Okami PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Sep 19, 2006
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 359 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 359
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Every second of your life that you pour into this stunning masterpiece of a video game is not one second of it wasted.
  2. Sarurun
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    We've all heard about Okami's stunning graphics, unique gameplay, and epic story art, but I believe the finer features of the game are incredibly under-appreciated. Okami's Nippon has been fine-tuned to feel like a real world--one where things happen outside the main character's life, one where people are real people with personalities and lives, one that you want to We've all heard about Okami's stunning graphics, unique gameplay, and epic story art, but I believe the finer features of the game are incredibly under-appreciated. Okami's Nippon has been fine-tuned to feel like a real world--one where things happen outside the main character's life, one where people are real people with personalities and lives, one that you want to explore from nose to tail. Okami has a focus on the environment which, combined with the unique and somewhat abstract graphics, shows the beauty of nature in a new light. Unlike the Zelda games Okami is so commonly compared to (and with good reason), as well as other saving-the-world stories, Okami seems to be more about saving the land itself, not just the people of the land, which brings an original and gratifying element into play. The gibberish voices of the characters may be annoying at times but adds to the sense that you're in another world in another time, where people don't actually speak English. Aided by brilliant animation and beautifully composed music, Okami is a masterpiece not to be missed. If there is any one game that could be considered 'art', this is it. Take off your goggles and dive in. You won't want to come out. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Few videogames stand the test of time, and Okami is certainly one of them. Perhaps it's the unparalleled graphics, the unique characters and story, or maybe it's the setting and atmosphere.When people are talking about "Art in videogames" I think of Okami. Even 6 years after it's release, not a single game came close to it's vision and magnitude in graphical design, from my perspective.Few videogames stand the test of time, and Okami is certainly one of them. Perhaps it's the unparalleled graphics, the unique characters and story, or maybe it's the setting and atmosphere.When people are talking about "Art in videogames" I think of Okami. Even 6 years after it's release, not a single game came close to it's vision and magnitude in graphical design, from my perspective. There are games that have better graphics, for granted, but there are few that can challenge Okami's beautiful art direction and visuals. But the fact is that Okami is charming not only in it's graphics but also with it's humor and characters, and especially The little jokes/nuances are very endearing. The game also boasts some of the finest bosses I'v seen in videogames, as well as the ways of beating them. A 40 hour campaign and a vast array of unique locations make okami feel big and full of adventure. The story is a classic "good VS evil" affair but not so much that it descends to kitsch, thanks to the brilliant writing and fantastic characters. For me the overall experience was practically perfect. It's one of "those" games that you come back to every year and play again, just to remind yourself why you love videogames and also to remember the experience itself, one that will always stay with you. Expand
  4. May 17, 2011
    9
    VERY good game. Haven't been this pleasantly surprised by a game in a while. Also one of the more recent games that kept me playing late in the night with that feeling of telling myself "just one more checkpoint". Very good art design and innovative new ideas for fighting. Great characters and one of the funniest games I have ever played. Also great how much game there is and how they makeVERY good game. Haven't been this pleasantly surprised by a game in a while. Also one of the more recent games that kept me playing late in the night with that feeling of telling myself "just one more checkpoint". Very good art design and innovative new ideas for fighting. Great characters and one of the funniest games I have ever played. Also great how much game there is and how they make you think it is over but then add more story. Great value. Few problems are is it confusing where to go or what to do, and the game does not explain some of this that well. This leads to a lot of wandering around. A walkthrough for these parts are a must. Also need more checkpoints in case you don't want to have to play 1 hr+ every sit-down. Also could get a little talkative, without much action at some parts. There are also many problems with how precise brush is. I would make a slash but it would not be recognized for any good reason and this can be VERY frustrating. This was probably biggest and most annoying flaw in the game, the brush imprecision. All in all a great game. Expand
  5. May 5, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best looking titles on the PS2 ever, Okami is as beautifully artistic as it is innovative. Pros: An astounding amount of depth within the gameplay and storyline; stunning graphics; solid controls; epic soundtrack; funny characters; the Celestial Brush is easy to use. Cons: Easy combat leads to repetitive button mashing; some occasional camera issues.
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This underrated game deserves all the praise in the world, with stunning graphics, flowing gameplay, story art, and a great main character.
    Okami brings what a art loving, emotional story lover wants in this masterpiece
  7. MayK.
    Oct 7, 2006
    9
