Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 100
    If there is one phrase that can cover just about everything Odin Sphere is about, it would be this: Odin Sphere has 2D sensibilities. If you remove the technological aspect of the game - not that you'd want to - you have a game that could just as easily been released on the Super Nintendo and ruled the hearts and dreams of fan boys and girls around the world.
  2. In the case of Odin Sphere, however, I am confident that this is a perfect game, and that anyone who comes to it will derive the same. [May 2007, p.16]
  3. 100
    Odin Sphere may have flaws and you might find yourself repeating areas over and over again as you play through the five different books, but the fact of the matter is that this is as close to perfection as you're going to get on the PS2.
  4. 92
    To sum up, never have I seen a game so visually pleasing. If you look past the heavy repetition, Odin Sphere is a fun game with solid concepts, along with a great musical score and interesting plot.
  5. As a title of epic proportions, Odin Sphere cannot be missed by anyone who owns a Playstation 2.
  6. While some players may ultimately find the combat and inventory limitations to be more than they can bear, Odin Sphere deserves much credit for its artfully elegant approach to a genre that is too frequently weighed down by yawn-inducing cases of déjà vu.
  7. Beyond its quality, its unexpectedness is what makes Odin Sphere doubly special. It came from absolutely nowhere and reminds us that people are still struggling to make the games of their dreams.
  8. Exceptional in looks, sound and story. [Apr 2008, p.78]
  9. Daring, dazzling, and different. Divine.
  10. So, as you've gathered, Odin Sphere is an incredibly deep, incredibly detailed, spectacularly beautiful game--and it doesn't hurt that it plays like a dream, proving that gaming excellence doesn't necessarily require a third dimension. [July 2007, p.76]
  11. Gorgeous from top to bottom, simultaneously old-school and yet nicely updated and an absolute joy to play Odin Sphere is a monumental achievement in art design and execution. Now if we could just get it all in HD.
  12. Take the time to savor Odin Sphere--they don't make too many like it anymore. [July 2007, p.92]
  13. With a unique and deep battle and level system, a good storyline, interesting characters, well balanced gameplay and plenty of eye and ear candy, Odin Sphere is an awesome game that will most likely go on any action and RPG fan's list of favorites.
  14. You can see that this game is a labor of love, which these days feels all too rare.
  15. 90
    With so much focus these days on polygons and lighting effects it is nice to see that some developers can still create a gorgeous experience using traditional methods.
  16. Odin Sphere is a rare gem - fans of action games, RPGs or just good artwork are in for a treat. Its mix of gameplay styles is near-perfect and the art on display here will remind you that quality 2D visuals never go out of style.
  17. Odin Sphere is the ultimate non-RPG. You will be immersed. You will be awestruck. You will be inspired to play through every stage again and again.
  18. The sweetest eye candy around, low on strategy but alive with punchy action. First-rate. [Apr 2008, p.80]
  19. 88
    Simply put, this 40+ hour adventure, with multiple difficulty levels and extremely deep gameplay mechanics is one of the best RPGs to come out on the PS2 in a while.
  20. The depth overwhelmed me for a bit, especially trying to remember all of the alchemy recipes, and some of the boss fights were extremely tough, but the game overall shines and is definitely one of the best, and quirkiest, games on the PS2 out this year.
  21. It's different, and a true joy to see in motion. A great RPG swansong for the PS2. [Apr 2008, p.80]
  22. One of the most enjoyable, unique, and visually appealing titles the veteran PS2 has ever seen. With a brawler foundation and borrowing from several other gameplay styles, Odin Sphere should appeal old-school gamers, RPG fans, and even button-mashers alike.
  23. Odin sphere is a great game that I’m really enjoying and I think anyone with any interest in RPG's, action RPG's, or things from Japan in general will really enjoy this game.
  24. If you’re looking for a PS2 RPG with a unique personality, Odin Sphere’s the game for you.
  25. Gamers old and new will enjoy it, and it's truly a fun and unique gaming experience from beginning to end.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. JayK.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    One of the absolute best games for the PS2. Probably #1 for visuals, and right near the top for innovation and fun. One of the only action games that can hold my interest, even in the face of high difficulty. The mechanics are innovative and very satisfying; the story is better than most RPGs; the atmosphere is unique and rich. I can see how some might not like the difficulty, but there is an easy mode. The little corner map with the enemies is a bit too necessary (I often have to watch this while fighting rather than the main screen, due to its wider view). Buy this game; if you don't like it, it's probably be worth serious money in a few years. Full Review »
  2. AndreT.
    Jun 4, 2007
    6
    Odin Sphere is a beautiful game. Nice arts populate the different levels. The sound is also amazing. The soundtrack, the voice over are one of the best. I had quite some fun at the beginning with the gameplay. The mechanics is excellent, the recipes and items management are good ideas. But after a while, there was all that dying thing and the very steep difficulty. The bosses takes constantely advantage of the fact that you don't see them coming from left or right (The small indicator at the top doesn't help that much). They take advantage of the split second you eat food. They take advantage of the overflow of ennemies crossing the screen to attack you, to a point where you don't understand anything of what is going on. All that incessant dying left me frustrated to no end. Now it a dust keeper. If you have the patience to redo the same levels over and over 6 to 7 times, in order to level up and beat one boss, this is your game. For me, I find this kind of gameplay pretty bad in itself and it ruined the experience and the game. Overall, I don't see why poeples have a buzz about that game apart the fact that it's nice to look at. Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Best game from Vanillaware i played. Beautifull graphics, excellent combat system, cool cooking motive and overall a great atmosphere. I wish they made it accessible on my Vita, because it would be perfect to have on the go.
    Graphics 10/10
    Sound 10/10
    Gameplay 9+/10
    Verdict: Wayyy better than Dragons Crown, its one of the best games i played on my PS2. Strongly recommend it.
    Full Review »