User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 2 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Karl
    Jan 16, 2003
    10
    This game kicks ass, Jason is right critics are dumb.
  2. D.Eklund
    Sep 25, 2002
    9
    I've been waiting for a Gundam game that would make me feel as if i was in the cartoon. this is it. fans of old skool Gundam will love it. playing the war of 79 from beginning to end is great, especially when you get to choose what side you are on and what type of mobile suit you are. also, inviting a friend to join you or fight you is a great feature. great game, period. a definateI've been waiting for a Gundam game that would make me feel as if i was in the cartoon. this is it. fans of old skool Gundam will love it. playing the war of 79 from beginning to end is great, especially when you get to choose what side you are on and what type of mobile suit you are. also, inviting a friend to join you or fight you is a great feature. great game, period. a definate buy, especially if youre a fan of any past Gundam games because this one is on top. Expand
  3. MacC.
    Jan 4, 2003
    8
    This game is easy to control, and allows the player/s to enjoy a fun game with great graphics. A must-have game in your library! Write me!
  4. RandallR.
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    This is awesome, it has all the mobile suits and realistic graphics.
  5. WilliamC.
    Feb 28, 2003
    10
    This game is absolutely what ps2 needed bandai game wise i remember the first gundam for dreamcast everyone was excited but thit game is just heavenly.
  6. SOCL
    Dec 27, 2002
    9
    If you're looking for the ultimate fight between the Federation and the Zeon forces, you've found it! It has a lot of original music from the show, many of the original characters, and even White Base! Only problem is that when you play Arcade Mode as the Federation, Mr. Bright or someone else bothers the heck out of you! "Left! Right! Behind you!" Also, when you're Zeon, If you're looking for the ultimate fight between the Federation and the Zeon forces, you've found it! It has a lot of original music from the show, many of the original characters, and even White Base! Only problem is that when you play Arcade Mode as the Federation, Mr. Bright or someone else bothers the heck out of you! "Left! Right! Behind you!" Also, when you're Zeon, the game will hardly let you wound the main characters and the Gundam seems invincible! But this is all made up for with the game play (even though the size of the battle field would be better as larger). Sadly, with those faults, it can't quite score a 10, but nothing is better suited than a 9! This game is awesome! I recommend it to anyone/everyone! Collapse
  7. Ace
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    Great game, graphics r awesome, gameplay totally kicks, a crap load of missions of all kinds, every weapon in the actual show, and above all it's fun.
  8. DerrickB.
    Feb 9, 2003
    10
    This is by far the best gundam game yet the controls are cleaner than any other of it's counterparts. It also is very high in the graphics area
  9. MikeM.
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    I've played every Gundam game from The Mobile Suit gundam journey to Jaburo to Moblie Suit Gundam Zeonic Front. I have collected alot of Gundam models figures and this was a great adition to my collection this game just needs a little bit more mobile suits for both sides, Like the Hy-Gogg, Gouf coustom, Gundam Alex, Kampfer, etc.... Chars Zaku is my fav and this game did well on the I've played every Gundam game from The Mobile Suit gundam journey to Jaburo to Moblie Suit Gundam Zeonic Front. I have collected alot of Gundam models figures and this was a great adition to my collection this game just needs a little bit more mobile suits for both sides, Like the Hy-Gogg, Gouf coustom, Gundam Alex, Kampfer, etc.... Chars Zaku is my fav and this game did well on the graphics for all of the mobiles suits. Ive never been Disapointed with anything Gundam but by far this is the best!! Expand
  10. TheodoreS.
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    It's good, it's gundam nuff said.
  11. ChaosD
    Nov 30, 2002
    9
    I love this game!
  12. Sean
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    A very good game.
  13. gfanRB
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    Gundam rocks! This is the best game since GBA 2!
  14. SulaimonS.
    Jul 21, 2003
    10
    I never played a game like this before. This the game is the best I ever played.
  15. EricM.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    This game rocks!! There are so many missions and a whole crap load of mobile suits. It is challenging yet fun. The only hard levels are when you need to battle Amuro in his Gundam or Char in his Zaku, Gelgoog, or Z'Gok. The controls are top notch and easy to use. My favorite mobile suit would probably be..... the Gundam. Its cool how you can play as either the Federation or Zeon. I This game rocks!! There are so many missions and a whole crap load of mobile suits. It is challenging yet fun. The only hard levels are when you need to battle Amuro in his Gundam or Char in his Zaku, Gelgoog, or Z'Gok. The controls are top notch and easy to use. My favorite mobile suit would probably be..... the Gundam. Its cool how you can play as either the Federation or Zeon. I also like the arcade mode, which is a shortened version of the the One Year War. This is a must buy for anyone who likes gundam or great shooter games. Expand
  16. BrandonP.
    May 25, 2005
    10
    It's grrrrrrrreat.
  17. ChrisK.
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    Best game ever.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Nov 16, 2002
    9
    Very good game but the music and game play could be improved sumwut. The game in general is good, unlocking mobile suits is hard, mobile armors extremely annoying( to unlock them), and other playable machines are really hard to unlock. Im not an expert game player but i still say the game could use a little work. But the mobile suits really kick some ass, well to be more specified they Very good game but the music and game play could be improved sumwut. The game in general is good, unlocking mobile suits is hard, mobile armors extremely annoying( to unlock them), and other playable machines are really hard to unlock. Im not an expert game player but i still say the game could use a little work. But the mobile suits really kick some ass, well to be more specified they blow the crap out of each other. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It’s closer to a ‘65’ for those of us that don’t care about or follow the TV series’ characters or TV plots, but it lacks the polish and proper balance (the Zeon side is heavily favored) to merit receiving the ‘70’ we were thinking of bestowing upon it.
  2. Lacking in every way this game is good only for small kids, desperate mech-fans, or fans of the series.
  3. One of the best anime spin-offs on record. [Nov 2002, p.52]