    This game is beautiful, light and definitly lives up to the hype it got. Having been dissapointed lately with my video game purchases, i started playing this game and found it very hard to put it down. Astetics are very big for me with a video game and it DEFINITELY delivers on that front. The story is beautiful and overall its just a lovely game to enjoy. It is not for the "must kill and This game is beautiful, light and definitly lives up to the hype it got. Having been dissapointed lately with my video game purchases, i started playing this game and found it very hard to put it down. Astetics are very big for me with a video game and it DEFINITELY delivers on that front. The story is beautiful and overall its just a lovely game to enjoy. It is not for the "must kill and see blood" groups, but if you just want a beautiful game that wont take you hours to figure out, then pick this up. Expand
  8. JohannY.
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    Never did I think that a game of such aesthetic splendor could still bring life out of the gasping PS2 now that next-gen consoles are trying to grab every gamer's attention. A single screenshot was worth a thousand words, but the actual experience of the game is priceless.. The visuals were stunningly gorgeous and artistic, the concept of the story was utter genius, and the gameplay Never did I think that a game of such aesthetic splendor could still bring life out of the gasping PS2 now that next-gen consoles are trying to grab every gamer's attention. A single screenshot was worth a thousand words, but the actual experience of the game is priceless.. The visuals were stunningly gorgeous and artistic, the concept of the story was utter genius, and the gameplay couldn't be more inventive. It just goes to show that a game doesn't always have to be edgy to be wanted. Expand
  9. PerkR.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    A refreshing breath into a increasingly stale selection of games for the PS2. While some of the more Japanese related undertones and meanings may be lost on the international audience, this story-rich and graphically impressive folktale mashup is proof that you don't need extreme violence and cutting edge graphics to create an utterly absorbing game. If you're looking for your A refreshing breath into a increasingly stale selection of games for the PS2. While some of the more Japanese related undertones and meanings may be lost on the international audience, this story-rich and graphically impressive folktale mashup is proof that you don't need extreme violence and cutting edge graphics to create an utterly absorbing game. If you're looking for your plain old violent game with explosions and testosterone laden posturing, move on. However, if you're looking for a story rich and simply entertaining way to spend the next couple weekends, this game is for you. Expand
  10. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    Well, Sony finally has itself a Zelda game. Basically, take the visuals of Viewtiful Joe and combine them with the wolf sections of Twilight Princess, and you have Okami. The story is great, the graphics are stunning, the gameplay...is a little repetitive, other than the awesome brush techniques, but still...Okami is lengthy but well-paced, and deserves to be played. Way better than any Well, Sony finally has itself a Zelda game. Basically, take the visuals of Viewtiful Joe and combine them with the wolf sections of Twilight Princess, and you have Okami. The story is great, the graphics are stunning, the gameplay...is a little repetitive, other than the awesome brush techniques, but still...Okami is lengthy but well-paced, and deserves to be played. Way better than any other adventure game the PS2 has, and almost as good as a Zelda title. At $40, you're not going to be let down. Expand
  11. TrigbyP.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Although not extremely difficult, it is extremely satisfying. I read a review that compared this game to the "Zelda" series, which I have to agree with. The quality and depth is addictive and keeps me coming back for more. I don't finish every game I pick up, in fact, I'd say I get to the end of about 10% of them. This one I will be finishing! (I'm nearly there...)
  12. BryanS.
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    This game is definitely a marvel, but by no stretch of the imagination is it perfect. The "humor" in the game is always crude, which I found to be repugnant. The garbled voices often pushed me to the brink of insanity. And the vast majority of the game is mind-numbingly easy. However, despite its shortcomings, the game is an absolute joy to play. The breath-taking graphics, beautiful This game is definitely a marvel, but by no stretch of the imagination is it perfect. The "humor" in the game is always crude, which I found to be repugnant. The garbled voices often pushed me to the brink of insanity. And the vast majority of the game is mind-numbingly easy. However, despite its shortcomings, the game is an absolute joy to play. The breath-taking graphics, beautiful soundtrack, and polished gameplay are alone enough to merit a purchase. One of the games biggest strengths is, in my opinion, it's magical undertones. It all seems so merrily surreal that I just couldn't leave the television harboring ill sentiments. All in all, a truly wonderful game. Expand
  13. Hooliganyouth
    Sep 21, 2006
    9
