NHL 07 PlayStation 2

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 51
  2. Negative: 25 out of 51
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MurrayS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    0
    Same thing as last with year with more confusing controls...all you get is new players and new uniforms. You can barely shoot from the blue line, the puck practically misses the goal every time. The defense was weak on NHL 06, but now they've made all the defensemen psychic! They can tell right away that you're about to get a shot off even before you have a chance to wind up! Same thing as last with year with more confusing controls...all you get is new players and new uniforms. You can barely shoot from the blue line, the puck practically misses the goal every time. The defense was weak on NHL 06, but now they've made all the defensemen psychic! They can tell right away that you're about to get a shot off even before you have a chance to wind up! All in all, a steamin' turd of a game. Expand
  2. BrettC.
    Jan 8, 2007
    2
    Not even as good as NHL 2005...dynasty was the worst one I've seen you don't even get 2 pick ticket prices. I mean that was cool having that much control over your team.
  3. Nothing
    May 31, 2007
    1
    This is the worst hockey game i have ever played. I played NHL 05 a lot and honestly it was a much better game. Final scores are always about me 20 CPU 5-8, with 25 shots or so. Are you kidding me, how could EA have possibly messed up that bad, Did they even play thegame before releasing it? if they don't do better next year ill never buy there crap again.
  4. DavidF.
    Dec 8, 2006
    3
    NHL07 has nothing on NHL06 in my eyes. (PS2) Bought and returned it. I'll stick to NHL06 until NHL08 comes out. EA should of just tweaked NHL06, they were close in making the ultimate hockey game. I found NHL07 to be to easier to score,to get penalties and the gameplay just wasn't the same as NHL06. I was excited to get NHL07 then disappointed in the same hour. I gave it a NHL07 has nothing on NHL06 in my eyes. (PS2) Bought and returned it. I'll stick to NHL06 until NHL08 comes out. EA should of just tweaked NHL06, they were close in making the ultimate hockey game. I found NHL07 to be to easier to score,to get penalties and the gameplay just wasn't the same as NHL06. I was excited to get NHL07 then disappointed in the same hour. I gave it a chance and even played on-line but it just didn't compare to NHL06. One thing EA should do is watch how goalies play the puck. They cut down angles,poke check and smother the puck. They just don't stand their when a player cuts in front or when a pass slide through the crease. These small things can make goalies a little more challenging and stop the easy deke's that everyone can score on on-line play. NHL06 was the best sense NHL94, and I've owned everyone in between. Just my opinion...thanks. Expand
  5. SteveB.
    Sep 21, 2006
    3
    Nothing new...time to move to Next Gen.
  6. TommyC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    Doesn't fly, doesn't work, too mechinal, a soulles bore, a sure-fire dead atmosphere.
  7. JeffC.
    Jan 2, 2007
    4
    Personally, I was very excited at first to play the game. I have been out of video game hockey for a while and this was the 1st game I have played since 01. The controlls were screwy as hell so that was the 1st thing that needed to be changed. Like most everyone else has said, it is extremely too easy to score and catch up mode is ridiculous. I liked the free for all battles and the shoot Personally, I was very excited at first to play the game. I have been out of video game hockey for a while and this was the 1st game I have played since 01. The controlls were screwy as hell so that was the 1st thing that needed to be changed. Like most everyone else has said, it is extremely too easy to score and catch up mode is ridiculous. I liked the free for all battles and the shoot out mode. There should be more equipment choices. I think EA should look at something like MLB 06 The show has where on the franchise mode you can also control the minor leagues. NHL could do something similar to this with the AHL and you can do your own farm system. When you create a team, you should be able to develop your own arena and goodies to go with it. I also think they should take a page out of the Madden book and do a career mode and move yourself through the ranks. I have also been thinking it would be sweet to have a NCAA Hockey game. I play College Hockey and it would be cool to do like NCAA Football and Madden do where you can import the draft class or something. EA should look at what the other sports games bring and combine it. Minor Leagues and more custom stuff as far as franchise go. Tougher defense and 100 percent better goaltending is a must for NHL 08. There should be better deeking and trick moves like the Michigan and so on. I dunno It really wasnt that good of a game, but the graphics were cool so I gave it a 4 Expand
  8. Anonymous
    Jan 3, 2007
    2
    i agree with anonymous that gave it a 2, this game like he said is a turd. i cant believe it, graphics are aweful, gameplay is aweful, the goalies are weak and the design on the goalies helmets are rediculous! i expect ea to come back with a new and better nhl game next year
  9. Michimichi/
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    The gameplay is just awful, straight up the worst hockey game I have ever played.
