• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2002
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Still one of my favorite games! Remember playing this all the time and completed it way more times then I can remember. It blew my mind how everything was improved, to the combat, weapons, story and shopping system. Still get my PS2 out to play this today!
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    In most respects, Samurai's Destiny is everything Warlords was and more, though I can't help but feel that Warlords' formula has been diluted somewhat. Nevertheless, Samura's Destiny is bigger, has more of everything and is - for the most part - all the better for it. I finished Warlords in 5 hours, this one took me 10.
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    This is a graphically stunning game with it's own style, great character designs, and plenty of pretty scenery. It's also a fun and addictive action game.
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    It took everything it did in the first game, and made them better. Visuals are superior. Combat is even more action pact and a dream to play. Story is REALLY gripping with some really deep characters that you really connect with. Surprising, as Jubei really comes across a little flat at first glance. This is truly a fantastic sequel that deserves to be in anyone's collection. Overall: ThisIt took everything it did in the first game, and made them better. Visuals are superior. Combat is even more action pact and a dream to play. Story is REALLY gripping with some really deep characters that you really connect with. Surprising, as Jubei really comes across a little flat at first glance. This is truly a fantastic sequel that deserves to be in anyone's collection. Overall: This is what all sequels should aspire to do! Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    a much improved game over the first. the first big improvement is its much much longer then the first game which was easily beatin in just alittle over 3 hours. the graphics where great in there day. a much better story and charicters. voice acting has slightly improved from the first or maybe just as bad . i liked the new trading option and ability to buy from shops. almost every thinga much improved game over the first. the first big improvement is its much much longer then the first game which was easily beatin in just alittle over 3 hours. the graphics where great in there day. a much better story and charicters. voice acting has slightly improved from the first or maybe just as bad . i liked the new trading option and ability to buy from shops. almost every thing about this game is improved from the first one... minus the camera there are some spots where it just sucks . all in all though this is how a sequel should be. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    A real step up in all the good ways from Onimusha: Warlords. This game is much better with the gameplay being the best part of this game, while the story is not as strong it is still good enough.
  7. VarunB.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    It does what every good sequel should...improve on every aspect from the original. This is one of the most beautiful games to hit the PS2, and focuses more on the RPG element than the original. The combat system is cleaner, and it's much easier to get critical kills. With 4 sub-characters, this game has the best replay value I've seen in a while. Definitely worth the while!
  8. Yangzong_guoguo
    May 23, 2005
    10
    This game is sooooooo cool!! The graphics r so good and the sound effects r so cool!!! Everyone play this game!!!!!!
  9. Hades
    Mar 6, 2003
    8
    Pretty cool stuff. If you're a fan of Resident Evil type gameplay or find asian cultures intriguing as i do then i think youll enjoy this game. Thankfully, this game is much longer than Onimusha 1 which also adds up to a better, deeper storyline. The game's graphics are superb, the water in some scenes is simply gorgeous and possibly the best ive seen yet (namely the beach scene Pretty cool stuff. If you're a fan of Resident Evil type gameplay or find asian cultures intriguing as i do then i think youll enjoy this game. Thankfully, this game is much longer than Onimusha 1 which also adds up to a better, deeper storyline. The game's graphics are superb, the water in some scenes is simply gorgeous and possibly the best ive seen yet (namely the beach scene and the river in the forest..) The sound effects and music are also very well done. Gameplay is pretty fun stuff as well. Two complaints though are that you can't skip some cutscenes and the last fight in the game was kinda lame...but oh well. Add the extras you can unlock and "friend" system and you have your replay value there. All in all this is a good game, at the very least worth a rental. Expand
  10. BrentS.
    Dec 31, 2002
    9
    Awesome Environments, Second to none Graphics, Storyline superb. Need I go on....
  11. JohnS.
    Dec 28, 2002
    9
    Onimusha 2: samurai's destiny is a superb game. It is one of my favorites. The graphics are incredible and the sound is great. I did not like the difficulty, however. it is a bit simple, although it is fun, addicting, and nonstop gaming action. you should at least rent this game.
  12. NabilJ.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    Great horrorfest slasher if you liked the first game, you'll like this one!
  13. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 31, 2002
    6
    If you liked Onimusha 1, Onimusha 2 is really more of the same. Nothing spectacular, and a little on the short side, but solid overall.
  14. DougA.
    Oct 15, 2002
    9
    Great Game!!
  15. TarikT.
    Sep 30, 2002
    8
    Despite the laughable dialoge, and terrible ending you will find lotsa fun in onimusha 2.
  16. RyanT.
    Sep 16, 2002
    9
    A very good sequel to Onimusha Warlords. But its basically the same game with minor improvements. If you liked the first Onimusha you will like this one.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 80
    In every sense what a gaming sequel should be: bigger, better, and bolder than the previous incarnation in every almost respect imaginable. With huge steps forward in terms of design, graphics, and gameplay, this should equally delight and entertain fans of the original, as well as newcomers to the trilogy.
  2. As is the problem with most games built with pre-rendered backgrounds, there are going to be a lot of times where the game camera is going to leave you open for cheap shots as you move from one angle to another.
  3. The graphics have matured to push the bar higher for what a PS2 game should look like and despite flawed localization and some awkward moments in the voice-acting, it delivers the promise of "more, deeper, better."