MTV's Celebrity Deathmatch PlayStation 2

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 15 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    3
    Is MTV making a death wish by putting a fantastic clay animated series into a video game? That's what happens when it comes to bad video games based on a TV-adapted series of the same name. With all do respect, I love Celebrity Deathmatch. It's more like an homage to violent video games like Grand Theft Auto, Mortal Kombat, and Dead or Alive. But the video game of Celebrity Deathmatch isIs MTV making a death wish by putting a fantastic clay animated series into a video game? That's what happens when it comes to bad video games based on a TV-adapted series of the same name. With all do respect, I love Celebrity Deathmatch. It's more like an homage to violent video games like Grand Theft Auto, Mortal Kombat, and Dead or Alive. But the video game of Celebrity Deathmatch is quite possibly a boneheaded mistake. The graphics, the music, and the celebrities are kinda good, but they should've picked all of the celebrities from seasons 1-4. The controls look terrible, special moves are utterly useless, and I like the commentary but I think it's been outdated since where the series left off. This is one of the worst video games of the decade and sometimes Referee Mills Lane always says the same line over again "Let's Get It On." Well, for that point, not in this ring or this pile of junk. Expand
  2. AndrewJ.
    Apr 11, 2004
    0
    Without doubt, one of the worst games I have ever played. I completed it fully in 33 minutes and the replay value was completely nil. And there are only about 12 celebrities that you can play, and most of them are B-grade celebrities anyway.
  3. ChrisM.
    Feb 4, 2004
    0
    This game blew worse ass then I do after eatting 2 bowls of chili, 5 bean burritos, 2 loaves of garlic bread, and 600 rotten eggs. I would actually have to say that I believe I am most likely 40% dumber now after playing it. Don't touch it...put your wallet back in your pocket and take your girlfriend or perhaps blow-up doll if you are like that...out to eat and dance.
  4. Celebritydeathmatchsucks
    Dec 31, 2003
    3
    This is the worstr game i have ever played. it has no skill at all i was just pressing any button. the celebrites arent even good. it is a complete waste of money. im returning my copy of it to the shop. do not buy...........it sucks.
  5. CarlosG.
    Dec 22, 2003
    0
    I had more fun having my colon checked for $150.
  6. TomR.
    Dec 8, 2003
    0
    Firs of All This Game SUCKED PITO Why The Characters sucked And The Gameplay Was So Horrific Id Rather Stick my Head in the Toilet Than Play this Crappy Game That I Passed the game While Taking A Piss This Game Should Have Not Even Been on Stock It Should Not Even Be Worth renting this Game should be Shoved up Mr T's Ass If You like Pressing the same buttons and and seeing the same Firs of All This Game SUCKED PITO Why The Characters sucked And The Gameplay Was So Horrific Id Rather Stick my Head in the Toilet Than Play this Crappy Game That I Passed the game While Taking A Piss This Game Should Have Not Even Been on Stock It Should Not Even Be Worth renting this Game should be Shoved up Mr T's Ass If You like Pressing the same buttons and and seeing the same moves i recommend that you bang your head on a wall you stupid sons of bitches. Expand
  7. SeanMullen
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    This is the definitive title for X-Box. Whooping the crap out of that little girl Ving Rhames is fantastically well. With guest appearances by Jay-z and Rosario Dawson. Speakerboxx/TheLoveBelow is the greatest movie about sea adventures starring Russell Crowe, whose new self-titled album titled Blink 182 is blowing away the country music charts not to mention the depletion of ozone inThis is the definitive title for X-Box. Whooping the crap out of that little girl Ving Rhames is fantastically well. With guest appearances by Jay-z and Rosario Dawson. Speakerboxx/TheLoveBelow is the greatest movie about sea adventures starring Russell Crowe, whose new self-titled album titled Blink 182 is blowing away the country music charts not to mention the depletion of ozone in the atmosphere. In other news, Iraq suffered a severe Ving Rhames attack today when he dressed up as a bear and punched people in the eyes while declaring that Celebrity Deathmatch is the best ownable title on the X-Box. Expand
  8. Werrew
    Nov 28, 2003
    2
    This game is absolutley PANTS, DO NOT BUY IT!!!!!!
  9. Thechubinator
    Nov 19, 2003
    5
    Yeah, it's replay value is low, but as a button mashing no-brainer, CD is a fun time waster. Grab a friend, cut the cheese, and go head-to-head. Its a party game. Don't think, do!
  10. MikeA.
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    The best ever i loved this game because u can beat on those celebs u hate.
  11. 23$
    Nov 4, 2003
    0
    ...yeah, I'd say this games is about as fun as waking up with a blood-soaked pillow from the massive nose bleed you got from doing too much cocaine, realizing that big breasted pornstar you slept with was really a RuPaul impersonator, stole your wallet, and gave you 2 different STD's that havn't even been discovered yet.... ...just as every TV/Movie based knock off game ...yeah, I'd say this games is about as fun as waking up with a blood-soaked pillow from the massive nose bleed you got from doing too much cocaine, realizing that big breasted pornstar you slept with was really a RuPaul impersonator, stole your wallet, and gave you 2 different STD's that havn't even been discovered yet.... ...just as every TV/Movie based knock off game goes(Minority Report/Buffy the Vampire Slayer) this game leaves much to be desired with is repetative thumb swelling game play. Simply Put: Don't waste your time, just go play Soul Calibur II Expand
  12. MTVismywholelife
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    This game is what you've been waiting for since your dad's sperm entered your mom's egg and began your life. But up until now, your life has been complete crap, even if you don't know it. Enter MTV's Celebrity Deathmatch by the brilliant minds at Take 2 Interactive and Gotham Games. This game seemlessly blends the amazing feeling of trying cocaine for the first This game is what you've been waiting for since your dad's sperm entered your mom's egg and began your life. But up until now, your life has been complete crap, even if you don't know it. Enter MTV's Celebrity Deathmatch by the brilliant minds at Take 2 Interactive and Gotham Games. This game seemlessly blends the amazing feeling of trying cocaine for the first time with the triumphant joy that comes from having sex with a big-breasted pornstar into one amazing, effervescent gaming experience. Warning: side effects of this game include eternal happiness, lower levels of stress, constant euphoria, gas, and automatic entry into heaven. Expand
  13. Steveh.
    Nov 3, 2003
    0
    If pressing the same button over and over again, and beating the game in 10 minutes, with no other options to do after is fun to you, id say go for it...its dreadful at best.

Awards & Rankings

#95 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#37 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 15 out of 17
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    It's neither run nor funny - you're better off spending $20 on something else. [Jan 2004, p.125]
  2. It reeks of "shovel-ware," a game that was stripped of both function and price then sent to retailers in the hopes of turning a quick buck. The gameplay is shallow and often needlessly frustrating, with few attacks really being entertaining, but most lacking any sort of humorous overtone.
  3. 32
    What’s the maximum amount of fun that can be had by battling over the top celebrities represented as clay model figures doing something similar to wrestling but not quite wrestling? Not a lot.