• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. 90
    So while it may be a bit bothersome to weed through the tile-sliding treasure chests and the time travel puzzles don't happen often enough, it's not really what the game is really about anyway -- they're really just supplements to a kick-ass action title with a tremendous presentation and storyline.
  2. You will be hard pressed to find a game that controls as nicely as this one.
  3. What I really like about this game is that I always felt like I was getting a new weapon, going to a new area, or fighting a new boss (most of which are ferociously tough, by the way). [June 2004, p.126]
  4. 90
    While the game isn't a construction of godly perfection, it is pure, raw fun that may eclipse the first two, depending on whether you'll miss the adventure elements or the less ostentatious presentation of the first game. I, for one, did not.
  5. 90
    Aside from the Leon bait-and-switch, there are few surprises in Onimusha 3—it’s a great game that fits like an old glove, so the old saying goes. A soul-sucking, flesh-leeching glove with one creepy, blinking, hollow eye.
  6. The game keeps the repetition to a minimum, mixing whips, swords, and guns into the Onimusha equation. I just couldn’t drop the controller until the very last minute before I had to go to class.
  7. This game is easily a recommendation because it gave me the same feel as I had when I first played "Devil May Cry," a game this one borrows a lot from.
  8. Double bastard-woo with hot custard on top (and those who allege otherwise are suffering from cranio-rectal inversions).
  9. Even if the story doesn't do much for you, Demon Siege's production values still might win you over. [June 2004, p.97]
  10. On the technical side, an analog control has finally been added, rather than continuing to rely on the directional pad. [Aug 2004, p.6]
  11. If you've never plaed the series before, this is the one to try. If you have played it, you won't want to miss this amazing finale. [July 2004, p.20]
  12. It provides both a immensely enjoyable movie experience as well as some quite robust game play.
  13. Onimusha 3, if meant to be the series’ swan song, is as polished, refined, challenging, rewarding and just plain fun as a game of this type is ought to be. Stop reading this review right now (cause, well, it’s over) and get to your nearest store to pick up a copy of this game.
  14. This is the best in the series and my nomination for action game of the year. I loved every minute of the game including finding all of the secrets in the game.
  15. This is in fact everything you have ever loved about Onimusha buffed out to the max. [June 2004, p.75]
  16. The graphics are fantastic, the score is excellent and the gameplay offers a great variety of fast-paced combat and brain-teasing puzzles.
  17. While Samanosuke’s sword play is second to none and impressive in itself, Jacques’ energy whip is where the real fun is at. Jacques has the ability to grab his enemies, throw them around and even use his pistol in between to keep the combo rolling.
  18. 90
    You’ll get at least 40 or 50 hours of game play, and that’s before you get to the mini-puzzles.
  19. The biggest problem with this is that the backgrounds don’t look as rich and colorful as they did in the two previous installments.
  20. The perfect sequel. It also has everything a great action/adventure game needs. Fast and smooth action, multiple characters, well thought of puzzles, well fleshed out characters, a good story and kickass graphics and sound to boot. [JPN Import; Grade = A+]
  21. 91
    Not mindless fun, but rather fun with a slight level of intelligence. If you enjoy games with a lot of action, a decent story, and massive amounts of monsters, you should definitely pick up Onimusha 3.
  22. 10 / 8 / 8 / 10 - 36 platinum [Vol 794; 5 Mar 2004]
  23. Onimusha 3 more accurately represents an action game like "Devil May Cry." Instead of the rigid control scheme used by the "Resident Evil" series, Onimusha 3 has fluid controls. Moving the analog stick around will directly move your character, instead of just turning him. [JPN Import]
  24. The experience that awaits you here transcends such archaic terms. This is an event, an epoch making title that years from now historians will look back upon as a defining moment in the history of video games. This is not an over exaggeration, nor is it simple hyperbole, this is the cold hard truth. Onimusha3 is the reason why you became a gamer in the first place. [JPN Import]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. onimusha
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    Loved the Intro.
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    6
    The third-best Onimusha game. Lacks the variety of Oni 2 and the finesse of Oni Warlords. Time is spent split between two characters in twoThe third-best Onimusha game. Lacks the variety of Oni 2 and the finesse of Oni Warlords. Time is spent split between two characters in two times; Samanosuke in modern-day Paris, and Jacques in Japan's Warring States era. Does very much what previous Oni games did better, and little else. Not a bad game, but not universally recommended. Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Probably my favorite Onimusha.It's hard to find faults with Onimusha 3 because it does what it does so well. Only the story has it's up andProbably my favorite Onimusha.It's hard to find faults with Onimusha 3 because it does what it does so well. Only the story has it's up and downs but in the end this is amazing game Onimusha series has proven to us that it stands on its own. Full Review »