User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 144
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SotirisK.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    It was the best - the drifting, the nitrous, and most of all, it had a story - not like carbon!!
  2. CarsonK.
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    This is definitely the best NFS game to date. The killer of all racing games. In the past games, there was no damage to your car. Now, the winshield cracks an other stuff like that! I've also noted that the drifting mechanics have inproved greatly since the last game(s). I hope NFS keeps creating more games like this. Woo-hoo!
  3. KennethL.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    i give it a ten+what really gets you going in this 1 is that you cant see your person so u want to keep on playing to see if you can see what he/she looks like, cuz the graphics are awsome in this game. best graphics ive ever seen in my life. and i play alot of video games. i have the nfsmw BlackEdition. it has more cars and more races but who care. whats cool is that the black edition i give it a ten+what really gets you going in this 1 is that you cant see your person so u want to keep on playing to see if you can see what he/she looks like, cuz the graphics are awsome in this game. best graphics ive ever seen in my life. and i play alot of video games. i have the nfsmw BlackEdition. it has more cars and more races but who care. whats cool is that the black edition comes with a dvd that gives you a tutorial of the game, all the cars in the game plus shows you what they look like with all the different types of body kits. well this game is the best game ive seen yet. but next time make it so you can choose your body parts not just choosing kits. and get better hood scoops Expand
  4. Zee
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    A Fantastic game to fit into the top 3 best NFS games, Completely the best Racing and Hot Pursiut game I've ever played!! A 10/10 Is for sure. Here are my results for this game; Graphics: 8/10, Music: 7/10, Gameplay: 9/10, Intensity: 10/10, Car Designs: 10/10, And there u go.... The intensity of this game is great as I gave it a 10/10, I love it when the cops go after you in a Hot A Fantastic game to fit into the top 3 best NFS games, Completely the best Racing and Hot Pursiut game I've ever played!! A 10/10 Is for sure. Here are my results for this game; Graphics: 8/10, Music: 7/10, Gameplay: 9/10, Intensity: 10/10, Car Designs: 10/10, And there u go.... The intensity of this game is great as I gave it a 10/10, I love it when the cops go after you in a Hot Pursuit Chase, Love how many police it takes for them to take you down! Great Game, I surely recommend this game for all racing, and police fans! Good Luck runnin away from those Vipers. Expand
  5. JoshuaB.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    I loved this game.It was vary intense for a "T" rated game.It got my Heart rate up for sure.The cops are the ones who made it that way.You really feel like your in Pursuit with the cops.The only gripe I had was "I don't think it takes that long for back-up to arive for a pursuit in real life".It also is vary fun to play.I do idmit that handling is quite bad but thats ture about I loved this game.It was vary intense for a "T" rated game.It got my Heart rate up for sure.The cops are the ones who made it that way.You really feel like your in Pursuit with the cops.The only gripe I had was "I don't think it takes that long for back-up to arive for a pursuit in real life".It also is vary fun to play.I do idmit that handling is quite bad but thats ture about cars.There hard to stop and turn at high speeds and with more HP,there even harder handle. Expand
  6. ChristianS.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    I loved this game.It was vary intense for a "T" rated game.It got my Heart rate up for sure.The cops are the ones who made it that way.You really feel like your in Pursuit with the cops.
  7. GhadH.
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    Yeeeeha! Those good ole Need For Speed boys are back, and this time they're MOST WANTED! Race through famous cities, swerve through oncoming traffic, and skid around neck breaking turns to be first! But look out! One false move and you could be a heap of scrap metal! One of the best games ever released concerning the almost unknown sport of illegal street racing. Finally, a game that Yeeeeha! Those good ole Need For Speed boys are back, and this time they're MOST WANTED! Race through famous cities, swerve through oncoming traffic, and skid around neck breaking turns to be first! But look out! One false move and you could be a heap of scrap metal! One of the best games ever released concerning the almost unknown sport of illegal street racing. Finally, a game that tells it like it is! Expand
  8. BenS.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    This is the best nfs game ever if you like car games you should try this one, you will get hooked.