    Okami has been a game I have been all hot and flustered for since I first saw some stills on gamespot.com quite some time ago. Then the trailers and game play teasers started showing up, finally OPM had a demo a while back. I don't know how many of you have a good feeling about a game but then play a demo - that times out after ten minutes! - and the demo just clinches it. You get Okami has been a game I have been all hot and flustered for since I first saw some stills on gamespot.com quite some time ago. Then the trailers and game play teasers started showing up, finally OPM had a demo a while back. I don't know how many of you have a good feeling about a game but then play a demo - that times out after ten minutes! - and the demo just clinches it. You get that itch - like some kind of junkie - then spend the weeks...months until release sniffing out any information on any site. Finally, the game is released! Huzzah! Are the reviewers correct in their assessments? Is this game going to crumble under the weight of its own hype? Hell, do I even want to play it now that I know all about the game - let alone spend fifty bucks? With Okami the answer is a resounding yes. If you have been following the game and the reviews don't bother reading what's coming up just scroll down a bit until you see ranting about the CW network. Still reading? Okay then. The story behind Okami is fairly standard mythology: Great evil defeated by swordsman and magical wolf, etc., etc. Grateful villagers build statues of swordsman and wolf. All is well. Great evil returns a century later. Swordsman is MIA and wolf statue comes to life. Time to right all wrongs, defeat the great evil...again. Or as the press release from Capcom stated: "In Okami, the legendary monster Orochi has come back to life and turned the world into a veritable wasteland. Players must assume the role of a wolf, an embodiment of the sun god Amaterasu, which is capable of wielding unimaginable power. The state of the world lies in gamer's hands as they must fight ominous beings and reclaim the earth from a curse that plagues it. It is crucial to help Amaterasu make the world a place where all living creatures can dwell once again. [Capcom]" It's actually a bit more complicated than that and fortunately I have a fairly okay knowledge of Japanese mythology - thanks wikipedia and Japanese movies! - but all in all it's understandable. What makes me happy is the way the story is told - straight up mythology. No mumbo-jumbo, no mana, no baloney that you have to just accept because otherwise you'd end up with a nervous tic. So story = double plus good...though in a few spots it gets a bit talky. Now down to brass tacks - this game is stunning. Really genuinely stunning and not just in a Shadow of the Colossus sort of way. Where Shadow was a bleak, washed-out, barren landscape Okami is a riot of color, even when venturing in cursed areas. The landscape is gorgeous, at times it's difficult not to just stop and look around. In fact it's almost a shame to just race through this world that's been lifted from ukiyo-e (Japanese paintings - you'd know them if you saw them). The characters are extremely well-designed and personable. Mr. Orange is the Mayor of Kikumi village and his dance number amused me greatly. The enemies are drawn from Japanese mythology - literally. I like the monkey musicians. All right, enough with the gushing about how pretty the game is. How does it play? Effortlessly. The controls are simple enough to pick up and play. Getting the full effect of the controls is another issue entirely. Ameratsu's magical weapon is a paintbrush. Hold R1 to bring up a parchment and make different "brushstrokes" with the left analog. Different brushstrokes will have different effects on the landscape and/or enemies. It's really pretty neat once you get the hang of it. The nice thing about holding R1 is that the transition is smooth - the same can be said for bringing up the map with L2. Combat is pretty darn easy truth be told. You'd be fine with button mashing and also fine with a bit of finesse. I have the most fun just running around and exploring in any game. Okami has plenty of that but it never turns to drudgery. As Ameratsu runs she eventually is sprinting hell-bent for leather and this makes travelling long distances much, much easier. There's plenty to do in this game and I look forward to doing it all. When all is said and done I think that Okami might be one of the best games for the PS2 - possibly in my top ten favorites. If you're the kind of gamer who is tired of all the damn sequels and series and just plain crappy formulaic games and needs something new and actually fun to play without too much kawaii then please pick up Okami. This is one of those games where if enough people buy it then maybe just maybe game developers will start importing more games or - gasp - North American designers will start taking more risks. If games are really going to mature in this next generation then they can't be all flash...but that's a rant for another time. Expand
  14. PaulPaul
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, and I have played a lot. The whole game plays out like one of those magical moments the Zelda series doles out so sparingly, one magic whirlwind of blissful happiness. Speaking of Zelda, the comparisons are inaccurate. This game goes far and above anything the Zelda series has ever done, sustaining the illusion of a magical fantasy world where Simply the best game I have ever played, and I have played a lot. The whole game plays out like one of those magical moments the Zelda series doles out so sparingly, one magic whirlwind of blissful happiness. Speaking of Zelda, the comparisons are inaccurate. This game goes far and above anything the Zelda series has ever done, sustaining the illusion of a magical fantasy world where wolves converse with sparrows and there's a verdant world specially made for you to delve into. I have never seen this amout of exploration; around every corner there's a ledge with a litltle reward, or a treasure chest buried underground, or an old man in need of help. All of these things are inconsequential to the story, but absolutely can't fail to put a massive grin on your face, and sustain the concept of Okami's world as a real one, with living beings and a troubled past. The gamer is never made to feel shortchanged, and I have never seen a game so intent on pleasing the player; even the loading screens have minigames! The art direction is obviously the best ever, I don't need to go into that. The story is also great, full of tender scenes and quirky humour (seriously, Issun's blatant womanising is something to behold.) For anyone having doubts, I could never get into the 3D Zeldas, and I loved this immediately. Magical. Expand