  10. ScottN.
    Apr 4, 2007
    4
    I am once again disappointed at EA for taking advantage of me. I have bought the game every year since 97 and will continue to do so, therefore EA will not make any major changes as there is no point. The two worst things in this is the refereeing (and the long, long PPs that come with it) and the goaltending. I have sent all my goalies down to the minors just because I am so frustrated. I am once again disappointed at EA for taking advantage of me. I have bought the game every year since 97 and will continue to do so, therefore EA will not make any major changes as there is no point. The two worst things in this is the refereeing (and the long, long PPs that come with it) and the goaltending. I have sent all my goalies down to the minors just because I am so frustrated. If the goalies are going to suck, I am just going to pay some 65, $500,000 to suck instead of paying Brodeur $4-5 million. Let's hope for better next year. I am not optimistic though. Expand
  11. GilbertC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    The golden age of console hockey returns with NHL 07, featuring gameplay innovations that make players feel like they are actually on the ice. Featuring an unmatched level of freedom and control, NHL 07 allows hockey purists and casual fans alike to feel like they can play like a pro. [Electronic Arts] Developed by EA Montreal-EA Canada, genre, sports/hockey, players: 8. ESRB rating: E10+ The golden age of console hockey returns with NHL 07, featuring gameplay innovations that make players feel like they are actually on the ice. Featuring an unmatched level of freedom and control, NHL 07 allows hockey purists and casual fans alike to feel like they can play like a pro. [Electronic Arts] Developed by EA Montreal-EA Canada, genre, sports/hockey, players: 8. ESRB rating: E10+ (everyone ten and Older), and released on september 12th 2006. The Main details I wrote down because I wanted to explain the flaws of them so that no one will be confused. NHL 07 does not have 8 player mode, 2 players is as much as it gets. Secondly, this game is sooooo boring! My bro likes it, plays it all the time, but to play you have to have experience and a focussed eye. The problem with this is that the gameplay and controls are cheesy, too dificult, and stupid, I would rather play NHL 99. Expand
  12. JoyceC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    I gazed off during gameplay, this is so dull, and the rosters make no sense, this is one dumb game.
  13. GraceA.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    Like NFL 07, you create your own player, design your own team, and play with them. in this, you create a player, you save it, nothing happens, the player seems to not appear on your rosters, the confusion, advances, and lame crap we are given here is a dissapointing dumby. All hockey fans, draw your arrows and start shooting at this dumby, because serves it right.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Dec 18, 2006
    2
    This game is a turd. Don't buy it. Here's why: Goal Glitch found within 8 minutes of gameplay, normally it takes me at least a week or two of solid play to find the 'goal glitch'. Defence is horrid. Offence that isnt you is horrid. Goaltenders are stupid. Difficulty is meaningless. This game also has the worst catch up code you'll ever see. Every game is the same This game is a turd. Don't buy it. Here's why: Goal Glitch found within 8 minutes of gameplay, normally it takes me at least a week or two of solid play to find the 'goal glitch'. Defence is horrid. Offence that isnt you is horrid. Goaltenders are stupid. Difficulty is meaningless. This game also has the worst catch up code you'll ever see. Every game is the same story, I'll score 15-20 goals on difficult (5m periods) and they'll score like 5 on 8-10 shots. They're never good shots, they just go in because the goalie miffs them. Martin Brodeur does not miff that many goals every game. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#16 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#82 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PSM3 Magazine UK
    74
    A hugely enjoyable sim. [Oct 2006, p.87]
  2. 80
    The controls are tight, especially shooting. We would like to see the checking system tweaked a bit so players aren't so magnetic. Great puck physics make for exciting, organic goal scoring.
  3. The Dynasty mode is still a blast, even though it isn’t entirely new. And the core gameplay mechanics cannot be beat. The new stick passing gives players so much more control over the puck.