• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 17, 2004
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The control is excellent, the physics are perfect, there are loads of original tracks and landscapes, and the fun factor is off the charts.
  2. 88
    It's really well polished, controls great, looks good and is presented very nicely. You'd really have a hard time finding a racing game that's more fun to just fool around in, cruise about the country side and wreck the living crap out of yourself.
  3. Another very good entry in a solid series of motocross games. It plays well, and it has great control and a lot of tracks and objectives.
  4. The attention to detail is commendable, but the sheer scope may be a point of frustration for some, especially those who come from the "Tony Hawk" school. The supercross races are so exacting that progression without dedication is impossible.
  5. Even fans who dislike racing games will be impressed with MX Unleashed. [Apr 2004, p.24]
  6. We struggle with MXU's collision problems, floatiness while jumping, and the decision to scrap "MX Superfly's" stunt track editor. These work to frustrate and unfortunately take things down a bit. [Apr 2004, p.93]
  7. Despite the gripes there’s no denying that the core jumping mechanic is sound and more importantly, fun. It’s a refreshing change from the standard racing offering.
  8. 87
    MX Unleashed has got to be the best motocross game on the PS2, and possibly the best ever. It’s addictive, it’s packed with gameplay and unlockable tracks and the soundtrack beats any of those featured in the Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater series by a mile.
  9. 85
    Easily the best motocross game I've ever played, and it's the first one I'd recommend to people who aren't the least bit fans of the sport.
  10. It has the small features bike fans will be looking for, but the game also caters for those looking for a quick spin with some powerful bikes.
  11. More straight-up innovation is needed next time, but until then, we've got a good solid game on our hands. [Mar 2004, p.94]
  12. This year's MX is certainly the most professional motocross game I've played - the physics are flawless and every race has nail-biter potential, even if you're dead last heading into the final lap. [Apr 2004, p.118]
  13. The bikes have a nice low end growl to them that is a pleasant departure from the typical mosquito-like buzz that is usually afforded them.
  14. Unlike "ATV Offroad Fury 2," Unleashed isn’t online, and it doesn’t support four-player multiplayer. Furthermore, the visual quality doesn’t increase at all due to these cuts, which is disappointing.
  15. The inoffensive, safe, non-threatening nature of the title just doesn't ever inspire fun or even frustration, merely, and perhaps most disconcertingly, ambivalence.
  16. 80
    Smooth handling is complimented by solid physics, while the opponents boast A.I. that is much more balanced than Freekstyle’s rubber-band rivals.
  17. The physics make the game so entertaining that you really won't mind having to replay a race over and over again. [Apr 2004, p.99]
  18. Tearing a page from their old Motocross Madness tome, they've inserted a beefy mission-based free-roamer into the mix, allowing you to essentially go f'ing bananas between venues. [Mar 2004, p.69]
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. May 8, 2014
    10
    This game was great. As a child this is the biggest game that stands out (beside the jax and daxter series). The soundtrack was amazing. I always say that this game is responsible for my amazing taste in music. The graphics were amazing at the time. The gameplay was amazing. I rarely did any of the races except when playing with friends. The best part of this game is Freestyle. You were able to go anywhere in an open world type game. There were fun secrets like going to the edge of the map and getting launched. There were also fun machines they put in the game such as the monster truck and dune buggy. But the best vehicle was the biplane. Overall one of the best games from my childhood. Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    This is an OK game with good graphics and music. The controls are arcade but its fun to fly off jumps. The actual racing is not very substantial feeling and may get boring. Many times you will fall because of the computer AI running into you. There are many modes to play. It also has Progressive Scan mode so this game actually looks really good. I think you'd be better off getting one of the later ATV Offroad games or excite-bike. Those seemed to have tighter physics. This is definitely better than SBK and MotoGP though. If you find it for $2, its worth a try. Full Review »
  3. BrianN.
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    refreshing new way to drive dirt bikes. New features are give the game and extra kick. Well done.