• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2005
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. A fantastic action-platformer that, despite a few technical hitches and minor camera problems, delivers well over ten hours of 3D Pac-Man goodness.
  2. A fantastic action-platformer that, despite a few technical hitches and minor camera problems, delivers well over 10 hours of 3D Pac-Man goodness.
  3. Lack of replay value relegates this game to a rental.
  4. At least the level design in this one is vaguely interesting at some points. As a competitor to the likes of Ratchet and Jak, though, Pac-Man is starting to look ten times his age. [PSW]
  5. Third time's usually a charm, but Pac-Man's adventures on the consoles doesn't capture the magic of its arcade-origins, ends up just an average platformer.
  6. Nothing can save Pac-Man World 3 from feeling simply average, and that extends to the game’s presentation as well. This is not helped by some crippling technical issues, which are highlighted by an unmanageable and nearly-broken camera.
  7. It has neither the charm, nor the innovation, nor the wicked guns, and therefore ultimately feels like a bit of a chore.
  8. 40
    Even as a generic 3D platformer Pac-Man World 3 fails to satisfy.
  9. The dialogue is actually charming and sometimes clever, but the loose controls found in the main game also plauge the arcade port to a degree, which to me, is the biggest bummer of this outing. [Jan 2006, p.138]
  10. 80
    While the control is tight and responsive, the typically reliable camera can be sluggish in a few places, but this can be easily compensated for manually.
  11. It’s a solid affair, but far from revolutionary.
  12. It's just not up to the pace of the competition. [Aug 2006, p.82]
  13. A platformer, characterized most notably by its fusion of classic Pac-Man moments and generic platforming gameplay.
  14. 60
    Anyone who loves Pac-Man will be thrilled. Anyone looking for something completely unique and original may be disappointed.
  15. 69
    Blitz Games has to its credit delivered Pac-Man fans a sequel with tight controls and occasionally engaging level designs. There studio has also successfully merged new and old styles, presenting in-game challenges that require you to play nicely emulated original Pac-Man levels.
  16. Not an awful game by any means, but one totally devoid of anything to recommend it. [Mar 2006, p.106]
  17. Pac-Man World 3 shows up to class every day but settles for straight C's. It will mostly appeal to youngsters, and I'm sure that kids will find something in it. But the folks who grew up with Pac-Man won't find much to love in this lazy cash in.
  18. Pacman goes 3D and offers decent 3D platform fun for young audiences. [Dec 2005]
  19. Just about everything is bland, from the gameplay to the graphics. [Jan 2006, p.80]
  20. Blitz did contribute some nice personality into things, but the underlying gameplay is so generic that it’s a wonder Namco would even allow a game like this to be published. It’s not that it’s bad, just that a hallmark of video games shouldn’t be allowed to sink into mediocrity, and that’s sadly what’s happening here.
  21. You only have to see the opening cutscene to realise that Pac-Man World 3 isn't a game for adults. As a children's game it's not bad at all, with some 3D platforming gameplay that treads a familiar path, and plenty of variety to keep things interesting.
  22. It's a good title for kids. It controls well, the levels are interesting, and the references to Pac Man 25 years ago are respectful.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 9, 2014
    7
    Pac man world two is better than this game, but this game isn't that bad. Pac man world three takes a weird turn and gets serious but not thatPac man world two is better than this game, but this game isn't that bad. Pac man world three takes a weird turn and gets serious but not that serious. The game is alright. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    2
    This game really disappointed me. After a wonderful experience I had with Pac-Man World 2, a simple, fun and hard platformer/collectathon,This game really disappointed me. After a wonderful experience I had with Pac-Man World 2, a simple, fun and hard platformer/collectathon, this generic (that's even better than what I really think of it) wonky, glitchy game gave me a real headache. The levels aren't nearly as creative, the dialogue completely ruins our silent hero, the story is just plain annoying, and the fight mechanic is horrible and unneeded, at most. It's Crash of the Titans all over again. Why couldn't they just stick with the gold? I loved 2 so much! Full Review »