  9. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Most Wanted is the best NFS game and one of the best Racing game ever. Very good graphics, story, audio, and much more.Game offers many licensed cars. Town in MW is entirely open and You can driving at ease. Police missions is very good and satisfying. You must end races and have bounty to play with boss. My rate is 10/10, one of my favorite games.
  10. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The best Need for Speed ever. Simply cars to Supercars. Blacklist and pursuits are really fun. The story, graphics and music. The best NFS. You can tyransform your Fiat Punto or VW in a monster.
  11. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved NFS: Most Wanted, it was, and still is the best NFS game to date, the racing was spectacular as always, you had great customization, and the police chases brought it to a new level, it keeps you wanting to play more and more, going through that blacklist as you do, the story wasn't amazing, but it didn't need to be, it wasn't the main aspect of the game, but i'm glad itI absolutely loved NFS: Most Wanted, it was, and still is the best NFS game to date, the racing was spectacular as always, you had great customization, and the police chases brought it to a new level, it keeps you wanting to play more and more, going through that blacklist as you do, the story wasn't amazing, but it didn't need to be, it wasn't the main aspect of the game, but i'm glad it did still have one, unlike the more recent NFS: Hot Pursuit which was utterly mindless. Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    é um grande jogo muito bem feito,bons graficos,excelente jogabilidade,realista para o ano é um sucesso,foi tão bem feito que hoje em dia é um grande jogo.
  13. May 9, 2014
    10
    my favorite nfs' serie games (whit NFSU2)
    very cool the chases
    I enjoyed many moments with this fantastic game
    the soundtrack is quite amazing........
  14. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    The best. What more i can say?
    Smashing cops, hiding from cops, racing, tuning, driving 350 km/h, everything is just perfect. Best need for speed. EVER!!.
  15. Mar 28, 2016
    10
    In my humble opinion, there has not been a better Need For Speed than this version on ps2 or 3. Struck a beautiful balance between track complexity, computer opponent difficulty, graphics, music and customization. There are those games in all our lives that we hold right at the top, for me this is it. I pray they release this version on the newer platforms.
  16. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    How this game only got an 82 metascore rating is beyond me. A 10 doesn't do this game justice. This game was perfection. The graphics were INCREDIBLE. The storyline was appealing. It was perfect. And top that with the fact that it came in 2005, makes you just enjoy it that much more.
  17. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    This game is awesome. I love the epic music, the graphics, customization and the story. If you haven't given this a go, i recommend you buy it. You will not be disappointed
  18. Jun 11, 2015
    10
    Best need for speed game I have ever played.Awesome cars,hot chicks,great rivals,super cops and what's more do you need. Story line is mind blowing...and Oh yes, can't forget those cool soundtracks.
  19. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  20. Aug 1, 2016
    10
    I personally believe that this game has to be one of the greatest and most influential games to ever be released in the racing genre. Story-7 The reason i didn't give the story a ten is because i feel that most characters don't get enough screen time or back story in the game. Controls-10 i gave this a ten because the games controls have almost no flaws. (at least that i noticed) Each typeI personally believe that this game has to be one of the greatest and most influential games to ever be released in the racing genre. Story-7 The reason i didn't give the story a ten is because i feel that most characters don't get enough screen time or back story in the game. Controls-10 i gave this a ten because the games controls have almost no flaws. (at least that i noticed) Each type of car has its own way of handling and control which makes each car a different experience to use. Graphics-8, Ok i feel that the games Graphics are not perfect for the time it was released because there were other games that were released around the same time period with superior and just over all better graphic quality, but this game still has good graphics, such as the attention to the surroundings and backgrounds, though sometimes they can be somewhat bland or boring, but the detail with the Cars, traffic, and the cut scenes will normally make up for boring moments. Time-9 the amount of things you can do in this game will keep players coming back after completing it the first time. Some an example is the ability to do random races with random cars allows you to play tracks and use cars you would never use normally.

