NHL 07 PlayStation 2

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 51
  2. Negative: 25 out of 51
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2016
    7
    Decent hockey experience if you havent bought the game every year like me. Good graphics and simulation for a PS2 game, decent amount of leagues and teams, tho i found my national team's roster to be mostly incorrect for that season.
  2. john
    Mar 2, 2008
    7
    I like the fact that this game is available for Windows XP: I like the dynasty mode feature. Goal tending is a little weak on medium. Goalies endurance levels drop severely after you find their weak points (easy goals). I do like the feature that describes the goalies goal tending style. I like the analog stick control, makes it fun to deke on when coming in front of the net. Some of theI like the fact that this game is available for Windows XP: I like the dynasty mode feature. Goal tending is a little weak on medium. Goalies endurance levels drop severely after you find their weak points (easy goals). I do like the feature that describes the goalies goal tending style. I like the analog stick control, makes it fun to deke on when coming in front of the net. Some of the commentary is the same, depending on how the game play goes. I like the team upgrades in dynasty mode. This makes it more fun for the user to improve their team.
    The soundtrack gets old fast: could have had a better soundtrack, but you are able to turn off the songs in the menu which is a pro (I have it off during game play).
    Expand
  3. TommyC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    Doesn't fly, doesn't work, too mechinal, a soulles bore, a sure-fire dead atmosphere.
  4. GraceA.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    Like NFL 07, you create your own player, design your own team, and play with them. in this, you create a player, you save it, nothing happens, the player seems to not appear on your rosters, the confusion, advances, and lame crap we are given here is a dissapointing dumby. All hockey fans, draw your arrows and start shooting at this dumby, because serves it right.
  5. JoyceC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    I gazed off during gameplay, this is so dull, and the rosters make no sense, this is one dumb game.
  6. GilbertC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    The golden age of console hockey returns with NHL 07, featuring gameplay innovations that make players feel like they are actually on the ice. Featuring an unmatched level of freedom and control, NHL 07 allows hockey purists and casual fans alike to feel like they can play like a pro. [Electronic Arts] Developed by EA Montreal-EA Canada, genre, sports/hockey, players: 8. ESRB rating: E10+ The golden age of console hockey returns with NHL 07, featuring gameplay innovations that make players feel like they are actually on the ice. Featuring an unmatched level of freedom and control, NHL 07 allows hockey purists and casual fans alike to feel like they can play like a pro. [Electronic Arts] Developed by EA Montreal-EA Canada, genre, sports/hockey, players: 8. ESRB rating: E10+ (everyone ten and Older), and released on september 12th 2006. The Main details I wrote down because I wanted to explain the flaws of them so that no one will be confused. NHL 07 does not have 8 player mode, 2 players is as much as it gets. Secondly, this game is sooooo boring! My bro likes it, plays it all the time, but to play you have to have experience and a focussed eye. The problem with this is that the gameplay and controls are cheesy, too dificult, and stupid, I would rather play NHL 99. Expand
  7. Anonymous
    Jul 16, 2007
    6
    The dynasty mode is great. I love the idea, and it the salary cap makes it a lot more challenging, because you cant go and get all the best players and have a team where every player is 99 overall. The only bad part about this game is the goalies! I mean, i play on diffucult, and all i have to do to score is go backhand forehand and score. Its so easy, and scores usually end up being 11-2 The dynasty mode is great. I love the idea, and it the salary cap makes it a lot more challenging, because you cant go and get all the best players and have a team where every player is 99 overall. The only bad part about this game is the goalies! I mean, i play on diffucult, and all i have to do to score is go backhand forehand and score. Its so easy, and scores usually end up being 11-2 in my dynasty mode. Continue with the great games, but plz make the goalies better. Expand
  8. Nothing
    May 31, 2007
    1
    This is the worst hockey game i have ever played. I played NHL 05 a lot and honestly it was a much better game. Final scores are always about me 20 CPU 5-8, with 25 shots or so. Are you kidding me, how could EA have possibly messed up that bad, Did they even play thegame before releasing it? if they don't do better next year ill never buy there crap again.
