Mortal Kombat: Armageddon PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Oct 9, 2006
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanW.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Best mk game ever. I have been a fan since I turned 3 I have every game by far this one pwns all other fighting and any other game.
  2. LukeD.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    This Game is Ace! I hope there will be another for the PS3.
  3. AlB.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    This will be the last best game for the PS2.
  4. JohannK.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This is the best MK game ever. The konquest mode is really thrilling. Somewhat similar to mk deception the next best game after armageddon this game is one of the best games of the year.
  5. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    Um jogo aonde tem todos seus personagens preferidos reunidos em um mesmo lugar, arenas que lembram várias fases dos primeiros jogos da série, criar seu próprio personagem, terminar um bom konquest, apostar corrida e muito mais. A única coisa que senti falta foi os fatality's, mas da para relevar...
  6. YasharZ.
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    Graphically (PS2:480p, Xbox:720p, both with 60 fps) and gameplay (Air-kombat, new balance system and konquest) wise the best MK ever. Story is a bit weaker this time and Kreate-A-Fatality doesn't justify lack of old school ones. There are a few sound problems as well as some bugs and some recycled kontent but the superb graphics, huge rooster of karacters, great fighting mechanism Graphically (PS2:480p, Xbox:720p, both with 60 fps) and gameplay (Air-kombat, new balance system and konquest) wise the best MK ever. Story is a bit weaker this time and Kreate-A-Fatality doesn't justify lack of old school ones. There are a few sound problems as well as some bugs and some recycled kontent but the superb graphics, huge rooster of karacters, great fighting mechanism and big kontent like konquest and Motor Kombat, this is a must have for any fighting fan. Expand
  7. budspud
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    could have been better by longer konquest and ko-op and more selectability in kreat a fighter ... yeah thats eright the 101 things just aren't enough
    the fighting system IN MY EYES has held true to the original and earlier series but i want them to bump off create a fatality really not much fun unless you want to taunt a friend while ripping out his brain heart and spine i hated how
    could have been better by longer konquest and ko-op and more selectability in kreat a fighter ... yeah thats eright the 101 things just aren't enough
    the fighting system IN MY EYES has held true to the original and earlier series but i want them to bump off create a fatality really not much fun unless you want to taunt a friend while ripping out his brain heart and spine i hated how blaze healed while ur fighting him but i think that is it for complaints the konquest mode though short was fun although it could have been better if you could chose to kill or let live your opponet i wish it told you more for the story as well instead of never knowing what happened even at the end over all loved it and hope you read my review
    Expand
  8. TrevorG.
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Best MK yet. All the characters! Ever want to pit Shao Kahn against Montoro? Here's your chance. The kreate-a-fatality system is a good idea....I wish it incorporated fatalities unique to each character....maybe next time though.
  9. JoseR.
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    The reason for the high rating is plain & simple. NO, it's not the roster of fighters. It's for the Awesome & I mean AWESOME! Konquest Mode. They really pulled this one off.
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    I gave this game a 9 because it deserves an 8.5, and I'd rather round up than down on this one. The only Mortal Kombat game with character creation, and it is actually good character creation. Otherwise, pretty standard MK title. Solid story, lots of unlockables. Very worth owning, high replay value.
  11. May 8, 2013
    9
    This game is great without a doubt. I loved the new combo systems as they were more challenging. Graphics are quite good for a PS2 game. Many different characters which made this game very fun to play. Its a bit simplistic but surely a good game to buy and play with friends. Storyline is great as well it kept me quite interested.
  12. AmirS.
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    MKA has impressed me like any other Mortal Kombat has in its time of release! I play the game on line and I have a blast when I play with the right people! some losers abuse the game by quiting on you or being cheap by using the same move over and over! The Air combo is kind of cheezy but some how they have pulled it off nice. Kreat a fatality is satisfying as long as you know what you MKA has impressed me like any other Mortal Kombat has in its time of release! I play the game on line and I have a blast when I play with the right people! some losers abuse the game by quiting on you or being cheap by using the same move over and over! The Air combo is kind of cheezy but some how they have pulled it off nice. Kreat a fatality is satisfying as long as you know what you doing. Konquest mode is satisfying but I am not playing it again and Motor Kombat is extra gay. They should have concentrated more on the arcade than to create motor kombat! Kreate a Karakter (KAK) is not too impressive either and too many people are cheap and annoying with their KAKs online. Overall an impressive enough game hope your next one is THE MK with no flaw! Expand
  13. Wongit
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Its good but it lacks fatalities which I gotta get used to and endings which arent impressive at all. but on the up side you get kreate a fighter which is always a plus and every character in history which is another plus, take the good with the bad. Its not like Midway just gyped us big time, the just gave ussomething new. Good job.
  14. ZiftK.
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Great game, I just got the premium edition, and any MK fan would do good to get it. Although a little more simplistic, it's still tons of fun, good game.
  15. BakrS.
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    This MK is great, especially playing 2 player with your friend who know's suratul zilzila. But mortal combat doesnt even come close to salatul fajr. everyone should try these 2 games
  16. Jul 16, 2015
    8
    in this mortal kombat is a lot of choice when it comes to characters (58 plus 4 unlockable and 2 slots for created fighters ), but however it was not what i most appreciated in this mortal kombat . the excellent konquest mode
    is very detailed and worked and holds us to the screen. A final word to the Kreate a Fighter mode that surprised me the positive unlike the boring motor kombat
    in this mortal kombat is a lot of choice when it comes to characters (58 plus 4 unlockable and 2 slots for created fighters ), but however it was not what i most appreciated in this mortal kombat . the excellent konquest mode
    is very detailed and worked and holds us to the screen. A final word to the Kreate a Fighter mode that surprised me the positive unlike the boring motor kombat which was for me the deception of the game.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#13 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#40 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. It may or may not be the blood-soaked ending to the franchise, but it's easily one of the most enjoyable games in the series and one of the most unapologetically fun games of the season.
  2. The biggest features in this game are the Kreate-A-Fighter, Kreate-A-Fatality, and Online modes. It's about time Midway included stuff like this! So yeah, go buy MK Armageddon ASAP! It's one of the major reasons why the PS2 still has plenty of life residing within its dusty innards.
  3. The immense roster is a glorious thing, but by altering the sacred Fatality, the action just isn’t up to the series’ standards or what fans expect.