NBA Live 2003 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Flex
    Jan 10, 2003
    9
    Amazing game to play. once had found time limit and difficulty to get realistic scores found the gameplay to be the best ive seen. Freestyle play is dope, adds a whole new playing style to the game. D still needs some work, but ovcrall top quality.
  2. MicaelA.
    Feb 15, 2003
    10
    This game is f..ken cool tite ass graphics fun to play on any system accept ps1.
  3. Frank
    Feb 9, 2003
    10
    It's AWESOME!!!!!!
  4. LachlanR.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    I dont give a sh.t what you other guys think, this game cant be beat!!! i love the freestyle controls, the animation and the gameplay. keep it up ea sports!
  5. LilZ
    Mar 5, 2003
    10
    Damn, this game is off da hook. I cant wait till da next game comes out its gonna be better.
  6. DougP.
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    This game is on the hook!
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    This game is so awesome dudes and dudets.
  8. JoshL.
    Nov 30, 2002
    10
    It is just great.
  9. MichaelR.
    Oct 13, 2002
    6
    While EA has fixed many of the problems of the past few years, a whole new crop has appeared, and this time the problems are just annoying. The game has the added feature of a "Draw Charge" button, which is a great idea, but it also means that if you are quick you can draw a call ever play. Players will fall down constantly, whether or not a call is made on the play. These guys are great While EA has fixed many of the problems of the past few years, a whole new crop has appeared, and this time the problems are just annoying. The game has the added feature of a "Draw Charge" button, which is a great idea, but it also means that if you are quick you can draw a call ever play. Players will fall down constantly, whether or not a call is made on the play. These guys are great actors, but unfortunately that doesn't translate to a fun basketball game experience. If a player is hit while in a shooting animation, the animation will stop, so you have to hit the shoot button repeatedly. On defense there is little more than drawing charges. You can get upwards of 8 to 10 blocks a game with just your center, but the opposing team will still shoot 75% for the game. The freestyle control is a wonderful addition, but the collision detection of the game is horrible. Players will fall over when the ball carrier runs by. You can spin move into someone and just stay in one place, or you can go through three men for a two hand dunk. In all it is just an extremely frustrating game, which is why I am returning my copy and trading in for NBA 2K3. Expand
  10. CaseyI.
    Dec 30, 2002
    6
    This game is fun but it is in no way realistic i mean getting 12 blocks in a game every game with 4 minute quarters is just gay. Players don't even look like they should. Shaq has skinny legs for goodness sakes. EA has the lockdown on football games but Sega deff. has the edge when it comes to basketball.
  11. DonovanR.
    Jan 15, 2003
    10
    It is very very good, but I cannot wait for the next one to come out.
  12. JustinH.
    Mar 25, 2003
    0
    This game sucks, I hate it so much.
  13. RookiePajar
    Dec 13, 2002
    9
    I LOVE IT. I love the Freestyle mode coz' you can make the players do more things. The game is much, much more realistic because of the freestyle mode. This is a must-have. LOVE THIS GAME !!!!!

Awards & Rankings

#40 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#87 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. GameNow
    75
    Simple, straightforward fun. [Dec 2002, p.70]
  2. The bottom line is that EA has made nothing but vast improvements with this version of the NBA Live series.
  3. Live 2003’s identity crisis and average-at-best graphics are inexcusable. It belongs next to “ShootOut 2003” in the rental bin while “NBA 2K3” spins happily ever after.