User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JakeM.
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    This is a beastly game. Never before have i played that good of a game. Gundam wing was the bomb. Every other series was awesome. I wish that bandai could make more to wing ,but sometimes wishes can't come true. But believe.
  2. DanielM.
    Mar 3, 2007
    8
    Pretty good. I was simply impressed by the fact that a Gundam game (FINALLY!!) get's out of the One Year War for at least some of it's storylines. Honestly, the One Year War is as much of a beaten, dead horse as World War II. The graphics are excellent, and the game fully captures the fast paced dogfighting aspect of Gundam, but the controls are hard to get used to, and the game Pretty good. I was simply impressed by the fact that a Gundam game (FINALLY!!) get's out of the One Year War for at least some of it's storylines. Honestly, the One Year War is as much of a beaten, dead horse as World War II. The graphics are excellent, and the game fully captures the fast paced dogfighting aspect of Gundam, but the controls are hard to get used to, and the game is overall quite difficult. If you're a gundam fan, you'll love it. If you're not a Gundam fan, I don't see why you're even looking this game up. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    No comments but this game rocks!!!!!!!!!
  4. MikeP.
    Jan 3, 2004
    9
    This is a pretty good game. I like the mobile suits, the modes of play are good, and the anime sequences are cool too. But I have a few problems. The first one is the gameplay. The lock on system wasn't all I had hoped for, and it was hard to use. The main problem with it was that the main targhets were hard to lock on to, especially targets that you needed to kill quickly (Anavel This is a pretty good game. I like the mobile suits, the modes of play are good, and the anime sequences are cool too. But I have a few problems. The first one is the gameplay. The lock on system wasn't all I had hoped for, and it was hard to use. The main problem with it was that the main targhets were hard to lock on to, especially targets that you needed to kill quickly (Anavel Gato ace pilot mode >:{) I often found myself killed by mobile suits that I didn't knew were there. But maybe that was a little bit of incompetence n my skills too. Also, some levels are just too hard, especially, when you need to get an A or S rank to get mobile suits. Also the rating system is really weird. I get an S when I get hit 10 times a minute, but a D when i leave battle unscathed. I don't get it. Lastly, I request more Zeta, Char's Coutnerattack, Wing, Seed, and G gundam suits. I was disappionted when I figured out there are only 6 alternate universe suits, and only 1 0080 gundam (NT1). However, I liked this game a lot. But, I can see how you have to have a knowledge and moderate fondness for Gundam to truly enjoy Gundam Encounters in space (Official U.S. Playstation Magazine >:o ). Expand
  5. RayB.
    Jan 1, 2004
    9
    This game is great because it has Gundams from many of the shows and my favorite Gundam Wing Zero.The only problom is there's only space combat pretty much.
  6. SeanN.
    Dec 27, 2003
    10
    This is definately the greatest Gundam game out there! The controls are pretty good. All the people bagging this as being horrible for it being too hard you must not be very good. The magazines are saying it is ridiculously easy and you're complaining about hard. Anyway, had to put them down. Great Game great gameplay, great mecha, if you like gundam, you'll love how this picks This is definately the greatest Gundam game out there! The controls are pretty good. All the people bagging this as being horrible for it being too hard you must not be very good. The magazines are saying it is ridiculously easy and you're complaining about hard. Anyway, had to put them down. Great Game great gameplay, great mecha, if you like gundam, you'll love how this picks up on gameplay after Journey to Jaburo. Expand
  7. KikoT.
    Dec 27, 2003
    6
    I love the Gundam series to death, but this game just doesn't do it justice. Sure, the anime sequences and mobile suits you can pilot here are quite awesome, (Though I thought they could have put more emphasis on series OTHER than 0079 and 0083) but the gameplay is less than impressive. My least favorite thing is the horrid lock-on system, which is SUPPOSED to first lock on the I love the Gundam series to death, but this game just doesn't do it justice. Sure, the anime sequences and mobile suits you can pilot here are quite awesome, (Though I thought they could have put more emphasis on series OTHER than 0079 and 0083) but the gameplay is less than impressive. My least favorite thing is the horrid lock-on system, which is SUPPOSED to first lock on the target closest to you, and then each successive target according to distance. However, I find myself getting hit with a beam sword if I rely on that. Locking on to essential targets, i.e. cruisers that have to be destroyed before leaving the target area to complete the mission, should be a whole hell of a lot easier and given priority (Since it IS for mission completion). The control scheme is difficult to get used to, and you can not make custom adjustments to remedy this; there are 3 control schemes, and you like 'em or lump 'em, pretty much. The two modes of combat are inside of sphere and free course going straight. The second is my favorite, as it somewhat resembles games like StarFox. If only the gameplay were better...giving one all of these great options and ruining it by making combat confusing and unnecessarily difficult makes for a CRYIN' SHAME! Maybe next time... Expand
