NBA Jam 2004 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Acclaim
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2003
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickL.
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    I love it, and lebron james is a beast on this game.
  2. TwanDaGreatJuan
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    This Game is awesome.
  3. MichaelM.
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    The best!
  4. UnKnOwN
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    This game is top notch.
  5. DanK.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    Did he really just do that? I can't believe it! BOOMSHAKALAKA!!!
  6. DaveJ.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Sweet, sweet, sweet. I could play all day and not get tired of whooping the other team.
  7. GeorgeF.
    Sep 28, 2003
    10
    This game is great and no it isn't typical Acclaim.
  8. RozzaW.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    What a game! From a easy 2 pointer to a massive monster jam. What else could you want?
  9. DamianD.
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    This game rulz!!
  10. TomC.
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    This game is great.
  11. Unknownlegend
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    It's a really tight game.
  12. MattM.
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    I feel that the entire setup and gameplay on NBA Jam 2004 are both fresh and rewarding. The points system allows you to either create a player or purchase new places to play, and of course to buy cheats. I will agree that it takes a myriad of points to create a PERFECT player, but shouldn't it? Anyways, the points give it replayability, the gameplay never lets up, and the commentary, I feel that the entire setup and gameplay on NBA Jam 2004 are both fresh and rewarding. The points system allows you to either create a player or purchase new places to play, and of course to buy cheats. I will agree that it takes a myriad of points to create a PERFECT player, but shouldn't it? Anyways, the points give it replayability, the gameplay never lets up, and the commentary, which is a major factor in buying it, is what you'd expect and remember. Expand
  13. DustinW.
    Sep 28, 2003
    9
    I think this game was so awesome because i loved NBA Jam on super nintendo and it was so much like it but with so much better graphics. I believe this game could win the game of the year.
  14. Roy
    Sep 25, 2003
    8
    Create a player stinks because you have too many options and not enough points so your baller is only like 5' 7". but gameplay is good.
  15. NickW.
    Dec 29, 2003
    8
    Great game, but not as good as the originals.
  16. DwayneB.
    Sep 26, 2003
    1
    This game is typical Acclaim.

Awards & Rankings

#82 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. games(TM)
    50
    The slightly clumsy controls and overly enthusiastic (read: nearly unbeatable) AI, plus with a new Hot Spot system that feels very random, makes the whole game feel rather lopsided and not much fun. [Dec 2003, p.125]
  2. As a nostalgia piece, this new iteration is a great 3D representation of the classic NBA Jam experience, but when compared with recent arcade basketball offerings, like the "NBA Street" series, it doesn't quite measure up.
  3. 80
    The resulting relaunched game is worthy of its weighty legacy. "NBA Street" has a better all-around arcade-style game, but if all you care about are big dunks and big points, NBA Jam will deliver you to highlight heaven.