• Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Oct 9, 2006
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanW.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Best mk game ever. I have been a fan since I turned 3 I have every game by far this one pwns all other fighting and any other game.
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    5
    The konquest mode is disappointing since it only takes a few hours (3-4 hours). There are many things in the krypt to buy an unlock but, none of them are characters.my main problem I have with this game is that 99% of all the people are already unlocked from the start. Only 4 characters are unlockable in konquest mode and are fairly easy to get. The create a fighter mode is nice to haveThe konquest mode is disappointing since it only takes a few hours (3-4 hours). There are many things in the krypt to buy an unlock but, none of them are characters.my main problem I have with this game is that 99% of all the people are already unlocked from the start. Only 4 characters are unlockable in konquest mode and are fairly easy to get. The create a fighter mode is nice to have and are plenty of things to use for your character.The lack of the extra style is ok but I miss the fatalities. Expand
  3. YasharZ.
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    Graphically (PS2:480p, Xbox:720p, both with 60 fps) and gameplay (Air-kombat, new balance system and konquest) wise the best MK ever. Story is a bit weaker this time and Kreate-A-Fatality doesn't justify lack of old school ones. There are a few sound problems as well as some bugs and some recycled kontent but the superb graphics, huge rooster of karacters, great fighting mechanism Graphically (PS2:480p, Xbox:720p, both with 60 fps) and gameplay (Air-kombat, new balance system and konquest) wise the best MK ever. Story is a bit weaker this time and Kreate-A-Fatality doesn't justify lack of old school ones. There are a few sound problems as well as some bugs and some recycled kontent but the superb graphics, huge rooster of karacters, great fighting mechanism and big kontent like konquest and Motor Kombat, this is a must have for any fighting fan. Expand
  4. OzH
    Aug 19, 2007
    7
    I wish I loved it as much as I wanted to. MKA was above average but below great. The character selection is probably the best part of it; it was great seeing characters like Rain, Reiko and Sektor again. Blaze becomes the new boss and he's not hard at all...I'm still deciding wheter that's good or bad. I think I remember Chameleon being spelled with a K and the character I wish I loved it as much as I wanted to. MKA was above average but below great. The character selection is probably the best part of it; it was great seeing characters like Rain, Reiko and Sektor again. Blaze becomes the new boss and he's not hard at all...I'm still deciding wheter that's good or bad. I think I remember Chameleon being spelled with a K and the character being a woman but now it's Ermac with different colors? Not giving the characters their own fatality was a BIG no-no! They also took away the cool endings and now all you get is some stupid dance from your fighter with writing over it. The opening movie led me to think they'd work as hard to make endings cool like that. Konquest got much better and the racing game is fun for a few times. Kreate-A-Fighter is a lot of fun, you can go absolutely insane and create anyone you'd like. Stages are lame and limited and the music sucks! The Premium Edition gives you UMK3 which is a fun extra and it's the difference between a 6 and 7 to me. Reiko, Mileena, Scorpion, Jade and Shang Tsung are by far the superior charcters. All the new characters suck in my opinion, Meat espcially and Sareena just looks unfinished. Kitana is by far the most improved. Shinnok, Kira, Frost, Moloch, Smoke and Kung Lao have gotten major down grades and Mokap still sucks. 'Deception' is light years better. This is not a good following to it, nor is it a good way to end the series, over the top fatalities and ridiculous endings matter to diehard fans. Expand
  5. budspud
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    could have been better by longer konquest and ko-op and more selectability in kreat a fighter ... yeah thats eright the 101 things just aren't enough
    the fighting system IN MY EYES has held true to the original and earlier series but i want them to bump off create a fatality really not much fun unless you want to taunt a friend while ripping out his brain heart and spine i hated how
    could have been better by longer konquest and ko-op and more selectability in kreat a fighter ... yeah thats eright the 101 things just aren't enough
    the fighting system IN MY EYES has held true to the original and earlier series but i want them to bump off create a fatality really not much fun unless you want to taunt a friend while ripping out his brain heart and spine i hated how blaze healed while ur fighting him but i think that is it for complaints the konquest mode though short was fun although it could have been better if you could chose to kill or let live your opponet i wish it told you more for the story as well instead of never knowing what happened even at the end over all loved it and hope you read my review
    Expand
  6. MattT.
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    This game is dissapointing. There's a ton of new stuff and obviously all the characters, but the gameplay has been reduced to what is was before Deadly Alliance, and who wants to fight in midair? That's lame as hell. The combos have been pretty much gotten rid of, and instead of three fighting styles, everyone has only two. What a way to go out.