  15. JohnM.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    By and away the greatest game I have ever played. Incredible, beautiful graphical style, perfect gameplay, and amazing, amazing, story and characters. I've never cried during any movie or game or any such medium until this one. Some complain about the low level of difficulty. While enemies are easy, it really doesn't detract from how fun the battles are; there is more to achieve By and away the greatest game I have ever played. Incredible, beautiful graphical style, perfect gameplay, and amazing, amazing, story and characters. I've never cried during any movie or game or any such medium until this one. Some complain about the low level of difficulty. While enemies are easy, it really doesn't detract from how fun the battles are; there is more to achieve from winning than merely surviving. What's more, not much else in the game could be classified as "easy". Another complaint is the sound of the character's voices. I will admit, it was an unusual choice, but now I love them. A refusal to accept the change is probably more the actual reason for the complaint. Finally, some (a few some, at that) regard most of plot as unnecessary. While the intro movie of the game may indicate plot resolution at an earlier point, it would be unfair to restrict a game merely to its intro. Furthermore, if it had been restricted, the plot, I would argue, would then have a problem; (spoiler) defeating Orochi and jut ending the game there would have been somewhat pointless; what's to stop him from rising again? No, the game needed to go further and wholly resolve the whole thing. Ah, and the humor is great too. I have no idea what that complaint is about. Expand
  16. CodyB
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Okami, one of the games in my top 10. The graphics are so f***ing beautiful, almost everybody that has played this game cannot help but fall in love with the main character Amateratsu, THE most EPIC storyline since final fantasy 8 and gta san andreas, and just when you think it's the end, your journey is far from over (this happens twice). This game is one of the most respected cult Okami, one of the games in my top 10. The graphics are so f***ing beautiful, almost everybody that has played this game cannot help but fall in love with the main character Amateratsu, THE most EPIC storyline since final fantasy 8 and gta san andreas, and just when you think it's the end, your journey is far from over (this happens twice). This game is one of the most respected cult hits among video gaming, surpassing classic cult hits such as ICO and shadow of the colossus, earning countless awards and winning 2nd place over-all game of the year 2006 (behind oblivion), a true classical masterpiece!!! Expand
  17. TitaniumDragon
    May 24, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing. It is a wonderful adventure/platformer game which brings something fresh to the genre. There are lots of interesting platforming puzzles, the fighting is fun, and the visual style of the game is amazing. There is a good bit of humor (though sometimes it wears a bit thin if repeated too often) and the whole game feels very coherent. Unlike many games, every time you This game is amazing. It is a wonderful adventure/platformer game which brings something fresh to the genre. There are lots of interesting platforming puzzles, the fighting is fun, and the visual style of the game is amazing. There is a good bit of humor (though sometimes it wears a bit thin if repeated too often) and the whole game feels very coherent. Unlike many games, every time you pick it up and play it for an hour it feels like you got something done, and the game is long enough to be well worth the money (I'd say about 100 hours of gameplay). Nothing gets too repetitive, none of the minigames are annoying, and overall the game does a great job of progressing the story. Okami's greatest weakness is its general ease - the game is too easy by a good margin, and while condusive to continuing on the story, Oorochi is a major letdown of a boss and many of the enemies are pretty much trivial. Overall I give this game extremely high marks, but the ease drives it down to a 9 from a 10. Expand
  18. Jesse
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Perfect! absolutely stunning in it's presentation. this game oozes with style and flawless playability. some say it's too easy, but i disagree. this game is all about beauty, originality, and fantastic story telling. there are ton's of mini-games and side-quests to more than satisfy any level of gamer. seriously, if you have not already, buy this game!
  19. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Simply the best game for the PS2. It has so many twists and turns, hidden secrets, and side quests that sucks up your life. Whenever I play a new game its never quite the same experience as Okami The only comparison I can make is with the Zelda series, but it surpasses it in some ways. The integration of brush techniques and character building are unique.
    The whole experience is absorbing
    Simply the best game for the PS2. It has so many twists and turns, hidden secrets, and side quests that sucks up your life. Whenever I play a new game its never quite the same experience as Okami The only comparison I can make is with the Zelda series, but it surpasses it in some ways. The integration of brush techniques and character building are unique.
    The whole experience is absorbing and intriguing. It never gets boring and every environment is fresh and beautiful. I just wish there was a sequal
    Expand
  20. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    The 'REAL' fantastic game i've ever played! Its gorgeous art, soulful music and thrilling gameplay magnetize you into the most beautiful world of games you've ever seen. This game will make your life's most beautiful moment ever!
  21. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    The best game ever. It has everything: a superb story, wonderful graphics, beautiful, charismatic, a special atmosphere and with a outstanding visual design.

