User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 60
  2. Negative: 4 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkD.
    Jun 30, 2007
    8
    You're really enjoying yourself; You're marvelling at some of the finest graphics and sound the PS2 has ever seen, you're totally immersed in the thrilling, tense gameplay. Just when you think it can't get any better you get the chance to play as Kong and then you finish it. Indeed, this is a game that shows a big movie licence can be both playable and do justice to You're really enjoying yourself; You're marvelling at some of the finest graphics and sound the PS2 has ever seen, you're totally immersed in the thrilling, tense gameplay. Just when you think it can't get any better you get the chance to play as Kong and then you finish it. Indeed, this is a game that shows a big movie licence can be both playable and do justice to the movie but ther's not nearly enough of it. It could have been one of the best games ever but it's just a very good game instead. Expand
  2. Freakersoft
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    This is absolutely one of the best games I've played this year in this genre. The atmosphere this game have is amazing. The graphics are beautiful. The way the game played is so natural and easy. The fights with Kong are super, with great power, brute and anymally. To fight as Jack is also great. Basically with a spear and much different fireweapons. The way the makers of this game This is absolutely one of the best games I've played this year in this genre. The atmosphere this game have is amazing. The graphics are beautiful. The way the game played is so natural and easy. The fights with Kong are super, with great power, brute and anymally. To fight as Jack is also great. Basically with a spear and much different fireweapons. The way the makers of this game have put no numbers on the screen for number of ammo or something like that is so cinematic. The sounds and music they use are fantastic. Good in everyway. This game is a wonderful experience! Expand
  3. MartinP.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    I just finished this game and WOW, it has got to be the best PS2 game i have played for a long time. Its definately one of the best games i have ever played. The atmostphere is great and so are the kong fights with T-rex. YOU SIMPLY MUST PLAY THIS GAME.
  4. TheRealReviewer
    Jan 1, 2006
    9
    The atmospher in this game, which is writhed from the minds of Ancel and Jackson, the two killer apps behind this title, is extremly well done. The fact that they can create pure helplessness and fear one moment, and a fit of rage in another, is simply an achievement to be recognized. With that said, Kong is not flawless. The game is riddled with a few mishaps, one of them being with the The atmospher in this game, which is writhed from the minds of Ancel and Jackson, the two killer apps behind this title, is extremly well done. The fact that they can create pure helplessness and fear one moment, and a fit of rage in another, is simply an achievement to be recognized. With that said, Kong is not flawless. The game is riddled with a few mishaps, one of them being with the controls of Kong himself. yes, playing as the king is a strong appeal, but when he plays like hes weighed dow with rocks, and is so sluggish that the gameplay is affected negatively, then we have a problem. The swinging and jungle mechanics are well implimented, but the combat with Kong is broken, to say the least. As for the first person combat and gameplay with jack and his group, we have a game that is awesome. You feel so helpless, yet always feel liek your hanging by a thread, due to the fact that the game is littered with plenty of spears to use. the enemies become a bit repetitive, and making you feel as if you killed this same creature thirty times before and more. The gameplay itself does and will become repetitive. Now, as for washington's review, i find it surprising that he'she found the game so downright appaling that he'she would be able to survive through 4 treacherous hours of gameplay. If the game was that bad, put it down before completion; it wouldnt deserve your time. The game is longer than four hours, take that from me, and with your guaranteed dedication tot he game upon completion, you'll find another few hours to unlocke every secret. Go online on the site yto find some extra goodies as well, for those who want to go that far out of their way for a grea game. But it is hard to find a perfect game, none exist, but a game that is well done, with hardly any gameplay flaws, is a rare commodity. But once found, especially in a movie game, its is an especially delightful treat. Enjoy it while its hot and new, and everyone is discussing what Kogn is up to and where he is to end up. Expand
  5. GarethR.
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    Love this game. It's pure entertainment, great fun and very slick. And when a T Rex is chasing you, it's fair to say you'd be wise to check your underpants afterwards. Gripping stuff!
