Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 486 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear goes online for the first time in Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence! Players can battle or team up with up to 7 other friends for online dominance. Featuring different gameplay modes, new camera system, and robust online play, Subsistence is the game that gives players a brand newMetal Gear goes online for the first time in Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence! Players can battle or team up with up to 7 other friends for online dominance. Featuring different gameplay modes, new camera system, and robust online play, Subsistence is the game that gives players a brand new Metal Gear experience. Includes MGS3 Snake Eater and all new Online Modes, including Death Match, Team Death Match, Sneaking Mission, Capture Mission, and Rescue Mission. Third Person Camera system gives players more control. Bonus Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 Solid Snake games which have never been released before in the North America. Demo Theater, Duel Mode, and new stages for Snake vs. Monkey mini-game. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. AceGamez
    100
    Metal Gear Online? On the PS2? Surely it's crap! I admit, I didn't think it could be pulled off very well... but I'll happily eat my words, because it's bloody brilliant.
  2. This is the best offering of gameplay, extras and multiplayer that has come out in some time.
  3. PSM Magazine
    100
    Improving on one of the best games ever couldn't have been an easy job, but Kojima Productions was able to do it. They packed this director's cut of "Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater", a thrilling and cinematic military stealth action game, so full of tweaks and extras, we wish our review scale went to 11. [Apr 2006, p.73]
  4. Play Magazine
    95
    The amount of content spread across these three discs is truly staggering, and Persistence is a quick, pick-up-and-play online experience that offers tremendous variety. [Apr 2006, p.52]
  5. Even if this is your second, third, fourth, or even your fifth time playing the game, the new camera angle adds a lot of freshness to the single player campaign. Not just that, but the online multiplayer is really amazing and it is clearly one of the best the PS2 has yet to get on the service.
  6. With some of the highest production values seen in any game and more extras than you can shake a silenced tranquilizer gun at (all of which are on top of an amazing and improved single player game) result in a title that is easy to recommend and enjoy.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    With this new online mode, it's much easier to admit that you like Metal Gear Solid 3. [July 2006, p.93]

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 4 out of 81
  1. Plamen
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Awesome game!
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Um dos melhores jogos do PS2,uma das melhores histórias dos games,momentos(Translate from Portuguese into English)Um dos melhores jogos do PS2,uma das melhores histórias dos games,momentos fantásticos,Naked Snake um verdadeiro herói,não desiste nunca,grandes vilões e chefes igualmente,a floresta muito bem representada,lugar perfeito para se camuflar,poder matar animais,colher frutas para se alimentar é muito legal,mostra a luta pela sobrevivência em território,simplesmente fantástico esse jogo. Expand
  3. Beagrie
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    The game is amazing, packed with extras and bonus missions, the ame has reached a new high, all the metal gear solid games are top notch and The game is amazing, packed with extras and bonus missions, the ame has reached a new high, all the metal gear solid games are top notch and deserve respect! Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    Anybody who says a perfect game doesn't exist obviously hasn't played Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence. This game is one of the best stealthAnybody who says a perfect game doesn't exist obviously hasn't played Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence. This game is one of the best stealth games ever made. Along with one of the best games ever made. The story of Virtuous Mission and Operation: Snake Eater will keep you at the edge of your seat until the very end. The ending of Metal Gear Solid 3 is very satisfying and leaves you begging for more. The boss fights are difficult, fun and exciting. There wasn't a bland section of this game.

    This game is perfect.
    Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2017
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is one of the greatest games in the action genre. Why?!

    What truly makes this the greatest game out of the Metal Gear
    Metal Gear Solid 3 is one of the greatest games in the action genre. Why?!

    What truly makes this the greatest game out of the Metal Gear Solid series?

    Here is a list.
    -Intriguing plot about spys, superpowers and saving the world
    -A perfected action/stealth combat system that encourages reconnaissance or blind aggression.
    -Lots of gadgets, firepower and multiple ways to use those items
    -Cool ways to hide and blend into buildings and the environment.
    -Cool and crazy characters that are interesting or disturbing, which gives the game a James Bond kind of feel.
    -Lots of entertaining moments, cool cutscenes and dialogue.
    -Snake is just badass
    -But can be a dork sometimes
    -Environments are lush and full of life
    -Boss fights are challenging and will test skills in so many ways.

    Sure, some of these apply to other entries, MGS3 does it PERFECTLY and will have you hooked.

    If you are new to the series, you can start with MGS1 or THIS, aren't any direct references or spoilers to the first entry in the Metal Gear Solid series, as this is a PREQUEL.

    A must play, without question. MGS3 does have a bit of a learning curve for novices, but after you've learned the ropes, you're good.
    Expand
  6. Bryce
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    I personally cant see what people are whinging about with the controls, i thought they were fine. the story was great but since i havent play I personally cant see what people are whinging about with the controls, i thought they were fine. the story was great but since i havent play the previous ones im not totally sure about some things. graphics were amazing and the difficulty feel at the right place for all difficulties and even with exert causing you to lose once seen i didnt get frustrated once, i feel thats a sign of a fantastic game. Expand
  7. NicholasR.
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    Controls are crap, Visuals look like a ps2 launch title, and the story is a cut-rate spy movie knock-off. I lent this game to three different Controls are crap, Visuals look like a ps2 launch title, and the story is a cut-rate spy movie knock-off. I lent this game to three different people who all agree that this is the worst game ever. I have played sudoku on gba and it's still better this game. Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

1
4
#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
33
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006