that is why this is so much better. there is not much replay value to the game itself but subsistance comes with bonuses that ad to the game. unfortunately i can not review the bonus content because i got the package that had the 1st 3 MGS games and it only came with disc 1. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Um dos melhores jogos do PS2,uma das melhores histórias dos games,momentos fantásticos,Naked Snake um verdadeiro herói,não desiste nunca,grandes vilões e chefes igualmente,a floresta muito bem representada,lugar perfeito para se camuflar,poder matar animais,colher frutas para se alimentar é muito legal,mostra(Translate from Portuguese into English)Um dos melhores jogos do PS2,uma das melhores histórias dos games,momentos fantásticos,Naked Snake um verdadeiro herói,não desiste nunca,grandes vilões e chefes igualmente,a floresta muito bem representada,lugar perfeito para se camuflar,poder matar animais,colher frutas para se alimentar é muito legal,mostra a luta pela sobrevivência em território,simplesmente fantástico esse jogo. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Creative bosses, genuine 60s spy plot, and ingenious gameplay. The importance of the environment and your interaction with it (camouflage, caught/killed animals and plants as food, noise and sight detection by enemies, etc), along with an update to gameplay (via CQC and camera movement) and one of the best bosses in video game history, not only makes this game one of the best on PS2, butCreative bosses, genuine 60s spy plot, and ingenious gameplay. The importance of the environment and your interaction with it (camouflage, caught/killed animals and plants as food, noise and sight detection by enemies, etc), along with an update to gameplay (via CQC and camera movement) and one of the best bosses in video game history, not only makes this game one of the best on PS2, but one of the most important. Expand
  4. AdamW.
    Jan 20, 2008
    7
    The controls are horrible. However the plot did strike a chord with me. The voice actors are also unwisely picked, not matching the characters too well. There weren't any cross hairs for aiming your guns. There's not too much replay value either except for secrets or harder difficulties. In the end it's definitely worth a rent at the very least.
  5. DavidL.
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Gaming euphoria.
  6. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    (10.0)
    Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence est le meilleur épisode de la saga Metal Gear. Il est le jeu parfait de par ses graphismes, sa musique ou encore de par son style !
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    For me The Greatest game ever, even including games from new consoles. That powerful story and gameplay in Snake Eater it is like something which could not be compared to another game.
  8. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Amazing title for the series.
  9. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    The already-fantastic origin story of the definitive stealth-action game series, smoothed out and perfected for the optimal PS2 gaming experience this time around. The second disc is an extra treat, including the original two MSX Metal Gear games (1987, 1990), Snake Vs. Monkey mode, the ever-funny Secret Theater, and (the now defunct) online mode to boot. This is a game more than worthy ofThe already-fantastic origin story of the definitive stealth-action game series, smoothed out and perfected for the optimal PS2 gaming experience this time around. The second disc is an extra treat, including the original two MSX Metal Gear games (1987, 1990), Snake Vs. Monkey mode, the ever-funny Secret Theater, and (the now defunct) online mode to boot. This is a game more than worthy of your time and money. Expand
  10. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 became one of my favorite video games of all time as soon as I played it. This game is a truly unique experience that needs to be enjoyed by everyone. The graphics are so stellar that they look better than some current generation games. There were a few times I had to remind myself that I was playing a PS2 Game and not a 360 game. The story is very strong as well.Metal Gear Solid 3 became one of my favorite video games of all time as soon as I played it. This game is a truly unique experience that needs to be enjoyed by everyone. The graphics are so stellar that they look better than some current generation games. There were a few times I had to remind myself that I was playing a PS2 Game and not a 360 game. The story is very strong as well. It is impossible not to care about the characters in this game. The story alone made me want to play through this game to see what would happen next. However, what makes this game truly superb is the gameplay. The gameplay is one of the most polished and well executed experiences I have ever played. The controls feel good, and although there are a lot of options and things you can do, I never felt overwhelmed by the possibilities. The game also lets you decide how to play through it. Want to kill everything? You can do that. Want to sneak around and use stealth (which admittedly is the game's encouraged way)? You can do that too. Metal Gear Solid 3 leaves you with so many ways to get through obstacles. You can use others as human shields, scare them to give you helpful information, and hide their bodies if need be. Or you can go non lethal, opting instead for tranquilizers and distractions rather than lethal tactics. Overall, this is one of the best and most well made video games I have ever played. I simply cannot give this game anything less than a perfect score, due to the extremely smooth gameplay and the great story. Anyone who has not experienced this game, please do yourselves a favor and play this game. It is worth every minute. Expand