  8. MichaelC.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    I liked this game!! buy it!!
  9. JohnJay
    Dec 26, 2003
    1
    I didn't like this game because it was to this game because it was to hard and i needed to buy myself a code breaker. This is the worst game ever. People! If you have a code breaker, you should probably buy it. If you don't, dont waste your time on finding this item. I like gundam, but I didnt like this game. I think that Federation Vs. Zeon was better. Get that game if you dont I didn't like this game because it was to this game because it was to hard and i needed to buy myself a code breaker. This is the worst game ever. People! If you have a code breaker, you should probably buy it. If you don't, dont waste your time on finding this item. I like gundam, but I didnt like this game. I think that Federation Vs. Zeon was better. Get that game if you dont have it instead of this. Expand
  10. ChrisG.
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    This game was awsome i think it was better than the other although Federation Vs. Zeon was cool too, and too all those critticts, fuck you, you are just old people who wouldent know a good game if it hit you in the face and to Phoenix H. fuck you too, you need to get a clue or start hanging out with the critticts or something, and i am a gundam fan and of the gundam games so fuck you.
  11. MattJ.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Though i love Federation VS Zeon, this one is just that much better, i mean c'mon, play as the Fullburn, how much better can you get (besides play as the RX-78-2 or the RX-79 [G]) i dont like how bitchy these critics are, theyre just gundam haters, kill'em all. i love this game, and thats all there is to it
  12. ZeroM.
    Dec 22, 2003
    9
    Controls are easy to get a hold of and the battle system is bang on, the only problem i have with this game is the rating system is really inconsistent. You get an S for just beating one level, but a D on another even though you beat it in 20 seconds with all your health. otherwise the best gundam game yet.
  13. TylerM.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    A very solid game, i really enjoyed it. The animation clips were great, the graphics incredible, the sound classic and the controls solid. I have yet to see why the magizines have been bagging on it so much, yet as a fan of the series i suppose my opinion is rather biased. With that aside i suggest that buyers ignore the magizines and buy this game.
  14. AlexK.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    I bought the game the moment i saw it on screen. Even though most Gundam titles are a bit mediocre this one is in a class of itself.Though not as thrilling as ZOE 2,this title is a must for all mechamaniacs. Absolutely great!
  15. Ahya
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game ever!!!!!! No more comment than that it should have Nu-Gundam =D
  16. RobT.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    Great just great i mite bein biased to people who dont like games like this i found it better than zone of enders which was a bit shit but i recon it would be better if they brought it out on xbox as i own a xbox now i had to sell the console and games and it mite be easier to control on the xbox
  17. JasonB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    I love Gundam and I would have expected nothing more form this game it was marvelous the graphics were beautiful.
  18. LEONARDOG.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    This is the best game I ever played!!! I myself am a fan of Gundam and their games. I would give the game a 10.5. Well, that's my opinion.
  19. PhoenixH.
    Dec 15, 2003
    3
    A horrible disappointment of a game; perhaps I was unfairly biased by playing AEUG vs Titans, with its magnificent play control and adjustable difficulty scale, but Encounters in Space is just painfully bad. As other reviewers have mentioned, the dub voices are abysmal and totally inappropriate. The controls are unresponsive and not at all intuitive, and the missions seem either mindless A horrible disappointment of a game; perhaps I was unfairly biased by playing AEUG vs Titans, with its magnificent play control and adjustable difficulty scale, but Encounters in Space is just painfully bad. As other reviewers have mentioned, the dub voices are abysmal and totally inappropriate. The controls are unresponsive and not at all intuitive, and the missions seem either mindless or impossible, with no space in between. The 'targeting system' doesn't even succeed in keeping you locked on a target and letting you move around, but instead it breaks targeting at the slightest provocation as your mobile suit zips wildly around the confusing and bizarre battlefield, which for some reason has been covered with spherical lines and marks. Furthermore, unlike the superior AEUG vs Titans, your 'allies' give you little support and in fact often prove to be your undoing as they fly off randomly into space and do nothing useful, leaving you to be blasted into space dust by your foes, who all simultaneously converge on your spot. Couple this with the 'helpful' bridge crew screaming at you every time you or they get hit, and you have one of the most deeply unfulfilling games ever created for any system, but certainly one of the worst in the prolific line of Gundam games. This is one to avoid unless you're willing to spend literally days accustomizing yourself with the horrible controls that seem fully intent on getting you blown up. Pick up AEUG vs Titans instead; even if they never translate it to English (which I'm hoping will never happen since this game was butchered by its hideous English voice acting) its play control is ten times more intuitive at least, and it's much more fun to play. A high count of mobile suits doesn't really make me care about Encounters in Space, since the interesting pilots weren't included...just the pathetic, whiny, unlikable non-entities from 0079, with a few from 0083 peppered around for interest. One to skip. Expand
  20. ColeN.
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    Being a fan of gundam it was a marvoules game and i would expect nothing more.
