MTV's Celebrity Deathmatch PlayStation 2

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 14 out of 20
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewJ.
    Apr 11, 2004
    0
    Without doubt, one of the worst games I have ever played. I completed it fully in 33 minutes and the replay value was completely nil. And there are only about 12 celebrities that you can play, and most of them are B-grade celebrities anyway.
  2. Celebritydeathmatchsucks
    Dec 31, 2003
    3
    This is the worstr game i have ever played. it has no skill at all i was just pressing any button. the celebrites arent even good. it is a complete waste of money. im returning my copy of it to the shop. do not buy...........it sucks.
  3. TomR.
    Dec 8, 2003
    0
    Firs of All This Game SUCKED PITO Why The Characters sucked And The Gameplay Was So Horrific Id Rather Stick my Head in the Toilet Than Play this Crappy Game That I Passed the game While Taking A Piss This Game Should Have Not Even Been on Stock It Should Not Even Be Worth renting this Game should be Shoved up Mr T's Ass If You like Pressing the same buttons and and seeing the same Firs of All This Game SUCKED PITO Why The Characters sucked And The Gameplay Was So Horrific Id Rather Stick my Head in the Toilet Than Play this Crappy Game That I Passed the game While Taking A Piss This Game Should Have Not Even Been on Stock It Should Not Even Be Worth renting this Game should be Shoved up Mr T's Ass If You like Pressing the same buttons and and seeing the same moves i recommend that you bang your head on a wall you stupid sons of bitches. Expand
  4. CarlosG.
    Dec 22, 2003
    0
    I had more fun having my colon checked for $150.
  5. ChrisM.
    Feb 4, 2004
    0
    This game blew worse ass then I do after eatting 2 bowls of chili, 5 bean burritos, 2 loaves of garlic bread, and 600 rotten eggs. I would actually have to say that I believe I am most likely 40% dumber now after playing it. Don't touch it...put your wallet back in your pocket and take your girlfriend or perhaps blow-up doll if you are like that...out to eat and dance.
  6. Werrew
    Nov 28, 2003
    2
    This game is absolutley PANTS, DO NOT BUY IT!!!!!!
  7. Steveh.
    Nov 3, 2003
    0
    If pressing the same button over and over again, and beating the game in 10 minutes, with no other options to do after is fun to you, id say go for it...its dreadful at best.
  8. 23$
    Nov 4, 2003
    0
    ...yeah, I'd say this games is about as fun as waking up with a blood-soaked pillow from the massive nose bleed you got from doing too much cocaine, realizing that big breasted pornstar you slept with was really a RuPaul impersonator, stole your wallet, and gave you 2 different STD's that havn't even been discovered yet.... ...just as every TV/Movie based knock off game ...yeah, I'd say this games is about as fun as waking up with a blood-soaked pillow from the massive nose bleed you got from doing too much cocaine, realizing that big breasted pornstar you slept with was really a RuPaul impersonator, stole your wallet, and gave you 2 different STD's that havn't even been discovered yet.... ...just as every TV/Movie based knock off game goes(Minority Report/Buffy the Vampire Slayer) this game leaves much to be desired with is repetative thumb swelling game play. Simply Put: Don't waste your time, just go play Soul Calibur II Expand
  9. Aug 26, 2012
    3
    Is MTV making a death wish by putting a fantastic clay animated series into a video game? That's what happens when it comes to bad video games based on a TV-adapted series of the same name. With all do respect, I love Celebrity Deathmatch. It's more like an homage to violent video games like Grand Theft Auto, Mortal Kombat, and Dead or Alive. But the video game of Celebrity Deathmatch isIs MTV making a death wish by putting a fantastic clay animated series into a video game? That's what happens when it comes to bad video games based on a TV-adapted series of the same name. With all do respect, I love Celebrity Deathmatch. It's more like an homage to violent video games like Grand Theft Auto, Mortal Kombat, and Dead or Alive. But the video game of Celebrity Deathmatch is quite possibly a boneheaded mistake. The graphics, the music, and the celebrities are kinda good, but they should've picked all of the celebrities from seasons 1-4. The controls look terrible, special moves are utterly useless, and I like the commentary but I think it's been outdated since where the series left off. This is one of the worst video games of the decade and sometimes Referee Mills Lane always says the same line over again "Let's Get It On." Well, for that point, not in this ring or this pile of junk. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#95 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#32 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 15 out of 17
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    It's neither run nor funny - you're better off spending $20 on something else. [Jan 2004, p.125]
  2. It reeks of "shovel-ware," a game that was stripped of both function and price then sent to retailers in the hopes of turning a quick buck. The gameplay is shallow and often needlessly frustrating, with few attacks really being entertaining, but most lacking any sort of humorous overtone.
  3. 32
    What’s the maximum amount of fun that can be had by battling over the top celebrities represented as clay model figures doing something similar to wrestling but not quite wrestling? Not a lot.