    It's a game without any obvious flaws. Maybe the difficulty? Bah, for this kind of game, the difficulty is not important at all.
  22. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    One the most spectacular games I had the good fortune of playing. Every aspect of the game oozes with love. The graphical style is vibrant beautiful in motion. The character design is wide and very varies from each of the world's areas, resulting in very few occasions where you see the exact same enemy. The best part of the game however, for me, is that the story just keeps giving. No moreOne the most spectacular games I had the good fortune of playing. Every aspect of the game oozes with love. The graphical style is vibrant beautiful in motion. The character design is wide and very varies from each of the world's areas, resulting in very few occasions where you see the exact same enemy. The best part of the game however, for me, is that the story just keeps giving. No more than 4 times, I was certain I was about to beat the game, only to be shown that the latest challenge that threatened the world was nowhere near your final test. Overall, an experience that every gamer should have. Expand
  23. JoeC.
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    I have played OKAMI for about 26 Hours so far & I don't think I'm done yet, which I am very happy about. You won't want it to end. An Absolute Marvel!
  24. RichA.
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    Great game. This kind of game is just what the video game industry need to expand.
  25. EvanL.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    This game was excellent, it is a beautiful game and it was a unique concept, and kept me busy for a good long time. Though i found it kind of easy, i didnt mind because of the beautiful scenery and the many things that you can do. It was great. Wayyyy better than any zelda game i've played.
  26. BenF.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    this game is great in concept and shows that graphics are not what games are all about
  27. RedXIII
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game I have played in years, very easy to get the hang of but progresses in difficulty as you upgrade and get more powers. The graphics are amazing, im not a big fan of anime(ish) graphics, but this game is beautiful, the gameplay is seamless, the music/sound effects are nice, except some of the "voices" can be annoying. Overall, this is a do not miss title for the This game is the best game I have played in years, very easy to get the hang of but progresses in difficulty as you upgrade and get more powers. The graphics are amazing, im not a big fan of anime(ish) graphics, but this game is beautiful, the gameplay is seamless, the music/sound effects are nice, except some of the "voices" can be annoying. Overall, this is a do not miss title for the ps2, go buy Okami... now. An instant classic. Expand
  28. Jake
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Like Psychonauts, Okami represents the end of one era of gaming and the beginning of something new. I'm not sure what it is, but it's interesting (and, apparently, not contingent on next-gen hardware).
  29. JB
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Simple, yet deeply compelling gameplay, and it is an absolute feast for the eyes. Whoever said that games are not art just might change their mind after seeing this beauty. 12 hours in, and I feel I've barely scratched the surface of this epic tale.
  30. Barry
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    The best game on ps2 this year after FFXII. Most original game ever to exist on this console at least. Innovative, fluid and amazing to look at.
  31. LeonardL.
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    I passed this game 3 times and I still play it. Well that means that this game is good cause I have more than 1000 games.
  32. SYC
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing action/adventure game with some of the most imaginative visuals, beautful music and relaxing, captivating gameplay you'll find on any system, bettering even Twilight Princess at its own game.
  33. Aker
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    This game brought me back to the joys i felt in gaming when i was a child. They don't make them like this anymore.
  34. AnonymousMC
    May 15, 2009
    10
    For all you people that haven't gotten deep into this epic masterpiece and understand why people love it to death because it truly is a masterpiece of epic proportions, you have no right to criticize it because you never got far into the storyline. It pisses me off more than anything when people do that. Hail second-place game of the year 2006!!!
  35. RaulC.
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    A Masterpiece! Designers on all consoles should take note of all the beauty, art, gameplay innovation and visual flair that are together on this game. This puts to shame many of the "Next-Gen" X360 library. Pure poetry in motion.
  36. ThomasP.
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This game lives up to all its hype and then some. It's a shame it had to come out so late in the PS2's lifecycle.
  37. RadishZ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This is probably the best game ever made. To me it is the best anyway. The artwork is absoloutely stunning and the story never gets boring. You can play it over and over again and you will never get bored. Yes, I know the combat may be a little too easy but still is extremely fun and exciting. The Japanese music is beautiful and I recommend this to everybody. It's a shame that these This is probably the best game ever made. To me it is the best anyway. The artwork is absoloutely stunning and the story never gets boring. You can play it over and over again and you will never get bored. Yes, I know the combat may be a little too easy but still is extremely fun and exciting. The Japanese music is beautiful and I recommend this to everybody. It's a shame that these sort of games are never very popular, but just because it doesn't have pop music and blood, it doesn't mean that you shouldn't buy it. It's truly amazing. Expand
  38. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece that everyone should experience.
  39. MattS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    The best, most creative and ingenious game I have ever played! I have played a lot of games and none reach Okami's standards.
  40. Vicissitude
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    Beautiful and fun! Celestial brush is a great feature, but it breaks at times. Too bad Clover Studios is gone...
  41. ManekiN.
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    I have never felt the need to rate a game before, but this review is for you: yes, you, the curious gamer who hasn't played this game yet. I want you to buy this game and let the studios know that gamers want something more. Because that is what Okami delivers. Okami is a true breath of fresh air. A visually beautiful study in Japanese mythology with a gameplay hook that will draw I have never felt the need to rate a game before, but this review is for you: yes, you, the curious gamer who hasn't played this game yet. I want you to buy this game and let the studios know that gamers want something more. Because that is what Okami delivers. Okami is a true breath of fresh air. A visually beautiful study in Japanese mythology with a gameplay hook that will draw you into the world and keep you fixed from start to finish. So much to discover, so many seemingly pointless details that bring the world to life. Why all the fish? Why the snowball game? Why feed the animals? I urge you to play it and find out. If you buy one more game for your PS2 before waving goodbye to the last generation, make it this one. Expand
  42. JamesC.
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    I've played the game for 60 hours and I'm still not done collecting everything. It's an awesome experience. Great graphics, sounds, gameplay, etc.
  43. EricM.
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Simple beauty and a masterpiece. Fun, innovative, involving, and engaging...why did you have to close Clover Studios? A perfect memento mori for the terrific studio.
  44. Goldenwolf
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    I really love the graphics for this game and it's main character is the best!
  45. DarylS.
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    An unnappreciated, practically flawless masterpiece.
  46. BarryP.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    A beautifully crafted, unique gaming experience. Easily the best looking cell-shaded game out there too, playing it feels like you should have a PS3 or 360 pad within your fingertips. It's just so exciting to play over and over.
  47. StevieS.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Simply the single greatest game out there. Such a shame no-one seems to have noticed it, despite all the (spot-on) reviews.
  48. AnonymousMC
    Jul 16, 2009
    9
    The game has an amazing atmosphere, a well-executed mechanic, a charming art style, and manages to last much longer than you expect it to. If I could forget one game entirely so that I could play it over again with the same experience as the first time, this would be that game.
  49. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    Where do i begin?