  11. JohnnyS.
    Apr 18, 2006
    5
    I was very disappointed with the online play. It doesn
  12. E.L.
    Apr 17, 2006
    4
    While this game has the BEST story and game play I've played in years, the fact that it also has the WORST control system prevents me give it a score more than 4. I find it most annoying and frustrating when switching constantly between the first person and third person view. And some times the camera views get "auto-switched" when I don't even intent to. You can only move While this game has the BEST story and game play I've played in years, the fact that it also has the WORST control system prevents me give it a score more than 4. I find it most annoying and frustrating when switching constantly between the first person and third person view. And some times the camera views get "auto-switched" when I don't even intent to. You can only move around when you are in the third person view, but then you can't see what (or who) is ahead of you. Yes, you can switch to the first person view, but then you can't move in this view, only to look around. It's most frustrating and annoying to walk a few steps, then stop, then change camera view to first person, to look around, then change the view back to third person, then walk another few steps, then repeat the whole process again. Expand
  13. Chris
    Aug 5, 2006
    5
    Man these game would be great if only for one thing --- the controls, which are absolutely horrible. The 3rd person perspective may be ok for 1st player but it is absolutely frustrating for online play (which is the reason I got the game). You can't see in front of you unless you press the r1 button, but even then you have to press the square button(lightly) to see what your gun, Man these game would be great if only for one thing --- the controls, which are absolutely horrible. The 3rd person perspective may be ok for 1st player but it is absolutely frustrating for online play (which is the reason I got the game). You can't see in front of you unless you press the r1 button, but even then you have to press the square button(lightly) to see what your gun, then you have to press the r1 button to cradle to your shoulder so you actually see what your aiming at, then you have to manevur your aim with the left analog stick..its rather difficult and annoying, plus if you press the fire button(square) too hard it will fire and give away your position before you get your aim your target. Another thing is you have to adjust the camera angle everytime you climb something, go around a corner, ect. Omg and did i forget...theres no crosshairs, these is especially fucked pup when you want to throw a grenade but don't know where your throwing it, or when you see someone while in 3rd person view and want to shoot them but you can't tell if your aiming at him so you have to go into 1st person and hope he dosen't turn away or just run away while your concentrating on holding down the l1 and r1 button and pressing the square button lightly and adjust it with the analog stick....omg god give me good controls. It would have helped tremendously if you could just have crosshairs and be able to choose between 3rd, 1st, or 2nd person view mode. Expand
  14. Zippy
    Mar 15, 2006
    4
    Good game, finished it quickly. No replay value at all. P2 needs a stable online system, then it could have scored a 10.
  15. DylanT.
    Apr 23, 2006
    1
    I thought the game was a rip off the other metal gear solid games.
  16. JesusC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    6
    I couldn't stand the setting, the characters, the FPS lag, or the storyline--which didn't have quite the flair of MGS2. It's better off as a rent. You'll beat it once and never go back again (I didn't).
  17. NicholasR.
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    Controls are crap, Visuals look like a ps2 launch title, and the story is a cut-rate spy movie knock-off. I lent this game to three different people who all agree that this is the worst game ever. I have played sudoku on gba and it's still better this game.
  18. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    This game...I really don't know what else to say but wow.EPIC! Graphics are really good,maybe blurry but ok I really enjoyed the story and this game is EMOTIONAL 0-100!!! This game teaches all the bad things about war and history of wars on this planet.I am really speechless when I take a look at this game or play it.Ladies and gentleman,one of the greatest games of all time,Metal GearThis game...I really don't know what else to say but wow.EPIC! Graphics are really good,maybe blurry but ok I really enjoyed the story and this game is EMOTIONAL 0-100!!! This game teaches all the bad things about war and history of wars on this planet.I am really speechless when I take a look at this game or play it.Ladies and gentleman,one of the greatest games of all time,Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence! Expand
  19. Plamen
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Awesome game!
  20. KristmundurS.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    The best re-release of a Metal Gear Solid game. The new camera angle is a blessing although some boss battles do good without it. The Online Mode is great port of the Metal Gear Solid gameplay along with the hilarious extras i.e.: cardboard box and porno books! The original MSX games are great and are fun play for those who want to see the origin of Solid Snake's adventures. The The best re-release of a Metal Gear Solid game. The new camera angle is a blessing although some boss battles do good without it. The Online Mode is great port of the Metal Gear Solid gameplay along with the hilarious extras i.e.: cardboard box and porno books! The original MSX games are great and are fun play for those who want to see the origin of Solid Snake's adventures. The Secret Theater is just drop-dead funny, especially: Metal Gear Raiden: Snake Eraser, Metal Gear S... and He's Still Got It. Duel Mode and the Snake vs. Monkey don't offer Europeans anything new except a new camera angle and the Demo Theater fails by giving you all the cutscenes of the game simply by making a save file. The Existence Disc is all right but many things could've been changed and the narration is just useless, but if you haven't been able to finish the game then it's good opportunity to see the full story. There are some control and lag issues online but since it's test version of the real MGO which is supposed to be on MGS4 fans should easily look past it and enjoy the sillyness. It's my favorite game of the series(way better than Snake Eater as whole). Expand
  21. Beagrie
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    The game is amazing, packed with extras and bonus missions, the ame has reached a new high, all the metal gear solid games are top notch and deserve respect!
