NHL 2K6 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ProControl - Play like the pros with our revolutionary icon-based passing system. All-new combo passing and shooting controls let you queue up give-and-go attacks, tic-tac-toe passing, puck cycling, behind the net plays and more. PureMotion Animations - Hundreds of new NHL-caliber animations to feast your eyes on including spectacular saves in goal by Marty Turco. On-The-Fly Coaching - Play your style of hockey at both ends of the ice by calling team strategy during the action. Crash the net, screen the goalie and pinch defensemen on offense. Then, counter the attack by clearing the crease, clearing the zone, or setting up a break out for an offensive rush. Enforcer System - Throw opponents off their game by bringing out your checking line. Now, bigger and more aggressive players weigh into the outcome of a game as much as your leading goal scorers, as physical play will lower opponents’ performance ratings. Maximum Goaltending - Take matters into your own hands by utilizing your right analog stick to make quick, intuitive saves when it counts the most. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sports gaming is on the brink of a new age with the coming of new consoles, so here's hoping the 2k series continues to raise the bar by producing the best game on the market, as they have – again – with NHL 2k6.
  2. The online interface is a little cumbersome, and the game does have some load times. Get past that and you will be treated to a wonderful hockey experience that sparkles with smart AI, terrific control schemes and great action.
  3. 86
    Everything a great hockey game should be, but the presentation lacks the luster a license from Hockey Night in Canada should have had.
  4. 2K Sports still offers the best hockey at the best price. All that's needed now is a face-lift. [Dec 2005, p.115]
  5. On the Easy difficulty settings you might get an equivalent challenge against a patient recovering from a massive coronary or an unplugged controller.
  6. The controls are extensive, and do make a difference, taking NHL 2K6 away from the arcade style and into the big time of realism; and it is pretty realistic. The A.I. is solid too, and for hockey fans I’m sure there’s a lot to be cherished, from what is a very noble effort, and pleasurable addition to the series.
  7. Tune and tweak all you want, Demian, and 2K6's goalies will still be absolute sieves. And for that reason - plus 06's faster play and flashier offense - I'm giving the nod to EA's game. [Oct 2005, p.114]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. JoeH.
    Nov 28, 2005
    9
    I think everybody here is on crack and there is nothing wrong with that but i've played the game a ton of times and the graphics are awesome and everything is cool.. the only thing is it is alittle to easy thats why i vote 9...definatly better than EA sports NHL 2006..My suggestion get this game..i also own nhl 2006 from ea sports and although my favorite game is madden 06 ea sports didn't succeed with this one. Maybe the lockdwon did themnsome damage. Expand
  2. DennisV.
    Oct 19, 2005
    8
    Back for another tour de force of hockey superstardom, 2K6 has made some tweaks to the gameplay brought to you by ESPN 2K5. No longer using the ESPN branding, Kush games has opted to use their own 2K Sports branding and the result has brought mixed reviews. On one hand, the presentation has been given more free reign over creativity because of the fact they aren't tied down by the branding (ie. having to use the same screen wipes 3 years in a row or using the same menu music). On the other hand, they have lost the seen-on-tv familiarity that I'm sure our American friends are surely used to. However, I find it funny that some people would rate a game a 1 or a 3 based on presentation alone because try as hard as you can, you can wiggle your joystick all you want and the presentation won't do anything that it wouldn't do otherwise. In my opinion, it's the gameplay that matters and NHL2K6 delivers in spades. The controls are spot on, the goalies are smooth like budda and the AI rewards cycling in the offensive zone and puck possession. Too often, a game like 2006 is all about the run and gun which was all fine and dandy when I was like 12 years old, but I find I have more use for a thinking man's game in my relative old age and that's why I prefer 2K6. So I gave the game a fairly conservative 8 out of 10 because although I do think it's the best hockey game released and prefer it to the arcadeyness of EA's offerings, I don't think it was as big a leap over 2K5 as it was over 2K4. Expand
  3. BrianS.
    Feb 17, 2006
    7
    the goalies cant stop wraparounds unless uve scored 3 or more times doing it and half the star players are on free agents but for 20 bucks what more can u expect and why is there no goal or period sounds. Expand
  4. Steve
    Jan 24, 2006
    4
    Never again will i buy a 2K6 offering over EA. This game is so dissapointing. AI often won't even shoot the puck on a breakaway, game freezes often once you're late into a season, player motion isn't fluid, commentator dialog is too repetitve, AI trades their players like crazy (you'll never play the same team twice in a season)... etc. The list goes on and on. Collapse
  5. VidM.
    Nov 13, 2005
    3
    Poor graphics and sound quality compared to EA's game. There are some fundamental flaws in design for roster management, not to mention some outright bugs. For instance, the stats the announcers cite often don't match the numbers displayed on screen. The game is also far too easy. I only played a few games before I had it on the hardest setting and was still winning most of the time. If you're looking for a hockey game this season, drop the extra $10 and go with EA's HNL 2006. Expand
  6. SteveB.
    Oct 9, 2005
    3
    What a disappointment. 2k6 looks so cheap and dated, and the gameplay is like what I used to play in the arcade back in the day. NHL 2006 crushes this game. Expand
  7. MatthewW.
    Sep 25, 2005
    1
    Models are horrible in the game, they look like PS1 graphics. Missing the ESPN presentation is evident, as the presentation is lacking quite a bit from last year which gave it some sort of simulation. EA sports NHL 06 certainly cleaned up in this department, and has updated rosters which this game doesn't. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews