Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks is an Action/Adventure title driven by both intense single and multi-player action. Similar to "Mortal Kombat: Deception," background interactions (i.e., acid pits, living trees, spiked ceilings, etc.), multiple new fatalities, and action-based puzzles also playMortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks is an Action/Adventure title driven by both intense single and multi-player action. Similar to "Mortal Kombat: Deception," background interactions (i.e., acid pits, living trees, spiked ceilings, etc.), multiple new fatalities, and action-based puzzles also play an important role in the player's quest for an "outstanding" victory. Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks features an impressive line-up of Mortal Kombat characters, as well, that make frequent appearances as enemies, in boss battles and during several additional in-game interactions. For the first time ever, Mortal Kombat fanatics can explore all the mythos and rumors of the Mortal Kombat universe from an entirely new perspective. Action/Adventure fans will be blown away by the intuitive kombat system, puzzle solving and epic storyline that can be experienced in either the single player mode or through co-op play. [Midway] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. AceGamez
    90
    A shining triumph of beat 'em up glory, spinning off from the traditional MK one-on-one gameplay and showing us all just how excellent the old-school beat 'em up can be in this current generation of gaming.
  2. Game Informer
    85
    I haven't had this much fun with a co-op game in quite some time. [Oct 2005, p.122]
  3. The combat system is easy to learn but has enough depth that it will take time to master.
  4. PSM Magazine
    80
    It's a game that gets back to the basics and is chock-full of Mortal Kombat goodness, especially for two players simultaneously. [Dec 2005, p.84]
  5. The mighty "God of War" is a little more deserving of your action cash if you've only got the funds to buy one game where you run around killing stuff. But Shaolin Monks is a very close second-best in the heaving action sector, thanks to its good looks, decent play and a gory, blood-soaked style that's well in keeping with the Mortal Kombat legacy of pain. [PSW]
  6. The story is weak, boss fights are hard, but the action is extremely enjoyable and in a game where the main focus is the action, which is all that counts.
  7. games(TM)
    50
    It’s a non-offensive way to while away a few hours digging up the past, but the core gameplay doesn’t hold a candle to the title it’s so fondly remembering. [Nov 2005, p.108]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Mkfan786
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    This game is a Mortal Kombat game, but not ur usual style of MK gane. It's a change but still Mortal Kombat with plenty of classicThis game is a Mortal Kombat game, but not ur usual style of MK gane. It's a change but still Mortal Kombat with plenty of classic characters in there including Kung Lao, Liu Kang, Scorpion, Sub Zero, Ermac, Human Smoke, Reptile, Noob Saibot, Sonya, Jax, Rayden, Shang Tsung, Shao Khan, Goro, Kintaro, Kitana, Mileena, Jade, Baraka, Johnny Cage and Kano. You can play as Scorpion and Sub Zero aswell as Kung Lao and Liu Kang, who each have about 10 fatalities each! Plus there is the new multality mode, allowing you to perform a fatality on multiple enemies at same time, and also a brutality mode. There is a vs mode with more playable characters to use, and there are plenty of hidden things to find and unlock including the full Mortal Kombat 2 game, and a superb hidden survival mode that pits you against all kinds of enemies and multiple bosses at the same time. There is also a ko op mode allowing 2 players to play on screen at once which doubles the fun you can have with this game. If you are like Mortal Kombat then this is an essential purchase for you, and even if you don't, this game is still very fun to play, especially in ko op mode with 2 players. Expand
  2. NickdogS.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    1 of the best games since god of war, gtasa.
  3. FarooqA.
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    From the games-industry point of view, this game lies in the category of "Blood Will Tell", filled with all possible stuff a person could get From the games-industry point of view, this game lies in the category of "Blood Will Tell", filled with all possible stuff a person could get enjoyment from but just lacking the visual edge. Only the visual betterment got 'Ninja Gaiden' such a high industry rating, other-wise its just nearly as good as Sega's 'Shinobi'. MKSM delivers all the current-gen console specialities like a great number of instantaneous polygon feasta, totally new gameplay, great possibilities but definitely it loses the rank mark just due to graphical under-achievement. From the "Mortal Kombat" franchise point of view, this game simply rocks, MK has always been about a great story, in-depth scenerios, with a flawless story-line which seems to be very much worked upon in terms of continuity. It is so exotic that it lets the players feel theirselves deciding the out-comes of the lives of the ingame characters. One of the remarks of the series co-creator Mr. Ed Boon was that 'reality is boring, we have gone beyond reality', keeping the natural behaviour of the affairs natural, MK rises beyond reality and delivers that excellent world to live in that the purist Hong Kong cinema promised in the 80s. Tony Goskie's great art work just can't be forgotten once you have peeked at it. MK has always provided such a mystical, gothic and exotic locations in which any person who has respect for art and virtual reality in terms of aesthetics will surely die to go and reside. I myself kept playing the previous part of the series MK:Deception just for knowing which new stage will be unlocked, and this time around in MK:Shaolin Monks there are everywhere such beautiful sceneries to look at and get immersed..So the conclusion is that every body loves 'Wuxia' (if anybody is does not know the term, a great description is available at "en.wikipedia.com", just write in search "Wuxia" and you'll know), and if you really want to satisfy your thirst in an action adventure game for Wuxia, you're bound to play: For Japanese Wuxia :- "Blood Will Tell" For Chinese Wuxia:- "Mortal Kombat : Shaolin Monks". Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    I would love to see the remake/HD version of this title. I remember this as absolutely perfect beatem up title. I loved about everything inI would love to see the remake/HD version of this title. I remember this as absolutely perfect beatem up title. I loved about everything in this game starting from AV, story and smooth fun gameplay. Easily one of the best MK title (right after MK2 and MK9). Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    I wrote a 4000 character review on how this game was amazing though I accidently clicked back on my mouse and am not going to write the reviewI wrote a 4000 character review on how this game was amazing though I accidently clicked back on my mouse and am not going to write the review again >:( Anyway 9/10, I would recommend this to anyone as a coop game. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2017
    9
    oque falar de Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks? lembro que eu zerei com o meu irmao, na epoca de ouro do ps2, o jogo era incrivel, Mortal Kombat:oque falar de Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks? lembro que eu zerei com o meu irmao, na epoca de ouro do ps2, o jogo era incrivel, Mortal Kombat: Shaolin Monks tem uma boa jogabilidade, mesmo tendo poucos personagens para jogar no modo aventura, que é o Liu Kang e o Kung Lao, depois de zerar da pra jogar com Scorpion e Sub-Zero, o problema que na hora das cutscenes voltava com Liu e o Kung Lao, tem muitos mestre, alguns sao dificeis, o grafico é bom, ainda mais por ser um jogo de 2005, a trilha sonora é ótima, e dificuldade é boa, jogo que vale muito a pena. Nota 9.5 Expand
  7. AlexN-M.
    Jan 17, 2007
    0
    This game is poor! You think that you will be good and make a "Fatality by pushing two buttons in the same time? Your wrong! My note is 0! No This game is poor! You think that you will be good and make a "Fatality by pushing two buttons in the same time? Your wrong! My note is 0! No more comments about this POOR game! Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#44 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005