Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 92
    06 has so many different game options to choose from. Race for the Heisman, Dynasty, Recruiting, and revamped online play. It'll stay in your console for a very long time.
  2. The improved game balance and new features make NCAA Football 06 arguably the best in the series, as well as a game that's a must-have for college football fanatics.
  3. Gridiron greatness – your name is NCAA Football 06.
  4. With great new moves, excellent graphics, plenty of deep, exciting modes including a variety of mini-games, NCAA Football 06 comes highly recommended. If you passed on last year's game this is definitely the year to buy.
  5. A lot of fun to play, but it's more of a 12-yard run on first down instead of the 40-yard bomb down the field. [Aug 2005, p.96]
  6. 100
    If you're a college football fan, NCAA Football 06 is the game you've been waiting for your whole life. It might even be the best football game ever made, professional or collegiate, which, given the competition for the title, is really saying something.
  7. 90
    The game successfuly builds on accomplishments of the series' earlier installments without becoming stale and outdated (thanks mostly to the awesome new play modes.) [Sept 2005, p.84]
  8. By far the best college football game to date.
  9. It’s silly to think that a team like USC, with so many returning stars, would have the same number of impact players as Cal. Instead of picking a lucky number and binding every team to it, the designers should have bound the number of impact players to some transitional stat, like returning upper-classmen.
  10. While the inclusion of the Race for the Heisman mode was an incredibly ambitious move, along with some of the other tweaks made to the game, NCAA Football 06 manages to carry them off rather well.
  11. 80
    NCAA Football 06’s refined approach seems to cater most to the hardcore college football fan rather than the casual sports enthusiast.
  12. Thankfully, EA has addressed my biggest complaint with last year's addition of NCAA: the visuals. Everything has been touched up. [Aug 2005, p.111]
  13. There's no doubt that NCAA Football 06 lives up to the pre-release hype and keeps the dynasty going by staying on top and garnering yet another title as the best college football game around.
  14. A great game, but most of the new features don't really feel like they're all that new. [Aug 2005, p.82]
  15. When EA Sports decides to fix what's broken, specifically the dropped passes and deep passing game, it'll have another A-list football game on its hands. [Oct 2005, p.89]
  16. NCAA Football 06 gets absolutely everything right, even the trophy girlfriend. [Aug 2005, p.80]
  17. Currently possessing the finest animation ever seen in a football game, detailed graphics, speedy gameplay, great commentary, more game modes then ever, and an improved online game, NCAA 2006 has no competition...literally.
  18. The gameplay is much improved from last year's game. For one, the new controls open up many new strategies.
  19. The AI in the game has been greatly improved over last year. People who like to run the same few plays over and over will need to learn to change their game, or they will get left behind.
  20. The presentation is wonderful, with revamped graphics that look better than they've ever been thanks to a wider view of the field.
  21. Forget that it’s the only college football game for a minute and just bask in the glory of a well-executed title.
  22. The most fun comes in the game's "Race for the Heisman," an all-new game mode separate from, but similar to, "Dynasty."
  23. 95
    This year's installment features overachieving impact players who are highlighted on the field during games, your very own dorm room (where you can check your stats, store your trophies, etc…), and revamped training games that are addictive as beer nuts.
  24. The PlayStation 2 version I played had a serious problem with players bleeding into one another during cut scenes before and after plays. The PS2 graphics also are OK but a bit blocky.
  25. All sorts of great action await you, so to put it to plain and simple words; NCAA Football 06 is the best game in the series.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Ben
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    At first the graphics are disapointing, but the more I play 06 the more I love it. The game play is more realistic than 05, opponents are At first the graphics are disapointing, but the more I play 06 the more I love it. The game play is more realistic than 05, opponents are smarter and I've ran a couple of punts back. Full Review »
  2. BobM.
    Aug 11, 2005
    9
    9/10 Period. The graphics are excellent way better then 05. I wasn't to excited either after my 20th time playing it.It gets boring 9/10 Period. The graphics are excellent way better then 05. I wasn't to excited either after my 20th time playing it.It gets boring sometimes. EA needed something to spice up the series. so they made heisman ad superstar mode. If your gonna buy Madden buy this one first! Full Review »
  3. RyanM.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    A+ Will give madden a run for its money.