• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2002
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Ranks among the finest titles of its genre on the system. [Mar 2002, p.106]
  2. 84
    A fun platformer with a good mix of nostalgia and modern technology.
  3. It's simple, but the game makes brilliant use of the classic's design, and the whole retro style never seems forced.
  4. An adorable adventure that incorporates platform aspects from the Mario’s and Sonic’s of the world into one nice package.
  5. 80
    Pac-Land has never looked better, cartoonishly but lushly rendered, and full of bright colors and crisp 3D objects.
  6. 79
    What's amazing to me is how a game that's obviously borrowed every platform trick in the book didn't also manage to steal someone else's good camera work, too.
  7. The game controls wonderfully, and there's plenty of areas to explore. However, as usual there are some severe camera issues.
  8. The graphics and music combine to good effect (though likely too cheery for some) and make Pac-Man World an awesome place for a little gaming vacation, especially as you fly around on some of the Pac-dot chains.
  9. The inclusion of four unlockable classic Pac-Man arcade games really help increase the replay value.
  10. [It] does still suffer from a problematic camera. Often, it's difficult to get the best possible angle necessary for precise platform jumping. [Mar 2002, p.31]
  11. Classic platforming action done right. It’s tough as nails, fun and paced to near perfection. What it isn’t, is very original.
  12. The camera problems and the game's unnecessarily uneven difficulty seal Pac-Man World 2's fate, in spite of the game's depth.
  13. The level design is straightforward and challenging (especially later stages) but relatively low on surprises. [Apr 2002, p.141]
  14. Aside from some dodgy camera work (as always) this is a simple and at times fun game, which will be enjoyed by very young players. But there are plenty of better games like this out there.
  15. The developers failed to develop a camera system capable of dealing with the 3D action. [Mar 2002, p.79]
  16. One thing in its favour was the gorgeously rendered fruit, that look so realistic and juicy that we swear we were salivating during our time with the game - but that's about as good as it gets.
  17. A harmless game with classic standard platform gameplay, and classic 3D platform camera problems.
  18. Chief among the problems is a camera that doesn’t react well to the sudden changes associated with jumping, with imprecise controls being a close second. The end-result is a series of ridiculously difficult stages simply because you don’t have the tools to respond to the tasks at hand.
  19. Namco has bastardized one of our favorite timewasters into a ho-hum jump-a-thon with the occasional maze thrown in.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Pac Man in 3d puts an interesting new spin on a classic. The movement control feels rounded making precision difficult in certain situations such as attacking enemies, but it does not ruin the platforming. The platforming is very good. Pac Mans abilities are noticeably different than the average platformer character, giving this extremely simple game something new to offer. You can take or leave the story. It is not necessary or interesting. I would recommend this game for enthusiasts or those who want to see what Pac Man turned into. Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    ok i changed my mind this game is super fun and a humungous challenge, sometimes i go into rage mode but enough of me, the gameplay is very simple yet very productive, if you like any kind of platformer you will enjoy this game Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    This is a game that i always think is pac man just adventuring. The game doesn't have that strong of a story but it makes up for it in alot of ways. This is a unique game that just gets really challenging. Full Review »