Need for Speed Most Wanted Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel theCombining the thrill of illicit street racing and tuner customization with the intensity of strategic police pursuits that rivals any Hollywood-style chase scene, Need for Speed Most Wanted challenges players to become the most notorious and elusive street racer. Players instantly feel the thrill of the ride as they hit the streets in an open world environment where drivers can tune their cars to compete against any class of vehicles or use their wits to out-fox the law to satisfy their need for speed. Need for Speed Most Wanted delivers a unique, fast-paced and gripping ride in the racing genre as players build up their Rap Sheet and street cred to move their way up the Black List to become the most wanted racer on the streets. Players go head-to-head with the top drivers on the scene as well as strategically evade more than half dozen cops at any one time. Also included are a dynamic open world, new gameplay and customization as well as tuners, supercars, muscles and sports cars. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. It offers things that both Underground and Hot Pursuit lack. Nice visuals and an amazing array of tuners and exotics to choose from could possibly make this the “most wanted” racing game for the Playstation 2 this season.
  2. It's a shame that the multiplayer options don't include a cop pursuit mode, but that's a minor omission in a one-game-fits-all package.
  3. The return of the police is an excellent addition to the game, too bad that they are not available for online play.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    81
    A decent enough racing experience. The police chases are excellent fun, but where is the proper civilian traffic? [Dec 2005]
  5. It's not as pretty as last year's game, but this refined Underground still delivers the goods: fun, fast racing.
  6. 80
    If you think you can simply drift around the corner, given a certain speed and angle, without touching either the handbrake or regular brake, well, you are going to be sorely mistaken this time around.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    It’s a nice, clean package that delivers enough hi-octane chases and enjoyment to warrant a purchase. [Christmas 2005, p.121]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Most Wanted is the best NFS game and one of the best Racing game ever. Very good graphics, story, audio, and much more.Game offers manyMost Wanted is the best NFS game and one of the best Racing game ever. Very good graphics, story, audio, and much more.Game offers many licensed cars. Town in MW is entirely open and You can driving at ease. Police missions is very good and satisfying. You must end races and have bounty to play with boss. My rate is 10/10, one of my favorite games. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    The best. What more i can say?
    Smashing cops, hiding from cops, racing, tuning, driving 350 km/h, everything is just perfect. Best need for
    The best. What more i can say?
    Smashing cops, hiding from cops, racing, tuning, driving 350 km/h, everything is just perfect. Best need for speed. EVER!!.
    Expand
  3. ChristianS.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    I loved this game.It was vary intense for a "T" rated game.It got my Heart rate up for sure.The cops are the ones who made it that way.You I loved this game.It was vary intense for a "T" rated game.It got my Heart rate up for sure.The cops are the ones who made it that way.You really feel like your in Pursuit with the cops. Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2015
    10
    Best need for speed game I have ever played.Awesome cars,hot chicks,great rivals,super cops and what's more do you need. Story line is mindBest need for speed game I have ever played.Awesome cars,hot chicks,great rivals,super cops and what's more do you need. Story line is mind blowing...and Oh yes, can't forget those cool soundtracks. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    I've been playing NFS series since the first NFS hit 3DO. I was little disappointed to see what started as an exciting simulation ofI've been playing NFS series since the first NFS hit 3DO. I was little disappointed to see what started as an exciting simulation of super exotics becoming arcade import tuner. It was still was a blast to play Underground 2 with all the drift action inspired by Initial D, but it lost the magic of the traditional NFS exotic-ness. When was the last time you ever had a ride in a real Civic? When was the last time you had a ride in a Gallardo? Most wanted stirs action back to its roots with mix of Underground series. Physics have improved and it seems more enjoyable then previous NFS, but don't expect GT series physics. With the new Speedbreak feature, pulling off a nice looking drift is super easy. Open road plus the cops really help to sense of running away. Busting out a 180 in the middle of a highway to speedbreaking under a 18 wheeler, there are many possibilities to outrun the law. The film-inspired chase soundtrack is also a good change up from hiphop races. Police chatter is excellent too. I played PS2, Xbox, and PC version. All version are equally worth awhile. However, PS2 version suffers from jaggies and low-res textures. One thing that I noticed was that PS2's NFS MW felt faster than other versions. I came to conclude that it was PS2's blur effect to blur out all the graphically inferiority actually helps to express speed. If you want clean looking NFS get other than PS2. I choose PS2 version because of the illusion of speed. Other versions feel so slow after play PS2 version. Expand
  6. May 13, 2017
    9
    Most Wanted is the best NFS game and one of the best Racing game ever. The killer of all racing games. In the past games,Town in MW isMost Wanted is the best NFS game and one of the best Racing game ever. The killer of all racing games. In the past games,Town in MW is entirely open and the Police missions is very good and. You must end races and have bounty to play with boss. a solid 9/10! Expand
  7. ThEkId
    Aug 11, 2006
    2
    I am completely disappointed everything i enjoy about the series has vanished, like the effort put in this massacre. Drift, attitude, completeI am completely disappointed everything i enjoy about the series has vanished, like the effort put in this massacre. Drift, attitude, complete customisation and enjoyable street reacing has been tooken away to leave a safe ride. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#21 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#7 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005