    This game is FANTASTIC i cannot find a better game for ps2 (The Ratchet and clank seiries come close) i only just finished the game and im on the second way through now. First of all the graphics, amazing i love the Paint-style to it and the animation is brilliant too Controls: easy to use fun and creative gameplay: Major part of the game (For me) and best
    Where do i begin?

    This game is FANTASTIC i cannot find a better game for ps2 (The Ratchet and clank seiries come close) i only just finished the game and im on the second way through now.

    First of all the graphics, amazing i love the Paint-style to it and the animation is brilliant too

    Controls: easy to use fun and creative

    gameplay: Major part of the game (For me) and best gameplay i've had since Half-life 1

    Storyline: a little confusing if you dont play through the game all the way through in one go but overall really good (I like how they take stories from actual japanise legends)
    Only thing i can say is that some of the puzzles are impossible without help or walkthroughs and that most of the bosses aren't challenging enough but still the game is great and i would LOVE to see a okami 2.
    Expand
  50. DanielK.
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    Flawlessly executed and stylisticly realized. This game pleases beyond all that was expected.
  51. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    For me, the best game ever. It's beautiful: just like a living painting; entertaining: the adventure is rich and many characters are to remember (i loved tiny Issun and his taste for busty ladies^^); and offers an original gameplay. Get it if you don't own this masterpiece yet!
  52. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Unlike any other game out there, it is truly unique and a work of art. It's an amazing game for anyone. Ignore any negative reviews you ever see about this game, they're always just impatient children who don't want to read dialogue (give me a break!). Okami is the best!
  53. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    A near perfect game great story breakthrough gameplay and just plain fun my only complaint is that theres no voice acting just a mumbling sound a must buy!!
  54. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I'm not a Japan maniac weaboo believe me. Yes, the game is cheesy at some points, the unskippable notifications, the intro and the speech voices are a bit annoying.

    But besides these minor issues, the game is very well crafted, well paced, and it's THE most beautiful and memorable game I've ever played. The whole reason I bought a used Ps2, Totally worth it. (Too bad it was never
    I'm not a Japan maniac weaboo believe me. Yes, the game is cheesy at some points, the unskippable notifications, the intro and the speech voices are a bit annoying.

