Odin Sphere PlayStation 2

Odin Sphere Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The nations of Erion had always held an uneasy peace, as the various kings and queens watched each other for any signs of weakness. When the country of Valentine is obliterated by the power of an ancient artifact, it sparks a bloody war between the fairies of Ringford and the warriors ofThe nations of Erion had always held an uneasy peace, as the various kings and queens watched each other for any signs of weakness. When the country of Valentine is obliterated by the power of an ancient artifact, it sparks a bloody war between the fairies of Ringford and the warriors of Ragnanival. Little do they know that they are acting out an almost-forgotten prophecy: one that, if fulfilled, will lead to the destruction of the entire world. Take control of the warrior princess Gwendolyn, daughter of Odin, and follow the threads of an intricately woven story as you uncover the truth behind the prophecy – and how to bring it to an end. Five playable characters in all; each one's fate is intertwined with the others'. A robust cooking and alchemy system that can be used to create powerful attack and recovery items. [Atlus Software] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. AceGamez
    100
    If there is one phrase that can cover just about everything Odin Sphere is about, it would be this: Odin Sphere has 2D sensibilities. If you remove the technological aspect of the game - not that you'd want to - you have a game that could just as easily been released on the Super Nintendo and ruled the hearts and dreams of fan boys and girls around the world.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    Take the time to savor Odin Sphere--they don't make too many like it anymore. [July 2007, p.92]
  3. You can see that this game is a labor of love, which these days feels all too rare.
  4. If you’re looking for a PS2 RPG with a unique personality, Odin Sphere’s the game for you.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    Smartly multi-layered plot. [Apr 2008, p.112]
  6. 75
    A delightful little hack n’ slash rpg despite, or maybe because of, its flaws.
  7. Pelit (Finland)
    54
    A charmingly beautiful little adventure to watch but a horrendously awful game to play. The clumsy combat mechanics, generally unpleasant gameplay and violently unfair difficulty make this one of the most unpleasant gaming experiences of the year. It may look cute, but make no mistake: it's evil. [May 2008]

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. ScottJ.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This game is a must-own for anyone with a PS2. I was hyped about it and I wasn't let down. It's a wonderful blend of genres that This game is a must-own for anyone with a PS2. I was hyped about it and I wasn't let down. It's a wonderful blend of genres that brings to mind action RPGs like Secret of Mana (if it had been heavier on the action and lighter on the RPG). This game is pretty enough that your friends might enjoy just watching you play. Expand
  2. GregG.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    I held back on this game for just a bit, because of the comments about repetitive gameplay. However, I finally gave in and picked it up, and I held back on this game for just a bit, because of the comments about repetitive gameplay. However, I finally gave in and picked it up, and it is an absolute masterpiece. The item/cooking/alchemy system is brilliant, the combat is a blast, and it's nice to see an RPG that actually requires a bit of skill. A must-have, and one of the best games I've played in years. In all fairness, the voice-acting is poor, and there is definitely slowdown. But those problems really pale in comparison to this game's strengths. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Best game from Vanillaware i played. Beautifull graphics, excellent combat system, cool cooking motive and overall a great atmosphere. I wishBest game from Vanillaware i played. Beautifull graphics, excellent combat system, cool cooking motive and overall a great atmosphere. I wish they made it accessible on my Vita, because it would be perfect to have on the go.
    Graphics 10/10
    Sound 10/10
    Gameplay 9+/10
    Verdict: Wayyy better than Dragons Crown, its one of the best games i played on my PS2. Strongly recommend it.
    Expand
  4. JacobSmith
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    I loved this game, the difficulty was a nice change of pace from most of the junk that comes out anymore. Even more alluring is the wonderfulI loved this game, the difficulty was a nice change of pace from most of the junk that comes out anymore. Even more alluring is the wonderful story and beautiful visuals. The only thing keeping it from perfection is the irritating item system (I shouldn't have to spend half my time organizing or clearing my inventory) and the occasional slowdown. All and all it is one of my favorite games. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2014
    8
    The visuals are gorgeous, the game is one of the most aesthetically pleasing titles on the PS2. The story is well written, the voice acting isThe visuals are gorgeous, the game is one of the most aesthetically pleasing titles on the PS2. The story is well written, the voice acting is decent, the mechanics feel satisfying, good replay value. New game plus RPG, so your character and items carry over when you start a new playthrough, that's a big bonus. Expand
  6. Mike
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Ok, so this game is not going to appeal to everyone. It's about as niche as they come. But, if you are at all interested in playing a Ok, so this game is not going to appeal to everyone. It's about as niche as they come. But, if you are at all interested in playing a unique action-rpg with gorgeous hand drawn animation, check this game out. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    I see what Vanilla Ware were going for, but the game just isn't that accessible or consistently enjoyable. You will die without grinding forI see what Vanilla Ware were going for, but the game just isn't that accessible or consistently enjoyable. You will die without grinding for the right items for the right rooms. You will die without grinding for the right amount of experience points. You will die for trying to avoid stockpiling healing items to cope with the tons of unavoidable hits. Odin Sphere is a farming-intensive game, plain and simple, and if not for the gorgeous production values it would have raked in mediocre scores from every reviewer around. Even the graphics manage to hurt it, as the PS2 version suffers from terrible, unforgivable slowdown and the worst load times since Shadowman. Frequently, restarting a level (which you will do, all the time, either because you died or you're grinding), means a 30-second load screen, skipping a cutscene, then another 30-second load screen. Between each stage's 7 or 8 areas are 10 to 15-seconds of loading, and each room then takes another 15 seconds to load enemies in. Coming into a battle ill-equipped, which also happens constantly and can make some battles literally impossible, means at least 5 minutes of sitting around staring at a spinning icon while you replay the entire level. This is far too frustrating to merit the slim chance of a smooth playthrough.

    At the end of the day, Odin Sphere is fun very rarely, and only once you've mixed enough potions and slogged through enough repeats of the same dungeons to setup a perfect battle. That really disappoints me, too, because freed of all the limiting nonsense and flat terrain, the core game would revolve around solid 2D platforming goodness. I love to see experiments in game style, but originality can't hold its novelty when weak design keeps taking center stage.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
#7 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007