    So overall I believe this is one of the Greatest classic Racing games and will continue to influence future releases in the series and other racing titles.

    I Give It A Solid 9.5/10
    Expand
  21. B.Deepak
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    it is simlier to other nfs games very slow in th start and hot speed at the end but the only differnts is a majic button it stops time for you to make a sharp turn and the crashes are like burnout 3 revenge and greate songs and a very good graphics
  22. RobertH.
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    Need for speed most wanted well what can I say its got a hell of alot better than the last ones it has faster and better cars more free roaming space and to add excitment they added cops to the game. The reason i gave it nine not ten is that the customization is not as good it doesnt go into as much detail as NFSU2 such as ; -Front bumper,rear and side -taillights and front lights -and my Need for speed most wanted well what can I say its got a hell of alot better than the last ones it has faster and better cars more free roaming space and to add excitment they added cops to the game. The reason i gave it nine not ten is that the customization is not as good it doesnt go into as much detail as NFSU2 such as ; -Front bumper,rear and side -taillights and front lights -and my favourite hydralics but other than that its a good game thanx EA games Expand
  23. Sam.F.
    Nov 26, 2005
    9
    With the excitement of street racing , the addition of evading the police and the full motion video cutscenes make this a worthy purchase for anyone who enjoys racing games.
  24. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    I've been playing NFS series since the first NFS hit 3DO. I was little disappointed to see what started as an exciting simulation of super exotics becoming arcade import tuner. It was still was a blast to play Underground 2 with all the drift action inspired by Initial D, but it lost the magic of the traditional NFS exotic-ness. When was the last time you ever had a ride in a realI've been playing NFS series since the first NFS hit 3DO. I was little disappointed to see what started as an exciting simulation of super exotics becoming arcade import tuner. It was still was a blast to play Underground 2 with all the drift action inspired by Initial D, but it lost the magic of the traditional NFS exotic-ness. When was the last time you ever had a ride in a real Civic? When was the last time you had a ride in a Gallardo? Most wanted stirs action back to its roots with mix of Underground series. Physics have improved and it seems more enjoyable then previous NFS, but don't expect GT series physics. With the new Speedbreak feature, pulling off a nice looking drift is super easy. Open road plus the cops really help to sense of running away. Busting out a 180 in the middle of a highway to speedbreaking under a 18 wheeler, there are many possibilities to outrun the law. The film-inspired chase soundtrack is also a good change up from hiphop races. Police chatter is excellent too. I played PS2, Xbox, and PC version. All version are equally worth awhile. However, PS2 version suffers from jaggies and low-res textures. One thing that I noticed was that PS2's NFS MW felt faster than other versions. I came to conclude that it was PS2's blur effect to blur out all the graphically inferiority actually helps to express speed. If you want clean looking NFS get other than PS2. I choose PS2 version because of the illusion of speed. Other versions feel so slow after play PS2 version. Expand
  25. Oct 3, 2015
    9
    El mejor de la saga del NFS , la mejor variedad de coches ( impresionante ) , buen mapa de la ciudad , rivales difíciles de batir y sobretodo la blacklist es genial . Para mi el NFS mas difícil . Lo dijo antes el mejor de la historia de toda la saga (lastima que comenzaron de de decaer después de este )
  26. Jun 8, 2016
    9
    11 years later and still easily one of the best NFS games to date. Thoroughly enjoyed the pursuits and amazing story mode on this one. Remember it much more vividly than the other NFS games, mostly because I had to keep replaying it in different ways to get the most fun out of it! Another PS2 classic.