  9. ScottN.
    Apr 4, 2007
    4
    I am once again disappointed at EA for taking advantage of me. I have bought the game every year since 97 and will continue to do so, therefore EA will not make any major changes as there is no point. The two worst things in this is the refereeing (and the long, long PPs that come with it) and the goaltending. I have sent all my goalies down to the minors just because I am so frustrated. I am once again disappointed at EA for taking advantage of me. I have bought the game every year since 97 and will continue to do so, therefore EA will not make any major changes as there is no point. The two worst things in this is the refereeing (and the long, long PPs that come with it) and the goaltending. I have sent all my goalies down to the minors just because I am so frustrated. If the goalies are going to suck, I am just going to pay some 65, $500,000 to suck instead of paying Brodeur $4-5 million. Let's hope for better next year. I am not optimistic though. Expand
  10. BrettC.
    Jan 8, 2007
    2
    Not even as good as NHL 2005...dynasty was the worst one I've seen you don't even get 2 pick ticket prices. I mean that was cool having that much control over your team.
  11. Michimichi/
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    The gameplay is just awful, straight up the worst hockey game I have ever played.
  12. Anonymous
    Jan 3, 2007
    2
    i agree with anonymous that gave it a 2, this game like he said is a turd. i cant believe it, graphics are aweful, gameplay is aweful, the goalies are weak and the design on the goalies helmets are rediculous! i expect ea to come back with a new and better nhl game next year
  13. JeffC.
    Jan 2, 2007
    4
    Personally, I was very excited at first to play the game. I have been out of video game hockey for a while and this was the 1st game I have played since 01. The controlls were screwy as hell so that was the 1st thing that needed to be changed. Like most everyone else has said, it is extremely too easy to score and catch up mode is ridiculous. I liked the free for all battles and the shoot Personally, I was very excited at first to play the game. I have been out of video game hockey for a while and this was the 1st game I have played since 01. The controlls were screwy as hell so that was the 1st thing that needed to be changed. Like most everyone else has said, it is extremely too easy to score and catch up mode is ridiculous. I liked the free for all battles and the shoot out mode. There should be more equipment choices. I think EA should look at something like MLB 06 The show has where on the franchise mode you can also control the minor leagues. NHL could do something similar to this with the AHL and you can do your own farm system. When you create a team, you should be able to develop your own arena and goodies to go with it. I also think they should take a page out of the Madden book and do a career mode and move yourself through the ranks. I have also been thinking it would be sweet to have a NCAA Hockey game. I play College Hockey and it would be cool to do like NCAA Football and Madden do where you can import the draft class or something. EA should look at what the other sports games bring and combine it. Minor Leagues and more custom stuff as far as franchise go. Tougher defense and 100 percent better goaltending is a must for NHL 08. There should be better deeking and trick moves like the Michigan and so on. I dunno It really wasnt that good of a game, but the graphics were cool so I gave it a 4 Expand
  14. Brett
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    This game is excellent. The only thing we would change is the goal keeping. Goalies are excellent when a shot come from the point or on any slap shots and even on break-aways. The only goals that ever go in are ones that trickle past the goalie or shots that get deflected by the goalie and go over his head. But all in all this game is great and is a blast to play ecspecailly online.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Dec 18, 2006
    2
    This game is a turd. Don't buy it. Here's why: Goal Glitch found within 8 minutes of gameplay, normally it takes me at least a week or two of solid play to find the 'goal glitch'. Defence is horrid. Offence that isnt you is horrid. Goaltenders are stupid. Difficulty is meaningless. This game also has the worst catch up code you'll ever see. Every game is the same This game is a turd. Don't buy it. Here's why: Goal Glitch found within 8 minutes of gameplay, normally it takes me at least a week or two of solid play to find the 'goal glitch'. Defence is horrid. Offence that isnt you is horrid. Goaltenders are stupid. Difficulty is meaningless. This game also has the worst catch up code you'll ever see. Every game is the same story, I'll score 15-20 goals on difficult (5m periods) and they'll score like 5 on 8-10 shots. They're never good shots, they just go in because the goalie miffs them. Martin Brodeur does not miff that many goals every game. Expand
  16. JanD.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    I love all of the NHL games but I hate the 2ksports hockey games I loved your game I don't care what everyone else thinks I love it keep up the work and keep your stick on the ice.