    But besides these minor issues, the game is very well crafted, well paced, and it's THE most beautiful and memorable game I've ever played. The whole reason I bought a used Ps2, Totally worth it. (Too bad it was never released on the PC). Also this is the first game I've ever rated a 10.
    Expand
  55. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    By far the best game I've ever played in my 21+ years. I loved the gameplay mechanic of the Celestial Brush, the characters were wonderfully developed and each had a unique tie-in with Japanese lore. The art style is unlike anything I've seen before it, and the whole story was at par of an expertly directed film. Definitely give this game a try, you will NOT be disappointed.
  56. ChristopheF
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    The best game i've played. I stop playing Zelda Twilight Princess for this game (even if i'm fond of Zelda games).Okami is as good as (or even better than) Ocarina of Time (N64) or Wind Waker (GC) and far more creative than them. There are more things to do and very good gameplay ideas, a large and amazing universe with lots of secret things to discover, a long story (very rare The best game i've played. I stop playing Zelda Twilight Princess for this game (even if i'm fond of Zelda games).Okami is as good as (or even better than) Ocarina of Time (N64) or Wind Waker (GC) and far more creative than them. There are more things to do and very good gameplay ideas, a large and amazing universe with lots of secret things to discover, a long story (very rare in videos games now :( ), and graphics very uncommon but beautiful too and that allow developers to enable far more interaction with the universe (it changes of the good-looking game of our time where universe is static and u have just to go straight and hit all the time). I will never forget it. I want an Okami 2 !!! It should reach the pantheon of the best videos games ever created. Expand
  57. Nathan>
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    It is an amazing game!
  58. Jonathan
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    You simple must play this materspiece!
  59. Immune
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Words cannot describe how amazing this game is.
  60. JayD.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Very close to perfection!
  61. LiorU.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Amazing game! Tons of playing hours. Very recommended.
  62. May 22, 2011
    10
    To give you an idea of how good I think Okami is, I compare every single game I review to this game and GTA. Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  63. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    ONE OF THE BEST GAME i EVER PLAYED! THIS IS WHY i STILL FEEL ps2 IS THE BEST CONSOLE EVER!!!!!!!!!! From graphics to amazing world , story .. every aspects of this game is just fantastic!!!
  64. InteriaDiscordius
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    Love, love, love this game. Definitely a masterpiece.
  65. Mar 8, 2015
    9
    Until this day no other game has left a beautiful stain in my mind. I remember playing shooters, brawlers, horrors etc, yet it was when I picked up this peaceful, stylish, tough at times and an extremely interesting game that I began to invest myself in worlds where you can clearly see there was heart and soul dedicated to the game.
    Words can't share how I truly feel, you must experience
    Until this day no other game has left a beautiful stain in my mind. I remember playing shooters, brawlers, horrors etc, yet it was when I picked up this peaceful, stylish, tough at times and an extremely interesting game that I began to invest myself in worlds where you can clearly see there was heart and soul dedicated to the game.
    Words can't share how I truly feel, you must experience this game.
    Expand
  66. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Um título inesquecível com uma mecânica de jogo mais original que já vi na minha vida de jogador com gráficos excelente uma pintura a cada frame, o pincel celestial faz dar vida ao jogo onde você pode pintar um circulo na água daí aparece uma vitória régia, pintando um risco você tanto pode fatiar os inimigos ao meio como sair de uma cela, desenhar uma meia lua no céu faz o dia virar noite ou um círculo faz a noite virar dia e isso o Opus Magnum da Clover Stúdios, a grande idéia de jogabilidade que até Shigueru Miyamoto queria inventar, sons e músicas exemplares e dois personagens com carisma impar vulgo Issun e Suzano, Não quero desmerecer a Nintendo pois Ocarina of Time o melhor jogo de todos os tempos, mas Okami o jogo que Zelda dessa geração e a do Wii(até agora) não foi, pois muito fácil fazer um jogo em cima de conceitos novos (vide Twilight Princess no seu Wii Motion), mas fazer conceitos de jogabilidade novo em cima de um controle velho(DUAL SHOCK) como reinventar a roda, muito mais difícil não e nesse ponto que eu tiro o chapéu para Atsushi Okami Inaba. Alex 29/06/2009 Expand
  67. Jun 21, 2015
    10
    Gorgeous world, fantastic story and superbly innovative "painting" game play. Running around the vast world completing the main story and side-quests, leaping from massive cliffs and sky-high towers, picking fights with the "most wanted" demons, upgrading your spells and unleashing insane combos... It's all too satisfying !!!