  27. JonasB.
    Jan 1, 2006
    8
    The handling is kind of crappy just like every NFS game. But I still want to play it because they have that carrot hanging in front of my nose telling me to climb the blacklist. For every position you gain in the blacklist you get bonuses like more Body Kits, more Engine Parts, more Vinyls and the most important, more cars. Of course you have to pay for all this, which makes the game even The handling is kind of crappy just like every NFS game. But I still want to play it because they have that carrot hanging in front of my nose telling me to climb the blacklist. For every position you gain in the blacklist you get bonuses like more Body Kits, more Engine Parts, more Vinyls and the most important, more cars. Of course you have to pay for all this, which makes the game even more exciting. People talk about the graphics being worse than before, but really, i thought of that about the first five minutes. Then I didn't care anymore. This may be a way for EA to get more money but it is also a way to kill time and have fun. Expand
  28. Razor23sedes
    Oct 6, 2007
    8
    When I first brought the game it was good from the begining, but now I find it boring doing the same thing everytime. Graphics 9.5, gamplay 8, intensity 9.5 and overall 8.9
  29. AlejandroR.
    Feb 18, 2006
    7
    This game includes new exotic cars, and new mission types known as "bounties," which include hitting a certain number of police cars or escaping a pursuit in a certain amount of time. The reason I gave it a 7 was because you are no longer allowed to customize the headlights, taillights, front bumper, rear bumber, and some other features. Instead you just have a larger number of body kits This game includes new exotic cars, and new mission types known as "bounties," which include hitting a certain number of police cars or escaping a pursuit in a certain amount of time. The reason I gave it a 7 was because you are no longer allowed to customize the headlights, taillights, front bumper, rear bumber, and some other features. Instead you just have a larger number of body kits to choose from, which personally I dont really like. Expand
  30. Jul 16, 2014
    5
    Look i know this was a big turning point for nfs but it sort of let me down. The costomiation was terrible compared to underground 1! The graphic wernt prety. I didnt like the cars. carbon should have been this but even that game was a dissapointment(too short and still not enough costomiation and cars). This game dose NOT hold up today! Unlike underground.
  31. PeterN.
    Nov 19, 2005
    3
    I've loved the other NFS games, but this one really is a let down. The idea could be cool, but they cheaped out! Firstly, the graphics are pretty disappointing. They should NEVER be worse than a previous game. It's just more fuzzy and out of focus than in NFSU2. Secondly, how is it fun to race against supercars, or to be able to get supercars, if you can just "tune-up" your I've loved the other NFS games, but this one really is a let down. The idea could be cool, but they cheaped out! Firstly, the graphics are pretty disappointing. They should NEVER be worse than a previous game. It's just more fuzzy and out of focus than in NFSU2. Secondly, how is it fun to race against supercars, or to be able to get supercars, if you can just "tune-up" your little POS grocery-getter to beat a Lamborghini? That just doesn't make sense! Also, if you are racing along a wall, and you touch that wall, your car gets pulled and you turn into that wall. Garbage. Finally, this game isn't exactly difficult to beat, hell, it's downright easy. I doubt we'll see to many people asking for cheat codes for this one. Not challenging at all. Bottom line is, EA obviously has released this as a cash grab for the holiday season, hoping eveyone will be excited based on previous NFS series. Expand
  32. ThEkId
    Aug 11, 2006
    2
    I am completely disappointed everything i enjoy about the series has vanished, like the effort put in this massacre. Drift, attitude, complete customisation and enjoyable street reacing has been tooken away to leave a safe ride.

Awards & Rankings

#23 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#11 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 85
    The game holds at a solid 30 FPS on all systems, and while the sense of speed isn't as palpable in the first hour or so of play, just wait. Win a few cars, upgrade them, and before you know it, you'll be smoking.
  2. PSM Magazine
    85
    With the fuzz back in the mix, the chases are higher octane then ever, and Hollywood-style "pursuit breakers" scattered around let you do things like knock over a water tower to block them. [Holiday 2005, p.83]
  3. 85
    The nod back to the cop chase mechanics of the Hot Pursuit games is certainly welcome, plus it's interesting to see that the vaunted "open" gameplay of the last two games has been dialed down by a more forcibly linear structure to keep things interesting.