  17. DavidF.
    Dec 8, 2006
    3
    NHL07 has nothing on NHL06 in my eyes. (PS2) Bought and returned it. I'll stick to NHL06 until NHL08 comes out. EA should of just tweaked NHL06, they were close in making the ultimate hockey game. I found NHL07 to be to easier to score,to get penalties and the gameplay just wasn't the same as NHL06. I was excited to get NHL07 then disappointed in the same hour. I gave it a NHL07 has nothing on NHL06 in my eyes. (PS2) Bought and returned it. I'll stick to NHL06 until NHL08 comes out. EA should of just tweaked NHL06, they were close in making the ultimate hockey game. I found NHL07 to be to easier to score,to get penalties and the gameplay just wasn't the same as NHL06. I was excited to get NHL07 then disappointed in the same hour. I gave it a chance and even played on-line but it just didn't compare to NHL06. One thing EA should do is watch how goalies play the puck. They cut down angles,poke check and smother the puck. They just don't stand their when a player cuts in front or when a pass slide through the crease. These small things can make goalies a little more challenging and stop the easy deke's that everyone can score on on-line play. NHL06 was the best sense NHL94, and I've owned everyone in between. Just my opinion...thanks. Expand
  18. AdamD.
    Dec 1, 2006
    7
    Every year I can't wait to get the new Ea sports NHL games, i mean come on they're great, but this year I wasn't as impressed as i usually am. I expected all new features and for it to be more difficult, but boy was I wrong. NHL 07 is pretty much the same as 06 (which by the way was amazing), but a bit more confusing and i find not as many dangles. It is just much to easy Every year I can't wait to get the new Ea sports NHL games, i mean come on they're great, but this year I wasn't as impressed as i usually am. I expected all new features and for it to be more difficult, but boy was I wrong. NHL 07 is pretty much the same as 06 (which by the way was amazing), but a bit more confusing and i find not as many dangles. It is just much to easy to score though. On difficult im beating teams by 10 goals all the time. So all in all the graphics are amazing and its fun to play againt another person but its practically the same as 06 and not too many new features and it is still way too easy to score. Expand
  19. AlexP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    All they did was take everything from NHL 06 and just call it NHL 07. For one thing, the control changes was ridiculous so i changed it back to normal...They claimed the goalies "were alot better" but all they did was get rid of the flaming dive they did in 06 and just make them weaker espcially against backhands...the franchise mode sucks now cause no matter how high the salary cap goes, All they did was take everything from NHL 06 and just call it NHL 07. For one thing, the control changes was ridiculous so i changed it back to normal...They claimed the goalies "were alot better" but all they did was get rid of the flaming dive they did in 06 and just make them weaker espcially against backhands...the franchise mode sucks now cause no matter how high the salary cap goes, the game STILL thinks the salary cap is still 39 million no matter what! the Thrashers away Jerseys are messed up...and i dont even like them! In all, I am very disappointed in the franchise's direction at this point and they can clearly do a whole lot better. Expand
  20. MartP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    5
    The game is alright. But like Steve C said its too easy to score goals. The AI defense is too weak. Good to play against your boys that are vets also but besides that im killing the game with too much ease. One on One against human I give it a 7.9
  21. MurrayS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    0
    Same thing as last with year with more confusing controls...all you get is new players and new uniforms. You can barely shoot from the blue line, the puck practically misses the goal every time. The defense was weak on NHL 06, but now they've made all the defensemen psychic! They can tell right away that you're about to get a shot off even before you have a chance to wind up! Same thing as last with year with more confusing controls...all you get is new players and new uniforms. You can barely shoot from the blue line, the puck practically misses the goal every time. The defense was weak on NHL 06, but now they've made all the defensemen psychic! They can tell right away that you're about to get a shot off even before you have a chance to wind up! All in all, a steamin' turd of a game. Expand
  22. RyanD.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    The gameplay of this game is amazing. the controls are much better than NHL 06 as it makes you feel like you have perfect control of thing suck as where you are passing. The only thing that I'm not happy with is when you are going to hit somebody, their played is like a magnet to you and its trippy. I'd give it a 9 out of 10.