  22. RobertoL.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    MGS is the ultimate videogame that everyone can enjoy. With varying difficulties, gorgeous graphics and one of the best videogame stories ever, this game is a must have for everyone with a pulse.
  23. KromsSomething
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever made; the story melds perfectly with the gameplay. Metal Gear Solid 3 is one game you'll enter as one person and leave as another. All the satisfaction you'll ever need.
  24. Bryce
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    I personally cant see what people are whinging about with the controls, i thought they were fine. the story was great but since i havent play the previous ones im not totally sure about some things. graphics were amazing and the difficulty feel at the right place for all difficulties and even with exert causing you to lose once seen i didnt get frustrated once, i feel thats a sign of a I personally cant see what people are whinging about with the controls, i thought they were fine. the story was great but since i havent play the previous ones im not totally sure about some things. graphics were amazing and the difficulty feel at the right place for all difficulties and even with exert causing you to lose once seen i didnt get frustrated once, i feel thats a sign of a fantastic game. Expand
  25. MUIZZI
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    EXCELLENTE!
  26. AndyG.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    even if you don't play many games or you aren't that big a metal gear fan, there's simply no reason not to own this. awesome game to begin with, endless bonus features, online mode, and at $30? please. if you don't buy this, then sell your ps2.
  27. MartinM.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    I strongly disagree with Zippy. This game has almost unlimited replay value due to the online. The PS2 online system is stable (no trouble online with this game), what I think you want is a unififed system (XBox).
  28. StickymanM.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    The Metal Gear series just keeps getting better and better. Even the cheats and extras you don't bother with are far and above anything else out there. I can't get enouth Metal Gear.
  29. JoshJ.
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    I'm a Metal Gear fan that has remained loyal to the series for several years. I will say that Subsistence overall is an improvement over Snake Eater. However, I will not jump on the band-wagon that acclaims the game to be "fricken amazing." The game is mainly amazing because of the previously released SE story and because of Metal Gear Online. There are several things with I'm a Metal Gear fan that has remained loyal to the series for several years. I will say that Subsistence overall is an improvement over Snake Eater. However, I will not jump on the band-wagon that acclaims the game to be "fricken amazing." The game is mainly amazing because of the previously released SE story and because of Metal Gear Online. There are several things with Subsistence that I'm not satisfied with. The manual that comes with the game is skimpy (about 13 pages long). While playing Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake, important information is said to be in this skimpy manual - which is a lie. Several secret theaters on Disc 2: Persistence are poorly done (the graphics look crappy when being compared to the gameplay of SE). The same thing can go for the much anticipated Disc 3: Existence. I have the Limited Edition of this game and will say I am extremely dissapointed with Disc 3 - so much so that I barely touch it and will say that it was a waste of $10. The box to the LE (in the US) is opened through the top - as opposed to the open-sided box that the Japanese people received. I'll leave you with the pros of this game. The SE story is much more enjoyable (that is if you didn't play your eyeballs out with the SE version) with the 3D camera. The SE story is also improved a little bit through the now available bonus camos and face paints. The MG and MG2: Solid Snake games are also really cool. MGO, although I haven't tried it yet, appears to be one of the more successful parts of this game (most definitely a major reason as to why people are buying this game in America). If you want this game... expect a balanced amount of pros and cons. If you would rather hang onto your SE copy, then you're not losing out on too much. At about this point in the video gaming industry, I think almost everyone is starting to become annoyed with Metal Gear remakes. I leave you to decide for yourselves. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#31 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Improving on one of the best games ever couldn't have been an easy job, but Kojima Productions was able to do it. They packed this director's cut of "Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater", a thrilling and cinematic military stealth action game, so full of tweaks and extras, we wish our review scale went to 11. [Apr 2006, p.73]
  2. Subsistence's awe-inspiring single-player adventure outclasses every other stealth game in existence, including the previous MGS titles. It's the perfect blend of gripping narrative, nuanced gameplay, astonishing (nearly next-gen) graphics, and creative boss battles. [Apr. 2006, p.98]
  3. 98
    Subsistence goes a long way towards remedying the few problems of ["Snake Eater"] with a brand new camera system that literally rejuvenates the gameplay. The online mode adds a ton of replay value as well, and has dozens of options to keep you returning to blow away friends late into the night.