Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Too slick for its own good and offers little of the gritty reality of college basketball.
  2. It's just an overall final layer of polish that keeps March Madness from the National Championship. [Jan 2003, p.176]
  3. Easily the best option for college hoops fans. [Jan 2003, p.96]
  4. 90
    While the series has strayed from its hardcore sim roots pioneered by Coach K College basketball way back in the Genesis’s heyday, it at least has defined an identity and found a fun formula as well.
  5. EA Sports simply hasn't made enough gameplay changes to make it feel even remotely different from its NBA counterpart.
  6. This game does have appeal, but it isn't a strong reflection of the college game.
  7. 71
    A fast arcade experience for players who like their simulations anemic, it's not quite enough to compete with the excellent Visual Concepts vehicle in the least.
  8. I feel like nothing I do matters. The game is completely out of control. [Jan 2003, p.138]
  9. Its fast and furious gameplay provides for an entertaining, if unsophisticated, arcade romp.
  10. Gameplay is exactly like "Live" (with EA's exclusive Freestyle Control), so players can expect fast, adrenaline-pumping gameplay. [Jan 2003, p.84]
  11. The main downside of MM 2003 is its graphics... It's aggravating trying to play this game when the framerate and animations are so jittery. [Jan 2003, p.26]
  12. The implementation of “NBA Live 2003’s” Freestyle Control doesn’t mesh perfectly with this particular engine’s loose physics. The sameness of the b-ball courts and annoying cutscenes from “Live 2003” don’t help the cause either.
  13. The atmosphere is there, but the game style, more so than a lack of animation or AI, is not correct.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. ScottM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    I love the graphics in this game. It is a lot of fun to play a season and control the coaching priorities and stratagy.
  2. WreE.
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    Good game.
  3. KyleC.
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    This game is great! I can't wait to finish my dynasty! Peace Easy!