  23. SteveC.
    Sep 29, 2006
    5
    So dissapointing. I'm a veteren of computer hockey games, so i started playing on the difficult setting. I'm scoring up a storm. Tried nerfing the shot accuracy (down to 0) and the pass accuracy (also down to 0) and i'm getting games that are 8-8 and 10-7. It's just too damn easy to score. The skill stick is awesome for passing... but a little too awesome. The AI So dissapointing. I'm a veteren of computer hockey games, so i started playing on the difficult setting. I'm scoring up a storm. Tried nerfing the shot accuracy (down to 0) and the pass accuracy (also down to 0) and i'm getting games that are 8-8 and 10-7. It's just too damn easy to score. The skill stick is awesome for passing... but a little too awesome. The AI can't deal with it. If you want to rule every team you play and score on every rush... this is the game for you! A poor sim in my estimation. Expand
  24. MarkA.
    Sep 22, 2006
    7
    This is an awsome game as far as graphics go, but like EA is famous for they improve one aspect and screw up another. The deke stick should have been left alone on the PS2 console. This leaves for mostly one time goals or one boring deke after another. The same can be said for the defensive controls, the right stick was alot more useful as a checking control instead of a poke check.EAThis is an awsome game as far as graphics go, but like EA is famous for they improve one aspect and screw up another. The deke stick should have been left alone on the PS2 console. This leaves for mostly one time goals or one boring deke after another. The same can be said for the defensive controls, the right stick was alot more useful as a checking control instead of a poke check.EA sports should really give their heads a shake. Expand
  25. SteveB.
    Sep 21, 2006
    3
    Nothing new...time to move to Next Gen.
  26. MusicaliD.
    Sep 19, 2006
    8
    Should be a 7.5 out of 10. I like it, but not much more than last years version. The graphics are identical. There are two good improvements. Passing with the right analog stick is sweet. Gives a couple more options and really helps with the forechecking. The second improvement is with the puck physics. The puck bounces more realistically. One timers are harder to score on, which is Should be a 7.5 out of 10. I like it, but not much more than last years version. The graphics are identical. There are two good improvements. Passing with the right analog stick is sweet. Gives a couple more options and really helps with the forechecking. The second improvement is with the puck physics. The puck bounces more realistically. One timers are harder to score on, which is great. It was too easy before. Hitting is still a bit arcade-y. Good game overall, but not too much different. Expand
  27. AaronM.
    Sep 17, 2006
    5
    This game goes large on promises but sadly very short on delivery. Why is it every year where they improve one area they neglect or completely omit another? The interface is slow, and very sloppy, with very little stats depth or ability to locate players for trades and so forth. The create player is made instantly useless since you HAVE to choose a pointless and silly nickname that the This game goes large on promises but sadly very short on delivery. Why is it every year where they improve one area they neglect or completely omit another? The interface is slow, and very sloppy, with very little stats depth or ability to locate players for trades and so forth. The create player is made instantly useless since you HAVE to choose a pointless and silly nickname that the commentators will use. Gameplay HAS improved and the feel of passing and controller layout is much improved but for those looking for simulation hockey, keep looking. It is rediculously easy to score (even on Difficult, with defense setting on high, and shot accuracy on low). Even with the worst teams in the league it is almost impossible NOT to score at least 5-6 goals a game and the goaltending is mostly terrible. I haven't enjoyed this franchise since 2004 and wonder if this is just another afterthought for EA. Expand
  28. BrettK.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    NHL 07 feels like real hockey but it the pretty same as my other game NHL 06 but this game includes Sydney CRosby, and Alexander Ovetchkin who I am huge fans of. Best game on ice for me once again.

Awards & Rankings

38
16
#16 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
85
#85 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PSM3 Magazine UK
    74
    A hugely enjoyable sim. [Oct 2006, p.87]
  2. 80
    The controls are tight, especially shooting. We would like to see the checking system tweaked a bit so players aren't so magnetic. Great puck physics make for exciting, organic goal scoring.
  3. The Dynasty mode is still a blast, even though it isn’t entirely new. And the core gameplay mechanics cannot be beat. The new stick passing gives players so much more control over the puck.