• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Pac-Man World 2 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pac-Man is on a brand new adventure and once again dealing with the pesky Ghost Gang. His new quest takes him through 6 new lands with plenty of new surprises. Brand new features include ice skating, roller blading, submarine diving and many other exciting puzzles to solve. [Namco]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    Ranks among the finest titles of its genre on the system. [Mar 2002, p.106]
  2. An adorable adventure that incorporates platform aspects from the Mario’s and Sonic’s of the world into one nice package.
  3. It's simple, but the game makes brilliant use of the classic's design, and the whole retro style never seems forced.
  4. Classic platforming action done right. It’s tough as nails, fun and paced to near perfection. What it isn’t, is very original.
  5. The camera problems and the game's unnecessarily uneven difficulty seal Pac-Man World 2's fate, in spite of the game's depth.
  6. Aside from some dodgy camera work (as always) this is a simple and at times fun game, which will be enjoyed by very young players. But there are plenty of better games like this out there.
  7. Namco has bastardized one of our favorite timewasters into a ho-hum jump-a-thon with the occasional maze thrown in.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    ok i changed my mind this game is super fun and a humungous challenge, sometimes i go into rage mode but enough of me, the gameplay is veryok i changed my mind this game is super fun and a humungous challenge, sometimes i go into rage mode but enough of me, the gameplay is very simple yet very productive, if you like any kind of platformer you will enjoy this game Expand
  2. D.G.
    May 11, 2002
    10
    Amazing Game... Bring back the classics with finest edge graphics.
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Amongst slightly frustrating gameplay, Pac-Man World 2 is a colorful, adventurous platformer for children of all ages. Pros: Lovable graphicsAmongst slightly frustrating gameplay, Pac-Man World 2 is a colorful, adventurous platformer for children of all ages. Pros: Lovable graphics and lavish colors lurk throughout its variety of level designs, pure old school platforming. Cons: Frustrating controls and camera angles halt Pac-Man from being a next-gen console masterpiece. Expand
  4. ChristineM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    8
    I give this one an 8 for great adventure,fresh new story ,and,bounce-out action. i bought this game because i thought i would beat itI give this one an 8 for great adventure,fresh new story ,and,bounce-out action. i bought this game because i thought i would beat it quickly..... i was never so wrong.kudos for those pain in the butt levels!(punn intended)i took 1 point away for the extremely rotten camera angles!! you had to have over 20 lives and jump lots of times blind before making it through.making this game an even bigger challenge. if challenge is what you like this is the game for you...it's fun. Expand
  5. AnthonyC.
    Jan 7, 2003
    7
    This is an enjoyable platformer. However, I seriously don't know what Namco was thinking while developing the camera system.
  6. Nov 24, 2017
    7
    Pac Man World 2 is a solid Platformer on the PS2.
    It puts you in the world of PacMan, where the "Golden Fruits" have been stolen by the main
    Pac Man World 2 is a solid Platformer on the PS2.
    It puts you in the world of PacMan, where the "Golden Fruits" have been stolen by the main antagonist "Spooky". Now PacMan has to jump across platforms and fight all ghosts to retrieve the stolen fruits.
    The gameplay is what you would expect from a 3D-Platformer. One thing I have to add here is that the controls felt amazing. PacMan moves just how I want him to and whenever I lost a live I never thought it was the games fault.

    But sadly the game didn't keep me motivated to play through it completely.
    The game changes up the gameplay in a lot of stages. Some changes, like the ice skating level, are really fun. But there are also some Gameplay styles which are just tedious.

    Still, overall Pac Man World 2 is a solid Platformer and worth checking out. If you find this game at a local flea market or game store, then I recommend you to give it a try.

    Rating:
    Gameplay: 5/5 - Some of the greatest platforming controls I've ever witnessed
    Level Design: 3/5 - Standard Level Design, but well implemented.
    Soundtrack: 3/5 - Nothing special. Some songs repeat themselves in other levels in a remixed version.
    Story: 3/5 - Enough to explain why you're on your adventure
    Graphics: 3/5 - Forgettable environments
    Length: 4/5 - A tiny bit too long
    Replay Value: 4/5 - Collectables and challenges in every level.
    Enjoyment: 4/5 - An enjoyable Platformer

    Overall rating: 29/40 => 7/10
    Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Pac Man in 3d puts an interesting new spin on a classic. The movement control feels rounded making precision difficult in certain situationsPac Man in 3d puts an interesting new spin on a classic. The movement control feels rounded making precision difficult in certain situations such as attacking enemies, but it does not ruin the platforming. The platforming is very good. Pac Mans abilities are noticeably different than the average platformer character, giving this extremely simple game something new to offer. You can take or leave the story. It is not necessary or interesting. I would recommend this game for enthusiasts or those who want to see what Pac Man turned into. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

100
54
#54 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
57
#57 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002