• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2003
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. I actually enjoyed the time I spent playing MLB, but the problems I encountered with hitting and at times the poor CPU base running AI began to take some of the fun out of it.
  2. The lack of sound, suspension of the rules of baseball (and at times, physics in the case of wildly curving balls) and control scheme limit the promise that this game shows.
  3. I am anxious to see next year's version. 989 Sports in general is becoming more respectable - I don't know if they got new designers or more budget or what, but the quality of product is looking up.
  4. Despite the many low points in the graphics and control department, this is still a pretty entertaining game that will, hopefully, show its true potential next year.
  5. While this is a considerable improvement for Sony's PS2 sports games, it still isn't in the same league as the best in baseball. [Apr 2003, p.42]
  6. Isn't the most authentic or the most extravagant baseball game available, but it does fill a niche for casual fans who just want to dive in and play a quick game of hardball.
  7. 70
    As with other 989 games like "NHL FaceOff," be prepared for a blinding, almost overcaffeinated pace as pitches rip by at a murderously fast clip.
  8. It is a bit more accessible to casual gamers who may want to give the game a look if they find that the realism of other games makes playing them too difficult or involved.
  9. 66
    A game that would have been considered mediocre by last year's standards. This year, with every other title cranking it up a notch, MLB 2004 is left in the dust.
  10. The game's pace is dreadfully slow. [Apr 2003, p.84]
  11. The competition this year is far too talented and the upper tier of baseball games on the PS2 this year relegates MLB 2004 to a last-place finish.
  12. It feels like a port of the series rather than a whole new engine.
  13. There's reason to play it over the other, better baseball games this season: Spring Training Mode... Besides that very cool option, MLB 2004 is average in every way. [Apr 2003, p.95]
  14. Even though the game is not as pretty as "MVP" or "2K3," MLB 2004 shows great promise for next year. [Apr 2003, p.71]
  15. Feels like a title that launched with the PS2, not a second-generation title.
  16. But what made me put down the Dualshock in frustration is control... Base running is the primary offender... It's just too confusing and counterintuitive, especially if you're brave enough to try returning to bases.
  17. 49
    When six baseball games compete on the same system in the same season, and you're the worst of those six games, it's time to hang up the cleats.
  18. Loaded with gameplay bugs and substandard graphics and audio, there are plenty of better options available.
  19. After the last ridiculously fast pitch is thrown and the last batter has grounded out, 989's MLB 2004 is probably the most flawed baseball game available for a modern system.
  20. Misses on just about every cylinder. [May 2003, p.71]
  21. 40
    A prime example of a cellar dweller that should simply pack it in before it embarrasses itself. Like the Kansas City Royals, MLB is doomed before the season even begins.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. CraigS.
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    With all players from the 2003 season, this will really trouble MVP Baseball 2003 and All-Star Baseball 2004 featuring Derek Jeter as the Number 1 baseball game. Full Review »
  2. CarlosP.
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    I've played all the previous years of MLB and this is bad, in not good. Game play is nice BUT, the ball falling into gloves like magnets, no players or coaches in dugout, pitchers still pitching 92-96 in the ninth, trying to throw someone out at 3rd and the ball stops in mid-air. I've been a fan for years but this year, I better try World Series 2K3. Full Review »
  3. AndrewG.
    May 24, 2003
    9
    This game was very alien to me at first, because I was so accustomed to EA Sports' Triple Play Baseball. However, EA stopped making their baseball games, so I gave MLB 2004 a try. I was pleasantly surprised. The gameplay is completely different, but that was nice. I really enjoy playing this game, and the new features are great. I recommend this one for either the casual gamer or the die-hard baseball gamer! Full Review »