    This game is definitely in my top 5 PS2 games of all time
    Gorgeous world, fantastic story and superbly innovative "painting" game play. Running around the vast world completing the main story and side-quests, leaping from massive cliffs and sky-high towers, picking fights with the "most wanted" demons, upgrading your spells and unleashing insane combos... It's all too satisfying !!!

    This game is definitely in my top 5 PS2 games of all time !!!... It baffles me how nobody ever mentions this gem. (COD3 and FFXII definitely hogged the 2006 spotlight)
    Expand
  68. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Such a piece of art, this game is the best game I have ever played, it is much like Zelda but way different at the same time, it has a gorgeous art-style and since I love cell-shading and Japanese lands combined with art and particles. It's just a gorgeous art to play. The story is amazing, long and touching. The powers are amazing and the music is amazing too.Such a piece of art, this game is the best game I have ever played, it is much like Zelda but way different at the same time, it has a gorgeous art-style and since I love cell-shading and Japanese lands combined with art and particles. It's just a gorgeous art to play. The story is amazing, long and touching. The powers are amazing and the music is amazing too. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsnJRyTlFb0 just listen to this gorgeous piece and tell me you don't want to play it! Expand
  69. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    We've all heard about Okami's stunning graphics, unique gameplay, and epic story art, but I believe the finer features of the game are incredibly under-appreciated. Okami's Nippon has been fine-tuned to feel like a real world--one where things happen outside the main character's life, one where people are real people with personalities and lives, one that you want to explore from nose to tail.
  70. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I have ever experienced in my life. This is not just a game, this is art. Words cannot describe how great and emotional this game is , you have to experience it for yourself. Its a masterpiece. Go and play it , you wont regret it!
  71. Jul 15, 2016
    10
    I had a lot of things to say about this game but can't find the words. I am so glad I can speak Japanese because this is one of the most unique experience I had from a video game*. Still remember the moment when "The Sun Rises" played at the final boss fight. I almost cried because the music is so beautiful.

    *The English version is fine, but you'd miss out on the puns and backstories of
    I had a lot of things to say about this game but can't find the words. I am so glad I can speak Japanese because this is one of the most unique experience I had from a video game*. Still remember the moment when "The Sun Rises" played at the final boss fight. I almost cried because the music is so beautiful.

    *The English version is fine, but you'd miss out on the puns and backstories of characters. For example, Okami can be written as 大神/Great God or 狼/Wolf which is why they made Amaterasu a wolf in the game.
    Expand
  72. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    Beautiful game a must buy for fans of artistic games. Not only is the art style excellent but the story and game play is amazing and will keep you hooked for hours on end.
  73. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    This game is perfect. Best artistic direction, soundtrack, gameplay, level design, chara-design, pacing, scenario, very long but not boring. It was pretty courageous for Capcom and Clover to release a specific games like, it was a time when it was possible. It's a must have.
  74. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    If you are about to play this game take into consideration it might start off with a slow pace but once it picks up it becomes art.

    The game is a delight to play, yes the presentation is gorgeous, yes the music is what you would expect from a mythological Japanese masterpiece and yes the brush is as innovative as the wheel but also the combat feels so satisfying when you get the hang of
    If you are about to play this game take into consideration it might start off with a slow pace but once it picks up it becomes art.

    The game is a delight to play, yes the presentation is gorgeous, yes the music is what you would expect from a mythological Japanese masterpiece and yes the brush is as innovative as the wheel but also the combat feels so satisfying when you get the hang of it, the items and weapons are so inspired and so greatly designed: the lore is absolutely amazing, I spent a lot of time just reading the lore for each of the enemies.

    So much to do, the world of Okami is so very interesting and beautiful. There is always things to do, like exploring Nippon is one of the greatest points of this game I can write a bunch explaining why this game is a 10 but that would be spoiling and you sir need to get this game and play the over 30 hours it has to offer, that if you are in a rush. Easily a 40 hour game if you take your time.
    Expand
  75. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    solo se puede decir esto:OBRA MAESTRA, simple y yanamente es una obra maestra:graficos preciosos ,historia preciosa,control espectacular,banda sonora de oscar :GENIAL

Awards & Rankings

2
3
#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
7
#7 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. 90
    Okami may be the most visually stunning game I've ever played. On the surface it might seem like your basic cel-shaded title, but it doesn't take long to realize that there's so much more to the aesthetic than meets the eye.
  2. While its slower adventure game style pacing and low difficulty may throw off a certain crowd, Okami’s charming world with its nice fairy tale story, great gameplay, and incredible graphics will give most an experience likely to be remembered for decades. Okami is truly a remarkable experience. [JPN Import]
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    98
    10 / 10 / 10 / 9 - 39 platinum