Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 431 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear goes online for the first time in Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence! Players can battle or team up with up to 7 other friends for online dominance. Featuring different gameplay modes, new camera system, and robust online play, Subsistence is the game that gives players a brand newMetal Gear goes online for the first time in Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence! Players can battle or team up with up to 7 other friends for online dominance. Featuring different gameplay modes, new camera system, and robust online play, Subsistence is the game that gives players a brand new Metal Gear experience. Includes MGS3 Snake Eater and all new Online Modes, including Death Match, Team Death Match, Sneaking Mission, Capture Mission, and Rescue Mission. Third Person Camera system gives players more control. Bonus Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 Solid Snake games which have never been released before in the North America. Demo Theater, Duel Mode, and new stages for Snake vs. Monkey mini-game. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. AceGamez
    100
    Metal Gear Online? On the PS2? Surely it's crap! I admit, I didn't think it could be pulled off very well... but I'll happily eat my words, because it's bloody brilliant.
  2. This is the best offering of gameplay, extras and multiplayer that has come out in some time.
  3. PSM Magazine
    100
    Improving on one of the best games ever couldn't have been an easy job, but Kojima Productions was able to do it. They packed this director's cut of "Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater", a thrilling and cinematic military stealth action game, so full of tweaks and extras, we wish our review scale went to 11. [Apr 2006, p.73]
  4. Play Magazine
    95
    The amount of content spread across these three discs is truly staggering, and Persistence is a quick, pick-up-and-play online experience that offers tremendous variety. [Apr 2006, p.52]
  5. Even if this is your second, third, fourth, or even your fifth time playing the game, the new camera angle adds a lot of freshness to the single player campaign. Not just that, but the online multiplayer is really amazing and it is clearly one of the best the PS2 has yet to get on the service.
  6. With some of the highest production values seen in any game and more extras than you can shake a silenced tranquilizer gun at (all of which are on top of an amazing and improved single player game) result in a title that is easy to recommend and enjoy.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    With this new online mode, it's much easier to admit that you like Metal Gear Solid 3. [July 2006, p.93]

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 74
  2. Negative: 4 out of 74
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Um dos melhores jogos do PS2,uma das melhores histórias dos games,momentos(Translate from Portuguese into English)Um dos melhores jogos do PS2,uma das melhores histórias dos games,momentos fantásticos,Naked Snake um verdadeiro herói,não desiste nunca,grandes vilões e chefes igualmente,a floresta muito bem representada,lugar perfeito para se camuflar,poder matar animais,colher frutas para se alimentar é muito legal,mostra a luta pela sobrevivência em território,simplesmente fantástico esse jogo. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    This game...I really don't know what else to say but wow.EPIC! Graphics are really good,maybe blurry but ok I really enjoyed the story andThis game...I really don't know what else to say but wow.EPIC! Graphics are really good,maybe blurry but ok I really enjoyed the story and this game is EMOTIONAL 0-100!!! This game teaches all the bad things about war and history of wars on this planet.I am really speechless when I take a look at this game or play it.Ladies and gentleman,one of the greatest games of all time,Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence! Expand
  3. StickymanM.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    The Metal Gear series just keeps getting better and better. Even the cheats and extras you don't bother with are far and above anything The Metal Gear series just keeps getting better and better. Even the cheats and extras you don't bother with are far and above anything else out there. I can't get enouth Metal Gear. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2016
    10
    This game is fantastic. There's just no stopping it. Easily one of my favourite games of all time. Before Ocarina of Time fans come yelling atThis game is fantastic. There's just no stopping it. Easily one of my favourite games of all time. Before Ocarina of Time fans come yelling at me, yes, I have played it. I've beaten the 3DS remaster. This game trumps OoT.

    First off, let me just say how awestruck I was when I played this game to find these visuals on my PS2. It was incredible; lush foliage, beautiful character models and really nice post processing effects that really enhanced the lighting and other effects.

    For gameplay, I've always been a fan of stealth games but Splinter Cell aside, I hadn't really played any. Subsistence was my first dive into the Metal Gear series, and I don't regret it. The controls are clunky at first and a bit unorthodox, yes, but you get used to them fairly quickly, although I will admit the button sensitive interrogations/CQC gets annoying at times.

    Again, a fantastic game. The characters are engaging and the story is gripping, and I was blown away at how well written the game was. At the final scene (no spoilers here), I waited ages until I finally "finished it off" (people who finished the game will know what I mean). I'm playing this game in 2016 and I think it looks great; that is a true testament to how well this has aged. My only complaint with the game is that it felt like it was all over too quickly, and that's more of a compliment than anything. Phenomenal experience, would recommend any day.
    Expand
  5. AbrahamA.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    With the 3D camera, this game is almost perfect.
  6. May 22, 2016
    9
    Las historias a veces son mejores al hacerlas cortas pero entendibles. Esta entrega toca bastante sin hacer demasiado en poco tiempo pero loLas historias a veces son mejores al hacerlas cortas pero entendibles. Esta entrega toca bastante sin hacer demasiado en poco tiempo pero lo logra al pasar el tiempo. La simpleza es un arte que no se ve muy seguido.
    Aunque se vea una porción diminuta de ella afecta el resultado de buena o mala manera. Esta es la buena.
    Y no me explayaré demasiado, sólo diré que la recordarán como una sonrisa cuando dejen de jugarlo a pesar de sus fallos.
    Expand
  7. NicholasR.
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    Controls are crap, Visuals look like a ps2 launch title, and the story is a cut-rate spy movie knock-off. I lent this game to three different Controls are crap, Visuals look like a ps2 launch title, and the story is a cut-rate spy movie knock-off. I lent this game to three different people who all agree that this is the worst game ever. I have played sudoku on gba and it's still better this game. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#30 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006