  7. JamesX.
    Oct 12, 2006
    7
    Same old game but with bonus stuff like MK Karting and graphic wise, only improvment in graphics is backgrounds.
  8. TrevorG.
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Best MK yet. All the characters! Ever want to pit Shao Kahn against Montoro? Here's your chance. The kreate-a-fatality system is a good idea....I wish it incorporated fatalities unique to each character....maybe next time though.
  9. AmirS.
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    MKA has impressed me like any other Mortal Kombat has in its time of release! I play the game on line and I have a blast when I play with the right people! some losers abuse the game by quiting on you or being cheap by using the same move over and over! The Air combo is kind of cheezy but some how they have pulled it off nice. Kreat a fatality is satisfying as long as you know what you MKA has impressed me like any other Mortal Kombat has in its time of release! I play the game on line and I have a blast when I play with the right people! some losers abuse the game by quiting on you or being cheap by using the same move over and over! The Air combo is kind of cheezy but some how they have pulled it off nice. Kreat a fatality is satisfying as long as you know what you doing. Konquest mode is satisfying but I am not playing it again and Motor Kombat is extra gay. They should have concentrated more on the arcade than to create motor kombat! Kreate a Karakter (KAK) is not too impressive either and too many people are cheap and annoying with their KAKs online. Overall an impressive enough game hope your next one is THE MK with no flaw! Expand
  10. LukeD.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    This Game is Ace! I hope there will be another for the PS3.
  11. AlB.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    This will be the last best game for the PS2.
  12. Wongit
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Its good but it lacks fatalities which I gotta get used to and endings which arent impressive at all. but on the up side you get kreate a fighter which is always a plus and every character in history which is another plus, take the good with the bad. Its not like Midway just gyped us big time, the just gave ussomething new. Good job.
  13. ZiftK.
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Great game, I just got the premium edition, and any MK fan would do good to get it. Although a little more simplistic, it's still tons of fun, good game.
  14. JoseR.
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    The reason for the high rating is plain & simple. NO, it's not the roster of fighters. It's for the Awesome & I mean AWESOME! Konquest Mode. They really pulled this one off.
  15. Zach
    Oct 19, 2006
    6
    I've played every mortal kombat game ever made, and this is just not that great. This game does have the hidden feature of playing MK3, which I think was the best of them all. I've never liked the new combo systems, and wish they would go back to the old school combos. By taking away one of the styles a char can use they have somewhat accomplished this but it still doesn't I've played every mortal kombat game ever made, and this is just not that great. This game does have the hidden feature of playing MK3, which I think was the best of them all. I've never liked the new combo systems, and wish they would go back to the old school combos. By taking away one of the styles a char can use they have somewhat accomplished this but it still doesn't feel right. The fatality system, is the biggest disappointment by far. No longer do each character have thier own unique ways to kill, now you are limited to some kicks punches and ending with your choice of unentertaining finishers. In my own opinion having this many characters is a waste, most feel too alike the others. It's good to see Stryker again though, even though he looks like one of the characters on team America. Forgot his name, Chris? My last point is the Konquest mode. huge improvement over the last, which was absolutly terrible. Too often though you get into these fights where every time you kill an enemy, you slowly fill up a bar and cant procede til it is all the way full. Kind of lame, but Konqust mode still has some redeeming qualities. Collapse
  16. SullyB.
    Feb 3, 2007
    7
    Well nothing is perfect, this is just another attempt to make a lot of money by providing a reasonable amount of entertainment, somewhat similar to deception. I hope in the next one we'll get better arena's and music.
