NFL Blitz Pro PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Has good qualities, but, ultimately, it tries much too hard to be something it isn't.
  2. Game Informer
    73
    More refinement is needed on the game in general, and Blitz Pro can be limiting. However, this is exactly the kind of jump I've been waiting for Midway to make for years. [Sept 2003, p.107]
  3. The inclusion of half-hearted simulation elements and toned down arcade gameplay result in Blitz Pro turning into a watered down shadow of its former self. Hopefully next year’s version will restore some glory to this now tarnished franchise.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    67
    Still a user-friendly pigskin experience with lightning-fast over-the-top gameplay. Yet I'm forced to throw a penalty flag at the lack of big passing plays I've come to love from this franchise. [Nov 2003, p.172]
  5. 70
    A game that just doesn't fit in. Out of the box it's not as fun as its predecessors, and nowhere near as deep or engaging as Madden or ESPN.
  6. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    It's really hard to complete a pass now - I actually found myself achieving more solid success with the running game. That's not supposed to happen in Blitz! [Nov 2003, p.138]
  7. PSM Magazine
    70
    If you enjoy the Blitz style of play and want a more standardized approach to the game you've been messing around with for years, then this is your title. [Oct 2003, p.33]
  8. It's ok for a secondary Football game if you have friends over, or want to go online occasionally. But as a single player game, or something you play leagues with on the PS2, I think this is the year Blitz doesn't quite fit in. And I love Midway, so this is a very difficult thing to say.
  9. It was like playing a toned down version of last year’s Blitz game with 11 players and 10 yards for a first down. Same playbooks, same style of play, same moves and a turbo button.
  10. Fusing a lightning-quick, over the top football engine with a realistic foundation in professional rules simply doesn’t work. It’s like putting Wayne Chrebet in a West Coast offense – both are great in and of themselves, but adding the two together leads to mediocrity.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. ChrisS.
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    It is a fun game!
  2. AlisonK.
    Jan 8, 2004
    4
    Dont buy it stay with the psone version if you have too.
  3. FrankB.
    Jan 8, 2004
    3
    Slow Slow Slow...Older the better. No Blitz left in this series. A game for people who have only 1 game, or never played any previous Blitz games.