• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2003
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KeithC.
    Apr 15, 2003
    10
    The most fun multi player racing game I've ever played. Replays are even worth watching.
  2. TorN.
    Jun 5, 2003
    8
    Lets take the good thing first. playability is very good, and the bikes feel real, and react realLifeLike. The enginesound is a great new feature, you actually can hear the difference between a Yamaha, a Honda and a suzuki, or a Proton. The controls are better than ever, and the tracks are very realistic. (ever seen onboardvideo from a track? Its just like the tracks in the game). The Lets take the good thing first. playability is very good, and the bikes feel real, and react realLifeLike. The enginesound is a great new feature, you actually can hear the difference between a Yamaha, a Honda and a suzuki, or a Proton. The controls are better than ever, and the tracks are very realistic. (ever seen onboardvideo from a track? Its just like the tracks in the game). The downside is the graphics offtrack. No good, and the AI of the other riders could have been much better. ( for example, they dont try to block you as good as reallife riders would.). But all in all its the best motorcycle simulationgame out there. The arcade-style part is shit, its a Sim-game. Best there is right now for the PS2. Expand
  3. EricR.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    Finally a game with real physics! This game was meant to be played in emulation mode. When your tires slide off the asphalt and touch dirt your gone! Tough game but I wouldn't have it any other way. It feels so real and looks fantastic. And some one tell Dave N. how to spell "playing".
  4. DaveN.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I've been plying a Japanese import of this game for about a month now. This game is awesome! It is reason enough to go out and buy a PS2! Everytime I play this game I notice more and more the attention to detail put into this game. I think the shadows, reflections, and other effects are very impressive. The replays look like you are watching the sport on TV! They are that good! The I've been plying a Japanese import of this game for about a month now. This game is awesome! It is reason enough to go out and buy a PS2! Everytime I play this game I notice more and more the attention to detail put into this game. I think the shadows, reflections, and other effects are very impressive. The replays look like you are watching the sport on TV! They are that good! The handling of the bikes is very realistic, and the sense of speed and twitchiness of some of the bikes is fantastic. The only thing that needs to be added is a "in-the-helmet view" You can switch between overhead and "cockpit" views, but playing in the "cockpit" is damn near impossible. Great game. Period. Expand
  5. NicolasT.
    May 6, 2003
    10
    It's a very good game! I can say it because I like this type of video-game and I'd tried it.
  6. PeteN.
    May 7, 2003
    10
    Love it. MotoGP3 leaves you spent! I can't believe how full-featured this game is (100 challenges!) For those that actually ride, you'll notice how realistic the game physics are! Looks fantastic too! G'ster P: How can you only give this game a "5"?!! You obviously weren't playing the same game that everyone else here was playing. Also, I understand what Dave N. means Love it. MotoGP3 leaves you spent! I can't believe how full-featured this game is (100 challenges!) For those that actually ride, you'll notice how realistic the game physics are! Looks fantastic too! G'ster P: How can you only give this game a "5"?!! You obviously weren't playing the same game that everyone else here was playing. Also, I understand what Dave N. means by a "in the helmet" view - not the same as "cockpit... it would be nice. Expand
  7. TomJ.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Better then ever.
  8. G'SterP.
    Apr 26, 2003
    5
    Decidedly average. Not much of an improvement on MGP2, just slight refinements here and there. If you own MGP2, don't buy this. Oh, and despite what Dave N says, the replays are no more TV-like than they ever were. This guy also thinks that "in the helmet" and "cockpit" are different views...ho hum.
  9. JLy-u
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    Greatest Racing Game Ever!!!
  10. MigElev.
    May 23, 2003
    0
    Absolute nothing like climax´s excelent motogp game for xbox.
