• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2001
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 79
    Delivers where it counts, with the deep breeding simulation that fans of the series have grown to love.
  2. An extremely solid game that takes the series in a promising direction.
  3. Everything about this title makes the previous installments seem archaic in comparison. [Nov 2001, p.100]
  4. Any fan of Monster Rancher will be in absolute heaven with this new entry, and its more kid-friendly graphics are sure to attract more of the younger crowed to its decidedly simple, incredibly addictive gameplay.
  5. The combat’s more fun and involving than anything in Pokemon Stadium. But the rest of the game hasn’t changed much. [Nov 2001, p.210]
  6. I can't stop playing the game. I'm hopelessly addicted. [Nov 2001, p.155]
  7. Monster Rancher 3 rocks. That’s all that needs to be said. However, just to clarify, this game has really satisfying gameplay that should please even the most jaded gamer.
  8. It's very beautiful and easy to control, but there's nothing much that's new or improved here.
  9. The fact that it sticks so closely to the formula of its predecessors is both its greatest strength and biggest weakness.
  10. Unfortunately, the sad truth is that Pokemon manages to provide more depth and complexity than Monster Rancher 3.
  11. The strength of this game is in its replay value. You can lose hours upon hours of your life simply checking your CD/DVD collection for monsters to add to your encyclopedia.
  12. Whether you're new to the series, thoroughly sick of it, or can't wait to get back to raising monsters, this game has the capability to surprise, amaze and enthrall you.
  13. Hews so closely to the now four-year-old formula, it’s disappointing. [Dec 2001, p.108]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. CasS.
    Aug 6, 2003
    10
    i fell for this game when i got it, its a great game.
  2. StephenD.
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    This game is so awesome!! I got so addicted to this game!!!
  3. vIPER
    May 30, 2003
    9
    Addictive sh.t!!! time waster!!! this game is the reason why i dont get enough sleep.