  17. DivineStorm
    Jul 11, 2008
    7
    I enjoyed this game, but believe me mortal kombat is and always will be the best on 2d especially mortal kombat trilogy and mortal kombat 2 are the best of them all! Konquest may get boring after a while but overall it is pretty good. single player is pretty good too, but there aren't many computer fighters you can fight against which is pretty stupid in my opinion. The fact that youI enjoyed this game, but believe me mortal kombat is and always will be the best on 2d especially mortal kombat trilogy and mortal kombat 2 are the best of them all! Konquest may get boring after a while but overall it is pretty good. single player is pretty good too, but there aren't many computer fighters you can fight against which is pretty stupid in my opinion. The fact that you can create your own fatalities is fun, but if you want to know how to execute them, you have to look on the internet!!!! again that is pretty stupid!! Motor kombat isn't that bad either but you will get bored very soon if you don't race with friends. Also there is the: create your fighter option and that is very fun, because you can select your own special moves, clothes, fighting styles and weapons. The fact that every single character (except human smoke and khameleon if you don't have the wii version) is awesome! But I do agree with Oz H that the characters should have their own fatalities instead of you blindly button mashing and that the endings could have been so much better. Expand
  18. BakrS.
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    This MK is great, especially playing 2 player with your friend who know's suratul zilzila. But mortal combat doesnt even come close to salatul fajr. everyone should try these 2 games
  19. JohannK.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This is the best MK game ever. The konquest mode is really thrilling. Somewhat similar to mk deception the next best game after armageddon this game is one of the best games of the year.
  20. jojo.
    Apr 25, 2007
    6
    average for mk but i am sooooooooo disppointed about how they took out the charactor unique fatalities and i wish they kept the same kind of konquest as shalin monks but im a twin so that might b y i love how they got stryker back but i was simpilly eexpecting more
  21. JohnA.
    Dec 13, 2006
    7
    MKA is the best MK game ever. Why? Because it includes over 60 playable characters, I also like the kreate-a-fatality, although some of the comments ive read that the kreat-a-fatality suks. ED BOON should had included the characters own signiture fatality. What i mean is after doing those mini fatalities to your opponent the finishing move should be a signiture fatality, so that way the MKA is the best MK game ever. Why? Because it includes over 60 playable characters, I also like the kreate-a-fatality, although some of the comments ive read that the kreat-a-fatality suks. ED BOON should had included the characters own signiture fatality. What i mean is after doing those mini fatalities to your opponent the finishing move should be a signiture fatality, so that way the fatalities would be differrent. The KONQUEST mode was to short, ED BOON could had made it longer, and i was also expecting to face onaga, shao kahn, shang tsung and quan chi, since it is the last MK game in the PS2 and X-BOX. I forgot to mention about the create-a fighter mode, ED boon should definitely put this on the next MK game, because for me this is one of the best features in MKA. ED BOON should also include the ko-op mode in the next MK game. i was surprised that there wasnt a ko-op mode in MKA. but hey MKA is still one of the best game ive played. MKA kicks ass, YEAH!!!!!!! Expand
  22. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    The appealing of the latest MK ( last year ) was outstanding, and it captivated my appeal for fighting games, so, Armageddon was the faulty chapter that completely made me hate the fighting genre, but is not a bad game at all, its just not satisfying as it should be.
  23. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    The best episode of PS2, more sophisticated than Mortal Kombat Trilogy and more characters. For my part, I think the story mode is naive, always play with the character Taven. Why not play with others. I think it deserves 70 / 100.
  24. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    I gave this game a 9 because it deserves an 8.5, and I'd rather round up than down on this one. The only Mortal Kombat game with character creation, and it is actually good character creation. Otherwise, pretty standard MK title. Solid story, lots of unlockables. Very worth owning, high replay value.
  25. May 8, 2013
    9
    This game is great without a doubt. I loved the new combo systems as they were more challenging. Graphics are quite good for a PS2 game. Many different characters which made this game very fun to play. Its a bit simplistic but surely a good game to buy and play with friends. Storyline is great as well it kept me quite interested.
  26. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    Um jogo aonde tem todos seus personagens preferidos reunidos em um mesmo lugar, arenas que lembram várias fases dos primeiros jogos da série, criar seu próprio personagem, terminar um bom konquest, apostar corrida e muito mais. A única coisa que senti falta foi os fatality's, mas da para relevar...
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. It may or may not be the blood-soaked ending to the franchise, but it's easily one of the most enjoyable games in the series and one of the most unapologetically fun games of the season.
  2. The biggest features in this game are the Kreate-A-Fighter, Kreate-A-Fatality, and Online modes. It's about time Midway included stuff like this! So yeah, go buy MK Armageddon ASAP! It's one of the major reasons why the PS2 still has plenty of life residing within its dusty innards.
  3. The immense roster is a glorious thing, but by altering the sacred Fatality, the action just isn’t up to the series’ standards or what fans expect.