User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulD.
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    This is a great game for baseball fans. I guess some people don't know how to throw a strike out if there life was on the line, well i guess thats why they are playing on the playstation, not in real life, Huh.
  2. RogerC.
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    This is the best game I am play so far this season.
  3. MikeP.
    May 21, 2003
    10
    This is by far one of the best baseball games I've ever played!!
  4. DanB.
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    OK...this is definitely the best baseball game on the market. The pitching interface is the best by far...the homerun showdown is awesome...the fielding has a few annoying glitches...but so do most games. Yea its hard to get strikeouts IF YOU DONT KNOW HOW TO PLAY BASEBALL...so all you reviewers stop whining about how hard it is to throw strikeouts and learn to play baseball.
  5. KenP.
    Jul 13, 2003
    9
    This is the best baseball game i have ever played. Of course there are a couple things that need to be fixed, but no game that i have played has had everything 100% perfect. Pitching is easy if you have thown a baseball before. Stealing bases is a little hard but if you practice at it and try it a couple times you should be able to steal about 80-90% of your steal attempts. Overall this This is the best baseball game i have ever played. Of course there are a couple things that need to be fixed, but no game that i have played has had everything 100% perfect. Pitching is easy if you have thown a baseball before. Stealing bases is a little hard but if you practice at it and try it a couple times you should be able to steal about 80-90% of your steal attempts. Overall this is the best baseball game i have played on any console. Expand
  6. WilliamW.
    Jun 27, 2003
    9
    This game is excellent. One problem are you can't dive. The computer dives and jumps for you. It it not as difficult to strike people out as others may say. The trick is to paint the corners and change speeds. The camera angle from the pitchers mound is fantastic.
  7. JohnS.
    Mar 15, 2003
    9
    I really liked the pitching.
  8. RickF.
    Mar 24, 2003
    9
    This game is really fun and has great graphics. It's not perfect but what b-ball title is? This is the best buy for your 50 bucks if you just want to play a realistic game.The commentary and presentation are just like you're watching your current game on live television.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The gameplay exceeds any baseball title to date! [Apr 2003, p.83]
  2. A totally new game. Unfortunately, it lacks the depth of the other games here, and therefore won't satisfy hardcore baseball fans. [Apr 2003, p.64]
  3. Without question, EA's latest baseball title is our choice for best baseball game for 2003. [Apr 2003, p.70]