Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The series that took racing from tracks to the open urban streets is back, and the stakes are even higher. Midnight Club 3: Dub Edition delivers insanely fast, open city racing in Atlanta, San Diego, and Detroit, complete with 8-player online competition and the most comprehensive vehicleThe series that took racing from tracks to the open urban streets is back, and the stakes are even higher. Midnight Club 3: Dub Edition delivers insanely fast, open city racing in Atlanta, San Diego, and Detroit, complete with 8-player online competition and the most comprehensive vehicle customization ever seen in a video game. Drive the hottest licensed real life SUVs, import tuners, muscle cars, choppers and luxury rides, and trick them out with the latest rims, trims, and upgrades just like in the pages of DUB. Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition has more speed, more choices, and more chrome than any game has ever packed under the hood. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. AceGamez
    100
    A perfect blend of arcade style action, mixing the best of Midnight Club 2, Midtown Madness, Need for Speed Underground and Burnout 3. With a combination like that, you really can't go wrong.
  2. Officially the king of the street racer gaming scene. No other title out there delivers this much speed, customization, or outright fun at all.
  3. In MC3 everything is real big. Customisation real big, vehicles real big, racing real big, online real big, adrenaline real big.
  4. DUB redlines on the gorgeous meter. Everything blurs and tunnels to help convey a giddy feeling of speed—and then you hit the nitrous.
  5. Play Magazine
    85
    You've got blinding speed, and more than enough distinct cars to tinker with to push that insane speed even harder. [June 2005, p.57]
  6. Tuners can go crazy creating a fully customized garage, and pure race fans can get off on the sense of speed.
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    There’s no question that DUB Edition can be pleasurable, especially in the multiplayer games, but the Career mode too often feels like graft. There are tournaments, one-off street races and ‘special’ events, but each individual race feels much the same as the last. [June 2005, p.92]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. [Anonymous]
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Absolutely amazing, the car customization options are ridiculus and you'll be playing for months on end. A treat and alot better thanAbsolutely amazing, the car customization options are ridiculus and you'll be playing for months on end. A treat and alot better than (cough nfsu 2) many other games of its kind. Expand
  2. Afterbirth
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    An absolute hoot of a game. Forget the NFS:U series - this is PS2 gaming at its best. 3 Huge cities, masses of cars and even more An absolute hoot of a game. Forget the NFS:U series - this is PS2 gaming at its best. 3 Huge cities, masses of cars and even more customisation options. If you love arcade racing - then this is the pinacle. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    What an incredibly fun game this still is. I have completed 100% of mc3de. I have remix as well,. This game was the best street racing gameWhat an incredibly fun game this still is. I have completed 100% of mc3de. I have remix as well,. This game was the best street racing game money could buy back in the day. Even better than nfs underground. The cars look amazing. The graphics were top notch for ps2 hardware. The soundtrack was catchy and fit perfectly with the atmosphere of the street racing seen. I'm keeping my ps2 for as long as possible. This will be a game that i will still play in the future again. Its almost a decade old too. Love it! Expand
  4. RebeccaM.
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Better Graphics, Better Music. Definitely 100% better than Need For Speed 2. You have more car selection, and you actually personalize it to Better Graphics, Better Music. Definitely 100% better than Need For Speed 2. You have more car selection, and you actually personalize it to your standards and not the games. If you thought Need For Speed was an addictive game. . . You've seen nothing yet! This is awesome! Expand
  5. LukeS
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Brilliant game, endless customisation and open-ended career. I love it because atleat it doesn't pretend to be a simulator like NFSU & Brilliant game, endless customisation and open-ended career. I love it because atleat it doesn't pretend to be a simulator like NFSU & NFSMW. I don't understand how they can call them that. Expand
  6. May 9, 2014
    10
    what to say? more than amazing
    very marked my childhood
    ........................ ...........................
    what to say? more than amazing
    very marked my childhood
    ........................
    ...........................
    .......................................
    Expand
  7. JasonM.
    May 7, 2005
    3
    grainy graphics, arduous and repeditive gameplay, make this game a giant waste of time and money...but mostly time...no money...no time...

See all 29 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#67 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005