  11. ScottS.
    Jun 15, 2003
    9
    Finally the PS2 has a motobike game to be proud of with enough tracks now for a proper seaon and enough fantasy tracks to keep you playing for hours. It may not be a great leap from Moto GP 2 but the extra tracks, new challenges and the steep leaning curve along with the ultra realistic handling makes this probably the best bike game on any consle anywhere and should be a top priority for Finally the PS2 has a motobike game to be proud of with enough tracks now for a proper seaon and enough fantasy tracks to keep you playing for hours. It may not be a great leap from Moto GP 2 but the extra tracks, new challenges and the steep leaning curve along with the ultra realistic handling makes this probably the best bike game on any consle anywhere and should be a top priority for racing fans and motocyclistc alike. It's just awesome. Expand
  12. LiamB.
    Aug 9, 2003
    9
    This is a gr8 game in nearly every area, but the down side is it can get very frustrating getting used to the controls, with simulation on you'll be eating graval more times than you've eaten school dinners. However this is made up by the lush grapics and the hundreds of challenges it's a gr8 game for causal and hardcore fans I LOVE IT.
  13. ZACKM.
    May 19, 2004
    8
    I really enjoy playing this game. The graphics, gameplay, missions and price of $24.00 bucks I got it for made it well worth it. I'm a big fan of Moto gp and felt the Motorcycle and rider depictions were done well. Although the game would have been a lot better if there were some rider personality conflicts, rider trash talking, explosive crashes and a secret unlockable "full lengh" I really enjoy playing this game. The graphics, gameplay, missions and price of $24.00 bucks I got it for made it well worth it. I'm a big fan of Moto gp and felt the Motorcycle and rider depictions were done well. Although the game would have been a lot better if there were some rider personality conflicts, rider trash talking, explosive crashes and a secret unlockable "full lengh" Moto Gp movie. Yes, this game has some flaws, but what game doesn't? Expand
  14. PimLindey'all
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    A great racing game with marvellous graphics, a stunning on-board cam and realistic physics. boy, what a racing sim!
  15. OniNoken
    May 14, 2003
    9
    This is the motorcycle simulation. So, with that said, expect a steep learning curve, as one should with any simulation. Nice graphics, true to the tracks, Excellent stuff. P.S. In the helmet and cockpit aren't the same. If you notice, where the riders are looking and where the cockepit is pointed are seldom the same. Helmet cam would reflect rider posture, not just be a view This is the motorcycle simulation. So, with that said, expect a steep learning curve, as one should with any simulation. Nice graphics, true to the tracks, Excellent stuff. P.S. In the helmet and cockpit aren't the same. If you notice, where the riders are looking and where the cockepit is pointed are seldom the same. Helmet cam would reflect rider posture, not just be a view that's barried in the controls between the clip-ons. Expand
  16. GEORGEH.IV
    May 21, 2003
    10
    This is a really nice game.
  17. Chuck76
    May 25, 2003
    9
    This game is awesome, I was put off at first with the (very) steep learning curve, but the challenges that open up locked items and secrets are essential to learn proper bike control. Once mastered, (sort of) the whole game opens up for you, though even if you're pretty good that still seems a long way from good enough! The main difference from this to car-racing games is the fact This game is awesome, I was put off at first with the (very) steep learning curve, but the challenges that open up locked items and secrets are essential to learn proper bike control. Once mastered, (sort of) the whole game opens up for you, though even if you're pretty good that still seems a long way from good enough! The main difference from this to car-racing games is the fact that you've got the use of front and rear braking, also taking the wrong line into one corner and missing the apex can screw you up for the next few corners something that doesn't seem to affect most car games I really like that, it stops you from getting on the gas too early and being too late on the brakes it also keeps the reallism high. Even in quick play arcade mode this game is solid I get a sore jaw when I play because I'm grinding my teeth without realising. Always play this game in simulation mode though where the rear brake is a must it makes the replays look cool. If you don't like a challenge or don't follow Moto GP don't bother with this title but if you want to live out your Valentino Rossi rear wheel drift fantasies then this is the game for you. RIP Kato Collapse
  18. NeilW.
    Aug 27, 2004
    8
    Good motobike game.. Bit of a let down in game play.. just doesnt feel real.. good graffics.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Sadly, your competitors behave like drones, slaves to the racing line. When a rider glances over at you, your presence has not really been registered.
  2. Plays just like Namco's previous two games, with deceptively difficult turns and a great sense of speed. [Apr 2003, p.116]
  3. 80
    For serious motorcycle-simulation fans only. If you’re not interested in the minutiae of the sport, go dust off "Road Rash" and read no further.