  6. Damon
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    I can't believe some people have rated this so badly - Yes, maybe it lacks the depth of some games or the free roamning scope of others. But I play to be entertained - and this is totally captivating and entertaining in the thrill a second sense of the word. Fantastic sound and graphics - with no unrequired on screen data (ammo, health bar) to distract from the total immersion in the I can't believe some people have rated this so badly - Yes, maybe it lacks the depth of some games or the free roamning scope of others. But I play to be entertained - and this is totally captivating and entertaining in the thrill a second sense of the word. Fantastic sound and graphics - with no unrequired on screen data (ammo, health bar) to distract from the total immersion in the world - want to know how much ammo you have - Jack tells you, such a simple but smart idea - and just one example of several innovations present here that should become standard in all FPS games. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    This is the most innvolving game I have ever played. You start out with a pistol, but you find spears, shotguns, sniper rifles, and fire to defend yourself with. On the screen, there is nothin but you, Jack Drisscol, holding a gun or spear. The food chain system is brilliant. If only the dinosaurs would eat each other. Now, playing as Kong.... the first time its not that great, but the This is the most innvolving game I have ever played. You start out with a pistol, but you find spears, shotguns, sniper rifles, and fire to defend yourself with. On the screen, there is nothin but you, Jack Drisscol, holding a gun or spear. The food chain system is brilliant. If only the dinosaurs would eat each other. Now, playing as Kong.... the first time its not that great, but the rest is great. Overall, its one of the best games ever. Expand
  8. CraigG.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    one of the best ever ps2 games great pameplay and basically great everything . each character is individual and has something to say about the mission and also you can fight with loads of weapons great game all round
  9. Bret
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Great Graphics, sound, and lots of nice touches. Walking around and get int he directors camera shot and he complains, walk near (Anne?) and she whispers to you that the others cannot hear. Sound is awesome, atmosphere is tops. Play it on a wide screen with a good stereo.. great experience. Definatly a solid game. Actually it's more a movie walkthrough then a game (not exactly Great Graphics, sound, and lots of nice touches. Walking around and get int he directors camera shot and he complains, walk near (Anne?) and she whispers to you that the others cannot hear. Sound is awesome, atmosphere is tops. Play it on a wide screen with a good stereo.. great experience. Definatly a solid game. Actually it's more a movie walkthrough then a game (not exactly challenging) but what it is, is very entertaining. Expand
  10. CriticS.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    This videogame is very good, but very short tough, i mean, i completed it in two days, its way to easy, and, i mean, the best of all, is that is "the movie" itself, it has a geat enviroment and great monsters (creepy spiders, birds, and all kind of things), but very cool. Gotta own this game.
  11. SlackT.
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    Oh boy! That big ape is back, and he isn't here to monkey around! With over eight hours of swingin' fun, you'll be goin bananas! Sure to be this years best giant gorilla game, or I'm a monkey's uncle!
  12. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    Movie tie-ins have never been a positive in my books. Although I do admit that before 2010, they were all I played; looking back, most of them were just mediocre rubbish. The only one of these games which I ever went back to playing and actually liked was King Kong, or PJKK:TOGOTM. The game was designed by Michael Ancel, who recently cemented my admiration with Rayman Origins. KK has theMovie tie-ins have never been a positive in my books. Although I do admit that before 2010, they were all I played; looking back, most of them were just mediocre rubbish. The only one of these games which I ever went back to playing and actually liked was King Kong, or PJKK:TOGOTM. The game was designed by Michael Ancel, who recently cemented my admiration with Rayman Origins. KK has the usual issues with movie tie-ins: the game is stretched despite being 5-6 hours long, several aspects are unrefined and and Kong segments are arguably weaker than the rest of the game. Throughout the game you control Jack, a screenwriter who is probably one of the only FPS protagonists who actually speaks. The story is bare bones: pretty much the film but with little exposition and less complexity. In many ways, King Kong is a survival horror: you are equipped with only the barest necessity of firearms and/or spears which you chuck at a variety of dinosaurs and giant insects. Pacing is an issue, just like the film, and within 5 minutes of landing on the island, you'll find yourself fighting your first boss monster. The interface is bare-bones too, keeping your attention on the action. What I've said may sound slightly negative: but trust me when I say that King Kong is perhaps the best movie tie-in you'll ever play thanks to its brooding atmosphere and engaging design; just don't expect much in story or complexity. Expand
  13. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    I realy liked this game. somehow it was addicting to me. one of the best games i've played that was based on a movie. (although i hated the strange creatures that would jump at you and scare the crap out of you.)
  14. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    For a movie license game,I was surprised with the quality of the game. Sure it isn't a triple A game...but it proves a game that isn't triple A can be good. The gameplay is your standard FPS shooter, with guns...and thankfully no humans with guns, until the end that is. Also the game does bring variety by letting you play as the gorilla himself, King Kong. There are numerous bugs andFor a movie license game,I was surprised with the quality of the game. Sure it isn't a triple A game...but it proves a game that isn't triple A can be good. The gameplay is your standard FPS shooter, with guns...and thankfully no humans with guns, until the end that is. Also the game does bring variety by letting you play as the gorilla himself, King Kong. There are numerous bugs and glitches in the game, and the AI isn't the greatest, but the game makes up for it with the experience, level design, and with funny glitches. This game brought me much entertainment and I still play this game every now and then. Expand
  15. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    This is the best game i've played on ps2 back when i was little. There was hardly any game to enjoy playing on old consoles but this one was just amazing :D - Unique style combat with kong i still play the game to this day. Would love a remastered version along with a new mode where you can choose your arena and enemies to fight whether you're jack or kong. I'd love to take on four v-rex'sThis is the best game i've played on ps2 back when i was little. There was hardly any game to enjoy playing on old consoles but this one was just amazing :D - Unique style combat with kong i still play the game to this day. Would love a remastered version along with a new mode where you can choose your arena and enemies to fight whether you're jack or kong. I'd love to take on four v-rex's at once with kong. Please have a remaster!!!!!!!! A lot of money would be made with a simple remaster and the graphics will already be amazing as the xbox 360 version had amazing graphics. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. A stunningly atmospheric action-adventure that makes all the right moves. It is intense, scary, exhilarating and pure joy to play. One of the best games so far this year. [Nov 2005]
  2. King Kong is at once purely simple and utterly unique, showcasing bifurcated gameplay and an instinctual theme of survival. [Holiday 2005, p.62]
  3. With a rather abrupt final sequence it does seem to rush to its climax, but despite its brevity, this is an unforgettable trip through the realm of Kong.