  21. dxL
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    I enjoyed all the Gundam action games on PS1 and ps2!! said the truth i enojoyed "Journey to jaburo" 's gameplay beucase i'm more into sim style kind of stuff, just like I live Mechworrier4 PC better than Mechassult xbox. however the AI isn't challenging and mission is too not eough in "Journey to Jaburo". i hope "the Lost cronical" can be ported to Northamerica I enjoyed all the Gundam action games on PS1 and ps2!! said the truth i enojoyed "Journey to jaburo" 's gameplay beucase i'm more into sim style kind of stuff, just like I live Mechworrier4 PC better than Mechassult xbox. however the AI isn't challenging and mission is too not eough in "Journey to Jaburo". i hope "the Lost cronical" can be ported to Northamerica version....... "Federation VS Zeon" is kind of too arcadey, and i don't like that we can't control the shield anymore. as to this newest game, 20 hours of FUN already!! lots stroy tellings, some more modern gundams!! and THEY ARE FAST!!! so far i like this the best!!! coz it's FAST!!! and AI is better. Expand
  22. SOCL
    Dec 8, 2003
    9
    Fueled by my love of Federation vs. Zeon and besides my dread that it would be another less-than-user-friendly Journey to Jaburo, I bought Encounters In Space the day after its release. Well, I was pleased to find that it lived up to the Gundam name, blowing me away with great (and easy) gameplay and controls (it even includes three tutuorials to let you get a hang of the controls). It Fueled by my love of Federation vs. Zeon and besides my dread that it would be another less-than-user-friendly Journey to Jaburo, I bought Encounters In Space the day after its release. Well, I was pleased to find that it lived up to the Gundam name, blowing me away with great (and easy) gameplay and controls (it even includes three tutuorials to let you get a hang of the controls). It follows the original series' plot excellently, too, along with bringing to life many sub-stories! I wouldn't say the graphics are as great as its predecessors (it's a tad blocky), but it's still quite impressive (the redone animation is quite good, just like J to J). Also, I was displeased with how easy the White Base and Thoroughbred storylines...I beat the White Base plot the same day I bought it, then beat Thoroughbred the next day. Even so, it still has great gameplay, stays to the Gundam ideals, is quite exciting, user-friendly, and though it's no Federation vs. Zeon, it's still an AWESOME game! Expand
  23. Travis
    Dec 7, 2003
    5
    Well to me this game to me isnt very good. Federation v. Zeon was a lot better. Here the story line isnt fully explained which is a big factor to me. Also the editing on the voices and audio are just horrible. PLEASE use the original voices and dialog!!! and just to be a but, when are we going to see a gundam game were we can use color decails to paint our own mobile suits ( that would Well to me this game to me isnt very good. Federation v. Zeon was a lot better. Here the story line isnt fully explained which is a big factor to me. Also the editing on the voices and audio are just horrible. PLEASE use the original voices and dialog!!! and just to be a but, when are we going to see a gundam game were we can use color decails to paint our own mobile suits ( that would kick ace) Game play is nice with the full rotational veiws. I love the ace mode though, its really cool. To me I would rather buy Federation v. Zeon then Encounters in Space. Expand
  24. Travis
    Dec 7, 2003
    5
    Well to me this game to me isnt very good. Federation v. Zeon was a lot better. Here the story line isnt fully explained which is a big factor to me. Also the editing on the voices and audio are just horrible. PLEASE use the original voices and dialog!!! and just to be a but, when are we going to see a gundam game were we can use color decails to paint our own mobile suits ( that would Well to me this game to me isnt very good. Federation v. Zeon was a lot better. Here the story line isnt fully explained which is a big factor to me. Also the editing on the voices and audio are just horrible. PLEASE use the original voices and dialog!!! and just to be a but, when are we going to see a gundam game were we can use color decails to paint our own mobile suits ( that would kick ace) Game play is nice with the full rotational veiws. I love the ace mode though, its really cool. To me I would rather buy Federation v. Zeon then Encounters in Space. Collapse
  25. DylanY.
    Dec 7, 2003
    9
    The series lives up to it name now bringing even more mobile suits to control, but the only problem i see with this game is that it could have a few more levels and some better music.
  26. RaceW.
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    This game is great. It has extremely responsive comtrols and a strong plot. The only problem with the game is that the controls take some getting used to but that is a minor detail. You can use all your favorite gundams from all different series. The story mode is knida short but its replayability makes up for that. Overall this is the best Gundam game I've played so far.
  27. JimmyL.
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    The best damn gundam game ever! Large variety of gundams for all gundam fans, huge gameplay enhancement, and many more! Totally worth it!!
  28. BobbyL.
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    I have been wating for a long time for a game with GP-01 fullburnean in it.
  29. TonyY.
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    It is the best Gundam Game so far, with all those great Mobile Suits that Gundam fans have been waiting for years, like GP02A, Neue Ziel, GP03D.... + All of those ZEON and E.F.S.F. Ace Pilots just boost the game into an new level! A must have if you are an ZEON persuer, or E.F.S.F. lover!
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Everything looks and sounds just as good as the animated series that it's based on.
  2. 75
    Perhaps the biggest draw for Gundam fans is the mode in which you create your own pilot and build up his or her stats in one-player missions, then fight other Gundam geeks in the two-player mode.
  3. Surely, I thought, the challenge level has a setting other than "stupid easy" or "mind-bogglingly confusing because the mutant aiming system bites." I thought wrong. Encounters in Space is just that bad. [Dec 2003, p.164]