• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 12, 2002
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KobeIverson
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    This is hot.
  2. DanteS.
    Mar 7, 2002
    8
    If you're lookin' 4 simulation, add 2 points to my score, and you'll get what NBA 2K2 deserves in simulation terms. A solid 10. And forget all the silly graphics and flaws of NBA LIVE 2002. NBA 2K2 is "THE" game! However, if you're not a simulation fan, and you prefer arcade style, go to NBA Street. In my opinion, 1000 times more fun than this one.
  3. AndrewH.
    Aug 4, 2002
    8
    Great game, BUT when your passing the ball back in and simply hit 'X' the guy you pass it to might be out of bounds (or backcourt when running down the court), I wished they'd not pass to them. Other than that, GREAT game.
  4. WarrenC.
    Mar 14, 2002
    8
    This game has a lot going for it, but it is hard to find codes for it.
  5. MichaelA.
    Apr 3, 2002
    10
    It's tizzight.
  6. ZiggyStardust
    May 11, 2002
    9
    It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy or contain incomplete animations at times), but the gameplay is certainly up there. if you're a fan of realistic nba basketball, you couldn't do much better than nba 2k2. for more casual nba fans i recommend nba street instead. i'm It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy or contain incomplete animations at times), but the gameplay is certainly up there. if you're a fan of realistic nba basketball, you couldn't do much better than nba 2k2. for more casual nba fans i recommend nba street instead. i'm quite happy with purchasing both titles though. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 21, 2002
    5
    Sure, the realism is unbelieveable, the passes, plays and replays are amazing, but if you are not good at basket ball videogames then you'd only be playing this game to look at it.
  8. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    8
    It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy or contain incomplete animations at times), but the gameplay is certainly up there. if you're a fan of realistic nba basketball, you couldn't do much better than nba 2k2. for more casual nba fans i recommend nba street instead. i'm It's definitely the deepest basketball game i've ever played. the graphics a slightly disappointing (they're a little glitchy or contain incomplete animations at times), but the gameplay is certainly up there. if you're a fan of realistic nba basketball, you couldn't do much better than nba 2k2. for more casual nba fans i recommend nba street instead. i'm quite happy with purchasing both titles though. Expand
  9. ChrisM.
    Aug 23, 2002
    4
    This game is way, way too hard on pro level and is incredibly frustrating. The cpu always manages to hit its shots if you dont have a hand in its face, and scores ALL THE TIME in the paint. You can't score outside the paint more than 20% of the time unless using a superstar player, how fake can you get. Unless you are at an incredibly advanced level, its a 2 player only game. Ive This game is way, way too hard on pro level and is incredibly frustrating. The cpu always manages to hit its shots if you dont have a hand in its face, and scores ALL THE TIME in the paint. You can't score outside the paint more than 20% of the time unless using a superstar player, how fake can you get. Unless you are at an incredibly advanced level, its a 2 player only game. Ive stopped playing 1 player on this because I was throwing my control pad way too often....Im not joking either. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The 2K2 [computer opponents], however, can light it up with more ferocity than a pit bull at a beef jerky convention. [Mar 2002, p.138]
  2. If the game were any more detailed, they would have to include a “Record Shitty Rap Album” mode.
  3. The gaming equivalent of a religious experience. [Feb 2002, p.112]