• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2002
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    ok i changed my mind this game is super fun and a humungous challenge, sometimes i go into rage mode but enough of me, the gameplay is very simple yet very productive, if you like any kind of platformer you will enjoy this game
  2. MorganN.
    Jun 3, 2003
    9
    If like games like mario, crash bandicoot, or banjo kazooie YOU WILL LOVE THIS GAME it is an excelent example of an adventure game and is not at all what most people think it will be like (chasing little dots around), very fun!!!
  3. D.G.
    May 11, 2002
    10
    Amazing Game... Bring back the classics with finest edge graphics.
  4. ChristineM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    8
    I give this one an 8 for great adventure,fresh new story ,and,bounce-out action. i bought this game because i thought i would beat it quickly..... i was never so wrong.kudos for those pain in the butt levels!(punn intended)i took 1 point away for the extremely rotten camera angles!! you had to have over 20 lives and jump lots of times blind before making it through.making this game an evenI give this one an 8 for great adventure,fresh new story ,and,bounce-out action. i bought this game because i thought i would beat it quickly..... i was never so wrong.kudos for those pain in the butt levels!(punn intended)i took 1 point away for the extremely rotten camera angles!! you had to have over 20 lives and jump lots of times blind before making it through.making this game an even bigger challenge. if challenge is what you like this is the game for you...it's fun. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Amongst slightly frustrating gameplay, Pac-Man World 2 is a colorful, adventurous platformer for children of all ages. Pros: Lovable graphics and lavish colors lurk throughout its variety of level designs, pure old school platforming. Cons: Frustrating controls and camera angles halt Pac-Man from being a next-gen console masterpiece.
  6. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    Beyond the use of the Pac-man label and the occasional classic maze lies a very good and fun platformer. the only drawbacks are the repetitive boss battles and a short game.
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    The only real problem with his game is the frustrating camera this game is a total blast and any platformig fan should try it out with creative and fun levels.
  8. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    This is a game that i always think is pac man just adventuring. The game doesn't have that strong of a story but it makes up for it in alot of ways. This is a unique game that just gets really challenging.

Awards & Rankings

100
55
#55 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. The game controls wonderfully, and there's plenty of areas to explore. However, as usual there are some severe camera issues.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    68
    The level design is straightforward and challenging (especially later stages) but relatively low on surprises. [Apr 2002, p.141]
  3. It's simple, but the game makes brilliant use of the classic's design, and the whole retro style never seems forced.